Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Decoding Babel

  • Abstract graphic in black, white and green with lettering Decoding Babel and photos of famous people Craig Tilley

Artist

Craig Tilley
Country: USA
Website The Grapevine Wall

Bio
Craig Tilley © Craig Tilley Craig Tilley is an award-winning, visually impaired artist and storyteller examining humanity’s influence on the future, the environment, and each other through the technologies we are creating.

His project, “The Grapevine Wall,” saturates your senses in surreal artworks, immersive mixed reality and next-level storytelling. It documents in real-time our triumphs and struggles as the world transitions into a digitized, hyper-connected civilization. With limited central vision due to a genetic eye condition, Craig uses a unique technique to create his artwork using the art of flow on a digital canvas – carving out intricate images from simple lines. These lines are either drawn by participants or carried over from an existing piece, he calls a “vine.” Each “vine” connects to grow the organic story in real-time. Craig combines his passion for art and qualitative understanding of social and economic trends to generate work that inspires human connection and metaphysical exploration.
 
Craig Tilley’s work “Decoding Babel” is an immersive experience that drills down to explore deep fakes. Tilley’s deliberate use of humor, sound, and three-dimensional visuals make this work provocative, captivating and layered with surprises. Tilley shows us the extent to which deep fakes can trick us into believing that what we are seeing is real and leaves us wondering about the authenticity of videos we see on the internet.

The title “Decoding Babel” aligns very well with deep fake technology and its demonstration in this work. It poses the question of who is responsible for creating the decoder that superimposes one individual on another and also asks what language (and for what purpose) is spoken after this superimposition.
We have a small window in time to raise our consciousness, our human intelligence. Because technology is increasing at the speed of light, we could be left with a crippled collective mental state that leads us to an unwanted future we unintentionally helped create.

We can leverage a system that is programmed to give us what we want. All we must do is shift our focus away from fear and towards wonder. Let’s focus on helping others first and let’s keep on learning … every day.
Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Decoding Babel

  • Abstrakte Grafik in schwarz, weiß, grau und grün mit Schriftzug Decoding Babel und Fotos von bekannten Persönlichkeiten Craig Tilley

Künstler

Craig Tilley
Land: USA
Website The Grapevine Wall

Craig Tilley © Craig Tilley Craig Tilley ist ein preisgekrönter, sehbehinderter Künstler und Storyteller, der den Einfluss der Menschheit auf die Zukunft, die Umwelt über und durch die Technologien, die wir schaffen, untersucht.

Sein Projekt „The Grapevine Wall“ bietet unseren Sinnen surreale Kunstwerke, immersive Mixed Reality und neuartiges Storytelling an. Es dokumentiert unsere Errungenschaften und Kämpfe in Echtzeit, während sich die Welt in eine digitalisierte, hyper-vernetzte Zivilisation verwandelt. Craig, der aufgrund einer genetischen Augenerkrankung ein eingeschränktes Sehvermögen hat, verwendet eine einzigartige Technik auf einer digitalen Leinwand, um seine Kunstwerke zu schaffen – er arbeitet aus einfachen Linien komplizierte Bilder heraus. Diese Linien werden entweder von den Teilnehmer*innen gezeichnet oder von einem bestehenden Werk übernommen, das er als „Rebe“ bezeichnet. Jede „Rebe“ verbindet sich, um die organische Geschichte in Echtzeit wachsen zu lassen. Craig kombiniert seine Leidenschaft für Kunst und sein Verständnis für soziale und wirtschaftliche Trends, um Arbeiten zu schaffen, die menschliche Verbindungen und metaphysische Erkundungen inspirieren.
Craig Tilleys Arbeit „Decoding Babel“ ist eine immersive Erfahrung, die in die Tiefe geht und Deepfakes erforscht. Tilleys bewusster Einsatz von Humor, Sound und dreidimensionalen Bildern macht diese Arbeit provokant, fesselnd und voller Überraschungen. Tilley zeigt uns das Ausmaß, in dem uns Deepfakes vorgaukeln können, dass das, was wir sehen, echt ist, und lässt uns an der Authentizität von Videos zweifeln, die wir im Internet sehen.

Der Titel „Decoding Babel“ passt sehr gut zu Deepfakes und ihrer Demonstration in dieser Arbeit. Er stellt die Frage, wer für die Erstellung des Decoders verantwortlich ist, der ein Individuum mit einem anderen überlagert, und fragt, welche Sprache (und zu welchem Zweck) nach dieser Überlagerung gesprochen wird.
Wir haben ein kleines Zeitfenster, um unser Bewusstsein, unsere menschliche Intelligenz zu erweitern. Da sich Technologien mit einer extrem hohen Geschwindigkeit weiterentwickeln, laufen wir Gefahr, als Gesellschaft diesen Entwicklungen gegenüber zurückzubleiben und damit eine Zukunft mit zu erschaffen, die weit von unseren Vorstellungen entfernt ist.

Wir können ein System entwerfen, das darauf programmiert ist, uns das zu geben, was wir wollen. Alles, was wir hierfür tun müssen, ist, unseren Fokus von der Angst zum Erstaunen zu verlagern. Konzentrieren wir uns zuerst auf die Unterstützung anderer und das Lernen.
Top