Author in conversation Author Wolfgang Bauer in conversation with Alison Phipps

Wolfgang Bauer Photo: Hein Heiss Suhrkamp

Mon, 22.08.2016

Goethe-Institut Glasgow

3 Park Circus
G3 6AX Glasgow

Why refugees’ fate concerns all of us

Author Wolfgang Bauer in conversation with academic activists Alison Phipps

A twofold catastrophe is taking place before our eyes: the Syrian civil war is still claiming countless human lives. Millions of Syrians are fleeing from their homes. Some of them risk the crossing from Egypt to Europe. Each year, hundreds of people die in the course of this endeavour; the Mediterranean is thus the world’s most perilous maritime border.

"Zeit" reporter Wolfgang Bauer has accompanied Syrian refugees. In their hideouts in Egypt, on the boats, on the streets of Europe. He describes the fates concealed behind the abstract figures, and the dramatic circumstances of flight. His book Across the Sea - With Syrians on Their Escape to Europe  is an authentic document and at the same time a passionate appeal for a more humanitarian refugee policy.


Wolfgang Bauer, born in 1970, works for the weekly newspaper DIE ZEIT. For his reportage he has been awarded the Katholischer Medienpreis and the Prix Bayeux-Calvados des Correspondants de Guerre as well as other distinctions.


Alison Phipps Alison Phipps | © Alison Phipps Alison Phipps is Professor of Languages and Intercultural Studies, and Co-Convener of Glasgow Refugee, Asylum and Migration Network (GRAMNET). In 2012 she received an OBE for Services to Education and Intercultural and Interreligious Relations in the Queen’s Birthday Honours.
She has undertaken work in Palestine, Sudan, Aotearoa New Zealand, Australia, Germany, France, USA, Portugal, Ghana. She has produced and directed theatre and worked as creative liturgist with the World Council of Churches from 2008-2011 for the International Ecumenical Peace Convocation. She is regularly advises public, governmental and third sector bodies on migration and languages policy.

 
This lecture is part of the global discussion/debate series “Kritikmaschine”.  Organisers are the Goethe-Institut and Kursbuch, one of Germany’s leading intellectual magazines.  Speakers include journalist Meredith Haaf on the new feminism, architect Friedrich von Borries on political design, author Wolfgang Bauer on refugees, historian Sabine Donauer on work in digital society, and Kursbuch editor Armin Nassehi on social criticism. The event series seeks to confront mutually “otherised” perspectives with each other; it aims to search for new answers – and new questions. 
 

Back

Autorengespräch Autor Wolfgang Bauer im Gespräch mit Alison Phipps

Wolfgang Bauer Foto: Hein Heiss Suhrkamp

Mo, 22.08.2016

Goethe-Institut Glasgow

3 Park Circus
G3 6AX Glasgow

Warum das Schicksal der Flüchtlinge uns alle angeht

Autor Wolfgang Bauer im Gespräch mit Alison Phipps

Vor unseren Augen spielt sich eine doppelte humanitäre Katastrophe ab: Der syrische Bürgerkrieg fordert nach wie vor zahllose Menschenleben. Millionen Syrer sind auf der Flucht. Einige von ihnen wagen von Ägypten aus die Überfahrt nach Europa. Bei diesem Unterfangen sterben Jahr für Jahr Hunderte Menschen, das Mittelmeer ist damit die gefährlichste Seegrenze der Welt. 

Der "Zeit"-Reporter Wolfgang Bauer hat syrische Flüchtlinge begleitet. In ihren Verstecken in Ägypten, im Boot, auf den Straßen Europas. Er schildert die Schicksale, die sich hinter den abstrakten Zahlen verbergen, und die dramatischen Umstände der Flucht. Sein Buch Über das Meer - Mit Syrern auf der Flucht nach Europa ist ein authentisches Dokument und zugleich ein leidenschaftlicher Appell für eine humanitärere Flüchtlingspolitik.


Wolfgang Bauer, geboren 1970, arbeitet für die Wochenzeitung DIE ZEIT. Für seine Reportagen wurde er u. a. mit dem Katholischen Medienpreis und dem Prix Bayeux-Calvados des Correspondants de Guerre ausgezeichnet.

Alison Phipps Alison Phipps | © Alison Phipps Alison Phipps hat den Lehrstuhl für Sprachen und Interkulturalität an der Universität Glasgow inne und ist Co-Vorsitzende des Glasgower Netzwerks für Asyl und Migration (GRAMNet). 2012 erhielt sie einen britischen Verdienstorden für ihr Engagement im Bereich Bildung, Interkulturalität und Interreligiösität.
Ihre Arbeit umfasst unter anderem Projekte und Aufenthalte in Palästina, Sudan, Neu Seeland, Australien, Deutschland, Frankreich, USA, Portugal und Ghana. Darüber hinaus hat sie von 2008 bis 2011 in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Weltkirchenrat zahlreiche Theaterprojekte initiiert und als Liturgistin für die Internationale Ökumenische Friedensdekade gewirkt. Regelmäßig berät sie öffentliche Einrichtungen, Regierungen und gemeinnützige Organisationen über Fragen zu politischen Richtlinien im Bereich von Migration und Sprache.


Dieser Vortrag ist Teil der globalen Debattenreihe „Kritikmaschine“. Veranstalter sind das Goethe-Institut und das Kursbuch, eine der wichtigsten intellektuellen Zeitschriften Deutschlands. Unter anderen spricht die Journalistin Meredith Haaf über den neuen Feminismus, der Architekt Friedrich von Borries über politisches Design, der Autor Wolfgang Bauer über Flüchtlinge, die Historikerin Sabine Donauer über Arbeit in der digitalen Gesellschaft und der Soziologe und Kursbuch-Herausgeber Armin Nassehi über Gesellschaftskritik. Die Veranstaltungsreihe will fremde Perspektiven miteinander konfrontieren, sie will nach neuen Antworten suchen – und nach neuen Fragen.
 

Zurück