Shaping the Past / Gestaltung der Vergangenheit

How does the past take shape, and what happens in the process of coming to terms with the past? What social repercussions are associated with the rooting of history in monuments and memorials? How can those narratives be shifted or upended through alternative, innovative approaches to memorialization?  

These questions are at the center of Shaping the Past, a partnership between Monument Lab, the Goethe-Institut, and the German Federal Agency for Civic Education (Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung/bpb). 
More on this project

But as surely as the future becomes the past, the past becomes the future

Ursula K. Le Guin

Events

Shaping the Past: Black Digital Futures | Virtual Walking Tour + Talk with Quentin VerCetty © Quentin VerCetty

Virtual walking tour - Toronto
Black Digital Futures

The multidisciplinary Canadian artist Quentin VerCetty invites you to follow him on a virtual walking tour, reimagining Toronto's monuments by foregrounding neglected Black biographies and exploring Black digital futures. VerCetty will share his walk around downtown Toronto with the audience, present biograhical shorts of Black leaders, host a live conversation with artist-mentor Ken Lum and a Q&A with the audience. 
 

Missing Black Technofossil Here © Quentin Vercetty

Virtual walking tour - Montreal
Missing Black Technofossil Here

Missing Black Technofossil Here is a public space intervention and conversation proposed by multidisciplinary Canadian artist and Monument Lab fellow Quentin VerCetty. Featuring a performance by multidisciplinary artist Laurie Rose Dauphine, as well as an introduction by Paul Farber, Director of the Monument Lab in Philadelphia.
 

Reflections on Dreaming and Black and Indigenous Futures © Alisha Wormsley

Artist Talk - Online
Reflections on Dreaming and Black and Indigenous Futures

Monument Lab fellow Alisha Wormsley and multi-disciplinary artist Suzanne Kite have introduced the public to their practice of collective community dreaming as a means to shape the past by daring to sculpt the future. 

The artist talk was moderated by Aline Baiana. 

Counter-Memories

© Goethe-Institut

In Canada, the US, Germany, and throughout the world, citizens are questioning conventional historical narratives and reflecting on the meanings and implications of public monuments. Recent protests and interventions around statues of Confederate generals and figures such as Columbus and Bismarck reflect a yearning to correct and critically re-examine dominant histories and their ongoing legacies in the present.

The conversation series Counter-Memories will investigate a number of international monuments and places of remembrance whose symbolic significance often reveals a great deal about our relationship to history. The Goethe-Institutes in North America, the Thomas Mann House, and Onassis LA will convene artists, activists, and intellectuals for illustrated virtual conversations around historical memory.

​Counter-Memories is a cooperation between the Goethe-Institutes North-America, the Onassis Foundation Los Angeles and the Thomas Mann House in collaboration with the project Shaping the Past.  

See the conversations here

Perspectives


The simple phrase of “Never Again!” still calls for people all over the world to learn from history.

Anna Delius







Our Fellows

The fellows for Shaping the Past come from Monument Lab's 2019 and 2020 fellowship cohorts and were selected from an applications pool of over 100 memory workers throughout North America and Germany with existing projects using art, activism, history, journalism, and other tools to approach monuments in their communities. Applications were reviewed by a jury representing the fields of art, history, and social engagement, who recommended applicants who demonstrated excellence, innovative processes and projects for public engagement.



















Partners

Shaping the Past is produced in partnership with the Goethe-Institut, Monument Lab, and the Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education).


Monument Lab Logo






 

Top

Shaping the Past / Gestaltung der Vergangenheit

Wie wird Vergangenheit gestaltet? Wie findet Vergangenheitsaufarbeitung statt? Was sind gesellschaftliche Auswirkungen, wenn Monumente und Denkmäler mit Geschichte aufgeladen werden? Können übliche Narrative der Erinnerungskultur mit alternativen und innovativen Ansätzen verschoben oder gekippt werden?  

Diese Fragen behandeln wir im Rahmen von Gestaltung der Vergangenheit (Shaping the Past). Das Projekt wurde in Partnerschaft mit dem Monument Lab und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung entwickelt. 
Mehr über das Projekt...

Aber so sicher wie die Zukunft zur Vergangenheit wird, so sicher wird die Vergangenheit zur Zukunft

Ursula K. Le Guin

Veranstaltungen

Shaping the Past: Black Digital Futures | Virtual Walking Tour + Talk with Quentin VerCetty © Quentin VerCetty

Virtueller Rundgang - Toronto
Black Digital Futures

​Der multidisziplinäre kanadische Künstler Quentin VerCetty hat auf einen virtuellen Rundgang durch die Innenstadt Torontos eingeladen, dessen Ziel es war, die Denkmäler der Stadt unter besonderer Berücksichtigung vergessener Schwarzer Biografien neu zu entdecken. VerCetty ließ Publikum an seinem Rundgang durch die Innenstadt von Toronto teilhaben, hat biografische Kurzfilme schwarzer Führungspersönlichkeiten präsentiert, ein Live-Gespräch mit dem Künstler-Mentor Ken Lum führen und eine Frage-und-Antwort-Runde mit dem Publikum abgehalten. 

Missing Black Technofossil Here © Quentin Vercetty

Virtueller Rundgang - Montreal
Missing Black Technofossil Here

Missing Black Technofossil Here ist eine Intervention und ein Gespräch im und über den öffentlichen Raum, das vom kanadischen multidisziplinären Künstler und Stipendiaten des Monument Lab, Quentin VerCetty, vorgeschlagen wurde. Mit einer Performance der multidisziplinären Künstlerin Laurie Rose Dauphine und Paul Farber, Direktor des Monument Lab in Philadelphia.

Reflections on Dreaming and Black and Indigenous Futures © Alisha Wormsley

Künstler*innengespräch - Online
Reflections on Dreaming and Black and Indigenous Futures

Alisha Wormsley, Stipendiatin des Monument Lab, und die multidisziplinäre Künstlerin Suzanne Kite haben der Öffentlichkeit ihre Praxis des kollektiven Gemeinschaftstraums als Mittel zur Gestaltung der Vergangenheit vorgestellt, indem sie es wagen, die Zukunft zu gestalten. 

Das Künstler*innengespräch wurde von Aline Baiana moderiert.

Counter-Memories

Counter Memories Key Visual © Goethe-Institut

In Kanada, den USA, Deutschland und auf der ganzen Welt stellen Bürgerinnen und Bürger herkömmliche historische Narrative in Frage und reflektieren über die Bedeutungen und Auswirkungen öffentlicher Denkmäler. Jüngste Proteste und Interventionen rund um Statuen konföderierter Generäle und Persönlichkeiten wie Kolumbus und Bismarck spiegeln den Wunsch wider, die vorherrschende Geschichte und ihr fortwährendes Vermächtnis in der Gegenwart zu korrigieren und kritisch zu hinterfragen.

Die Gesprächsreihe Counter-Memories wird eine Reihe von internationalen Denkmälern und Gedenkstätten untersuchen, deren symbolische Bedeutung oft viel über unser Verhältnis zur Geschichte verrät. Die Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika, das Thomas-Mann-Haus und Onassis LA werden Künstler*innen, Aktivist*innen und Intellektuelle zu illustrierten virtuellen Gesprächen rund um das historische Gedächtnis zusammenbringen.

Counter-Memories ist eine Kooperation zwischen den Goethe-Instituten Nordamerika, der Onassis Foundation Los Angeles und dem Thomas-Mann-Haus in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Projekt Shaping the Past.  

Sehen Sie die Gespräche hier


Perspektiven


Die knappe Formel des „Nie wieder!“ mahnt bis heute weltweit zum Lernen aus der Geschichte.

Anna Delius





Unsere Fellows

Die Fellows für Gestaltung der Vergangenheit kommen aus den Stipendiatenkohorten 2019 und 2020 von Monument Lab und wurden aus einem Bewerber*innenpool von über 100 Erinnerungsarbeiter*innen“ aus Nordamerika und Deutschland ausgewählt. In ihren Projekten befassen sie sich mit Denkmälern in ihren jeweiligen Gemeinschaften und bedienen sich dabei unter anderem künstlerischen Praktiken, Aktivismus, Geschichtswissenschaft und Journalismus.



















Partner

Shaping The Past ist ein Projekt in Zusammenarbeit der Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika mit dem Monument Lab und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung.


Monument Lab Logo

Top