Panel Discussion Approaching Reconciliation, or the Discomfort of Remembrance

Two markers vandalized Left: Vandalized Emmett Till Marker © Ashleigh Coleman | Right: Vandalized Levi Harrington Marker © Jutta Behnen

Tue, 12/01/2020

Online

An event in the framework of Shaping the Past

Join us for a conversation about “Approaching Reconciliation, or the Discomfort of Remembrance” between Shaping the Past Fellow Patrick Weems, Executive Director of the Emmett Till Interpretive Center, Berlin-based American philosopher Susan Neiman, author of Learning from the Germans: Race and the Memory of Evil, artist Glenn North, Co-Liaison of the Community Remembrance Project Missouri in Kansas City, and Dave Tell, Co-Director of the Institute for Digital Research in the Humanities at the University of Kansas.
 
The conversation will touch on two places of remembrance for victims of lynching—Levi Harrington in Kansas City, MO and Emmett Till in the Mississippi Delta—whose horrific deaths are commemorated through site-specific markers, performative actions, educational programs, and more. Our speakers will discuss the various approaches to memorialization in both cases, the regular attacks on these memorials, and how these acts of racial terror in the past and their memorialization in the present continue to shape these communities and our society as a whole.
 
Joining from both sides of the Atlantic, our speakers will talk about approaches to memorialization and reconciliation and why this can often be a long-term and painful process, both in Germany and the US. They will also explore what Germans and Americans can learn from each other through this process of facing and (re)shaping the past.
 
About the speakers:
 
Patrick Weems Photo: © Patrick Weems Patrick Weems co-founded and serves as director of the Emmett Till Interpretive Center in Sumner, Mississippi, which uses art and storytelling to share the Emmett Till tragedy and facilitate racial healing. A graduate of the University of Mississippi, Weems holds a Master’s degree from the Center for the Study of Southern Culture. He was recently awarded a Fellowship from the W. K. Kellogg Foundation and is Monument Lab 2020 Fellow in the project Shaping the Past.
 
Susan Neiman Photo: © Bettina Volke Susan Neiman was born in Atlanta, Georgia and now lives in Berlin, Germany, where she is the director of the Einstein Forum in Potsdam. Neiman studied philosophy at Harvard and the Free University Berlin and was professor of philosophy at Yale and Tel Aviv University.
In her latest book, Learning from the Germans: Race and the Memory of Evil (2019), her chapter “The Faces of Emmett Till” explores different perspectives on his story and approaches to memorialization and reconciliation.
 
Glenn North Photo: @ Glenn North Glenn North is the Executive Director of the Bruce R. Watkins Cultural Heritage Center and also a Co-Liaison for the Equal Justice Initiative and Community Remembrance Project of Missouri that initiated the installation of the Levi Harrington Memorial—the first marker remembering a victim of a lynching in Kansas City. North is a spoken word artist and the author of City of Song, a collection of poems inspired by Kansas City’s rich jazz tradition and the Black experience.
 
Dave Tell Photo: © Johnathon Kelso Dave Tell is Professor of Communication Studies, Co-director of the Institute for Digital Research in the Humanities, and a Faculty Fellow in the University Honors Program at the University of Kansas. Professor Tell is a former fellow of the National Endowment for the Humanities and a founding director of the Emmett Till Memory Project. His writing on the Till murder has been published in the New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Atlantic Monthly, LitHub and a wide range of academic journals. His book Remembering Emmett Till (2019) was listed as a 2019 book of the year by the Economist and winner of the Mississippi Historical Society’s 2020 McLemore Prize.

This event takes place on December 1, at 12:00 pm CST on Zoom. Registration is required—please use the link to register.
Register

Leading up to this panel discussion, we also invite you to join us for an online screening of the documentary The Untold Story of Emmett Louis Till by Keith Beauchamp, which will be available to stream between November 27-29.
 
Shaping the Past is a partnership of the Goethe-Institut, Monument Lab, and the Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education). The project connects to the activist and artistic work of local, national, and transnational movements as a reflection of memory culture and discusses new perspectives on forms of memory. 

Back

Panel Diskussion Versuch der Aussöhnung oder das Unbehagen der Erinnerung

Two markers vandalized Links: Vandalized Emmett Till Marker © Ashleigh Coleman | Rechts: Vandalized Levi Harrington Marker © Jutta Behnen

Di, 01.12.2020

Online

Eine Veranstaltung im Rahmen von Gestaltung der Vergangenheit (Shaping the Past)

Wir möchten Sie herzlich zu einer Diskussion zum Thema „Versuch der Aussöhnung oder das Unbehagen der Erinnerung“ einladen. Unsere Gäste sind Shaping the Past-Fellow Patrick Weems, Leiter des Emmett Till Interpretive Center, die in Berlin lebende amerikanische Philosophin Susan Neiman, Autorin von Von den Deutschen lernen. Wie Gesellschaften mit dem Bösen in ihrer Geschichte umgehen können, der Künstler Glenn North, Mitbegründer des Community Remembrance Project Missouri in Kansas City sowie Dave Tell, Co-Direktor am Institute for Digital Research in the Humanities an der University of Kansas.
 
Die Diskussion kreist um zwei Erinnerungsorte, die zum Gedenken an die Opfer von Lynchmorden errichtet wurden – Levi Harrington in Kansas City und Emmett Till im Mississippi Delta – und wie an das grausame Schicksal dieser beiden Männer in Denkmälern, performative Handlungen, Bildungsprogrammen u.a. erinnert wird. Unsere Gäste diskutieren über die Formen von Erinnerungskultur in beiden Fällen, die regelmäßigen Angriffe auf diese Erinnerungsorte und darüber und wie diese rassistischen Terrorakte der Vergangenheit und ihre Erinnerung daran in der Gegenwart die jeweiligen Orte und die Gesellschaft im Ganzen prägen.
 
Wie kann durch Erinnern und Gedenken Aussöhnung erwirkt werden? Warum ist dies sowohl in Deutschland als auch in den USA ein oft so langwieriger und schmerzhafter Prozess? Und was können Deutsche und Amerikaner in dem Prozess der Auseinandersetzung mit der Vergangenheit und ihrer (Neu-)Gestaltung voneinander lernen? 
 
Über die Sprecher*innen:
 
Patrick Weems Foto: © Patrick Weems Patrick Weems ist Mitbegründer des Emmett Till Interpretive Center in Sumner, Mississippi, das Kunst und Storytelling einsetzt, um an Emmett Tills tragischen Tod zu erinnern und zu “Racial Healing” beizutragen. Weems studierte an der Universität Mississippi und erhielt seinen Master am Center for the Study of Southern Culture. Er bekam kürzlich ein Stipendium der W. K. Kellogg Foundation und ist in diesem Jahr Monument Lab 2020 Fellow im Projekt Gestaltung der Vergangenheit.
 
Susan Neiman Foto: © Bettina Volke Susan Neiman wurde in Atlanta, Georgia, geboren, und lebt seit 2000 in Berlin, wo sie das Einstein Forum leitet. Neiman studierte Philosophie an der Harvard University und der Freien Universität Berlin und war Professorin für Philosophie an der Yale University und der Tel Aviv University. In ihrem neuesten Buch Von den Deutschen lernen. Wie Gesellschaften mit dem Bösen in ihrer Geschichte umgehen können (2019) beschäftigt sie sich auch mit der Erinnerungskultur um Emmet Till. Sie betrachtet in dem Kapitel „Die Gesichter von Emmett Till“ die Geschichte Tills aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln sowie den Versuch, über das Gedenken Aussöhnung zu erwirken. 
 
Glenn North Foto: @ Glenn North Glenn North ist Direktor des Bruce R. Watkins Cultural Heritage Centers. Er arbeitet für die Equal Justice Initiative und ist Mitbegründer des Community Remembrance Project of Missouri in Kansas City, das die Errichtung des Levi Harrington Memorial Markers initiierte. Der Marker ist das erste Denkmal überhaupt, das in Kansas City errichtet wurde, um dem Opfer eines Lynchmords zu gedenken. North ist Spoken Word Artist und Autor von City of Song, eine Sammlung von Gedichten, die durch die reiche Geschichte des Jazz in Kansas City inspiriert wurde.
  
Dave Tell Foto: © Johnathon Kelso Dave Tell ist Professor für Kommunikationswissenschaften und Co-Direktor des Institute for Digital Research in the Humanities an der University of Kansas. Tell ist ehemaliger Fellow des National Endowment for the Humanities und Gründungsdirektor des Emmett Till Memory Project. Er publizierte über den Mord an Emmett Till in der New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Atlantic Monthly, LitHub und weiteren akademischen Journalen. Sein Buch Remembering Emmett Till (2019) wurde vom Economist als Buch des Jahres 2019 ausgezeichnet und erhielt den Mississippi Historical Society’s 2020 McLemore Preis.
 
Die Veranstaltung findet am 1. Dezember um 12:00 Uhr CST auf Zoom statt. Eine Anmeldung ist erforderlich. 
Registrieren

Im Vorfeld der Diskussion laden wir Sie herzlich ein, die Dokumentation The Untold Story of Emmett Louis Till von Keith Beauchamp anzuschauen Der Film ist vom 27.- 29. November als Stream verfügbar.
 
Gestaltung der Vergangenheit ist eine Kooperation des Goethe-Instituts, des Monument Lab und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung. Das Projekt knüpft an die aktivistische und künstlerische Arbeit lokaler, nationaler und länderübergreifender Bewegungen zur Reflexion von Erinnerungskultur an und diskutiert neue Perspektiven auf Formen des Erinnerns.

Zurück