Performative Reading Zingster Strasse 25

Zingster Straße 25 © Christof Zwiener_Ulrich Dießner

Wed, 03.07.2019

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

With Sonya Schönberger (writer), Johanna Malchow (actress), Ingo Tomi (actor). Introduced by Christina von Hodenberg (director GHIL)

To address the urgent need for living space in the 1950s the GDR government introduced new housing projects based on prefabricated concrete slabs, the so-called Plattenbau. Erected on the outskirts of East Berlin, Zingster Strasse 25 in Neu-Hohenschönhausen was one of them and it was completed in 1987. Three decades later the artist Sonya Schönberger visits some of the tenants. Who is still around, and who has moved in since?

The interviews by Schönberger, read by performers Johanna Malchow and Ingo Tomi, tell not just personal stories of daily life in the GDR, but also bear witness to the regime change of 1989, and the often challenging and still under-debated aftermath of social change in a unified Germany. The performance is introduced by Christina von Hodenberg, Director, German Historical Institut London (GHIL).

The Goethe-Institut London is delighted to host the event in cooperation with the German Historical institute London (GHIL) as part of its summer seminar series on "Contested Histories" . Furthermore, Sonya Schönberger is the current Goethe@LUX artist in residency.

Book tickets through Eventbrite

Back

Performative Lesung Zingster Strasse 25

Zingster Straße 25 © Christof Zwiener_Ulrich Dießner

Mi, 03.07.2019

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

Mit Sonya Schönberger (Autorin), Johanna Malchow (Schauspielerin), Ingo Tomi (Schauspieler). Einführung von Christina von Hodenberg (Direktorin DHIL)

Als Reaktion auf die Wohnungsnot der 1950er-Jahre setzte die DDR-Regierung neue Bauprojekte aus vorgefertigten Betonplatten um, den sogenannten Plattenbau. Aufgebaut in den Randbezirken von Ostberlin, war die Zingster Strasse 25 in Neu-Hohenschönhausen eine der Plattenbausiedlungen die 1987 fertig gestellt wurden. Drei Jahrzehnte später trifft die Künstlerin Sonya Schönberger einige der Bewohner*innen. Wer wohnt noch dort und wer ist seitdem ausgezogen?

Die Interviews von Sonya Schönberger, gelesen von Johanna Malchow und Ingo Tomi, erzählen uns nicht nur persönliche Geschichten aus dem alltäglichen Leben der DDR, sondern legen auch Zeugnis ab über den Regimewechsel 1989 und den damit einhergehendem Wandel und immer noch unterrepräsentierten sozialen Schwierigkeiten im vereinten Deutschland. Vor der Performance gibt es eine Einführung von Christina von Hodenberg, Direktorin des Deutschen Historischen Instituts London (DHIL).

Das Goethe-Institut London freut sich sehr, die Veranstaltung gemeinsam mit dem DHIL auszurichten, welches sie als Teil der Seminarreihe  "Contested Histories" organisiert. Außerdem ist Sonya Schönberger die derzeitige Goethe@LUX Residenzkünstlerin.

Tickets über Eventbrite buchen

Zurück