Reading Hate is a Failure of Imagination

Theresienstadt Theresienstadt. Photo: unknown

Sun, 11/05/2017

Martin Luther Evangelican Lutheran Church

2379 Lake Shore Boulevard West
Toronto

A Literary Collage - An Encouraging Testimony

Presented by the Goethe-Institut, Martin Luther Evangelical Lutheran Church, and Sarah and Chaim Neuberger Holocaust Education Centre

Narrator Gregorij von Leïtis will read various texts by Alice Herz-Sommer, Georg Kafka, Paul Aron Sandfort, Leo Strauss, Viktor Ullmann, and Ilse Weber. Under the patronage of Prof. Felix Kolmer, Advisor to the Foundation for Holocaust Victims; with an introduction by Michael Lahr, Program Director of Elysium. 
 
The wave of terror attacks on the one hand and of right-wing hate crimes on the other hand have drastically reminded us, how hatred can blind people and how much destruction and violence an inhuman ideology can unleash. The artists who were imprisoned in Theresienstadt have defied the Nazis’ hatred and contempt for them in their own way. They countered this hate with a powerful offensive of imagination. With their artistic fantasy, their creative power, their inventive energy they continuously proved wrong the national-socialist dictum, that Jews were sub-human and as such incapable of any real culture.
 
The literary collage “Hate is a Failure of Imagination“ is a testament to the power of imagination and to the profound love and humanity of the artists who were imprisoned in the ghetto and concentration camp Theresienstadt. The unshakable hope, that human decency will prevail and that humanity will be stronger than all the attempts to crush it, this is the message conveyed by the texts of pianist Alice Herz-Sommer, poet Georg Kafka, playwright Paul Aron Sandfort, cabaret artist Leo Strauss, composer Viktor Ullmann, and poet Ilse Weber. Especially today it is more important than ever, to carry this message of hope, this strong positive signal out into the world. The life-affirming words of these artists can encourage us today, to break through the spiral of hate, violence and destruction.
 
Hatred eats the soul of the hater, not the hated.“ - Alice Herz-Sommer

Gregorij von Leïtis is winner of the New York Theatre Club Prize, Founding Artistic Director of Elysium and President of The Lahr von Leïtis Academy & Archive. Since 1997, his work has emphasized staging again the works of composers and writers who were persecuted and silenced during the Nazi era. In the summer of 2005, he directed the premiere of Egon Lustgarten's opera Dante in Exile in Bernried, and later on in new York. Together with Michael Lahr, he founded The Lahr von Leïtis Academy & Archive, whose aim it is to familiarize younger generations with the treasures of exiled art.

Michael Lahr is the Program Director of Elysium and has unearthed numerous works by artists who were murdered or had to flee their home country under the pressure of the Nazi regime. Many of these compositions were performed for the first time in concerts in Europe and the U.S. He gives introductory lectures for all Elysium programs and lectures regularly on questions of general social and political significance. 

Sarah and Chaim Neuberger Holocaust Education Centre Sarah and Chaim Neuberger Holocaust Education Centre

Martin Luther Evangelical Church Martin Luther Evangelical Church
 

Back

Lesung Hass ist ein Mangel an Fantasie

Theresienstadt Theresienstadt. Foto: unbekannt

So, 05.11.2017

Martin Luther Evanglisch Lutherische Kirche

2379 Lake Shore Boulevard West
Toronto

Eine literarische Collage - Ein Mut machendes Zeugnis

Präsentiert vom Goethe-Institut, der Martin Luther Evangelisch Lutherischen Kirche, und dem Sarah and Chaim Neuberger Holocaust Education Centre

Erzähler Gregorij von Leïtis wird verschiedene Texte von Alice Herz-Sommer, Georg Kafka, Paul Aron Sandfort, Leo Strauss, Viktor Ullmann und Ilse Weber lesen. Unter der Schirmherrschaft von Prof. Felix Kolmer, Berater der Stiftung für Holocaust-Opfer; mit einer Einführung von Michael Lahr, Programmdirektor von Elysium.
 
Die Welle von Terroranschlägen einerseits und von rechtsextremen Gewalttaten andererseits führt uns erneut vor Augen, wie Hass Menschen verblenden kann und welches Gewaltpotential eine menschenverachtende destruktive Ideologie entfalten kann. Die in Theresienstadt inhanftierten Künstlerinnen und Künstler haben dem Hass und der Menschenverachtung der Nazi-Idologie auf ihre Weise getrotzt. Die von diesen Künstlern überlieferten Texte können uns gerade heute Mut machen, die Spirale von Hass, Gewalt und Zerstörung zu durchbrechen. 

Der von den Nazis systematisch geschürte Hass gegen die Juden versuchte diese zu Nummern zu degradieren. Diesem Hass, von Graham Greene sehr treffend als Mangel an Fantasie charakterisiert, setzten die Künstler in Theresienstadt eine Fantasie-Offensive entgegen. Mit ihrer künstlerischen Imagination und ihrer schöpferischen Kraft stemmten sie sich gegen das Diktum der Nazis, die Juden seien Untermenschen und als solche jeder Kultur unfähig. 

Die literarische Collage "Hass ist ein Mangel an Fantasie" ist ein Beweis für die Kraft des kreativen Denkens und die tiefe Liebe und Menschlichkeit der Künstler, die im Ghetto und Konzentrationslager Theresienstadt inhaftiert waren. Die unerschütterliche Hoffnung, dass sich der menschliche Anstand durchsetzen und die Menschheit stärker sein wird als alle Versuche, sie zu zerschlagen, ist die Botschaft der Pianistin Alice Herz-Sommer, des Dichters Georg Kafka, des Dramatikers Paul Aron Sandfort, des Kabarettisten Leo Strauss, Komponist Viktor Ullmann und Dichter Ilse Weber. Gerade heute ist es wichtiger denn je, diese Botschaft der Hoffnung, dieses starke positive Signal in die Welt zu tragen. Die lebensbejahenden Worte dieser Künstler können uns heute dazu ermutigen, die Spirale von Hass, Gewalt und Zerstörung zu durchbrechen.
 
"Hass frisst die Seele des Hassenden, nicht des Gehassten." - Alice Herz-Sommer

Gregorij von Leïtis ist Gewinner des New Yorker Theatre Club-Preises, gründender künstlerischer Direktor von Elysium und Präsident von The Lahr von Leïtis Academy & Archive. Seit 1997 hat seine Arbeit die Inszenierung von Werken von Komponisten und Schriftstellern unterstrichen, die während der NS-Zeit verfolgt und zum Schweigen gebracht wurden. Im Sommer 2005 leitete er die Uraufführung von Egon Lustgartens Oper Dante im Exil in Bernried und später in New York. Gemeinsam mit Michael Lahr gründete er die Lahr von Leïtis Academy & Archive, deren Ziel es ist, jüngere Generationen mit den Schätzen der Exilkunst vertraut zu machen.

Michael Lahr ist Programmdirektor von Elysium und hat zahlreiche Werke von Künstlern ausgegraben, die unter dem Druck des Nazi-Regimes ermordet wurden oder aus ihrem Heimatland fliehen mussten. Viele dieser Kompositionen wurden zum ersten Mal in Konzerten in Europa und den USA aufgeführt. Er gibt Einführungsvorträge für alle Elysium-Programme und hält regelmäßig Vorträge zu Fragen von allgemeiner gesellschaftlicher und politischer Bedeutung.

Sarah and Chaim Neuberger Holocaust Education Centre Sarah and Chaim Neuberger Holocaust Education Centre

Martin Luther Evangelical Church Martin Luther Evangelical Church

Zurück