Returning Sound #5

Returning Sound #5 © Goethe-Institut Kolkata/Design:Varun Desai

Fri, 22.07.2022

19:00

Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata

An evening of music at the cafe

‘Returning Sound’ is a specially curated series of music programmes presented every month at the institute. The programme is curated focusing on unconventional music written by independent electronic music producers.

The series is curated by Varun Desai who says:
 

2022 marks the return of public music events but few of them are meant to process what has happened to humanity over the last few years. ‘Returning Sound’ has been curated to restore a sense of community using electronic music to help reintegrate group listening, reflect on our collective experiences and navigate into an incalculable future. 

Varun Desai

The fifth programme of the series will feature Indrayudh Shome and Shailpik Biswas / ShadowBlink.


DETAILS ABOUT THE ARTISTS

Indrayudh Shome © Indrayudh Shome Indrayudh Shome: Indrayudh (Indy) Shome is an artist, designer, and creative leader. He was born in Kolkata in 1989 and grew up around four corners of India, Hong Kong, and Singapore, before moving to the USA for university. He holds a B.A. from Brown University where he pursued an independent program in Music, Media, and Consciousness. He is currently based in Philadelphia, where he is designing and teaching the city’s first high school pre-professional program in Music and Media Production. In 2016, he earned US Permanent Residence as a “Musician and Composer of Extraordinary Ability” for his work’s “original contributions of major significance.”

His work in experimental music began at an early age and has led to diverse projects around the world. At 16, he formed Queen Elephantine, the project that became his most prolific and consistent. They draw from psychedelia, doom, drone, and noise as well as free jazz and sacred music from around the world. Their latest release was a 2021 collaboration with Phurpa, the Moscow-based practitioners of ancient Tibetan chant.
More recently, Shome has been developing a solo project called Red Maya.

Other projects include the Drone Castle, a large-scale immersive sculpture and interactive live sound installation, which Shome constructed as an artist-in-residence at AS220 in Providence in 2014. He also recently created the feature film score and sound design for the thriller Higher Methods, which won the Massachusetts Independent Film Festival award for “Best Score” in 2022.

https://www.indyshome.com/
https://queenelephantine.com/

ShadowBlink    © ShadowBlink ShadowBlink: ShadowBlink is a mixed media production and live performance art project by Kolkata-based artist, Shailpik Biswas. The live performance blends venue-specific visual installations featuring his own multilayered visual journey (photographs, videos, generative and reactive visuals) with cutting-edge music, on-stage collaborations, spoken words and acoustic elements. The music is a melodic execution of industrial sounds, glitch techniques, and eccentric rhythms that mostly avoid the 4 to the floor approach. Above all, ShadowBlink is a soulful expression of an ‘Urban’ musician who has grown up loving the raw organic power of melodies and the grungy depths of a mechanised society.

www.shadowblink.com
https://soundcloud.com/shadowblink
https://vimeo.com/shadowblink


DETAILS ABOUT THE CURATOR:


Varun Desai new image © Varun Desai Varun Desai is a multi-disciplinary artist and an electronic musician as well as a computer engineer working in the field of music production and arts management. He’s been a teacher and lecturer for both hardware and software platforms, as well as a graphic designer, creative coder, video artist and instrument maker. He is the founder of Synthfarm, an annual music and technology residency and is the Director of the Kolkata Jazzfest. His company Littlei has been producing music events in Kolkata since 2007 and encourages the development of new art and music traditions.

This programme is open to all.

Entry to the programme will be on a first come first served basis till seats are full.
COVID protocols will be maintained, guests are requested to wear masks and temperature will be checked at the entrance to ensure everyone’s safety.

 

Back

Returning Sound #5

Returning Sound #5 © Goethe-Institut Kolkata/Design:Varun Desai

Fr, 22.07.2022

19:00

Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata

Ein Abend mit Musik im Café

‚Returning Sound‘ ist eine Reihe von Musikprogrammen, die jeden Monat im Institut präsentiert wird. Der Fokus des Programms liegt auf unkonventioneller Musik, die von unabhängigen Produzenten elektronischer Musik entwickelt wurde.

Die Reihe wird kuratiert von Varun Desai, der betont:
 

2022 können endlich wieder öffentliche Musikveranstaltungen stattfinden, auch wenn sich nur wenige von ihnen sich auf die Auswirkungen der letzten Jahre auf die Menschheit beziehen können. ‚Returning Sound‘ wurde zusammengestellt, um mithilfe elektronischer Musik ein neues Gemeinschaftsgefühl entstehen zu lassen und um ein kollektives Hörerlebnis zu schaffen, über gemeinschaftliche Erfahrungen nachzudenken und sich den Weg in eine unabsehbare Zukunft zu bahnen.

Varun Desai



In der fünften Veranstaltung der Reihe werden Indrayudh Shome and Shailpik Biswas / ShadowBlink auftreten.

ÜBER DIE KÜNSTLER

Indrayudh Shome © Indrayudh Shome Indrayudh Shome: Indrayudh (Indy) Shome ist Künstler, Designer und kreativer Kopf. Er wurde 1989 in Kolkata geboren und wuchs an verschiedenen Orten in Indien sowie in Hong Kong und Singapur auf, bevor er für sein Universitätsstudium in die USA zog. Er hat einen Bachelorabschluss der Brown University, wo er den unabhängigen Studiengang Music, Media and Consciousness belegte. Zurzeit lebt er in Philadelphia, wo er an der Entwicklung und Lehre des vorberuflichen Programms in Musik- und Medienproduktion an der besten Highschool der Stadt arbeitet. 2016 erlangte er als „Musiker und Komponist mit außerordentlichen Fähigkeiten” für sein Werk und dessen „originelle Leistungen von großer Bedeutung” die unbefristete Aufenthaltsgenehmigung der USA.

Seine Arbeit mit experimenteller Musik begann bereits in jungen Jahren und führte zu verschiedenen Projekten auf der ganzen Welt. Mit 16 Jahren gründete er die Band Queen Elephantine, eines seiner produktivsten und beständigsten Projekte. Die Gruppe zieht Einflüsse aus psychedelischer, Doom- und Bassmusik, Geräuschen sowie freier Jazz- und sakraler Musik aus der ganzen Welt. Ihre letzte Veröffentlichung 2021 war eine Zusammenarbeit mit Phurpa, einem in Moskau lebenden Experten für alten tibetischen Gesang. Vor Kurzem entwickelte Shome ein Solo-Projekt namens Red Maya.

Zu seinen weiteren Projekten zählt Drone Castle, eine großangelegte Skulptur- und interaktive Live-Klanginstallation, die Shome 2014 als Residenzkünstler im AS220 erarbeitete. Außerdem produzierte er kürzlich Filmmusik und Sounddesign für den Thriller ‚Higher Methods‛, der 2022 den Preis für beste Filmmusik auf dem Massachusetts Independent Film Festival gewann.  

https://www.indyshome.com/
https://queenelephantine.com/

ShadowBlink    © ShadowBlink ShadowBlink: ShadowBlink ist ein gemischtes Kunstprojekt für Medienproduktion und Live-Auftritte des in Kolkata lebenden Künstlers Shailpik Biswas. Die Live-Auftritte verbinden standortspezifische visuelle Installationen gemeinsam mit seinen eigenen vielschichtigen visuellen Reisen (Fotografien, Videos, generative und reaktive Bildmaterialien) mit ausdrucksstarker Musik, On-Stage-Kollaborationen, Texten und akustischen Elementen. Die Musik ist eine melodische Ausführung industrieller Klänge, Verzögerungstechniken und exzentrischer Rhythmen, die den 4-to-the-floor-Ansatz überwiegend vermeidet. ShadowBlink ist vor allen Dingen gefühlvoller Ausdruck eines ‚urbanen‛ Musikers, der die raue, organische Kraft der Melodien und schmuddeligen Tiefen einer mechanisierten Gesellschaft wertzuschätzen gelernt hat.  

www.shadowblink.com
https://soundcloud.com/shadowblink
https://vimeo.com/shadowblink


DETAILS ÜBER DEN KURATOR:


Varun Desai new image © Varun Desai Varun Desai ist ein multidisziplinärer Künstler und Elektromusiker sowie ein Computeringenieur, der im Bereich Musikproduktion und Kunstmanagement arbeitet. Er war Lehrer und Dozent für Hardware- und Software-Plattformen sowie Grafikdesigner, kreativer Programmierer, Videokünstler und Instrumentenbauer. Er ist der Gründer von Synthfarm, einem jährlichen Musik- und Technologie-Residenzprogramm und Direktor des Kolkata Jazzfestes. Seine Firma Littlei produziert seit 2007 Musikveranstaltungen in Kolkata und fördert die Entwicklung neuer Kunst- und Musiktraditionen.

Dieses Programm ist offen für alle.

Der Eintritt zum Programm erfolgt nach dem Prinzip „Wer zuerst kommt, mahlt zuerst”, bis die Plätze voll sind. Die COVID-Protokolle werden eingehalten, die Gäste werden gebeten, Masken zu tragen, und die Temperatur wird am Eingang kontrolliert, um die Sicherheit aller zu gewährleisten.

 

Zurück