Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Granny Trude
Fermentation – happy bubbles for good health

Food preservation is quite the thing these days. Just like so much from the old days. And if you fill up your store cupboards, you don’t have to visit the supermarket as often – Granny Trude’s pleased about that, and not just in corona times.

By Granny Trude

My dears,
 
We’re still going through the corona crisis. Who’d have thought it would assume such huge proportions? Fortunately the rules have been relaxed a little, and I can meet up with my friend Inge again – with social distancing and usually wearing masks she has sewn herself. We now go out for a long walk every day and talk about our new passion, fermentation. It’s such fun and there are so many benefits, I absolutely must tell you about it!

Chemistry – but it’s quite simple

The concept of fermentation describes a chemical process that occurs with the help of bacteria. Lactic acid bacteria cause changes to the vegetable, and this process is supported by salt and the removal of oxygen. That’s a very rough explanation, but you can read up on all the details online after all. Something else from the field of chemistry that’s good to know: the bacteria break down carbohydrates (sugar molecules) to form lactic acid, giving it the flavour and extended life.

Why the trend?

You might say the vegetables are “pre-digested” by this transformation process – which sounds somewhat unappetising but just means that it’s more digestible. It contains loads of vitamins because it hasn’t been cooked, and it’s incredibly beneficial for our gut flora and therefore our immune systems. But we also save packaging, don’t consume energy, generate less plastic waste, don’t leave anything to go off, live more mindfully – quite frankly, we’ve slowed things down. Time invested in our healthy diet is worthwhile in all respects – after all, isn’t slow food associated with savour and flavour?

Revival of the fittest

Although fermentation is a really old method, neither Inge nor I had ever tried it before. In the old days everything had to be done quickly, when the kids were still living at home. We were lazy as well, belonging to a generation that really enjoyed the luxury of a fridge and tinned goods. And then our mothers’ nifty preservation methods simply ended up being forgotten.
 
But a few months ago my daughter Silke and grand-daughter Emmi were raving about it so much that I wanted to give it a try too. You do know I’m always up for experimenting! Emiliana is 14, very interested in healthy nutrition and absolutely couldn’t bear an animal to die for her. So vegetables are right at the top of the menu for her, and lately they’ve often been fermented. In Hamburg, where Silke lives with her family, there are even courses on fermentation. In the cities they all call it “happy bubbles” – a reference to the foaming bubbles produced during the fermenting process.

Don’t over-season

So if you’ve picked up a bargain at the market, or harvested a lot of veg from your own garden, fermenting is a good alternative to making preserves or pickling. The vegetables stay crisp and end up with a slightly acidic taste. Whole new worlds of flavour open up, and you always know what’s in it! By the way, it’s essential that you use organic veg.
 
Of course you can introduce lots of variation by seasoning – but be careful not to use too much because fermentation intensifies the spicy flavour. After a few experiments that didn’t turn out so well I’ve found the rule of thumb: use about a teaspoon of herbs and spices per 500 grams of veg.

Everything’s orange to begin with

I did my first fermentation using carrots, very simple! I recommend that for you too. Add a little oil and it tastes lovely with fish or poultry. This is what you need:
  • 500 g organic carrots
  • 1 large clove of garlic
  • small amount of chilli
  • a few sprigs of fresh dill
  • 20 g coarse sea salt
  • 1 litre water 
You also need a preserving jar (without the rubber seal) and a weight to hold the carrots below the surface of the liquid. You can buy special fermentation weights – or alternatively you could use something like marbles in a freezer bag. The internet will tell you what else you can use as a weight.
 
It’s important that you work under sterile conditions. And now you’re ready to start:
  • give the carrots a good scrub, remove the ends and cut into ½ cm slices
  • blot the dill sprigs dry, chop the garlic finely and add to the tightly packed carrots in the jar
  • dissolve the salt in the water and pour over the carrots; they need to be completely covered
  • put the weight on top, close the lid and label with the date
  • cover with a cloth to protect the vegetables from the light
  • leave to stand for 1 week at room temperature (20-22 degrees)
  • then put on a plate and leave to stand in a cool place (16-18 degrees), after that the carrots will keep in the fridge for at least 3 months. You need the plate in case liquid overflows from the jar. 
And that’s it. Easy and tasty.
 
My daughter Silke also recommended a recipe for salted lemons. I’m going to make those – my mouth’s watering already.
 
My dears, stay healthy and cheerful!
Yours, Trude

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Oma Trude
Fermentieren – gesund durch happy bubbles

Fermentieren – gesund durch happy bubbles
Fermentiertes Gemüse aller Art - ein Traum für Trude | © Illustration (Detail): Celine Buldun

Lebensmittel haltbar machen liegt voll im Trend. Wie so vieles von früher. Und wer Vorräte anlegt, muss seltener in den Supermarkt – darüber freut sich Oma Trude nicht nur in Corona-Zeiten.

Von Oma Trude

Ihr Lieben,
 
noch immer befinden wir uns in der Corona-Krise. Wer hätte gedacht, dass die ein solches Ausmaß annimmt? Zum Glück wurden die Regeln etwas gelockert, und ich kann mich wieder mit meiner Freundin Inge treffen – mit Sicherheitsabstand und meist mit von ihr selbstgenähten Masken. Mittlerweile gehen wir jeden Tag lange spazieren und reden über unsere neue Leidenschaft, das Fermentieren. Das macht so viel Spaß und hat so viele Vorteile, ich muss Euch unbedingt davon berichten!

Chemie – aber ganz einfach

Der Begriff Fermentieren beschreibt einen Gärprozess mit Hilfe von Bakterien. Milchsäurebakterien verändern das Gemüse, und Salz und entzogener Sauerstoff unterstützen diesen Prozess. Das ist eine sehr grobe Erklärung, aber alle Details könnt Ihr ja im Internet nachlesen. Noch etwas Wissenswertes aus der Welt der Chemie: Die Bakterien bauen Kohlenhydrate (die Zuckermoleküle) zu Milchsäure ab, wodurch der Geschmack und die Haltbarkeit entstehen.

Warum ein Trend?

Das Gemüse wird durch den Umwandlungsprozess wie „vorverdaut“ – das klingt etwas unappetitlich, heißt aber nur, dass es besser verdaulich ist. Es enthält sehr viele Vitamine, weil es nicht gekocht ist, und ist unglaublich gut für unsere Darmflora und somit für unser Immunsystem. Wir sparen aber auch Verpackung, verbrauchen keine Energie, erzeugen weniger Plastikmüll, lassen nichts verkommen, leben bewusster, geradezu „entschleunigt“. Die in unsere gesunde Ernährung investierte Zeit lohnt sich rundherum – und steht Slowfood nicht für Genuss und Geschmack?

Revival for the fittest

Obwohl das Fermentieren eine wirklich alte Methode ist, hatten weder Inge noch ich es vorher ausprobiert. Früher musste immer alles schnell gehen, als die Kinder noch bei uns wohnten. Wir waren auch bequem, gehören zu einer Generation, die den Luxus eines Kühlschranks und den von Konservendosen richtig genossen hat. Und dann geriet die schlichte Konservierungsmethode unserer Mütter einfach in Vergessenheit.
 
Vor einigen Monaten aber hatten mir meine Tochter Silke und meine Enkelin Emmi davon so vorgeschwärmt, dass ich es auch mal probieren wollte. Ihr wisst ja, ich bin experimentierfreudig!. Emiliana ist 14, sehr an gesunder Ernährung interessiert und will auf keinen Fall, dass ein Tier für sie stirbt. Also steht Gemüse ganz oben auf ihrem Speiseplan, und das wird neuerdings oft fermentiert. In Hamburg, wo Silke mit ihrer Familie lebt, gibt es sogar Kurse über das Fermentieren. Überall in den Großstädten heißt es wohl nur noch „happy bubbles“: ein Hinweis auf die blubbernden Blasen, die bei der Fermentation entstehen.

Sparsam würzen

Wer also auf dem Wochenmarkt ein Schnäppchen gemacht oder viel Gemüse aus dem eigenen Garten geerntet hat, für den ist Fermentieren eine gute Alternative zum Einkochen oder Einlegen. Das Gemüse bleibt knackig und wird leicht säuerlich. Es tun sich ganz neue Geschmackswelten auf, und man weiß immer, was drinsteckt! Das Gemüse sollte übrigens unbedingt bio sein.
 
Mit Gewürzen kann man natürlich auch noch eine Menge variieren – aber Vorsicht, nicht zu viel davon verwenden, denn das Fermentieren verstärkt den Gewürzgeschmack. Nach ein paar – nicht so geglückten – Experimenten habe ich die Faustregel gefunden: auf 500 Gramm Gemüse kommt in etwa ein Teelöffel an Gewürzen.

Aller Anfang ist orange

Mein erstes Ferment habe ich mit Karotten gemacht, sehr einfach! Empfehle ich Euch auch. Es schmeckt mit etwas Öl sehr gut zu Fisch oder Geflügel. Und das braucht Ihr:
  • 500 g Bio-Karotten
  • 1 große Knoblauchzehe
  • etwas Chili
  • einige Zweige frischen Dill
  • 20 g unraffiniertes Meersalz
  • 1 Liter Wasser 
Außerdem benötigt Ihr noch ein Bügelglas (ohne das Gummi) und ein Gewicht, um die Karotten unter der Oberfläche der Flüssigkeit zu halten. Man kann solche Gärgewichte eigens kaufen – Ihr könnt aber auch zum Beispiel Murmeln im Gefrierbeutel verwenden. Was sonst noch als Gewicht funktioniert, erzählt das Internet.
 
Wichtig ist, dass Ihr keimfrei arbeitet. Und dann kann’s losgehen:
  • Karotten gut abschrubben, Enden entfernen, in Scheiben von ½ cm schneiden
  • trocken getupfte Dillzweige sowie gehackten Knoblauch zu den dicht gepressten Karotten ins Glas geben
  • Salz im Wasser auflösen und die Karotten damit übergießen; alles muss bedeckt sein
  • Gewicht drauf, Deckel zu und mit Datum versehen
  • Tuch drüber, damit das Gemüse vor Licht geschützt ist
  • bei Raumtemperatur 1 Woche stehen lassen (20-22 Grad) danach 4-5 Wochen auf einen Teller an einen kühlen Ort stellen (16-18 Grad), anschließend sind die Karotten im Kühlschrank mind. 3 Monate haltbar. Den Teller braucht Ihr, weil manchmal Flüssigkeit aus dem Glas austritt. 
Und das war’s schon. Einfach und lecker.
 
Meine Tochter Silke hat mir empfohlen, auch einmal ein Rezept für Salzzitronen auszuprobieren. Das mach ich – mir läuft schon das Wasser im Mund zusammen.
 
Ihr Lieben, bleibt gesund und gut gelaunt!
Eure Trude

Top