Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1) Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Monuments of the Future?© Goethe-Institut e.V.

Monuments of the Future?

In a public landscape haunted by visible and invisible memories, can Art and Design transform monuments into vessels that uncover what was previously unspoken? How can we answer the call for sites of multi-directional memory? And how can we find solutions that evolve as society changes over time?


About the Event

On Friday, July 15 2022, 12-7pm, the Goethe-Institut and Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung/bpb will invite international artists, historians, activists, and a growing transatlantic coalition of changemakers from the US, Canada, and Germany to imagine what is in store for the future of memory spaces. 

This daylong event in the Haus der Statisik in Berlin, Germany, will feature a mix of discussions, panels, film screenings, and opportunities for exchange that spotlight diverse voices and design practices in the memory field. During the program, guests have the opportunity to exchange ideas with students and get to know their approaches from art, design and history for the change of memory landscapes.​

Monuments of the Future? is a project by the Goethe-Institut, in partnership with the Academy of Media Arts, Cologne, Harvard University's History Design Studio, and Ontario College of Art and Design University (OCADU), and with financial support from the Federal Foreign Office of Germany. The public share-out on July 15 is in cooperation with the Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung/bpb. This event will also feature speakers from FHXB Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg Museum, Zitadelle Berlin, and Weißensee Academy of Art.

Registration (for free)

The Haus der Statistik in Berlin The Haus der Statistik in Berlin | Foto: Dario Radišić

Program of the event

11:00 Uhr
Prelude

Monument for Historical Change A walking tour and conversation with Mischa Kuball & Christian Nagel
Starting at Gallery Nagel/Draxler, Berlin  (Weydingerstraße 2-4 Google Maps)

12:00 – 20:00 Uhr
Program at Haus der Statistik (OTTO-BRAUN-STRASSE 70-72, 10178 BERLIN Google Maps)


12pm
Lunch

1pm
Welcome – opening remarks and introduction to “Monuments of the Future?”
with Dori Tunstall and Lena Jöhnk

2pm
Discussion Sessions (happen simultaneously and in English)
Making erased histories visible with  der Künstlerin R. Stein Wexler
Memorializing protest with Natalie Bayer, FHXB Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg Museum
What to do with removed monuments? with Urte Evert, Zitadelle Berlin

4pm
Coffee break and screening of the short film  Harvard & the Legacy of Slavery
(the film starts at 4pm and 4:30pm)

5pm
Panel discussion An Honest Talk on Memory Culture
with Michael Rothberg, Vincent Brown and Noa K. Ha, moderated by Shoshana Liessmann

Remembrance work begins when a piece of history that has been successfully suppressed is uncovered. In doing this work, the aim is not merely to erect monuments or to build static memorial sites. One must engage with social resistance and debates and prepare to answer with complex solutions. What constraints exist when negotiating a multidirectional culture of remembrance? And can approaches be developed from these techniques to create monuments of the future?

6:30pm
Closing Reception

Monuments of the future?© Goethe-Institut e.V.

Short bios of the participants

is the director of the FHXB/Friedrichshain‑Kreuzberg Museum, Berlin. She is a cultural anthropologist and has curated and supervised, among other things, the open archive Re/Assembling Anti-Racist Struggles (2022) and the exhibitions Laboratory 89 – New Perspectives on the Period of Transition Around the Fall of the Berlin Wall and Dach über Kopf (2019–2020).
is the Charles Warren Professor of American History and Professor of African and African American Studies and Director of the History Design Studio at Harvard University. Brown authored Tacky’s Revolt (2020) and The Reaper’s Garden (2010). His documentary Herskovits at the Heart of Blackness won the John E. O’Connor Film Award and was chosen as Best Documentary at the Hollywood Black Film Festival.
is the director of the Zitadelle Spandau Museum, Berlin. She has curated the permanent exhibition Unveiled, which tells the story of Berlin through dismantled, toppled and forgotten monuments and in which new forms of deauratizing monuments were developed.
is an urban studies researcher and lecturer at the Weißensee Kunsthochschule Berlin. Since July 2020 she was acting Scientific Manager at the German Center for Integration and Migration Research (DeZIM-Institut), where she is currently acting head of the National Discrimination and Racism Monitor (NaDiRa). She is a founding member of the “Critical Race, Postcolonial and Decolonial Studies Association.”
was the Director of Cultural Programs, North America at the Goethe-Institut (2017 to July 2022). She conceived and organized the transatlantic projects Shaping the Past and Monuments of the Future?, which deal with artistic approaches to forms of remembrance culture.
is a conceptual artist who uses light as a medium to explore architectural spaces, as well as social and political discourses. Kuball is a professor for public art at the Academy of Media Arts, Cologne and a member of the North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences, Humanities and the Arts, Duesseldorf.
is a Judaist and cultural scientist with a focus on Jewish music and cultural history, women in Judaism, Italian Judaism in the Renaissance, music and Kabbalah. She works for the Goethe-Institut in the field of education and discourses.
founded the Christian Nagel Gallery for Contemporary Art in 1990 with exhibition spaces in Cologne, Berlin and Munich. At the beginning of 2009, Christian Nagel partnered with Saskia Draxler to form Galerie Nagel Draxler.
works in the fields of Holocaust studies, trauma and memory studies, critical theory and cultural studies, postcolonial studies, and contemporary literatures. He is the author of several books, including Multidirectional Memory: Remembering the Holocaust in the Age of Decolonization (2009) and The Implicated Subject: Beyond Victims and Perpetrators (2019).
 
ist in den Bereichen Holocaustforschung, Trauma- und Erinnerungsforschung, Kritische Theorie und Kulturwissenschaften, postkoloniale Studien und zeitgenössische Literatur tätig. Er ist Autor mehrerer Bücher, darunter Multidirektionale Erinnerung: Holocaustgedenken im Zeitalter der Dekolonisierung (2009/2021) und The Implicated Subject: Beyond Victims and Perpetrators (2019).
is a public artist, urban planner, and consultant. She produces community-engaged public artworks, facilitates public art initiatives, and designs public space interventions. She has guided urban policy, developed and applied organizational strategies, and has served on numerous advisory and selection committees. Her art and policy work are imbued with her research-intensive and process-driven approach to creative placemaking.

Project Partners

Monuments of the Future? is a project by the Goethe-Institut, in partnership with the Academy of Media Arts, Cologne, Harvard University's History Design Studio, and Ontario College of Art and Design University (OCADU), with financial support from the Federal Foreign Office of Germany.

Partner

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1) Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Monumente der Zukunft?© Goethe-Institut e.V.

Monuments of the Future?

Können Kunst und Design Denkmäler nutzen, um das zu offenbaren, was zuvor im öffentlichen Raum nicht sichtbar war? Wie können wir der Forderung nach Orten der multidirektionalen Erinnerung nachkommen? Und wie können wir Lösungen finden, die sich mit dem gesellschaftlichen Wandel weiterentwickeln?


Zur Veranstaltung

Am Freitag, dem 15. Juli 2022, laden das Goethe-Institut und die Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (bpb) von 12 bis 19 Uhr internationale Künstler*innen, Historiker*innen, Aktivist*innen und eine wachsende transatlantische Koalition von Changemaker*innen aus den USA, Kanada und Deutschland ein, die Zukunft von Erinnerungsräumen neu zu denken.

Im Haus der Statistik in Berlin bietet die Veranstaltung eine Mischung aus Diskussionen, Foren, Filmvorführungen und Gelegenheiten zum Dialog, die unterschiedliche Stimmen und Gestaltungspraktiken im Bereich der Erinnerungsarbeit beleuchten. Während des Programms haben Gäste die Möglichkeit, sich mit Studierenden auszutauschen und ihre Ansätze aus Kunst, Design und Geschichte für die Veränderung von Erinnerungslandschaften kennenzulernen.

„Monuments of the Future?“ ist ein Projekt des Goethe-Instituts in Kooperation mit der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln, dem History Design Studio der Harvard University und der Ontario College of Art and Design (OCAD) University in Toronto, gefördert durch das Auswärtige Amt der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Der öffentliche Gedankenaustausch am 15. Juli wird in Zusammenarbeit mit der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (bpb) durchgeführt. An dem Event sind zudem Referent*innen des FHXB Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg Museum, der Zitadelle Berlin und der Kunsthochschule Weißensee beteiligt.
 
Registrieren (kostenlos)

Das Haus der Statistik in Berlin Das Haus der Statistik in Berlin | Foto: Dario Radišić

Programm der Veranstaltung

11:00 Uhr
Auftakt

Begehung Monument for Historical Change und Gespräch mit Mischa Kuball & Christian Nagel
Treffpunkt: Galerie Nagel/Draxler (Weydingerstraße 2-4 Google Maps)

12:00 – 20:00 Uhr
Programm im Haus der Statistik (OTTO-BRAUN-STRASSE 70-72, 10178 BERLIN Google Maps)

12:00 Uhr
Mittagessen

13:00 Uhr
Willkommen und Einführung in “Monumente der Zukunft?”
mit Dori Tunstall und Lena Jöhnk

14:00 Uhr
Diskussionsrunden (finden parallel und auf Englisch statt)
Making erased histories visible mit der Künstlerin R. Stein Wexler
Memorializing protest mit Natalie Bayer, FHXB Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg Museum
What to do with removed monuments? mit Urte Evert, Zitadelle Berlin

16:00 Uhr
Kaffeepause und Präsentation des Kurzfilms Harvard & the Legacy of Slavery
(Beginn des Films um 16 Uhr und 16:30 Uhr)

17:30 Uhr
Abschlussdiskussion: An honest talk on Memory Culture
mit Michael Rothberg, Vincent Brown und Noa K. Ha, Moderation: Shoshana Liessmann

Erinnerungsarbeit beginnt mit dem Aufdecken oft erfolgreich unterdrückter Geschichte und endet keinesfalls mit der Errichtung von Denkmälern oder Erinnerungsstätten. Dabei stößt sie auf gesellschaftliche Widerstände und Debatten, die auch die Frage nach Zugeständnissen aufwerfen. Welche Spielräume gibt es beim Aushandeln einer multidirektionalen Erinnerungskultur? Und lassen sich daraus Ansätze entwickeln für Denkmäler der Zukunft?

18:30 Uhr
Empfang im Garten

Monumente der Zukunft?© Goethe-Institut e.V.

Kurzbiografien der Teilnehmer*innen

leitet seit 2018 das FHXB Friedrichshain‑Kreuzberg Museum, Berlin. Sie ist Kulturanthropologin und hat unter anderem das offene Archiv Ver/sammeln antirassistischer Kämpfe (2022) und die Ausstellungen Labor 89 – Neue Perspektiven auf die Wendezeit (2020) und Dach über Kopf (2019–2020) kuratiert und betreut.
ist Direktor des History Design Studio der Universität Harvard, Dokumentarfilmer, Autor sowie Experte für atlantische Geschichte, die Erforschung der afrikanischen Diaspora und die Geschichte der Sklaverei auf dem amerikanischen Doppelkontinent.
ist Leiterin des Museums Zitadelle Spandau in Berlin. Sie hat die Dauerausstellung Enthüllt kuratiert, die die Geschichte Berlins anhand abgebauter, gestürzter und vergessener Denkmäler erzählt und in der neue Formen der Entauratisierung von Denkmälern entwickelt wurden.
ist postkoloniale Stadtforscherin. Sie lehrte und forschte an Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen in Berlin und Dresden. Derzeit ist sie Gastdozentin im MA Spatial Strategies an der Weissensee Kunsthochschule Berlin.
leitete die Programmarbeit der Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika von 2017 bis Juli 2022. Sie hat die transatlantischen Projekte Shaping the Past und Monumente der Zukunft?, die sich mit künstlerischen Zugängen zu erinnerungskulturellen Formen befassen, konzipiert und betreut.
ist Konzeptkünstler und erforscht mit Hilfe des Mediums Licht architektonische Räume und deren soziale und politische Diskurse. Seit 2007 ist Mischa Kuball Professor für Public Art an der Kunsthochschule für Medien, Köln und seit 2015 Mitglied der Akademie der Wissenschaften und Künste NRW, Düsseldorf.
ist Judaistin und Kulturwissenschaftlerin mit den Schwerpunkten Jüdische Musik- und Kulturgeschichte, Frauen im Judentum, Italienisches Judentum in der Renaissance, Musik und Kabbalah. Sie arbeitet für das Goethe-Institut im Bereich Bildung und Diskurse.
gründete 1990 die Galerie Christian Nagel für Zeitgenössische Kunst mit Ausstellungsräumen in Köln, Berlin und München. Anfang 2009 schlossen sich Saskia Draxler und Christian Nagel als Partner der Galerie zusammen und es erfolgte die Namensänderung in Galerie Nagel Draxler.
ist in den Bereichen Holocaustforschung, Trauma- und Erinnerungsforschung, Kritische Theorie und Kulturwissenschaften, postkoloniale Studien und zeitgenössische Literatur tätig. Er ist Autor mehrerer Bücher, darunter Multidirektionale Erinnerung: Holocaustgedenken im Zeitalter der Dekolonisierung (2009/2021) und The Implicated Subject: Beyond Victims and Perpetrators (2019).
ist Dekanin für Design an der OCAD University in Toronto. Sie ist Design-Anthropologin, Intellektuelle und Design Advocate und arbeitet an den Schnittpunkten von Kritischer Theorie, Kultur und Design.
ist Künstlerin, Stadtplanerin und Beraterin. Sie schafft Kunstwerke im öffentlichen Raum, die einen gemeinschaftsbasierten Ansatz verfolgen, wirkt an öffentlichen Kunstinitiativen mit und gestaltet Interventionen im öffentlichen Raum. Ihre Kunst und ihre politische Arbeit gehen einher mit einem rechercheintensiven und prozessbasierten Ansatz des Creative Placemaking.

Projektpartner

„Monuments of the Future?“ ist ein Projekt des Goethe-Instituts in Kooperation mit der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln, dem History Design Studio der Harvard University und der Ontario College of Art and Design (OCAD) University in Toronto gefördert durch das Auswärtige Amt der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.  Partner

Top