Scholarships

In Bangalore

Every trimester we offer full scholarships to the best student in the A2 and B1 levels to attend a
further course in the Goethe-Institut, Bangalore.


In Germany

Every year we offer scholarships to the two best students of the year of our advanced level to attend a further course either C1 or C2 in a Goethe-Institut in Germany. This is also a great opportunity to get a real insight into the way of life and culture. 

Personal Experiences

I have been learning German as a foreign language for the past three years at Goethe Institute. During my school days we had German language as one of our subjects as part of our extra curricular activities. My interactions with German colleagues in my professional life rekindled the interest in the language and I decided to enroll myself in a language course at the Institute.

In May this year the institute gave me an opportunity to attend a 4 week C2 course in Göttingen, Germany. The Institute took care of all the nitty gritties and the course itself was a mixture learning and preparation for the upcoming C2 examination. The extensive cultural activities organized by the Institute like sight seeing, grilling, films etc helped the students to bond with / understand each other and also understand the local culture.It was definitely an experience of a life time and all credit to Goethe Institute for making this possible. I would like to thank the Goethe Institute for extending continuous support and giving me the opportunity.   
My first contact with the German language was when I moved with my husband to Stuttgart for a year in 2002.Although I started learning German more for daily interactions,I found the language enticing from the very first day.And before I realized,2 levels(then G1 and G2)were behind me. We got a second opportunity in 2011 to move to Germany,again to Stuttgart but this time for 3 years.The gap had not in any way lessened my interest and enthusiasm for German and I finished my B1 level in Stuttgart.I was keen to continue learning and Goethe-Institut,Bangalore with it’s excellent teachers and a wonderfully equipped library made it possible for me to pursue and complete the B2 level.
When the institute informed me that I would be offered  a fully paid scholarship to do a  4-week C1 course in Germany ,it was an unbelievably pleasant surprise!The  process and formalities  were handled efficiently by the staff at Goethe Institute Bangalore and I attended a 4-week C1 course at Goethe-Institute  Bonn in April this year.
The entire team at GI,Bonn was extremely friendly and welcoming.They were very helpful and took care of everything possible.They had arranged for my stay there in a fully equipped apartment with a very friendly family ,who made  me feel instantly at home,and helped me throughout my stay there.My teacher there ,Udo Steves,too was extraordinary,both as a teacher and as a person.His classes were so interesting,interactive and fun filled,with discussions about the latest happenings,that not a single student in the class would realize how quickly time flew.The experience of learning amidst students from different parts of the world is in itself enriching.
The institute would also arrange for month- specific cultural and recreational programmes like day or night city guided tours,visit to neighbouring cities,sports activities,visits to cafes and other attractions.This gives students lots of opportunities to learn about Germany,it’s people,food and culture.I was lucky to be able to see the famous ‘Heerstraße’ with it’s cherry blossom trees in full bloom.
In all,this scholarship gave me a wide new experience of living and learning in Germany on my own for a month ,and has in the process taught me a lot and earned me some friends for life.I will be forever grateful to Goethe Institute for this opportunity.

Stipendien

In Bangalore

Jedes Trimester bieten wir dem jeweils Stufenbesten (A2 und B1) ein Stipendium für einen weiteren Kurs am Goethe-Institut an.


In Deutschland

Jedes Jahr bietet wir zwei besten Absolventen unserer Kurse für Fortgeschrittene die Möglichkeit mit einem Stipendium einige Zeit in Deutschland zu verbringen. Sie können an einem deutschen Goethe-Institut einen weiterführenden Kurs besuchen und nebenbei das Leben und die Kultur in Deutschland hautnah erleben. 

Erfahrungsberichte

In den letzten drei Jahren habe ich am Goethe-Institut Deutsch als Fremdsprache gelernt. Während meiner Schulzeit hatten wir die deutsche Sprache als einen Teil von unseren außerschulischen Aktivitäten. Das Interesse an der Sprache hat durch die Interaktion mit meinen deutschen Kollegen in meinem Berufsleben wieder aufgelebt und ich habe beschlossen, mich in einem Sprachkurs am Goethe Institut einzuschreiben.

Im Mai dieses Jahres gab das Institut mir die Möglichkeit, einen 4-Wochen-C2-Kurs in Göttigen, Deutschland zu besuchen. Das Institut hat sich um alles gekümmert und der Kurs selbst war eine Mischung aus Lernen und Vorbereitung auf die bevorstehende C2 Prüfung. Die umfangreichen kulturellen Aktivitäten wie Besichtigungen, Grillen, Filme usw. haben den Studenten geholfen, die deutsche Sprache und Kultur zu verstehen.

Das war eine tolle Erfahrung. Ich möchte das Goethe-Institut für die kontinuierliche Unterstützung und die vorgegebene Gelegenheit danken.   
Meine erste Begegnung mit der deutschen Sprache war im Jahr 2002,als ich mit meinem Mann für ein Jahr nach Stuttgart umzog.Obwohl ich das Deutschlernen für den täglichen Umgang angefangen habe,fand ich die Sprache vom ersten Tag an verlockend.Und bevor ich es merkte,waren die ersten zwei Niveaustufen(damals hießen sie G1 und G2)hinter mir.2011 bekamen wir eine zweite Gelegenheit,nach Stuttgart umzuziehen,dieses Mal für 3 jahre.Der Zeitabstand hat meine Begeisterung für die Sprache keineswegs verringert,und ich schloss das Niveau B1 ab.Ich war begierig weiterzulernen,und das Goethe Institut Bangalore,mit seinem ausgezeichneten Lehrern und seiner gut ausgestatteten Bibliothek hat es mir ermöglicht,das Niveau B2 fortzusetzen und abzuschließen.

Es war eine unglaublich schöne Überraschung,als mir vom Institut mitgeteilt wurde,dass mir ein vollbezahltes Stipendium angeboten wird,um einen vier-wöchigen C1 Kurs in Deutschland zu machen.Der gesamte Prozess und andere Formalitäten wurden effizient vom Personal des Instituts erledigt,und ich habe im April dieses Jahres den C1 Kurs in Bonn gemacht.

Das ganze Team am GI Bonn war sehr freundlich und einladend.Sie waren sehr hilfsbereit und kümmerten sich um alles Mögliche.Sie hatten meine Unterkunft in einem komplett eingerichteten Apartment bei einer sehr netten Familie arrangiert.Wegen ihrer Gastfreundlichkeit fühlte ich mich wie zu Hause während meines ganzen Aufenthalts.Auch mein Lehrer Udo Steves war außergewohnlich sowohl als Lehrer als auch als Mensch.Er machte jeden Unterricht so spannend,interaktiv und unterhaltsam,dass keiner merkte wie schnell die Zeit vorbei war.Das Erlebnis,zusammen mit Studenten aus der ganzen Welt zu lernen,ist an sich schon eine Bereicherung.

Außerdem organisiert das Institut zahlreiche Freizeitaktivitäten und Ausflüge wie Tag/Nacht Statdrundgang,Ausflüge in benachbarte Städte,Unternehmungen in und um die Stadt,Sportaktivitäten,Cafe-Besuch usw.Dadurch hat man die Gelegenheiten,das Land, die Leute,das Essen und die Kultur näher kennenzulernen.Ich hatte das Gluck,die berühmte und von vollblühenden Kirchbaümen gesäumte Heerstraße zu besuchen.

Im Großen und Ganzen hat das Stipendium mir eine umfangreiche Erfahrung vermittelt,auf eigene Faust in Deutschland zu lernen und zu leben.Dabei habe ich viel gelernt und einige Freunde fürs Leben gefunden.Dafür werde ich dem Goethe Institut immer dankbar sein.