Artist Talk Manifesto: Artist Talk – Adam Pendleton

Adam Pendleton © Adam Pendleton © Adam Pendleton

Thu, 12/12/2019

Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden

Independence Ave SW & 7th St SW
Washington, DC 20560

Free

We strongly recommend claiming a ticket to ensure your seat. This program is expected to be at capacity.

5:30–6:30 pm
Come early to enjoy a happy hour at Dolcezza Café in the Lobby. Drinks for purchase.

6 pm
Doors open to Ring Auditorium.

6:30–7:30 pm
Artist Talk: Adam Pendleton in conversation with Hirshhorn chief curator Stéphane Aquin.

Adam Pendleton works with appropriated historical documents in collage, painting, video, performance, and installation to explore how context influences meaning. Drawing from a vast archive referencing artistic and cultural movements, such as Dada, Minimalism, and the Civil Rights movement, Pendleton reconfigures words, forms, and images to provoke reflection. Much of his work is informed by Pendleton’s self-defined notion of “Black Dada,” on which he published the Black Dada Reader in 2017, a compilation of manifestos and essays designed to bring disparate voices together around the significance of both representation and language.

The artist, who lives and works in New York, has had group and solo exhibitions at institutions internationally, with works in collections of major museums such as the Museum of Modern Art, New York, and the Tate Modern in London.

Adam Pendleton joins Hirshhorn Museum chief curator Stéphane Aquin for a discussion on the conceptual and political underpinnings behind his work, including the installation, Glory, currently on view in Manifesto: Art x Agency.

We encourage you to arrive early. Ring Auditorium seating is limited. Any open seats may be released to walk-up visitors 10 minutes before the program.

Manifesto: Art x Agency is part of Wunderbar Together: The Year of German-American Friendship 2018/19. This is a comprehensive and collaborative initiative of the Federal Foreign Office, the Goethe-Institut, and with support of the Federation of German Industries (BDI), highlighting the decades-long relationship grounded in common values, interests, and goals.
RSVP

Back

Künstlergespräch Manifesto: Künstlergespräch - Adam Pendleton

Adam Pendleton © Adam Pendleton © Adam Pendleton

Do, 12.12.2019

Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden

Independence Ave SW & 7th St SW
Washington, DC 20560

Eintritt frei

Wir empfehlen Ihnen dringend, ein Ticket zu beantragen, um Ihren Sitzplatz zu sichern. Es wird erwartet, dass dieses Programm ausgelastet ist.

17:30-18:30 Uhr
Kommen Sie früh, um eine Happy Hour im Dolcezza Café in der Lobby zu genießen. Getränke zum Kaufen.

18 Uhr
Die Türen öffnen sich zum Ringauditorium.

18:30 - 19:30 Uhr
Künstlergespräch: Adam Pendleton im Gespräch mit Hirshhorn Chefkurator Stéphane Aquin.

Adam Pendleton arbeitet mit angeeigneten historischen Dokumenten in Collage, Malerei, Video, Performance und Installation, um zu untersuchen, wie der Kontext die Bedeutung beeinflusst. Ausgehend von einem umfangreichen Archiv, das sich auf künstlerische und kulturelle Bewegungen wie Dada, Minimalismus und die Bürgerrechtsbewegung bezieht, rekonfiguriert Pendleton Wörter, Formen und Bilder, um zur Reflexion anzuregen. Ein Großteil seiner Arbeit ist von Pendletons selbstdefiniertem Begriff des "Black Dada" geprägt, zu dem er 2017 den Black Dada Reader veröffentlichte, eine Zusammenstellung von Manifesten und Essays, die unterschiedliche Stimmen um die Bedeutung von Repräsentation und Sprache zusammenbringen sollen.

Der in New York lebende und arbeitende Künstler hatte Gruppen- und Einzelausstellungen in internationalen Institutionen, mit Werken in Sammlungen bedeutender Museen wie dem Museum of Modern Art, New York, und dem Tate Modern in London.

Adam Pendleton diskutiert mit dem Chefkurator des Hirshhorn Museums, Stéphane Aquin, über die konzeptionellen und politischen Grundlagen seiner Arbeit, darunter die Installation Glory, die derzeit im Manifesto: Art x Agency zu sehen ist.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen, frühzeitig anzukommen. Die Bestuhlung des Auditoriums ist begrenzt. Alle offenen Plätze können 10 Minuten vor dem Programm für Besucher freigegeben werden.

Dieser Gespräch ist Teil von Wunderbar Together: Das Jahr der Deutsch-Amerikanischen Freundschaft 2018/19. Es handelt sich um eine umfassende und kooperative Initiative des Auswärtigen Amtes, des Goethe-Instituts und mit Unterstützung des Bundesverbandes der Deutschen Industrie (BDI), die die jahrzehntelange, auf gemeinsamen Werten, Interessen und Zielen basierende Beziehung hervorhebt.
Zur Reservierung

Zurück