Film & Discussion The Woman with the Camera – Portrait of the Photographer Abisag Tüllmann

Black and white photo of a woman holing a camera looking straight ahead Film Kino Text

Mon, 11.04.2022

19:00

Goethe-Institut London

Claudia von Alemann Programme 3

Complementing the two programs with films by Claudia von Alemann, which we are presenting together with the Essay Film Festival, we are showing von Alemann's impressive portrait of the photographer Abisag Tüllmann (1935 – 1996).

Using more than 500 black and white photographs - taken exclusively by Tüllmann – the filmmaker documents the life and work of her passed away friend in their historical context, spanning the period from 1960s to 1990s. The result is a moving biography, thoughtfully mixing homage and filmic essay.

Tüllmann's photographs are grouped into essayistic passages in the dense and precise documentary film, and are given a fascinating autonomous space. (Filmdienst)

“Abisag Tüllmann (1935 Hagen – 1996 Frankfurt am Main) was one of the great German photographers. The spectrum of her work was broad, she didn't want to be identified with just one genre. “Photographing means participating” was one of her guiding principles. Her precise and calm view of everyday situations as well as of major political events, of people in real life or on the theatre stage enabled her to take photos that let the essence of a moment shine through. She herself described her photojournalistic work as social reports. With a documentary and at the same time poetic style of photography, she has also set new standards as theatre photographer.” Abisag-Tüllmann-Foundation

Followed by a Q&A with Claudia von Alemann

Book tickets through Eventbrite
Germany 2015, digital, 92 mins. With English subtitles.
Written, produced and directed by Claudia von Alemann, Cinematography: Rolf Coulanges, Verena Vargas Koch, Peter Zach, Music: José Luis de Delás, Bernd Keul, Editor: Angelika Levi, Oscar Loeser, Sound: Frank Brünner, Vassilios Georgiadis, Julia Vogel, Sound Mixing: SoundVision Lothar Segeler, Production Management: Jana Cisar, Helma Schleif. With Barbara Klemm, Ellen Bailly, Josef Bar-Pereg, Sigrid Baumann Senn, Mathis Bromberger, Helma Schleif
.



 

Back

Film & Diskussion Die Frau mit der Kamera – Porträt der Fotografin Abisag Tüllmann

Mo, 11.04.2022

19:00

Goethe-Institut London

Claudia von Alemann Programm 3

Ergänzend zu den beiden Programmen mit Filmen von Claudia von Alemann, die wir zusammen mit dem Essay Film Festival präsentieren, zeigen wir von Alemanns eindrucksvolles Portrait der Fotografin Abisag Tüllmann (1935 – 1996).

In mehr als 500 Schwarzweiß-Fotografien - ausschließlich aufgenommen von Abisag Tüllmann -  dokumentiert die Filmemacherin Leben und Werk ihrer verstorbenen Freundin im zeitgeschichtlichen Kontext der 1960er bis 1990er Jahre. Das Resultat ist eine berührende Biografie, in der sich Hommage und filmischem Essay vermischen.

Tüllmanns Fotografien werden in dem ebenso dichten wie präzisen Dokumentarfilm zu essayistischen Passagen gruppiert und erhalten einen faszinierenden autonomen Raum. (Filmdienst)

 „Abisag Tüllmann (1935 Hagen – 1996 Frankfurt am Main) gehört zu den großen Fotografinnen Deutschlands. Das Spektrum ihrer Arbeit war breit, sie wollte nicht auf ein Genre festgelegt werden. „Fotografieren heißt teilnehmen“, war einer ihrer Leitsätze. Ihr genauer und ruhiger Blick auf alltägliche Situationen wie auf große politische Ereignisse, auf Menschen im realen Leben oder auf der Bühne des Theaters ermöglichte ihr Fotos, die die Essenz eines Augenblicks aufscheinen lassen. Ihre bildjournalistischen Arbeiten beschrieb sie selbst als Sozialreportagen. Mit einer dokumentarischen und zugleich poetischen Art der Fotografie hat sie auch als Theaterfotografin neue Maßstäbe geschaffen.“ Abisag-Tüllmann-Stiftung

Im Anschluss folgt ein Q&A mit Claudia von Alemann.

Tickets über Eventbrite buchen
Deutschland 2015, digital, 92 Min. Mit englischen Untertiteln.
Buch, Produktion und Regie: Claudia von Alemann, Kamera: Rolf Coulanges, Verena Vargas Koch, Peter Zach, Musik: José Luis de Delás, Bernd Keul, Schnitt: Angelika Levi, Oscar Loeser, Ton: Frank Brünner, Vassilios Georgiadis, Julia Vogel, Tonmischung: SoundVision Lothar Segeler, Produktionsleitung: Jana Cisar, Helma Schleif. Mit Barbara Klemm, Ellen Bailly, Josef Bar-Pereg, Sigrid Baumann Senn, Mathis Bromberger, Helma Schleif.



 

Zurück