Film Screening German Cinema Now! Anna Sofie Hartmann’s Giraffe

Film still: Giraffe © Grandfilm

Wed, 03/24/2021 -
Thu, 03/25/2021

Online

The monthly film series GERMAN CINEMA NOW! is curated by Goethe Pop Up Seattle. This year, the series explores themes of disruption and continuity to inspire public dialogue about the ways in which the past shapes our moment and can inform a radically different future.
 
The film screenings are presented in partnership with Northwest Film Forum Seattle. All ticket purchases support Northwest Film Forum.
 
The screening of Giraffe will take place online. Please register in advance and pay what you can. The film stream is available to viewers in the U.S. from March 24 at 5pm to March 25 at 5pm PST.
 
About the film:
 
Giraffe
Dir. Anna Sofie Hartmann
Germany, Denmark | 2019 | 87 minutes
 
On the Danish island of Lolland, in the light, desaturated blues of Baltic summer, construction is underway on the Fehmarn Tunnel, a massive “fixed link” that will replace the ferry and connect Germany and Denmark. Called up from Berlin on contract with the local county museum, ethnographer Dara (played by Lisa Loven Kongsli, of Force Majeure,) documents buildings, artifacts, and ways of life that will be displaced the tunnel. Performing this proleptic archeology by day and returning by night to her temporary apartment, she develops a powerful fascination with an abandoned farmhouse set for demolition, and the woman, Agnes, who once lived there. As she finds her way, through Agnes’s diary, into Agnes’ solitary—if not entirely monastic—life, Dara’s own solitude ends in an electric storm at the seashore, when she and 24 year-old Lucek (Jakub Gierszal) meet. One of a team of Polish contract workers laying cable for the fixed link, Lucek and his compatriots live communally, seemingly closer to their families at home in Poland than to the Danish society around them. While their ages (she is 38), jobs, culture, and lifestyles are profoundly different, Dara and Lucek’s companionship and physical relationship lead them ever further into an emotional tunnel whose destination is unknown.

Links across coaxial cable, seas, and time: Giraffe’s connections and disruptions are not metaphor, but investigation. Mining contrasts between surface and depth, here and there, now and then, and me and you, Danish-German director Anna Sofie Hartmann neither reaches for drama nor does she allow her abundant ideas to weight down the film. Static shots and careful framing let the viewer see and take in drifting clouds of emotion. Fundamental to the film’s style is a soft, gradual approach, like that of a Nordic summer dusk.
 
“Anna Sofie Hartmann’s ruminative film “Giraffe” poignantly explores that feeling of place and belonging, together with the evanescence of our impact on those who follow us. It’s a film of big themes on an intimate scale that lovingly acknowledges the unimaginable wealth of stories inside everyone we encounter, while also looking at how we negotiate the place of memory in our lives…While the film has a welcome specificity, its themes are universally profound.” – Jay Weissberg, Variety.
 
“[An] elegant, muted docu-fiction about our fragile sense of identity and place...“Giraffe” reminded me at various moments of WG Sebald’s The Rings of Saturn and the films of Valeska Grisebach.” – Peter Bradshaw, The Guardian.
 
“The certainty of her style and destination with which Anna Sofoa Hartmann wends the narrow way between documentary and fiction is remarkable.” – Stuttgarter Nachrichten.
 
 
About the Director:
 
Born in Nakskov, Denmark, Anna Sofie Hartmann studied film direction at the German Film and Television Academy Berlin. Her thesis film, Limbo, celebrated its premiere at the 2014 San Sebastián International Film Festival and was invited to numerous additional festivals, including Rotterdam, SXSW, and Copenhagen PIX, where the film was nominated for the Discovery Award – Prix FIPRESCI. Giraffe is Anna Sofie Hartmann’s second film.  
Registration
 
 

Back

Filmvorführung German Cinema Now! Anna Sofie Hartmanns Giraffe

Filmstill: Giraffe © Grandfilm

Mi, 24.03.2021 -
Do, 25.03.2021

Online

Die monatliche Filmreihe GERMAN CINEMA NOW! wird vom Goethe Pop Up Seattle kuratiert. Dieses Jahr beschäftigt sich die Reihe mit Themen wie Bruch und Kontinuität, um einen öffentlichen Dialog darüber anzuregen, wie genau die Vergangenheit unsere Gegenwart prägt und eine grundverschiedene Zukunft beeinflussen kann.
 
Die Filmreihe wird in Kooperation mit dem Northwest Film Forum Seattle präsentiert. Der Erlös der Tickets unterstützt das Northwest Film Forum.
 
Die Vorführung von Giraffe findet online statt. Wir bitten um Registrierung vorab und ermutigen zu einer kleinen Spende. Der Film steht Zuschauer*innen in den USA vom 24. März, 17 Uhr PST, bis zum 25. März, 17 Uhr PST, zur Verfügung.
 
Über den Film:
 
Giraffe
Regie: Anna Sofie Hartmann
Deutschland, Dänemark | 2019 | 87 Minuten
 
Auf der dänischen Insel Lolland sind die Bauarbeiten für den Fehmarnbelttunnel in vollem Gange. Die Ethnologin Dara (Lisa Loven Kongsli, Höhere Gewalt) wurde aus Berlin abberufen, um die Gebäude, Gegenstände und Lebensarten, die durch den Tunnel versetzt werden, zu dokumentieren. Tagsüber geht sie ihrer archäologischen Tätigkeit nach, während sie abends zurückgezogen in ihrer temporären Wohnung lebt. Dabei entwickelt Dara eine starke Faszination für ein Bauernhaus, das in Kürze demoliert werden soll, sowie für die Frau, Agnes, die einst dort lebte. Eines Abends während eines Gewittersturms am Strand, begegnet Dara dem 24-jährigen Lucek (Jakub Gierszal). Als Mitglieder eines Teams polnischer Zeitarbeiter, die Kabel für den Tunnel verlegen, leben Lucek und seine Landsmänner kommunal, und fühlen sich ihren Familien in Polen näher als der dänischen Gesellschaft vor der Tür. Obwohl sie scheinbar durch ihr Alter (sie ist 38 Jahre alt), ihre Kultur, Arbeit und Lebensweise ungleicher nicht sein könnten, führen Dara und Lucek ihre freundschaftliche und physische Beziehung immer tiefer in eine emotionale Verbindung, mit unbekannter Abfahrt.
 
Anschlüsse über Kabel, See, und Zeit: in Giraffe fungieren die Verbindungen und Trennungen nicht als Metapher, sondern als Ermittlung. Während sie die Kontraste zwischen Oberfläche und Tiefe, hier und dort, jetzt und einst, und mir und dir untersucht, greift die dänisch-deutsche Regisseurin nie nach Drama, noch lässt sie zu, dass ihre reichhaltigen Ideen den Film beschweren. Der Ansatz des Films ist grundsätzlich sanft und sacht, wie der einer skandinavischen Abenddämmerung.
 
„Die Ziel- und Stilsicherheit, mit der Anna Sofie Hartmann auf dem schmalen Grad zwischen Dokumentation und Fiktion wandelt, ist bemerkenswert.“ - Stuttgarter Nachrichten
 
Giraffe weigert sich, Personen auf zusammengestauchte Leinwandgeschichten zu reduzieren und besteht darauf, dass jeder Mensch komplex ist.“ - Variety
 
 „Vielfältige Geschichten von Migration, von Ortlosigkeit und freiwilliger wie erzwungener Entwurzelung fügen sich zu einem Bild des modernen Europa.“ - programmkino.de
 
 „Eine elegische Betrachtung über das Verschwinden von Menschen und Geschichten wird zu einer Reflexion über eine Welt, die alleine um Kosten-Nutzen-Rechnungen kreist.“ - epd Film
 
 
Über die Regisseurin:
 
Anna Sofie Hartmann wurde in Nakskov, Dänemark, geboren und studierte Regie an der Deutschen Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin (dffb). Ihr Abschlussfilm Limbo feierte seine Premiere 2014 auf dem San Sebastián International Film Festival und wurde auf zahlreichen Festivals präsentiert, wie z.B. in Rotterdam, South by South West (SXSW) und Copenhagen PIX, wo der Film hoch gelobt und in Folge für den Discovery Award 2015 der Europäischen Filmakademie nominiert wurde. Giraffe ist Anna Sofie Hartmanns ist ihr zweiter Spielfilm.

Registrieren

Zurück