Lecture presentation & discussion Democracy and public sphere in the digital society

DigiGell 05.02.2021 © Goethe-Institut Hanoi

Fri., 05.02.2021, 7 p.m.
Registration: 6:30 p.m.
Only for participants via Zoom: from 6:45 p.m.

Goethe-Institut Hanoi

56-58-60 Nguyen-Thai-Hoc-Str.
Ba Dinh
Hanoi

Prof. Dr. Christoph Neuberger will join the discussion online from Germany.

Live at the Goethe-Institut, Hanoi and at the Deutsches Haus, Ho Chi Minh City
Registration at 6:30 p.m.
Start at 7 p.m.

Online via Zoom

Start at 6:45 p.m.
Zoom-Link to the discussion
 

NOTES FOR PARTICIPANTS

The Goethe-Institut Hanoi recommends that the audience follow the instructions below:

  • Present at the Goethe-Institut to check-in at 6:30 PM on Friday, 05.02.2021
  • Always wear a mask
  • Wash your hands with disinfectant solution at check-in
  • The audiences, who come from disease affected area should not join the event.

What happens with our central democratic values like freedom, equality and truth in the digital society? Are we living in times that strengthen democracy by expanding participation and interaction or do we rather witness democracy’s downfall through fragmentation and acceleration? Are citizens empowered by more inclusive participatory means or are they just a pawn in the hands of the new digital forces? How does the public sphere fulfill its function of forming a societal self-understanding in times of hate speech and fake news? Who is responsible for realizing what society expects both of and in the internet? Is facebook just a media company – and how does traditional media need to develop itself?

Christoph Neuberger analyses the transformation of societal communication conceptually and empirically since more than 20 years. In his lecture he recapitulated general and immediate developments. He showed that we are indeed in the midst of a fundamental change – but at the same time not everything is completely novel.

Prof. Dr. Christoph Neuberger
Christoph Neuberger Photo (cut): © Weizenbaum-Institut.Kay Herschelmann is a full professor for communication science at the Institute for Media and Communication Studies at the Freie Universität Berlin and the executive director of the Weizenbaum Institute for the Networked Society, Berlin.
After his graduation in journalism, dissertation and habilitation at the Katholische Universität Eichstätt he had a visiting professorship at the Universität Leipzig (2001/02) and was a professor at the Ludwigs-Maximilians-Universität München (2011-2019) and the Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster (2002-2011). 
He is a regular member of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BAdW) and the National Academy of Science and Engineering (acatech). 
 
His fields of research include the Internet public sphere, online journalism, activities of the press and broadcasting media on the Internet, search engines, social media, media quality, and media regulation.
 
Dr. Trần Nguyên Khang
Dr. Tran Nguyen Khang © Tran Nguyen Khang is a lecturer at Faculty of International Relations, University of Social Sciences and Humanities (USSH), Ho Chi Minh City. Khang got his Bachelor and Master Degrees in Political Science in France (2008). In 2017, he earned his PhD with honors in International Relations at the Diplomatic Academy of Vietnam. At USSH, his teaching is mainly focused on Globalization, Global Issues, Power in International Relations and Intercultural Communication. In 2016, Khang was invited as Guest Lecturer in University of Findlay, Ohio, USA. Khang’s research interest now concentrates on Soft Power in comparison, which has been presented and published on domestic as well as international journals, books and conferences. In 2018, his very first book came out on “France’s soft power – some theoretical and practical issues”. In 2018 and 2019, Khang was granted by the Japan Foundation for the research field trip programs in Japan and USA on soft power.
 
Dr. Nguyễn Thị Thúy Hằng
Nguyen Thi Thuy Hang © Nguyen Thi Thuy Hang is Head of the Department of Media Politics, Faculty of Political Science, VNU University of Social Sciences and Humanities, Hanoi. She received her B.Sc, M.A and PhD from Faculty of Journalism and Communication, Vietnam National University. She also had an exchange program at Department of Political Science, Stockholm University, Sweden. In addition to passion with teaching, she is contributor to newspapers in Vietnam and an enthusiastic researcher. Her research focus on Media and Politics, Political Journalism, Colonial regime and its effects to political, social and cultural changes in Vietnam.

 

Back

relocate false noindex false

Vortrag & Diskussion Demokratie und Öffentlichkeit in der digitalen Gesellschaft

DigiGell 05.02.2021 © Goethe-Institut Hanoi

Fr., 05.02.2021, 19 Uhr
Einlass: 18:30 Uhr
Für Teilnehmer via Zoom: ab 18:45 Uhr

Goethe-Institut Hanoi

Prof. Dr. Christoph Neuberger wird online aus Deutschland an der Diskussion teilnehmen.

Live am Goethe-Institut, Hanoi und im Deutschen Haus, Ho Chi Minh Stadt
Einlass um 18:30 Uhr
Beginn um 19 Uhr

Online über Zoom
Beginn um 18:45 Uhr

Zoom-Link zur Diskussion
 

Hinweise für Teilnehmer

Das Goethe-Institut Hanoi empfiehlt dem Publikum, die folgenden Anweisungen zu befolgen:

  • Kommen Sie bitte am Freitag, den 05.02.2021, um 18.30 Uhr in das Goethe-Institut
  • Tragen Sie bitte während Ihres Aufenthalts im Goethe-Institut immer eine Maske
  • Waschen Sie Ihre Hände beim Check-in mit der bereitgestellten Desinfektionslösung

Was passiert mit den zentralen Werten demokratischer Gemeinwesen wie Freiheit, Gleichheit und Wahrheit in der digitalen Gesellschaft: Erleben wir ihre Stärkung durch mehr Partizipation und Interaktion oder gerade ihren Niedergang durch Fragmentierung und Beschleunigung? Gewinnen Bürgerinnen und Bürger mehr Einfluss oder werden sie zum Spielball neuer Kräfte im Netz? Wie erfüllt die Öffentlichkeit ihre Funktion der gesellschaftlichen Selbstverständigung in Zeiten von Hate Speech und Fake News? Wer trägt Verantwortung im Netz für die Verwirklichung gesellschaftlicher Erwartungen? Ist Facebook ein Medienunternehmen – und wie müssen sich traditionelle Medien weiterentwickeln?
 
Christoph Neuberger analysiert die Transformation gesellschaftlicher Kommunikation konzeptionell und empirisch seit mehr als 20 Jahren. In seinem Vortrag rekapitulierte er grundlegende und aktuelle Entwicklungen. Er zeigte dabei, dass wir uns tatsächlich inmitten eines grundsätzlichen Wandels befinden – und dennoch nicht alles neu ist.

Prof. Dr. Christoph Neuberger
Christoph Neuberger Foto (Abschnitt): © Weizenbaum-Institut.Kay Herschelmann
ist ordentlicher Professor für Kommunikationswissenschaft am Institut für Medien- und Kommunikationswissenschaft der Freien Universität Berlin und Geschäftsführer des Weizenbaum-Instituts für die Vernetzte Gesellschaft Berlin.
Nach seinem Abschluss in Journalismus, Dissertation und Habilitation an der Katholischen Universität Eichstätt hatte er eine Gastprofessur an der Universität Leipzig (2001/02) und war Professor an der Ludwigs-Maximilians-Universität München (2011-2019) und der Westfälischen Wilhelms- Universität Münster (2002-2011).
Er ist ordentliches Mitglied der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften (BAdW) und der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften (Acatech).
Seine Forschungs­ge­biete umfassen die Öffentlichkeit und den Journalismus im Internet, die Netzaktivitäten von Presse und Rundfunk, Suchmaschinen, soziale Medien sowie Medienqualität und -regulierung.
 
Dr. Tran Nguyen Khang
Dr. Tran Nguyen Khang © Tran Nguyen Khang ist Dozent an der Fakultät für Internationale Beziehungen der Universität für Sozialwissenschaften (USSH), Ho-Chi-Minh-Stadt. Khang erhielt seine Bachelor und Master in Politikwissenschaft in Frankreich (2008). 2017 promovierte er mit Auszeichnung in internationalen Beziehungen an der Diplomatischen Akademie Vietnams. An der USSH konzentriert er sich hauptsächlich auf Globalisierung, globale Fragen, Macht in internationalen Beziehungen und interkulturelle Kommunikation. 2016 wurde Khang als Gastdozent an die University of Findlay, Ohio, USA eingeladen. Khangs Forschungsinteresse konzentriert sich nun auf Soft Power im Vergleich, das sowohl in nationalen als auch in internationalen Zeitschriften, Büchern und Konferenzen präsentiert und veröffentlicht wurde. 2018 erschien sein allererstes Buch über "Frankreichs Soft Power – einige theoretische und praktische Themen". In den Jahren 2018 und 2019 wurde Khang von der Japan Foundation für die Forschungs-Exkursionsprogramme in Japan und den USA zum Thema Soft Power vergeben.
 
Dr. Nguyen Thi Thuy Hang
Nguyen Thi Thuy Hang © Nguyen Thi Thuy Hang ist Leiterin der Abteilung für Medienpolitik an der Fakultät für Politikwissenschaft der VNU Universität für Sozial- und Geisteswissenschaften, Hanoi. Sie erhielt ihren B.Sc., M.A. und PhD an der Fakultät für Journalismus und Kommunikation der Vietnam National University. Darüber hinaus absolvierte sie ein Austauschprogramm an der Fakultät für Politikwissenschaften der Universität Stockholm, Schweden. Neben ihrer Leidenschaft für die Lehre arbeitet sie für Zeitungen in Vietnam und ist eine begeisterte Forscherin. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte sind Medien und Politik, politischer Journalismus, Kolonialregime und seine Auswirkungen auf politische, soziale und kulturelle Veränderungen in Vietnam.

Zurück