Film Screening German Cinema Now! Sherry Hormann’s “A Regular Woman” [online]

Film still “A Regular Woman” © Corinth Film

Wed, 08/26/2020

Online

Presented by the Goethe Pop Up Seattle

The film is a retelling of Hatun Aynur Sürücü’s 2005 honor killing.

The monthly Goethe Pop Up Film Series supports artistic works that amplify the plurality of voices and experiences to inspire public dialogue.
 
The film screenings take place in partnership with Northwest Film Forum Seattle.

This month’s screening will take place online. Please register in advance and pay what you can. All ticket purchases support Northwest Film Forum.
 

About the film:
Germany | 2019 | 97 minutes

Aynur is a young woman who knows exactly how she wants to live her life. One day, she is shot dead by her brother on a busy street in Berlin. What lead to this deed?
 
The film is based on the story of Hatun Aynur Sürücü, a 23-year-old German of Turkish-Kurdish descent, whose murder in 2005 shocked Germany and inspired fellow German filmmaker Feo Aladag’s feature When We Leave (2010). A Regular Woman takes a compelling new approach to the contentious case. By allowing the murdered woman to narrate the action both before and after her death, the film restores the victim’s voice. 

In the film, Aynur is telling her own story, her perspective of what happened. It is the story of a woman who loves life. It is also the story of a woman who escapes the violence of her marriage and refuses to let her brothers and parents dictate what she can and cannot do. Although she knows that her behavior goes against her family's tradition and it can put her in danger, her desire for freedom is stronger. However, her brothers’ insults and threats get increasingly serious and before long, it is ultimately too late.
 

About the filmmaker:
Originally, German-American writer and director Sherry Hormann hails from Kingston, New York. For her directing debut Silent Shadow (1991), she won numerous awards, including the prestigious Bavarian Film Award and the Max Ophüls Silver Award. After working on several comedies, Hormann went to Africa to undertake extensive research on Female Genital Mutilation (FGM). Based on Waris Dirie’s bestseller, she then wrote the screenplay and directed Desert Flower (2009), a highly acclaimed film that changed the public view on FGM sustainability. Her last feature, 3096 Days, is based on the story of Natascha Kampusch, a ten-year-old girl from Vienna who was kidnapped and held captive for eight years. A Regular Woman is Hormann’s ninth feature.
Register

Back

Filmvorführung German Cinema Now! Sherry Hormanns „Nur eine Frau“ [online]

Filmstill „Nur eine Frau“ © Corinth Film

Mi, 26.08.2020

17:00 – 23:00

Online

Präsentiert vom Goethe Pop Up Seattle

Der Film erzählt den Ehrenmord an Hatun Aynur Sürücü nach und wieder.

Die monatliche Goethe Pop Up Filmreihe fördert künstlerische Arbeiten, die die Vielfalt von Stimmen und Erfahrungen verstärken und öffentliche Dialoge anregen.
 
Die Filmreihe findet in Partnerschaft mit dem Northwest Film Forum Seattle statt.
 
Die Filmvorführung findet in diesem Monat online statt. Wir bitten um Registrierung vorab und ermutigen zu einer kleinen Spende. Der Erlös der Tickets unterstützt das Northwest Film Forum.
 
Über den Film:
Deutschland | 2019 | 97 Min.

Aynur ist eine junge Frau, die genau weiß, wie sie ihr Leben leben will. Eines Tages wird sie von ihrem Bruder auf einer belebten Straße in Berlin erschossen. Wie kam es zu dieser Tat?
 
Der Film basiert auf der Geschichte von Hatun Aynur Sürücü, einer 23-jährigen Deutschen mit türkisch-kurdischen Wurzeln, deren Mord 2005 deutschlandweit Entsetzen verbreitete und den Film Die Fremde (2010) von Feo Aladag inspirierte. Nur eine Frau nähert sich dem Mordfall neu. Indem der Film der ermordeten Frau die Narration vor und nach dem Tod erlaubt, gibt er dem Opfer seine Stimme wieder.
 
Im Film erzählt Aynur aus eigener Sicht von dem, was passierte. Es ist die Geschichte einer Frau, die das Leben liebt. Es ist aber auch die Geschichte einer Frau, die der Gewalt ihrer Ehe entkommt und die sich gegen die Vorschriften ihrer Brüder und Eltern stellt. Obwohl sie weiß, dass ihr Verhalten den Familientraditionen widerspricht und sie in Gefahr bringen kann, ist ihr Verlangen nach Freiheit stärker. Die Beschimpfungen und Drohungen ihrer Brüder werden jedoch immer stärker und letztendlich ist es zu spät.  
 

Über die Filmemacherin:
Ursprünglich kommt die deutsch-amerikanische Schriftstellerin und Filmregisseurin Sherry Hormann aus Kingston, New York. Für ihren Debütfilm Silent Shadow (1991) bekam sie zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, unter anderem den Bayrischen Filmpreis und den silbernen Max Ophüls Preis. Mehreren Arbeiten an Komödien folgte die umfangreiche Forschung weiblicher Genitalverstümmelung in Afrika. Basierend auf Waris Diries Bestseller schrieb und verfilmte sie Wüstenblume (2009). Ihr letzter Spielfilm, 3096 Tage, basiert auf der Geschichte von Natascha Kampusch, einem entführten zehnjährigen Mädchen aus Wien, das acht Jahre lang gefangen gehalten wurde. Nur eine Frau ist Hormanns neunter Spielfilm.
Registrieren

Zurück