Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Guests at Christie Pitts Film Screening© TOPS

Toronto
Film Work

German Film @ Canada blog

Film is at the core of the cultural work created and presented by the Goethe-Institut Toronto (located at a 5-minute walk from the Toronto International Film Festival building). Screenings and film talks form a large part of the Goethe-Institut Toronto’s own initiatives, as does the annual free European Union Film Festival and countless co-presentations and collaborations with Canadian festivals, universities, micro-cinemas, and other exhibitors. Many of these projects are enhanced and contextualized via the institute’s German Film @ Canada blog, which includes original writing and interview. Film and media art is also being presented as gallery-based exhibitions in the Goethe-Institut’s own Goethe Media Space , which showcases research and archival projects (such as a collection of Weimar-era posters “Projecting Women” or material from Wim Wenders’ personal archive), and expands the idea of the moving image itself, most recently in a group show dedicated to transmediating stories in VR, AR and gif art.

The Goethe-Institut Toronto’s flagship project is GOETHE FILMS @ TIFF Bell Lightbox, which presents film and video all year long as part of curated programs which highlight contemporary and historical work by German directors and producers. Recent clusters have included focuses on seminal directors Ulrike Ottinger and Christoph Schlingensief, with films frequently contextualized by unusual guest speakers or artists like Barbara Sukowa. Thematic retrospectives have focused on documentary highlights from the iconic DOK Leipzig Film Festival and the productions of Tom Tykwer’s One Fine Day Films, which supports independent storytelling by African auteurs, with the series presented in partnership with the Toronto Black Film Festival.

As Toronto is one of the most vibrant hubs for film culture in North America, in addition to its original programming, the Goethe-Institut Toronto proudly collaborates with a diverse group of partners to host exceptional screenings of work by German artists and filmmakers or with thematic connections to Germany.

Among many others, the Goethe-Institut Toronto frequently works with some of Toronto’s most important film festivals, including TIFF, Hot Docs, Images Festival, Rendezvous with Madness Film Festival, and Planet in Focus Environmental Film Festival. Other collaborations have taken place with regular screening series, like the annual Toronto Outdoor Picture Show, documentary series Vertical Features, and nomadic micro-cinema Pleasure Dome.

Several collaborations are emphasizing diverse diasporic communities around the world, as well as the richness of historical and contemporary co-productions, with the institute co-presenting short, docs, animations and feature films as part of festivals as diverse as the Reel Asian International Film Festival, the Italian Contemporary Film Festival Toronto, and the Toronto Jewish Film Festival. Past highlights includes Seung-Hyun Chong's Steh Auf, a rich portrait of a German-born boy of Korean descent presented as part of the Toronto Korean Film Festival, and acclaimed co-production The Boda Boda Thieves, presented in partnership with the Toronto Black Film Festival.

Goethe is a champion of Canadian-German connections and collaborations, and there have been special occasions that have permitted the opportunity to take screens outside the cinema. In 2017, through a remarkable commission to A Wall is a Screen, the Hamburg-based collective screened global Indigenous-made films as part of an unforgettable night at the ImagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival, transforming the Toronto urban landscape with Indigenous moving images, which has led to multiple long-term partnerships. It was a joint community-building event that left audiences wanting more (and more is to come!). “Our partnership with Goethe is a special one, and they have consistently gone above and beyond in their support to ensure the links between Germany and Canada – including Indigenous Canada – remain vital, innovate and strong,” says Jason Ryle, former Artistic Director of imagineNATIVE. “Goethe is an essential link to German networks and a friendly face that guides you across a cultural bridge.”

The Goethe-Institut Toronto has a track record of bringing cinema to the city’s public spaces through collaborations with the Toronto Outdoor Picture Show (formerly the Christie Pits Film Festival). "The Goethe-Institut Toronto has been a great and enthusiastic collaborator over the past few years, supporting our various public programming initiatives, from live-score productions by local band Del Bel of silent classicNosferatu, to free outdoor screenings of Bob Fosse'sCabaret as part of our Cinematic Cities focus and Wanuri Kahiu's Rafiki as part of our Dynamic Duos series, encouraging us to share with the general public a wide range of depictions of German culture and artistic collaboration," says TOPS Festival Director Emily Reid.

“The Goethe-Institut Toronto continues to foster an enviable commitment to film culture in Toronto,” notes Scott Miller Berry, Managing Director of the Rendezvous with Madness Film Festival. “At RVMM we're grateful for the 2018 support of guest directors Gerd Kroske and Paul Poet and to have had them here for a week of conversations and presentations; on a deeper level we feel lucky that the Goethe plays such an important role in our city's active film ecology. “

The Goethe has also supported specialty programming at a number of Toronto and Canada’s key cultural institutions, and such collaborations have taken place across the country, including screenings of European shorts in partnership with the Pacific Cinematheque in Vancouver and the Winnipeg Cinematheque as well as programming support for Edmonton’s Institute for Innovation in Second Language Education or curations for the Waterloo Centre for German Studies.

As Germany continues to produce sterling work in the realms of film and video, it remains the Goethe-Institut Toronto mission to share it, in collaboration with its diverse industry partners, with audiences across Canada, through programs, presentations, and conversations that are entertaining, informative, and passionate.

Selected past presenting partners include:

· 8Fest Small Gauge Film Festival

· AluCine Latin Film + Media Arts Festival

· Canadian Sports Film Festival

· Cinefranco

· DOXA

· European Union Film Festival Toronto

· German Films

· Hot Docs Cinema

· Hot Docs Film Festival

· Images Festival

· ImagineNATIVE Film and Media Arts Festival

· International Disapora Film Festival

· Inside Out Film Festival

· Institute for Innovation in Second Language Education Edmonton

· Italian Contemporary Film Festival

· Nuit Blanche Toronto

· Paradise Cinema

· Planet in Focus Film Festival

· Princess Cinemas Waterloo

· Reel Abilities

· Reel Artists Film Festival

· Reel Asian International Film Festival

· Rendezvous with Madness Film Festival

· Revue CinemaToronto Animated Arts Film Festival

· Toronto Black Film Festival

· Toronto International Deaf Film & Arts Festival

· Toronto Japanese Film Festival

· Toronto Jewish Film Festival

· Toronto Korean Film Festival

· Toronto Outdoor Picture Show (formerly Christie Pits Film Festival)

· Toronto Silent Film Festival

· University of Toronto

· Vancouver Latin American Film Festival

· Vertical Features Screening Series

· Visible Evidence

· VIFF

· Waterloo Centre for German Studies
Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Guests at Christie Pitts Film Screening© TOPS

Toronto
German Film @ Canada

German Film @ Canada blog

Film gehört zu den Herzstücken der kulturellen Programmarbeit des Goethe-Instituts Toronto (das Institut liegt fußläufig nur 5 Minuten entfernt von dem Gebäude, in dem das Toronto International Film Festival stattfindet). Vorführungen und Filmbesprechungen machen einen großen Teil der eigenen Veranstaltungen des Goethe-Instituts Toronto aus, so wie auch das jährliche kostenlose European Union Film Festival und zahllose gemeinsame Vorführungen und Kooperationen mit kanadischen Festivals, Universitäten, Programmkinos und sonstigen Veranstaltern. Viele dieser Projekte werden durch den Blog „German Film @ Canada“ des Goethe-Instituts mit eigenen redaktionellen Beiträgen und Interviews unterstützt und kontextualisiert. Film- und Medienkunst wird darüber hinaus im Rahmen von Ausstellungen im Goethe Media Space des Instituts präsentiert, wo Forschungs- und Archivprojekte (wie z. B. die Postersammlung „Projecting Women“ mit Postern aus der Weimarer Zeit oder Objekte aus dem persönlichen Archiv von Wim Wenders) gezeigt werden. Dabei wird der eigentliche Begriff des bewegten Bildes erweitert, wie erst kürzlich im Rahmen einer gemeinsamen Ausstellung, die sich dem transmedialen Erzählen im VR- (Virtual Reality), AR- (Augmented Reality) und GIF-Format widmete.

Zu den Flaggschiff-Projekten des Goethe-Instituts Toronto gehört die Serie GOETHE FILMS: Im TIFF Bell Lightbox and Festival Tower werden im Rahmen kuratierter Programme das ganze Jahr über Filme und Videos gezeigt, bei denen zeitgenössische und historische Arbeiten deutscher Regisseur*innen und Produzent*innen im Mittelpunkt stehen. Zuletzt wurden wegweisenden Filmemacher*innen wie Ulrike Ottinger und Christoph Schlingensief eigene thematische Blöcke gewidmet. Oft gaben außergewöhnliche Gastredner*innen oder Künstler*innen wie Barbara Sukowa eine Einführung in den Film, um das Geschehen auf der Leinwand zu kontextualisieren. Thematische Retrospektiven legten den Schwerpunkt auf erstrangige Dokumentarfilme des DOK Leipzig Filmfestivals, das mittlerweile Kultstatus genießt, und auf Produktionen aus Tom Tykwers Initiative ‚One Fine Day Films‘, die afrikanische Filmemacher dabei unterstützt, ihre Geschichten zu verfilmen. Diese Reihe wurde gemeinsam mit dem Toronto Black Film Festival präsentiert.

Toronto zählt zu den dynamischsten Zentren für Filmkultur in Nordamerika. Daher ist das Goethe-Institut Toronto stolz, neben seiner eigentlichen Programmarbeit gemeinsam mit ganz unterschiedlichen Partnern besondere Filme deutscher Künstler*innen und Filmemacher*innen oder mit einem thematischen Bezug zu Deutschland auf die Leinwand zu bringen.

Das Goethe-Institut Toronto kooperiert regelmäßig mit einigen der wichtigsten Filmfestivals in Toronto, darunter TIFF, Hot Docs, Images Festival, Rendezvous with Madness Film Festival und Planet in Focus Environmental Film Festival. Des Weiteren beteiligt es sich an regelmäßigen Vorführreihen wie der jährlichen Toronto Outdoor Picture Show, der Dokumentarfilmreihe Vertical Features und dem mobilen Programmkino Pleasure Dome.

Durch verschiedene Projekte mit unterschiedlichen Partnern wird der Blick auf eine bunte Vielzahl diasporischer Communities weltweit gelenkt, ebenso wie auf eine Fülle historischer und zeitgenössischer Gemeinschaftsproduktionen. So beteiligt sich das Goethe-Institut im Rahmen ganz unterschiedlicher Festivals, wie dem Reel Asian International Film Festival, dem Italian Contemporary Film Festival Toronto und dem Toronto Jewish Film Festival, an der Präsentation von Kurzfilmen, Dokumentar-, Animations- und Spielfilmen. Zu den Highlights gehörten in der Vergangenheit Steh Auf von Seung-Hyun Chong, ein bildgewaltiges Portrait eines in Deutschland geborenen jungen Mannes mit koreanischen Wurzeln, das im Rahmen des Toronto Korean Film Festivals gezeigt wurde, ebenso wie die hochgelobte Koproduktion The Boda Boda Thieves, die in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Toronto Black Film Festival vorgeführt wurde.

Das Goethe-Institut setzt sich maßgeblich für den Austausch und die Kooperation zwischen Kanada und Deutschland ein. Wenn sich in besonderen Fällen die Gelegenheit bietet, werden Filme auch außerhalb des Kinosaals vorgeführt. 2017 wurde im Rahmen eines bemerkenswerten Projekts mit der Hamburger Künstlergruppe „A Wall is a Screen“ indigene Filmkunst aus aller Welt als Teil eines unvergesslichen Abends des ImagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festivals gezeigt. Dabei wurde der Stadtlandschaft von Toronto durch indigene Bewegtbilder ein neues Gesicht gegeben. Das gemeinschaftsbildende Projekt hinterließ beim Publikum den Wunsch nach mehr (und es wird auch noch mehr davon geben!). „Unsere Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut ist etwas ganz Besonderes. Das Institut hat immer alles Erdenkliche dafür getan, dass die Verbindungen zwischen Deutschland und Kanada – einschließlich des indigenen Kanadas – lebendig, innovativ und stark bleiben“, sagt Jason Ryle, ehemaliger künstlerischer Leiter des imagineNATIVE Festivals. „Das Goethe-Institut ist ein wichtiges Verbindungsglied zu den deutschen Netzwerken und ein freundlicher Weggefährte, mit dem man kulturelle Brücken schlagen kann“.

Durch die Beteiligung an der Toronto Outdoor Picture Show (vormals Christie Pits Film Festival) trägt das Goethe-Institut Toronto schon lange erfolgreich dazu bei, Kino in den öffentlichen Raum der Stadt zu bringen. „Das Goethe-Institut Toronto war in den vergangenen Jahren ein großartiger, engagierter Partner und hat uns bei verschiedenen öffentlichen Programminitiativen unterstützt, von Live-Vertonungen des Stummfilmklassikers Nosferatu durch die Lokalband Del Bel bis hin zu kostenlosen Open-Air-Vorführungen von Bob Fosses Cabaret im Rahmen unserer Schwerpunktreihe Cinematic Cities und Rafiki von Wanuri Kahiu als Teil unserer Dynamic Duos Reihe. Das motiviert uns, der breiten Öffentlichkeit verschiedenste Darstellungsformen der deutschen Kultur und der künstlerischen Zusammenarbeit zu präsentieren“, so Emily Reid, Direktorin des TOPS Festivals.

„Das Goethe-Institut Toronto zeigt immer wieder ein bemerkenswertes Engagement für die Filmkultur in Toronto“, erklärt Scott Miller Berry, geschäftsführender Direktor des Rendezvous with Madness Film Festivals. „Wir bei RWMFF sind dankbar dafür, dass uns die Gastregisseure Gerd Kroske und Paul Poet im Jahr 2018 eine ganze Woche lang mit Gesprächen und Präsentationen begleitet haben; wir sind zutiefst dankbar dafür, dass das Goethe-Institut im aktiven Filmleben unserer Stadt eine so wichtige Rolle spielt“.

Das Goethe-Institut wirkt außerdem in ganz Kanada an Sonderprogrammen mit, die von einigen der namhaftesten kulturellen Einrichtungen Torontos und Kanadas initiiert werden. Hierzu gehörten bereits Vorführungen europäischer Kurzfilme in Zusammenarbeit mit der Pacific Cinematheque in Vancouver und der Winnipeg Cinematheque sowie die Unterstützung des Institute for Innovation in Second Language Education in Edmonton bei der Programmgestaltung oder auch Kurationen für das Waterloo Centre for German Studies.

Da Deutschland weiterhin ein erstklassiger Standort für Film- und Videoproduktionen ist, bleibt es die Aufgabe des Goethe-Instituts Toronto, diese in Kooperation mit seinen verschiedenen Partnern der Branche dem Publikum in ganz Kanada durch Programme, Vorführungen und Gespräche zugänglich zu machen, die unterhalten, informieren und begeistern.

Auszug aus der Liste bisheriger Projektpartner:

· 8Fest Small Gauge Film Festival

· AluCine Latin Film + Media Arts Festival

· Canadian Sports Film Festival

· Cinefranco

· DOXA

· European Union Film Festival Toronto

· German Films

· Hot Docs Cinema

· Hot Docs Film Festival

· Images Festival

· ImagineNATIVE Film and Media Arts Festival

· International Disapora Film Festival

· Inside Out Film Festival

· Institute for Innovation in Second Language Education Edmonton

· Italian Contemporary Film Festival

· Nuit Blanche Toronto

· Paradise Cinema

· Planet in Focus Film Festival

· Princess Cinemas Waterloo

· Reel Abilities

· Reel Artists Film Festival

· Reel Asian International Film Festival

· Rendezvous with Madness Film Festival

· Revue CinemaToronto Animated Arts Film Festival

· Toronto Black Film Festival

· Toronto International Deaf Film & Arts Festival

· Toronto Japanese Film Festival

· Toronto Jewish Film Festival

· Toronto Korean Film Festival

· Toronto Outdoor Picture Show (formerly Christie Pits Film Festival)

· Toronto Silent Film Festival

· University of Toronto

· Vancouver Latin American Film Festival

· Vertical Features Screening Series

· Visible Evidence

· VIFF

· Waterloo Centre for German Studies
Top