Conversation In Conversation: Olumide Popoola & Sarah Ladipo Manyika

Olumide Popoola, Sarah Ladipo Manyika © Naomi Woddis (left), James M. Manyika (right)

Tue, 07/28/2020

Online

Loving Black Lives.

Our Book Klub pick for the month of July is Olumide Popoola’s When We Speak of Nothing (2017/2018)--a novel on being young, Black, and Queer--and we are excited to welcome her for a conversation with San Francisco based writer Sarah Ladipo Manyika.
 
How do writers take an idea and turn it into a story that readers can "fall into"? Do characters have their own voice or does an author make them speak as they do? And how does writing a novel shape the author? Both novelists will read from their works and share what inspires their writing - past, present, and future.

Presented in partnership with Elliott Bay Book Company.
 
Registration
Olumide Popoola is a London-based Nigerian German writer and speaker who presents internationally. Her work includes this is not about sadness, a novella published in 2010 about the friendship between two complex and traumatized London-based women (one an older Jamaican, the other a young South African), that is explored through language as it relates to space, memory, and silence, Also by Mail, a family comedy-drama published in 2013 that follows the experiences of Nigerian German siblings Funke and Wale, who fly to Nigeria to bury their suddenly deceased father, the short story collection breach, which she co-authored with Annie Holmes in 2016, as well as critical essays and creative non-fiction, hybrid pieces and poetry. For her work, she has received numerous awards, grants, fellowships, and residencies, including the May Ayim Award in Poetry in 2004. Currently, she is the Writer in Residence at Greenwich University.
 
Popoola, who holds a PhD in Creative Writing and a BSc in Ayurvedic Medicine, has lectured in creative writing at various universities and regularly gives workshops and masterclasses. She is also the initiator and leader of the UK Arts Council funded mentoring scheme for emerging LGBTQ+ writers, THE FUTURE IS BACK.

Sarah Ladipo Manyika was raised in Nigeria and has lived in Kenya, France, Zimbabwe, and England. Manyika is a novelist, short story writer, essayist, and founding books editor for Ozy Media. Her debut novel, In Dependence (2008), which traces a wistful love story between a Nigerian man and an English woman who both feel alienated from their own backgrounds, is an international bestseller. Her second novel, Like a Mule Bringing Ice Cream to the Sun (2016), about an elderly Nigerian woman living in San Francisco and determined to match the city’s energy, has been translated into a number of languages. Her nonfiction includes personal essays and intimate profiles of people she meets, from Pastor Evan Mawarire to Toni Morrison and Michelle Obama.
 
Manyika serves as Board Director for the women’s writing residency, Hedgebrook. She has been a judge for the California Book Award and the Etisalat Prize and is currently a book juror for the 2020 Goldsmiths Prize. She studied at the universities of Birmingham and Bordeaux, and received her Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley.
 

Back

Gespräch Im Dialog: Olumide Popoola & Sarah Ladipo Manyika

Olumide Popoola, Sarah Ladipo Manyika © Naomi Woddis (left), c James M. Manyika (right)

Di, 28.07.2020

Online

Loving Black Lives.

Unsere Buchklub-Auswahl für den Monat Juli ist Olumide Popoolas When We Speak of Nothing (2017/2018) - ein Roman über das Jung-, Schwarz- und Schwul-Sein - und wir freuen uns, sie zu einem Gespräch mit der in San Francisco lebenden Schriftstellerin Sarah Ladipo Manyika begrüßen zu dürfen.
 
Wie nehmen Schriftsteller*innen eine Idee auf und verwandeln sie in eine Geschichte, in die die Leser*innen „hineinfallen“ können? Haben Charaktere eine eigene Stimme oder lassen Autor*innen sie so sprechen, wie sie selbst sprechen? Und wie prägt das Schreiben eines Romans die Autor*innen? Beide Romanschriftstellerinnen lesen aus ihren Werken und erzählen, was ihr Schreiben inspiriert - für die Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft.
Hier registrieren Olumide Popoola ist eine in London ansässige nigerianisch-deutsche Schriftstellerin und Rednerin, die international präsentiert. Zu ihren Werken zählen this is not about sadness, eine 2010 veröffentlichte Novelle über die Freundschaft zweier komplexer und traumatisierter Londoner Frauen – die eine ist eine ältere Jamaikanerin, die andere eine junge Südafrikanerin), die anhand der Sprache erkundet wird; daran, wie sich Sprache auf Raum, Erinnerung und Stille bezieht. Also By Mail ist ein 2013 veröffentlichtes Familienkomödien-Drama, das den Erfahrungen der nigerianisch-deutschen Geschwister Funke und Wale folgt, die nach Nigeria fliegen, um ihren plötzlich verstorbenen Vater zu beerdigen. Hinzu kommen die Kurzgeschichtensammlung breach, die sie zusammen mit Annie Holmes 2016 verfasste, sowie kritische Essays und kreative Sachbücher, hybride Stücke und Poesie. Für ihre Arbeit erhielt sie zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, Stipendien und Residenzen, darunter den May Ayim Award in Poesie im Jahr 2004. Gegenwärtig ist sie Writer in Residence an der Universität Greenwich.
 
Popoola, die einen Doktortitel in kreativem Schreiben und einen BSc in ayurvedischer Medizin besitzt, hat an verschiedenen Universitäten Vorlesungen über kreatives Schreiben gehalten und gibt regelmäßig Workshops und Meisterklassen. Sie ist auch die Initiatorin und Leiterin des vom UK Arts Council finanzierten Mentoring-Programms für aufstrebende LGBTQ+-Autor*innen, THE FUTURE IS BACK.
 

Sarah Ladipo Manyika ist in Nigeria aufgewachsen und hat in Kenia, Frankreich, Simbabwe und England gelebt. Manyika ist Romanautorin, Kurzgeschichtenschreiberin, Essayistin und Gründungsherausgeberin von Ozy Media. Ihr Debütroman, In Dependence (2008), der eine wehmütige Liebesgeschichte zwischen einem nigerianischen Mann und einer englischen Frau nachzeichnet, die sich beide von ihrem eigenen Hintergrund entfremdet fühlen, ist ein internationaler Bestseller. Ihr zweiter Roman, Like a Mule Bringing Ice Cream to the Sun (2016), über eine ältere nigerianische Frau, die in San Francisco lebt und entschlossen ist, sich der Energie der Stadt anzupassen, wurde in mehrere Sprachen übersetzt. Dazu gibt es persönliche Essays und intime Profile von Menschen, die sie trifft, von Pastor Evan Mawarire bis hin zu Toni Morrison und Michelle Obama.
 
Manyika ist Vorstandsmitglied der Women's Writing Residency, Hedgebrook. Sie war Jurorin für den California Book Award und den Etisalat-Preis und ist derzeit Buchjurorin für den Goldsmiths Prize 2020. Sie studierte an den Universitäten von Birmingham und Bordeaux und promovierte an der University of California, Berkeley.
 

Zurück