Film Screening CANCELLED- BLAME GAME by Philipp Leinemann

© Walker + Worm B. Schuller © Walker + Worm B. Schuller

Tue, 03/17/2020

TIFF Bell Lightbox Toronto

350 King St. W.
Toronto

GOETHE FILMS: The End of Truth


Presented by the Goethe-Institut. NORTH AMERICAN PREMIERE!

From Fritz Lang’s genre-defining silent "Spies" to the Cold War and 21st century terror plots, East and West Germany have been at the centre of international espionage stories for a century. Our perception of good & evil in global conflicts might shift, but questions of identity, beliefs, loyalty, collusion & (self-)betrayal remain. Have we reached “the end of truth” as Leinemann’s recent German film title in our series suggests?

BLAME GAME ("Das Ende der Wahrheit", Germany 2018, 103min.) written and directed by Philipp Leinemann ("The King's Surrender" with Zehrfeld), starring Ronald Zehrfeld ("Phoenix", "Barbara"), Alexander Fehling ("Homeland", "Labyrinth of Lies"), Antje Traue ("Dark"), Claudia Michelsen ("The Tower"), Axel Prahl ("Grill Point")
Introduced by critic Adam Nayman (Cinema Scope, Sight & Sound, Globe & Mail, The Ringer).     

German Film Award for Best Supporting Actor 
Bambi Award Nominee for Best German Actor

“Dares us to consider that the true enemy is in our own ranks. Cool, clear-sighted, unsentimental.” – SWR

Martin Behrens is a Middle East expert for German intelligence agency BND. He obtains information leading to a U.S. drone strike on a wanted terrorist in Zahiristan. A few days later, there's a terrorist attack on a restaurant – the video claiming responsibility calls it payback for the drone strike. Freelance journalist Aurice, with whom Martin was having an affair, is among the victims – she was investigating corruption at the heart of BND. Martin soon has to realize that, in a world where big corporations profit from arms deals as well as from homeland security contracts, good and evil are sometimes hard to tell apart. 
 

Part of the Goethe-Institut's focus on German film.

Related Events:
SPIES by Fritz Lang
FOR EYES ONLY by János Veiczi
 

Back

Filmvorführung DAS ENDE DER WAHRHEIT Philipp Leinemann

© Walker + Worm B. Schuller © Walker + Worm B. Schuller

Di, 17.03.2020

TIFF Bell Lightbox Toronto

350 King St. W.
Toronto

GOETHE FILMS: The End of Truth


Präsentiert vom Goethe-Institut. NORDAMERIKA-PREMIERE! 

Von Fritz Langs genreprägendem Stummfilm SPIONE bis hin zu Filmen rund um den Kalten Krieg und Terror im 21. Jahrhundert – Ost- und Westdeutschland standen ein ganzes Jahrhundert lang im Mittelpunkt internationaler Spionagegeschichten. Unsere Wahrnehmung von Gut und Böse im Rahmen globaler Konflikte mag sich wandeln, Fragen der Identität, der Überzeugungen, der Loyalität, der geheimen Allianzen und des (Selbst)betrugs bleiben jedoch bestehen. Haben wir „Das Ende der Wahrheit“ erreicht, wie der deutsche Titel des Films von Philipp Leinemann nahelegt?

DAS ENDE DER WAHRHEIT (Germany 2018, 103min.), Drehbuch und Regie von Philipp Leinemann ("Wir waren Könige"), mit Ronald Zehrfeld ("Phoenix", "Barbara"), Alexander Fehling ("Homeland", "Im Labyrinth des Schweigens"), Antje Traue ("Dark"), Claudia Michelsen ("Der Turm"), Axel Prahl ("Halbe Treppe")
Einführung von Filmkritiker Adam Nayman (Cinema Scope, Sight & Sound, Globe & Mail, The Ringer).

Deutscher Filmpreis für Beste männliche Nebenrolle
Bambi Nominierung für Bester deutscher Schauspieler

„Der Regisseur wagt die These, dass der eigentliche Feind vor allem im Innern lauert. Kühl, klar und unsentimental.“ – SWR

Martin Behrens ist Mitarbeiter des Bundesnachrichtendienstes (BND). Eines Tages erhält er brisante Informationen, die zu einem Drohnenanschlag auf einen von der zahirischen Regierung gesuchten Terroristen führten. Sein Leben gerät mit einem Mal außer Kontrolle, als wenige Tage später Terroristen derselben Gruppierung, in Vergeltung für den Drohnenangriff, einen Anschlag auf ein Münchner Café verüben. Martin beginnt auf eigene Faust zu ermitteln, um die Verantwortlichen für den Anschlag zu finden. Schon bald muss er sich einer unangenehmen Wahrheit stellen.
 

Teil des Programmschwerpunkts Deutscher Film des Goethe-Instituts.

Weitere Veranstaltungen:
SPIONE von Fritz Lang
FOR EYES ONLY – STRENG GEHEIM von János Veiczi
 

Zurück