Digital Publishing Reading in Times of Information Overload

Fiktion
©Fiktion

Fiktion is a network of German- and English-speaking writers investigating the opportunities afforded by the digital age to ignite a new euphoria in the reading, writing and publishing of fiction. In February the Goethe-Institut London facilitated a workshop and reading with selected authors from Fiktion, in collaboration with the ICA (Institute of Contemporary Art). Invited authors included Ann Cotten and Rajeev Balasubramanyan from Berlin, and Sophie Jung, Tom McCarthy and Adam Thirlwell from London. The workshop and reading were led by writer and Fiktion project manager Ingo Niermann.

Escape from Yourself:  Creative Writing Workshop with Ann Cotten and Ingo Niermann 

At the start of the creative writing session Ingo Niermann, co-author of Deutscher Sohn (German Son), and Ann Cotten, author of Verbannt! (Banished!), set the challenge: escape from yourself! The workshop participants, including authors, publishing professionals, students, journalists, film- and music-makers, were asked to drop their usual writing behavior to free up their imagination. Why? Because most plots found in contemporary literature seem to be primarily realistic, set in the past and focused on one individual, claims Niermann. In order to avoid getting trapped in commercial structures and to widen the horizons of storytelling, Niermann and Cottn set a different scenario and asked participants to draft stories for a biographical science fiction novel featuring a European conspiracy theory. The latter idea was inspired by Niermann’s recent participation in the New Narrative For Europe project. The creative writing workshop resulted in a wide range of imaginative sketches including a world without imagination, a man who tries to change the past, and a romantic alien story.     

Fiktion – The Project

“… 48,424 printed books and 87,201 eBooks were self-published in the United States in 2011 alone. This represents an increase of over 300 per cent over five years — and that’s not including the rapidly growing number of books without ISBNs,” states Ingo Niermann in his essay “Literature’s Victory”.

According to Niermann, there has never been as much reading and writing as there is today which demonstrates a real victory for literature. However, Niermann remarks that reading in an era of information overload raises questions concerning attention spans and concentration. Fiktion, an international digital publishing project set-up in co-operation with Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW, Berlin) and financed by a grant from the German Federal Cultural Foundation, sets out to address the issues of choice, attention and concentration in reading. Fiktion was founded as a result of a workshop hosted by HKW in 2013. At the workshop authors consulted with experts from the publishing industry and from the Humboldt Internet Law Clinic about opportunities the digital age offers to literature. In particular the discussion centred on the levels of concentration required in order to remain focused when confronted with the huge amount of information available nowadays.

Subsequently, members of Fiktion developed a model for using the opportunities afforded by the digital age to raise the profile of challenging literature and improve its means of distribution. The project addresses different issues within the publishing industry, including literature in the international context, authorship and e-reading devices.

Fiktion’s main objectives are to publish niche literature in a digital format in order to diversify the market, support niche authors, and to offer high quality translations of German niche literature to the international market. All titles published by Fiktion are made available online at fiktion.cc, in German and English, and can be accessed free of charge. The project has also resulted in the creation of an international network of writers. Fiktion pro-actively searches for exciting manuscripts for publication, supports authors after publication and brings together writers and publishing projects run by writers, such as in the 2014 workshop “The Word Electric” at the Goethe-Institut New York. Furthermore, Fiktion explores and questions current laws of copyright and digital publishing in need of adaptation for the digital age.
 
  • Science-Fikcion novel and European conspiracy theories (detail) ©Anastasija Roon
    Science-Fikcion novel and European conspiracy theories
  • Poet Ann Cotten ©Ingo Niermann
    Poet Ann Cotten
  • Thinking about new stories ©Ingo Niermann
    Thinking about new stories
  • Sophie Jung ©Magnus Pölcher
    Sophie Jung
  • Public Talk with (f.l.t.r.) Niermann, Cotten, Thirlwell, McCarthy, Jung and Balasubramanyan ©Magnus Pölcher
    Public Talk with (f.l.t.r.) Niermann, Cotten, Thirlwell, McCarthy, Jung and Balasubramanyan
  • (v.l.n.r.) Thirlwell, McCarthy, Jung, Balasubramanyan ©Magnus Pölcher

Enhance Reading Experience

In his essay “Literature’s Victory” Niermann writes that “reading novels has become like sex in a long and happy marriage: it’s still great, but it’s harder and harder to find the time for it”. Together with Arthur Jacobs, Professor for Experimental and Neurocognitive Psychology at Freie Universität Berlin, Fiction developed a new reading format which encourages concentration to make it easier to get to the climax and finish reading a novel successfully. The online e-reader which they developed is an open-source programme and books published by Fiktion can be read for free at fiktion.cc. With its new design it facilitates a more focused and enhanced reading experience. Once adjusted by the reader, the text moves automatically across the screen in line with the reading speed. Font size and shading of the text and background can also be set according to the user’s preference.   

Readings by Ann Cotten, Rajeev Balasubramanyam and Sophie Jung

At a public event at the ICA, authors Ann Cotten, Rajeev Balasubramanyam and Sophie Jung presented current works. Ann Cotten presented some of her recent poems and proved that she knows the craft of words. Her work is, as described in an article in the German newspaper Süddeutsche Zeitung, absolutely wicked.
Rajeev Balasubramanyam and Sophie Jung presented their texts using Fiktion’s new online e-reading format. The audience followed the writers’ texts on the big screen whilst they were read out by the authors. The text moved according to the presenter’s speaking speed. The authors stood at the side of the stage to allow the audience to entirely focus on the text on the screen and the writer’s voice. The reader helped a lot not to fall behind as Sophie Jung has an impressive speed of speech. The live readings demonstrated successfully how publishing in the digital age offers new ways of enhancing our reading experience.

Visit fiction.cc to discover new authors and to try out the new online e-reader!
 
The event concluded with an open discussion around publishing in the digital age with UK-based writers Adam Thirlwell and Tom McCarthy.

Digitales Publizieren Neues E-Reader Format

Fiktion
©Fiktion

Fiktion ist ein Modellprojekt deutsch- und englischsprachiger Autoren, das sich durch die Digitalisierung eröffnenden Chancen für die Wahrnehmung und Verbreitung anspruchsvoller Literatur weiterzuentwickeln sucht. Im Februar unterstützte das Goethe-Institut London in Zusammenarbeit mit dem ICA (Institute of Contemporary Art) einen Workshop und eine Lesung mit Autoren von Fiktion. Der Workshop und die Lesung wurden von Projektmanager Ingo Niermann geleitet.

Verlasse dein Selbst: Kreativer Schriftsteller-Workshop mit Ann Cotten und Ingo Niermann

Der Workshop begann mit der von Ingo Niermann, Co-Autor von Deutscher Sohn, und Ann Cotten, Autorin von Verbannt!, gestellten Aufgabe: Verlasse dein Selbst! Ann Cotten erkundigte sich nach den Schreibgewohnheiten der Teilnehmer, die sich aus Autoren, Verlegern, Studenten, Journalisten, Filmemachern und Musikern zusammensetzten, um sie später aufzufordern sich von ihnen zu lösen, um ihrer Fantasie freien Lauf zu lassen. Warum? Weil sich die meisten zeitgenössischen, literarischen Handlungen auf die Gegenwart beziehen, sehr realistisch sind und sich um eine zentrale Figur drehen, so Niermann. Um den kommerziellen Strukturen zu entkommen und den Horizont des Erzählens zu erweitern, forderten Niermann und Cotten die Teilnehmer außerdem auf, sich ein komplett anderes Szenario vorzustellen und eine Skizze für einen biographischen Science-Fiction Roman zu schreiben, der in der Zukunft spielt und eine fiktive europäische Verschwörungstheorie beinhaltet. Letzteres war eine Inspiration des New Narrative For Europe Projekts, an dem Niermann kürzlich teilnahm. Aus dem kreativen Schriftsteller-Workshop resultierten umfassende Projektskizzen, z.B. für einen Roman über eine Welt ohne Fantasie; einen Mann, der versucht die Vergangenheit zu ändern und eine romantische Alien-Geschichte.            

Fiktion – Das Projekt

“Allein in den USA erschienen 2011 148.424 gedruckte Bücher und 87.201 E-Books in Selbstveröffentlichung. Eine Steigerung von fast 300 Prozent in fünf Jahren – der rasant steigende Anteil an Büchern ohne ISBN nicht einmal miteingerechnet.“, schreibt Niermann in seinem Essay „Sieg der Literatur“. Dass noch nie so viel geschrieben und gelesen wurde wie heute, wäre ein wahrer Sieg für die Literatur. Er schreibt allerdings auch, dass das Lesen im Zeitalter multimedialer Informationsüberflutung Fragen über Konzentration und Aufmerksamkeit aufwirft.

Fiktion, ein internationales sich auf digitale Publikation fokussierendes Projekt, das in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW, Berlin) entwickelt und von der Kulturstiftung des Bundes gefördert wurde, setzte sich daher die Themen Selektion, Aufmerksamkeitsspanne und Konzentration beim Lesen auf die Agenda. Das Projekt wurde als Resultat eines Workshops gegründet, der von dem HKW 2013 veranstaltet wurde. Beim Workshop trafen Autoren auf Experten der Humbolt Internet Law Clinic und des Verlagswesens und tauschten sich über die Möglichkeiten aus, die das digitale Zeitalter der Literatur bietet. Vor allem stellten die Diskussionen das Konzentrationslevel beim Lesen in den Mittelpunkt, das heutzutage benötigt wird um bei der bestehenden Informationsflut nicht abgelenkt zu werden. Anschließend wurde das Fiktion-Modellprojekt gegründet. Hier kommen Schriftsteller und Literaturexperten zusammen, um proaktiv die Möglichkeiten des digitalen Zeitalters auszuloten und zu nutzen um kommerziellen Strömen entgegenzuwirken und die Verbreitung anspruchsvoller Literatur über Grenzen hinweg zu fördern. Das Projekt beschäftigt sich mit Themen, mit denen sich u.a. auch die Verlagsbrache aktuell auseinandersetzt, wie z.B. Literatur im internationalen Kontext, Urheberschaft und die Weiterentwicklung von E-Readern.      

Fiktion fokussiert sich auf die Förderung und Verbreitung von Nischenliteratur im digitalen Leseformat, um den Literaturmarkt zu diversifizieren, Autoren zu fördern, die nicht zwingend den gängigen Marktkriterien entsprechen und deren Werke in qualitativ hochwertiger Übersetzung einem internationalen Publikum zugängig zu machen. Alle Titel, die Fiktion veröffentlicht, stehen Nutzern online auf fiktion.cc frei in deutscher wie englischer Übersetzung zur Verfügung. Das Projekt arbeitet außerdem daran ein Netzwerk internationaler Autoren aufzubauen. Fiktion sucht gezielt nach geeigneten Autoren und Manuskripten zur Veröffentlichung und unterstützt Schriftsteller auch noch darüber hinaus, wie z.B. 2014 in dem Workshop „The Word Electric“ beim Goethe-Institut New York, wo Autoren mit Vertretern aus dem Verlagswesen im Rahmen eines innovativen Veranstaltungsformats zusammengebracht wurden. Das Urheberrecht im digitalen Zeitalter ist ein weiterer Aspekt den Fiktion aktiv aufgreift und in entsprechender Debatte herausfordert.
 
  • Science-Fiktion Roman und Europäische Verschwörungstheorien (Ausschnitt) ©Anastasija Roon
    Science-Fiktion Roman und Europäische Verschwörungstheorien
  • Wörter-Virtuosin Ann Cotten ©Ingo Niermann
    Wörter-Virtuosin Ann Cotten
  • Über neue Geschichten nachdenken ©Ingo Niermann
    Über neue Geschichten nachdenken
  • Sophie Jung ©Magnus Pölcher
    Sophie Jung
  • Diskussion mit (v.l.n.r.) Niermann, Cotten, Thirlwell, McCarthy, Jung und Balasubramanyan ©Magnus Pölcher
    Diskussion mit (v.l.n.r.) Niermann, Cotten, Thirlwell, McCarthy, Jung und Balasubramanyan
  • (f.l.t.r.) Thirlwell, McCarthy, Jung, Balasubramanyan ©Magnus Pölcher
    (f.l.t.r.) Thirlwell, McCarthy, Jung, Balasubramanyan

Das Lesen zum Erlebnis werden lassen

In seinem Essay „Sieg der Literatur“ schreibt Niermann „Mit dem Lesen von Romanen ist es wie mit dem Sex bei einer in die Jahre gekommenen guten Ehe: immer noch großartig, aber es wird immer schwieriger die Zeit dafür zu finden“. Gemeinsam mit Arthur Jakobs, Professor für Allgemeine und Neurokognitive Psychologie an der Freien Universität Berlin entwickelte Fiktion ein neues Leseformat. Bei dem online E-Reader handelt es sich um ein Open-Source Programm, so dass die Bücher, die von Fiktion veröffentlicht werden, den Nutzern frei auf fiktion.cc zur Verfügung stehen. Das Design des neuen E-Readers ist konzentrationsfördernd, mit einem sich automatisch bewegenden Text. Die Geschwindigkeit, die Textgröße und die Hintergrundfarbe können individuell eingestellt werden.   

Lesung mit Ann Cotten, Rajeev Balasubramanyam und Sophie Jung    

Die Autoren Ann Cotten, Rajeev Balasubramanyam und Sophie Jung gaben im Rahmen einer Abendveranstaltung Kurzvorstellungen ihrer aktuellen Werke. Ann Cotten, gerade sehr in den deutschen Medien gepriesen für ihr kürzlich erschienenes Buch „Verbannt“, gab dem Publikum einen kurzen Einblick in ihr Werk, beschrieben von der Süddeutschen Zeitung als, „total abgefahren“.
Rajeev Balasubramanyam und Sophie Jung präsentierten Auszüge ihrer Arbeiten unter Benutzung des Fiktion E-Readers. Das Publikum konnte den Text auf der Leinwand mitlesen, während er von den Autoren vorgetragen wurde. Der Text bewegte sich in der von den Vortragenden zuvor eingestellten Geschwindigkeit. Die Autoren sprachen vom Bühnenrand aus, so dass sich das Publikum voll und ganz auf den Text auf der Leinwand und die Stimme der Vortragenden konzentrieren konnte, ein quasi inszenierter Vortrag. Das führte dazu, dass beim Zuhören und selbstständigem Mitlesen die Aufmerksamkeit des Publikums tatsächlich höher war, als bei einer klassischen Lesung, vor allem wenn man die beindruckende Sprechgeschwindigkeit von Sophie Jung kennt. Die Vorstellung des neuen Lesungs-/Vortragsformats zeigte, dass das digitale Zeitalter neue Wege bieten kann, um unser Leseerlebnis zu verbessern.        

Besuchen Sie fiction.cc, um neue Autoren, mit frischen Ansätzen, zu entdecken und den neuen online E-Reader auszuprobieren! 

Das Event endete mit einer Diskussion zum Thema Publizieren im digitalen Zeitalter, an der auch die Autoren Adam Thirlwell und Tom McCarthy teilnahmen.