Artist Talk Artist Talk with Sven Marquardt

Sven Marquard © Ole Westermann

Sat, 09/23/2017

Never Apart

7049, rue Saint-Urbain
H2S 3H4 Montréal

As part of the exhibition Black Box

The Goethe-Institut is very proud to welcome German photographer Sven Marquardt for an artist talk at Never Apart. Having presented a photo installation at Never Apart, Sven Marquardt, who is arguably most famous for his role as doorman at Berlin’s famed Berghain nightclub, will also detail lesser known aspects of his life growing up as a photographer in the former GDR and the punk/new wave scene of East Berlin at the time.

Marquardt’s work combines formal severity and clear imagery with bleak impermanence, impresses through interaction of ease, severity and the dramatic art of monochrome contrasting. The ever changing metropolis of Berlin has shaped Marquardt’s sensibility for striking characters, his sense for the unusual in humanity.

Moderator

Lisan Tibodo works in the media arts field as a filmmaker, curator and instructor. Her practice is that of the moving image, where she explores various genres such as cinematic essay, documentary, experimental fiction, artist portraits, music video, installation and music. Between 1982 and 1996, she resides in Berlin where she is a night club Dj and musician in the underground world. She is a member of the Panorama team at the Berlinale and produces her works which are presented in various international museums and festivals, winning prizes. Today, she continues her career as a curator and independent filmmaker around the world.

The artist talk with Sven Marquardt  is presented as part of “Germany@Canada 2017 - Partners from Immigration to Innovation”.  

Deutschland @ Kanada 2017 © Goethe-Institut

Back

Künstlergespräch Künstlergespräch mit Sven Marquardt

Sven Marquard © Ole Westermann

Sa, 23.09.2017

Never Apart

7049, rue Saint-Urbain
H2S 3H4 Montréal

Im Rahmen der Installation Black Box

Das Goethe-Institut freut sich, den Fotografen Sven Marquardt zu einem öffentlichen Gespräch in die Galerie Never Apart einzuladen. Nach der Präsentation einer Installation in den Räumen von Never Apart wird Marquardt, bekannt auch als Türsteher des Berliner Szene-Clubs Berghain, über weniger bekannte Aspekte seines Schaffens als Fotograf in der Punk- und New Wave-Szene Ostberlins zur Zeit der ehemaligen DDR sprechen. 

Marquardts Arbeiten verbinden formale Strenge und klare Bildsprache mit düsterer Vergänglichkeit, bestechen durch ein Zusammenspiel von Leichtigkeit und Schwere, die Dramatik des Kontrasts aus Schwarz und Weiß. Die sich im stetigen Wandel befindliche Großstadt Berlin hat seinen Blick für markante Charaktere, sein Gespür für das Besondere im Menschlichen geschärft.
 

Moderatorin

Lisan Tibodo arbeitet im Bereich Medienkunst als Filmemacherin,  Kuratorin und Ausbilderin. Sie arbeitet mit bewegten Bildern und bedient sich verschiedener Genres wie der Dokumentation, dem Essayfilm, experimenteller Fiktion, dem Künstlerportrait, dem Musikvideo sowie der Installation und der Musik. Von 1982 bis 1996 lebte und arbeitete sie in Berlin, wo sie als Dj im musikalischen Underground wirkte. Sie ist Mitglied des Teams des Programms Panorama bei der Berlinale. Ihre Filme wurden in unterschiedlichen Museen und auf internationalen Festivals gezeigt und haben diverse Preise gewonnen. Heute verfolgt sie ihre Karriere als Kuratorin und ist weltweit als unabhängige Filmemacherin tätig.

Das Künstlergespräch mit Sven Marquard wird präsentiert als Teil von "Deutschland @ Kanada 2017  - Partner von Immigration zu Innovation".

Deutschland @ Kanada 2017 © Goethe-Institut

Zurück