Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1) Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
© Goethe-Institut London

60 Years Goethe-Institut London

A lot happened in the 1960s: Beatlemania was taking over, skirts were getting shorter, hair was getting longer, and flares were getting wider.

In 1962, the Goethe-Institut London opened its doors in South Kensington to become the first home for Germany’s cultural institute in the UK. Since then, we’ve grown to become the hub of ideas, support, education and exchange that exists today - building a community of cultural collaborators and forging innovative connections along the way.

Much like the fashion trends, our role and our work has continued to shift and adapt. As we celebrate our past, we’re already thinking about our future – what will the next 60 years look like for the Goethe-Institut London?

Anniversary Events

To mark our anniversary, we have a full programme of special events that will feature a variety of voices, ideas and opportunities, to allow you to also share your stories with us. We look forward to welcoming you!
 

Image of the Goethe-Institut 60 Years Cupcakes © Edesea Bakery

Goethe-Institut London 60 Years Party

We are enthralled to celebrate our 60th anniversary not only amongst staff and close partners but with those of you who have made and continue to make the Goethe-Institut London what it is today. We can't wait for you to join us on the dancefloor on Friday, 2nd December 2022. Save the date! 

Goethe Annual Lectures 2022

As part of the Goethe-Institut London's 60th anniversary, we are celebrating with 3 Goethe Annual Lectures this year featuring author Mithu Sanyal, professor Mercedes Bunz and musician Matthew Herbert.

A woman in a climbing frame © GuidoSchiefer

17 Nov 2022, Goethe-Institut London and Online
POLITICS – WHAT’S LOVE GOT TO DO WITH IT?

In the opening Goethe Annual Lecture 2022, the author, cultural scientist, and journalist Mithu Sanyal will explore the pitfalls and promises of a politics of love in times of ever-growing divisions. What can politics informed by love look like?

A portrait of a woman outside © King's College London

24 Nov 2022, Goethe-Institut London and Online
THE CULTURE OF ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE

Next up, Mercedes Bunz, Professor in Digital Culture and Society, will discuss the particular power of AI systems in her Goethe Annual Lecture 2022. Using work from contemporary artists, her talk reveals the human misunderstanding regarding AI.

Man sitting in a music studio © Manuel Vasquez

1 Dec 2022, Goethe-Institut London and Online
HEARING BEYOND

Through a series of extraordinary sound recordings, musician Matthew Herbert will push us to hear further than we might have thought possible in the final Goethe Annual Lecture 2022. His talk asks us how systemic listening can lead to meaningful action.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1) Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
© Goethe-Institut London

60 Jahre Goethe-Institut London

In den 1960er-Jahren ist viel passiert: Der Hype um die Beatles begann, die Röcke wurden kürzer, die Haare wurden länger, die Schlaghosen weiter.

1962 öffnete das Goethe-Institut London in South Kensington die Türen und wurde zur ersten britischen Heimat des deutschen Kulturinstituts. Seitdem haben wir uns zu einem Ort für Ideen, Unterstützung, Bildung und Austausch entwickelt, eine Gemeinschaft von Kulturschaffenden aufgebaut und innovative Verbindungen geknüpft.

Ähnlich wie die Modetrends haben sich auch unsere Rolle und unsere Arbeit stetig verändert und angepasst. Und während wir unsere Vergangenheit feiern, denken wir bereits über unsere Zukunft nach - wie werden die nächsten 60 Jahre für das Goethe-Institut London aussehen?

Jubiläums-Veranstaltungen

Anlässlich unseres Jubiläums haben wir ein umfangreiches Programm mit besonderen Veranstaltungen zusammengestellt, bei denen eine Vielzahl von Stimmen und Ideen zu Wort kommen. Feiern Sie mit uns - und teilen Sie dabei Geschichten aus unseren letzten 60 Jahren.

Bild von Goethe-Institut 60 Jahre Cupcakes © Edesea Bakery

Goethe-Institut London 60er Jahre Party

Wir freuen uns, unser 60-jähriges Bestehen nicht nur im Kreise unserer Mitarbeitenden und engen Partner*innen zu feiern, sondern auch mit denjenigen von Ihnen, die das Goethe-Institut London zu dem gemacht haben und machen, was es heute ist. Wir freuen uns darauf, mit Ihnen auf der Tanzfläche am Freitag, den 2. Dezember 2022, zu feiern! 

Goethe Annual Lectures 2022

Im Rahmen des 60. Jubiläums des Goethe-Instituts London veranstalten wir in diesem Jahr drei Goethe Annual Lectures mit Autorin Mithu Sanyal, Professorin Mercedes Bunz und Musiker Matthew Herbert.

Eine Frau in einem Klettergerüst © GuidoSchiefer

17. Nov 2022, Goethe-Institut London und Online
POLITICS – WHAT’S LOVE GOT TO DO WITH IT?

In der ersten Goethe Annual Lecture 2022, erforscht die Autorin, Kulturwissenschaftlerin und Journalistin Mithu Sanyal die Tücken und Verheißungen einer Politik der Liebe in Zeiten von zunehmender Spaltung. Wie kann eine Politik aussehen, die von Liebe geprägt ist?

Das Portät einer Frau © King's College London

24. Nov 2022, Goethe-Institut London und Online
THE CULTURE OF ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE

Als nächstes begrüßen wir Mercedes Bunz, Professorin in Digital Culture and Society, die in ihrer Goethe Annual Lecture 2022 über die besondere Macht von KI-Systemen sprechen wird. Mithilfe von Werken zeitgenössischer Künstler*innen und Forscher*innen offenbart der Vortrag auch das menschliche Missverständnis der Künstlichen Intelligenz.

Mann sitzt im Tonstudio © Manuel Vasquez

1. Dez 2022, Goethe-Institut London und Online
HEARING BEYOND

Anhand einer Reihe außergewöhnlicher Tonaufnahmen bringt der Musiker Matthew Herbert uns in seinem abschließenden Vortrag dazu, weiter zu hören, als wir es für möglich gehalten hätten. Der Vortrag erklärt auch, wie systemisches Zuhören zu sinnvollem Handeln führen kann.

Top