Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

DIVERSITY, REPRESENTATION, INCLUSION, NORM CRITIQUE
THE DRIN (INSIDE) PROJECT

Children’s books shape the world view we grow up with. It is important for children to be able to recognize themselves in stories, illustrations and narratives and, at the same time, to learn about the different realities of life around them. Does children’s literature in Germany, Finland and other (Northern) European countries today reflect the increasingly diverse societies in which we live, or does it make a growing proportion of its young population invisible?

How can alternative, under-represented narratives, voices and images be introduced? What good examples can we share? And what can the various players in this field – authors, illustrators, publishers, libraries and readers – learn from each other?

At the end of 2018, the Goethe-Institut Finland launched a project dealing with the representation of children in picture books produced in Northern Europe and Germany. Following a seminar in Turku on how children’s literature read in day-care centres and schools in Finland could be made more representative of the country’s population, the project was extended at the end of 2019. The project involves: El Boum, Chantal-Fleur Sandjon and Warda Ahmed.

Besides networking and knowledge exchange, another goal of the project is book production. Examples of best practice from around the world will also be brought together to create an archive that will provide inspiration for translations and to create more books that reflect the diversity of our societies.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

DIVERSITÄT, REPRÄSENTATION, INKLUSION, NORMKRITIK
Zum Projekt DRIN

Kinderbücher prägen das Weltbild, mit dem wir aufwachsen. Für Kinder ist es wichtig, sich in Geschichten, Illustrationen und Erzählungen wiederfinden zu können und gleichzeitig die Vielfalt an Lebensrealitäten, die sie umgeben, kennenzulernen. Spiegelt die aktuelle Kinderliteratur in Deutschland, Finnland und anderen (nord)europäischen Ländern die immer diverseren Gesellschaften, in denen wir leben, wider, oder macht sie einen wachsenden Teil ihrer jungen Bevölkerung unsichtbar?

Wie lassen sich alternative, unterrepräsentierte Narrative von Stimmen und Bildern einführen? Welche guten Beispiele können wir teilen? Und was können die verschiedenen Akteur*innen in diesem Bereich - Autor*innen, Illustrator*innen, Verlage, Bibliotheken und Leser*innen - voneinander lernen?

Das Goethe-Institut Finnland hat Ende 2018 ein Projekt eingeleitet, das sich mit der Repräsentation von Kindern in Bilderbüchern auseinandersetzt, die in Nordeuropa und Deutschland produziert werden. Nach einem Seminar in Turku zur Frage, wie Kinderliteratur, die in Kindertagesstätten und Schulen in Finnland gelesen wird, repräsentativer für die Bevölkerung des Landes gestaltet werden könnte, wurde das Projekt Ende 2019 weiter ausgearbeitet. Am Projekt sind beteiligt: El Boum, Chantal-Fleur Sandjon und Warda Ahmed.  

Neben der Vernetzung von Akteur*innen und dem Wissensaustausch ist auch die Buchproduktion ein Ziel des Projekts. Zudem sollen Best Practice-Beispiele aus aller Welt zusammengebracht werden, um ein Archiv zu erstellen, das Anregungen für Übersetzungen geben soll sowie für die vermehrte Erstellung von Büchern, die die Vielfalt unserer Gesellschaften widerspiegeln.

 

Top