Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
 @Bundesstiftung-Aufarbeitung-Harald-Schmitt- Bild_ST-0482_5

Reunification Revisited

Thirty years after German reunification put an end to the 1949 division of Germany into East and West, the questions remain:  How did people in both socialist East Germany and capitalist West Germany think about organizing their societies? What was important to them, and what didn't work out as planned? What can we learn from these frictions? How do the former social imaginaries speak to our present? 

Reunification Revisited invites students of German and modern German history to explore life in Cold-War- divided East and West Germany. Educators can use 100+ short videos with filmmakers, activists, historians, diplomats and social scientists, as well as corresponding interactive materials to incorporate the German Reunfication in their instruction.

Youth Culture in Divided Germany Photo (detail): Harald Hauswald @ Bundesstiftung Aufarbeitung

Lecture-Series on Demand

What did youth cultures in divided Germany look like? What can the history of German division tell us about the state of contemporary democracy? Do walls work?

For Educators Photo: © picture alliance / ZB

For Educators

Do you teach German or modern German/European history? Get ideas about how to best navigate the website and work- sheets to incorporate content in your teaching.
 


Entanglement and Difference: FRG vs. GDR

Contact

Ajkuna Hoppe Ajkuna Hoppe © private Andrea Pfeil Andrea Pfeil © Jacobia Dahm Kerstin Hämmerling Kerstin Hämmerling | Photo: Mark Römisch © Goethe-Institut Boston Steffen Kaupp Steffen Kaupp | Photo: Mark Römisch © Goethe-Institut Boston
                                            
Ajkuna Hoppe ajkuna.hoppe@goethe.de
Andrea Pfeil andrea.pfeil@goethe.de       
Kerstin Hämmerling  teacherservice-boston@goethe.de
Steffen Kaupp, PhD steffen.kaupp@goethe.de


Partners

Reunification Revisited is produced in partnership with Bundesstiftung Aufarbeitung der SED-Diktatur (Federal Foundation for the Reappraisal of the SED Dictatorship), German Consulate General New York, German American Partnership Program (GAPP), American Association of Teachers of German (AATG), Transatlantic Outreach Program (TOP) and Spark for German.

Bundesstiftung Aufarbeitung German Consulate General New York




TOP (Transatlantic Outreach Program) AATG (American Association of Teachers of German) SPARK ( Spark for German) GAPP (German American Partnership Program)















 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1) Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
 Harald Schmidt

Reunification Revisited

Dreißig Jahre nachdem die deutsche Wiedervereinigung der Trennung Deutschlands in Osten und Westen im Jahr 1949 ein Ende bereitete, bleiben manche Fragen noch immer offen: Wie wollten die Bevölkerungen der sozialistischen DDR und der kapitalistischen BRD ihre Gesellschaft strukturieren? Was war ihnen wichtig und was hat nicht nach Plan funktioniert? Was können wir aus diesen Unstimmigkeiten lernen? Wie stehen die früheren sozialen Vorstellungswelten im Zusammenhang mit der Gegenwart? 

Reunifiation Revisited erforscht das Leben in der DDR und BRD. Pädagog*innen können von über 100 kurze Videos mit Filmemacher*innen, Aktivist*innen, Historiker*innen, Diplomat*innen und Sozialwissenschaftler*innen sowie entsprechende interaktive Materialien Gebrauch machen, um die deutsche Wiedervereinigung im Unterricht zu vermitteln.
 

Jugendkultur im geteilten Deutschland Foto (Detail): Harald Hauswald @ Bundesstiftung Aufarbeitung

Vorlesungsserie

Wie sahen die Jugendkulturen im geteilten Deutschland aus? Was kann die Geschichte der Teilung Deutschlands uns über zeitgenössische Demokratie lehren? Funktionieren Mauern? 

Für Lehrkräfte Foto: © picture alliance / ZB

Für Pädagog*innen

Unterrichten Sie Deutsch oder neuzeitliche deutsche Geschichte? Finden Sie in unserem Überblick heraus, wie diese Website aufgebaut ist und wie Sie deren Inhalte in Ihren Unterricht einbauen können.


Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschiede: BRD vs. DDR

Kontakt

Ajkuna Hoppe Ajkuna Hoppe © privat Andrea Pfeil Andrea Pfeil © Jacobia Dahm Kerstin Hämmerling Kerstin Hämmerling | Foto: Mark Römisch © Goethe-Institut Boston Steffen Kaupp Steffen Kaupp | Foto: Mark Römisch © Goethe-Institut Boston







Ajkuna Hoppe, ajkuna.hoppe@goethe.de
Andrea Pfeil, andrea.pfeil@goethe.de
Kerstin Hämmerling, teacherservice-boston@goethe.de
Steffen Kaupp, PhD, steffen.kaupp@goethe.de


Partner

Wiedervereinigung neu aufgearbeitet entsteht in Partnerschaft mit der  Bundesstiftung Aufarbeitung der SED-Diktatur, dem Deutschen Generalkonsulat New York, dem German American Partnership Program (GAPP), der American Association of Teachers of German (AATG), dem Transatlantic Outreach Program (TOP) und Spark for German.

Bundesstiftung Aufarbeitung German Consulate General New York




TOP (Transatlantic Outreach Program) AATG (American Association of Teachers of German) SPARK ( Spark for German) GAPP (German American Partnership Program)















 

Top