Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Beuys Soziale Plastik GIF© Lutz Mommartz

Anniversary Program
100 Years of Joseph Beuys

Few German cultural figures of the 20th century were as controversial as the action artist, sculptor, draftsman, art theorist, and professor Joseph Beuys (1921–1986). His work dealt with a new, expanded concept of art that included the political co-creation of society.

We’ve gathered events on Joseph Beuys from our colleagues and partners in the region — and included some 2021 perspectives on the artist’s work.
 

Joseph Beuys Buecher (c) Goethe-Institut Chicago/Irmi Maunu-Kocian

Concert and Conversation| 8. Dec. | In-person in Chicago
Family/Beuys and Everyone

As the 100th anniversary of the birth of Joseph Beuys nears its final days, we present an evening devoted to the question of Beuys and the universal—the “everyone” in Beuys’s famous and endlessly debated claim that “everyone is an artist.” The evening begins and ends with the world premiere of a new work, “Family,” for fixed media and speaker by University of Chicago composer/artist Andrew Stock, in between which will unfold a conversation between artist Theaster GatesDieter Roelstraete, and Mechtild Widrich, moderated by Gray Center Director Seth Brodsky. 

Joseph Beuys would have turned 100 in May 2021. In a video series, we focus on the history of the impact of his ideas and art. Artists from all over the world talk about the reception and reverberation of Beuys in their own thinking and work. We want to avoid heroic narratives and look less at Beuys' legacy than at the diverse appropriations, confrontations, critiques and questions about this legacy.
Reflections on Beuys © Goethe-Institut

#aboutbeuysDC
Reflections on Beuys

On the occasion of Joseph Beuys’ 100th birthday, the Goethe-Institut Washington and the Hirshhorn Museum paired up and challenged nine contemporary artists to reflect on Beuys. In short videos, each artist conveys their relationship to Beuys, his work, and his legacy.​

Social sculpture is an art-theoretical term used to describe art that aims to have a formative effect on society. Societies, actions and processes in which people creatively change conditions and shape them are also referred to in this way. On the basis of an extended concept of art, the German artist Joseph Beuys used these terms to explain his idea of a society-changing art. In explicit contrast to an understanding based on formal aesthetics, the concept of art propagated by Beuys includes those human actions that are aimed at structuring and shaping society. Thus, the concept of art is no longer limited to the materially tangible artifact.

More about Joseph Beuys

Video series
#aboutbeuys

In a video series, we focus on the history of the impact of his ideas and art. Artists from all over the world talk about the reception and reverberation of Beuys in their own thinking and work. We want to avoid heroic narratives and look less at Beuys' legacy than at the diverse appropriations, confrontations, critiques and questions about this legacy.
 

The exhibition “Beuys verstehen” (“Understanding Beuys”) will be presented by the Goethe-Institutes of Warsaw and Prague. Illustration (detail): © ZAUBAR/Imago

Poland & Czech Republic
Understanding Beuys

The expanded concept of art developed by Joseph Beuys is a benchmark of international cultural work for the work of the Goethe-Instituts worldwide and an inspiration to contribute to the understanding of the artist's political, social and ecological content and issues in the anniversary year via the aesthetic framework of a virtual exhibition.

Slowakia
Beuys will be Beuys

Joseph Beuys is one of the most influential and controversial artists of the 20th century. In 2021, we are celebrating the 100th anniversary of his birth. Who was Beuys, and who is he today?

Tokyo
100 Years Joseph Beuys

On the occasion of the 100th birthday and 35th anniversary of the death of Joseph Beuys, the Goethe-Institut Tokyo is devoting its programming to the artist. What is the significance of Beuys’ work and agenda today?

Beuys 2021 © Beuys 2021

Germany
Beuys 2021

The anniversary program beuys2021 is a project of the Ministry of Culture and Science of the state of North Rhine-Westphalia in collaboration with the Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Beuys Soziale Plastik GIF© Lutz Mommartz

Jubiläumsprogramm
100 Jahre Joseph Beuys

Wenige deutsche Kulturschaffende des 20. Jahrhunderts waren so umstritten wie der Aktionskünstler, Bildhauer, Zeichner, Kunsttheoretiker und Professor Joseph Beuys (1921–1986). Sein Werk beschäftigte sich mit einem neuen, erweiterten Kunstbegriff, der die politische Mitgestaltung der Gesellschaft einschloss.

Wir haben Veranstaltungen zu Joseph Beuys von unseren Kolleg*innen und Partnern in der Region gesammelt – und einige Perspektiven aus 2021 auf das Werk des Künstlers zusammengestellt.

Links: Joseph Beuys auf der 4. documenta. Kassel. Photographie. 1968 | Rechts: Marcie Miller Gross, Composition #7 Links: Joseph Beuys © picture-alliance / IMAGNO/Christian Skrein | Rechts: Marcie Miller Gross © EG Schempf

Ausstellung | 30.9 - 13.11 | Goethe Pop Up Kansas City
UNKONVENTIONELL: DAS VERMÄCHTNIS VON JOSEPH BEUYS

Besuchen Sie das Goethe Pop Up Kansas City, um eine Ausstellung zu sehen, die den anhaltenden Einfluss des deutschen Künstlers Joseph Beuys auf vier zeitgenössische Künstler*innen untersucht: Karen McCoy, Jarrett Mellenbruch, Marcie Miller Gross und SHENEQUA. Jede*r von ihnen hat ein Werk beigesteuert, das in einen Dialog mit Beuys über skulpturale Form und Medium sowie seine Ideen über die transformative Kraft der Kunst tritt.

Die Ausstellung ist von Mi - Fr, 15 - 18 Uhr, Sa, 11 - 14 Uhr zu besichtigen. Wir bitten alle Besucher, unabhängig von ihrem Impfstatus eine Maske zu tragen.

Im Mai 2021 wäre Joseph Beuys 100 Jahre alt geworden. Mit einer Videoreihe richten wir unseren Fokus auf die Wirkungsgeschichte seiner Ideen und Kunst. Künstler*innen aus aller Welt sprechen über Rezeption und Nachhall von Beuys in ihrem eigenen Denken und Werk. Wir wollen Heldenerzählungen umschiffen und weniger Beuys‘ Erbe betrachten, als die vielfältigen Aneignungen, Auseinandersetzungen, Kritiken und Fragen an dieses Erbe.
Reflections on Beuys © Goethe-Institut

#aboutbeuysDC
Gedanken zu Beuys

Anlässlich des 100. Geburtstags von Joseph Beuys haben das Goethe-Institut Washington und das Hirshhorn Museum gemeinsam neun zeitgenössische Künstler*innen gebeten, über Beuys nachzudenken. In kurzen Videos präsentiert jede*r Künstler*in seine oder ihre Beziehung zu Beuys, dessen Werk und seine Bedeutung.
 

Die Soziale Plastik, auch genannt die soziale Skulptur, ist ein kunsttheoretischer Begriff zur Bezeichnung von Kunst, die den Anspruch verfolgt, auf die Gesellschaft gestaltend einzuwirken. Gesellschaften, Aktionen und Prozesse, in denen Menschen kreativ die Verhältnisse verändern und sie formen, werden ebenfalls so bezeichnet. Auf der Grundlage eines Erweiterten Kunstbegriffs nutzte der deutsche Künstler Joseph Beuys diese Begriffe, um damit seine Vorstellung einer gesellschaftsverändernden Kunst zu erläutern. Im ausdrücklichen Gegensatz zu einem formalästhetisch begründeten Verständnis schließt das von Beuys propagierte Kunstkonzept dasjenige menschliche Handeln mit ein, das auf eine Strukturierung und Formung der Gesellschaft ausgerichtet ist. Damit wird der Kunstbegriff nicht mehr nur auf das materiell fassbare Artefakt beschränkt.

Mehr zu Joseph Beuys

Screenshot  © Kalas Liebfried

Videoreihe
#aboutbeuys

Mit einer Videoreihe richten wir unseren Fokus auf die Wirkungsgeschichte seiner Ideen und Kunst. Künstler*innen aus aller Welt sprechen über Rezeption und Nachhall von Beuys in ihrem eigenen Denken und Werk. Wir wollen Heldenerzählungen umschiffen und weniger Beuys‘ Erbe betrachten, als die vielfältigen Aneignungen, Auseinandersetzungen, Kritiken und Fragen an dieses Erbe.

„Beuys verstehen“ ist der Titel einer virtuellen Galerie der Goethe-Institute Warschau und Prag. Grafik (Ausschnitt): © ZAUBAR/Imago

Polen & Tschechien
Beuys verstehen

Der von Joseph Beuys entwickelte erweiterte Kunstbegriff ist für die Arbeit der Goethe-Institute weltweit ein Maßstab der internationalen Kulturarbeit und eine Inspiration, über den ästhetischen Rahmen einer virtuellen Ausstellung zum Verständnis von politischen, sozialen und ökologischen Inhalten und Fragestellungen des Künstlers im Jubiläumsjahr beizutragen.

Beuys will be Beuys © Eugen Korda

Slowakei
Beuys will be Beuys

Joseph Beuys ist ein besonderes Kapitel der Kunstgeschichte, im Rahmen dessen wir in 2021 das 100. Geburtstagsjubiläum eines der einflussreichsten und kontroversesten Künstler des 20. Jahrhunderts feiern. Wer war und wer ist Beuys heute?

100 Jahre Joseph Beuys © Mimmo Jodice and the CODA Museum, CC BY 3.0, Ausschnitt und Sepia

Tokyo
100 Jahre Joseph Beuys

Anlässlich des 100. Geburtstags und 35. Todestags von Joseph Beuys geht das Goethe-Institut Tokyo in Veranstaltungen und Projekten der Frage nach: Welche Bedeutung haben Werk und Agenda des Künstlers heute?

Beuys 2021 © Beuys 2021

Deutschland
Beuys 2021

Das Jubiläumsprogramm beuys 2021 ist ein Projekt des Ministeriums für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen in Zusammenarbeit mit der Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf.

Top