Workshop Tactical Tech: The Influence Industry | IMAGE + BIAS. FILMIC EXPLORATIONS

Tactical Tech: The Influence Industry Courtesy of Gray Area

Mon, 11/29/2021

14:00

Online

Workshop by Gary Wright

Online Workshop, Nov 29, 2021
at 2:00 PM ET


Across the globe, data on voters is being collected, traded and utilised to target them for political influence and shape opinions. But how does this actually happen in practice and how can we start to find out who is actually making this happen? This workshop will introduce participants to the Influence Industry and what it does and provide insights into how researchers can use public data to find out more.

Workshop Outline
  • Basics of voter data in digital political campaigning
  • Overview of the Influence Industry and how it operates
  • Exploration of US Federal Election Commission database and UK Election Commission database
  • Sneak peek into Tactical Tech's upcoming tools for exploring the Influence Industry across the globe
Workshop Goals
  • Broaden the understanding of how democratic processes in the digital age operate.
  • Introduce the audience to relevant public data sets to encourage research and transparency efforts.
Instructor: Gary Wright
Gary is one of the Project Leads at Tactical Tech's Data & Politics team working on The Influence Industry Project. Over the past five years, he and his team have been researching, documenting and highlighting the massive data industry connected to modern day political elections, how data on voters is collected and utilised by candidates and what digital tools are frequently used. Gary's background is in international politics and security studies and entered the discourse around data privacy and security following work in ICT4Development.

This workshop accompanies the film series IMAGE+BIAS. FILMIC EXPLORATIONS and is part of the project IMAGE + BIAS that critically engages with the cultural realities being increasingly determined by imperceptible technologies.

Back

Workshop Tactical Tech: The Influence Industry | IMAGE + BIAS. FILMIC EXPLORATIONS

Tactical Tech: The Influence Industry Courtesy of Gray Area

Mo, 29.11.2021

14:00

Online

Workshop von Gary Wright

Online-Workshop am 29.11.2021
um 14.00 Uhr ET


Überall auf der Welt werden Daten über Wähler*innen gesammelt, gehandelt und genutzt, um sie gezielt politisch zu beeinflussen und Meinungen zu formen. Aber wie geschieht dies in der Praxis und wie können wir herausfinden, wer dies tatsächlich tut? Dieser Workshop führt die Teilnehmer *innen in die Influence Industry und ihre Aktivitäten ein und gibt Einblicke, wie Forscher*innen öffentliche Daten nutzen können, um mehr herauszufinden.

Aufbau des Workshops
  • Grundlagen zu Daten von Wähler*innen in der digitalen politischen Kampagnenarbeit
  • Überblick über die Influence-Industrie und deren Funktionsweise
  • Erkundung der Datenbank der US Federal Election Commission und der Datenbank der UK Election Commission
  • Sneak peek in die kommenden Tools von Tactical Tech zur Erforschung der Influence-Industrie auf der ganzen Welt
Workshop-Ziele
  • Erweiterung des Verständnisses dafür, wie demokratische Prozesse im digitalen Zeitalter funktionieren.
  • Das Publikum mit relevanten öffentlichen Datensätzen vertraut machen, um Forschung und Transparenz zu fördern.
Workshop-Leitung: Gary Wright
Gary Wright ist einer der Projektleiter des Data & Politics-Teams von Tactical Tech und arbeitet am Projekt The Influence Industry. In den letzten fünf Jahren haben er und sein Team die Datenindustrie im Zusammenhang mit modernen politischen Wahlen erforscht, dokumentiert und beleuchtet, wie Daten über Wähler*innen gesammelt und von Kandidat*innen genutzt und welche digitalen Tools häufig verwendet werden. Gary hat einen Hintergrund in internationaler Politik und Security Studies und kam durch seine Arbeit bei ICT4Development in den Diskurs um Datenschutz und Sicherheit.

Dieser Workshop begleitet die Filmreihe IMAGE+BIAS. FILMIC EXPLORATIONS und ist Teil des Projekts IMAGE + BIAS, das sich kritisch mit unserer digitalen und bildbasierten Kultur auseinander setzt, allem voran deren undurchsichtigen technologischen Mechanismen und Wirkungsweisen.

Zurück