Interview with Mirko Bonné "Literature should not be exploited"

Interview with Mirko Bonné
Interview with Mirko Bonné | Photo: Goethe-Institut / Magnus Pölcher

In 2013 Mirko Bonné made the shortlist for the German Book Prize with his novel Night No More and is currently travelling around the world as a writer in residence for the Weather Stations – an international project which organises literary discussions on the topic of climate change.

Goethe-Institut: What do you believe still needs to be done in order to raise more awareness of issues such as global warming?

Mirko Bonné: My impression is that people are aware of the issue. There is lots of talk of global warming and climate change. But there is also a sense of increasing powerlessness, helplessness and perplexity, which I’m not sure we should be contributing to. And that is the whole crux of the problem – no one really knows what to do. 

Goethe-Institut: You travelled to Dublin, Melbourne and London for the Weather Stations Project. Were there any differences in the audiences’ responses?

Mirko Bonné: Some of the things I experienced in Melbourne, I am encountering again in London. A very rigorous, youthful way of dealing with the issue of waste in our throw-away society. It is very noticeable. Back in Hamburg we still don’t have the same degree of consciousness when dealing with resources and commodities. Upon closer inspection you can see that we ought to be more careful and not dispose of everything so inconsiderately. 

As an author, and particularly as a poet, I have to start by making my position clear. I am neither a sociologist nor a politician dealing with environmental issues. I concern myself with language. And in that respect I am not sure how I can contribute to the climate change debate other than by drawing attention to reprehensible language-related developments. 

Last night we were provided with a great example of the abysmal depths of this issue. Jay Griffith’s question regarding the exhibition’s sponsor, Shell, and Chris Rapley’s response in his capacity as exhibition organiser – it was truly fascinating to see how much energy was suddenly unleashed on the podium. People started calling a spade a spade! But the topic is generally very complicated because there can no longer be a distinction between good and evil, black and white. And yet all of us are expected to take a stance. 

Goethe-Institut: Was that the case in all countries or are there different approaches to climate change?

Mirko Bonné: It is definitely a far more explosive issue in Australia. The effects of climate change are already quite obvious there, in many different regions. And then you have a government that claims it’s all nonsense and goes through with radical deforestation. If things carry on in that way, it is easy to imagine what Australia will look like in 50 years time: a scorched continent. 

Goethe-Institut: Do you believe discussions about climate change are the prerogative of certain social groups? 

Mirko Bonné: We are talking about barely more than five or ten per cent of the educated classes. The rest of society couldn’t care less what happens to the environment. And in my opinion there’s little we can do about it, since most people have other problems to deal with. That will probably change when severe problems start occurring. Let’s hope it doesn’t happen, but it seems unavoidable that violent storms, heavier floods and other natural disasters will become more frequent. 

Goethe-Institut: What is your view from a literary standpoint? How was meeting other authors taking part in the Weather Stations Project and engaging in an international dialogue with them on the issue of climate change? 

Mirko Bonné: Each of the five authors involved has an entirely different approach. There are no similarities to speak of – save maybe for the compassion with which we consider problems in Ireland or Poland or in other foreign cultures and languages. For instance, we were all fascinated by the Australian aborigines we got to meet, by museums we visited in Melbourne, by landscapes that were shown to us. But what will come of these individual impressions will of course be entirely different. 

Irish author Oisín McGann for example sees things through the eyes of a science fiction reader. I find that fascinating, yet my approach is entirely different. When we discuss poetry, we both get a sense of the wide range of different literary canons. Tony Birch from Melbourne rarely writes poetry; however we share a rather poetic perception of the world, also because he has an indigenous background and takes keen interest in traditional tales. Something I also feel close to. We should embrace these differences because they’re what will make this project beautiful.  

Goethe-Institut: Is literature as an art form an adequate way of getting issues like climate change across?

Mirko Bonné: No, literature the way I perceive it should not be exploited. Nevertheless, I would say that any self-respecting author who appreciates our world’s diversity would do well to deal with the topic. And by that I don’t mean with its scientific dimension! But rather talk to schoolchildren about their fears or how they view nature. I wouldn’t say that literature or even the arts in general are particularly appropriate in dealing with this issue. But discussion is. And this discussion has to be kept alive at all costs. That, and nothing else, is literature’s duty.

Interview mit Mirko Bonné "Literatur darf sich nicht instrumentalisieren lassen"

Interview mit Mirko Bonné
Interview mit Mirko Bonné | Foto: Goethe-Institut / Magnus Pölcher

Mirko Bonné stand 2013 mit seinem Roman Nie mehr Nacht auf der Shortlist zum Deutschen Buchpreis und reist aktuell als Writer-in-Residence von Weather Stations - ein internationales Projekt, das weltweit Gespräche zum Klimawandel, aus literarischer Perspektive, organisiert - um die Welt. 

Goethe-Institut: Was muss Ihrer Meinung nach geschehen um noch mehr Menschen für das Thema Klimawandel zu sensibilisieren?

Mirko Bonné: Mein Eindruck ist, dass die Leute Bescheid wissen. Das Thema der Erderwärmung und des Klimawandels ist in aller Munde. Aber es gibt eine um sich greifende Ohnmacht, eine Hilflosigkeit und Ratlosigkeit. Ich bin mir gar nicht sicher, ob man noch mehr dazu beitragen muss. Und das ist das Vertrackte an dem komplexen Problem - keiner weiß im Grunde, was er eigentlich machen soll.

Goethe-Institut: Sie waren für das Weather Station Projekt in Dublin, Melbourne und London. Gab es Unterschiede bei den Publikumsreaktionen?

Mirko Bonné: Einiges, was ich in Melbourne erlebt habe, finde ich in London wieder. Etwas sehr Lebendiges, Junges im Umgang mit unserer Wegwerfgesellschaft. Das merkt man hier sehr deutlich. Bei uns in Hamburg ist dieser bewusstere Umgang mit den Ressourcen und den Materialien noch nicht so stark ausgeprägt. Wenn man genau hinguckt, sieht man überall, dass wir vorsichtiger sein und nicht alles bedenkenlos wegwerfen sollten.

Als Autor, speziell als Dichter, muss ich mich dazu erst einmal positionieren. Ich bin ja kein Soziologe und kein Umweltpolitiker. Mir geht es um Sprache. Und insofern weiß ich nicht, was ich dem Thema Klimawandel hinzufügen kann, außer dass ich auf sprachliche Verwerfungen aufmerksam mache.

Gestern Abend wurde wieder offensichtlich, welche Abgründe dieses Thema birgt. Die Frage von Jay Griffiths nach dem Ausstellungssponsor Shell und die Reaktion des Ausstellungsmachers Chris Rapley - sehr faszinierend, was da plötzlich für eine Energie auf dem Podium war. Da wurden Dinge beim Namen genannt! Aber das Thema ist grundsätzlich schwierig, weil es kein Gut und Böse mehr gibt, kein Schwarz und Weiß. Und trotzdem müssen wir alle uns dazu verhalten.

Goethe-Institut: War das denn in allen Ländern so oder gibt es Unterschiede bei der Sicht auf den Klimawandel?

Mirko Bonné: In Australien ist es sicherlich ein viel brisanteres Thema. Dort sind die Klimaveränderungen bereits deutlich spürbar, in ganz verschiedenen Regionen. Und dazu kommt eine Regierung, die das Ganze zum Unsinn erklärt und einfach ganze Wälder abholzen lässt. Wenn das so weitergeht, kann man sich vorstellen, wie das Australien in 50 Jahren aussieht. Ein verbrannter Kontinent.

Goethe-Institut: Denken Sie, dass sich die Diskussion um den Klimawandel nur in bestimmten Schichten der Gesellschaft bewegt?

Mirko Bonné: Wir reden hier von wahrscheinlich nicht mehr als fünf oder zehn Prozent der gebildeten Schichten. Den Rest der Bevölkerung interessiert es einen Dreck, was mit dem Klima passiert. Und das kann meiner Ansicht nach auch gar nicht anders sein, da die Leute ganz andere Probleme haben. Das wird sich wahrscheinlich ändern, sobald gravierendere Folgen eintreten. Wollen wir es nicht hoffen, aber es scheint unabwendbar, dass schwere Unwetter kommen und viel heftigere Überflutungen und andere Naturkatastrophen eintreten werden.

Goethe-Institut: Wie ist ihr Eindruck aus literarischer Sicht? Wie war es, die anderen Autoren des Weather Stations Projektes zu treffen und mit ihnen einen internationalen Austausch über das Thema Klimawandel zu führen?

Mirko Bonné: Jeder von uns fünf Autoren arbeitet ganz unterschiedlich. Da gibt es im Grunde keine Gemeinsamkeiten – vielleicht den empathischen Blick auf die jeweiligen Probleme in Irland oder Polen oder auch auf fremde Kulturen und Sprachen. So sind wir alle ähnlich fasziniert gewesen von den australischen Aborigines, die wir kennenlernen konnten oder auch von den Museen, die wir in Melbourne besucht haben, von Landschaften, die uns gezeigt wurden. Aber was wir daraus entstehen wird, ist natürlich ganz unterschiedlich.

Der irische Autor Oisín McGann zum Beispiel blickt mit den Augen eines Science Fiction-Lesers auf die Dinge. Ich finde das faszinierend, habe aber ganz andere Ansätze. Wenn ich mit ihm über Gedichte spreche, spüren wir beide die große Bandbreite unterschiedlicher Literaturen. Tony Birch aus Melbourne schreibt zwar selten Gedichte, hat aber wie ich ein eher poetisches Verständnis von der Welt. Auch deswegen, weil er einen indigenous background hat und sich stark mit überlieferten Perspektiven beschäftigt. Das ist mir sehr nah. Man muss die Unterschiede gelten lassen, auch in diesem Projekt entsteht erst dann das Schöne.

Goethe-Institut: Ist Literatur als Kunstform geeignet, um Themen wie den Klimawandel zu vermitteln?

Mirko Bonné: Nein. Literatur, wie ich sie verstehe, darf sich nicht instrumentalisieren lassen. Ich würde dennoch sagen, es täte jedem Autor, der etwas auf sich hält und die Vielfältigkeit der Welt liebt, gut, sich mit der Problematik zu beschäftigen. Das heißt aber nicht mit der wissenschaftlichen Problematik! Aber sich zum Beispiel mit Schülern zu unterhalten über ihre Ängste oder über ihren Blick auf Natur. Ich würde nicht sagen, dass Literatur, oder überhaupt Künste, dafür besonders geeignet sind. Das Gespräch ist es. Und das Gespräch müssen wir unbedingt im Gang halten. Dazu, wohl nur dazu, ist Literatur verpflichtet.