Discussion (Re-)constructing Identities: Tales of Belonging

Two boats folded out of Euro banc notes; one with a flag of the EU, the other one with a UK-flag; black background © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Wed, 01.04.2020

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

POSTPONED

Due to the current situation, the Goethe-Institut London is closed to the public until 19.4.2020. This event is postponed until further notice. We are working on alternative arrangements and will update you on details on our website,  newsletter and social media channels .

As part of the Goethe-Journalism Residence (Re)-Collecting Europe, the two journalists Loveday Wright and Julia Smirnova will be travelling through the United Kingdom from 6 March to 3 April 2020 to address social and cultural issues in times of Brexit and increasing nationalism throughout Europe. 

During the residency's public closing event (Re-)constructing Identities: Tales of Belonging, hosted by Tessa Szyszkowitz, the two residents will present and reflect on their impressions and findings. They will focus on the stories behind ethnic and regional identities in Scotland, Wales and Cornwall and explore questions such as 'Where does the renewed interest in Cornishness, Scottish and Welsh come from and what political implications does it have?'.
Loveday Wright © Loveday Wright Loveday Wright works as a multimedia journalist in Berlin, mainly at Deutsche Welle. After studying English and German in Oxford and Bamberg, she completed journalistic training as part of the international traineeship at Deutsche Welle. She reports on radio, television and online mainly on social topics. In her project for the residency titled “Post Brexit, new confidence for Cornish identity?“ she will research the question of identity in the British county Cornwall.



Julia Smirnova © Emine Ziyatdinova Julia Smirnova works as a freelance journalist in London and writes for German media such as DER SPIEGEL, WELT or ZEIT ONLINE. The project that she will work on during the time of the residency is titled: “Constructing identities – the cases of Wales and Scotland“. She completed her journalism training at the Axel Springer Academy in Berlin and then worked as a correspondent for the WELT in Moscow between 2012 and 2017. She studied German language and literature at the Lomonossow University in Moscow and the Humboldt University in Berlin and completed a master's degree in Conflict, Security and Development at King's College London. In 2015, she spent two months as part of the Arthur F. Burns Fellowship at the Washington Post in the USA.


Tessa Szyskowitz © Alex Schlachter The author and journalist Tessa Szyszkowitz, born 1967 in Stuttgart, lives in London since 2010. She is author of 'Echte Engländer. Britannien und der Brexit' (Picus Verlag 2018, in German) and UK correspondent of the Austrian news magazine profil and also works for other German speaking magazines like Cicero and Falter.  Her phd thesis on collective memory and nationalism was published under the title 'Trauma and Terror' (Böhlau-Verlag 2007). Since 2017 Szyszkowitz curates a lecture series called Philoxenia at the Bruno Kreisky Forum for International Dialogue in Vienna. She is also a Senior Associate Fellow at the Royal United Services Institute (RUSI) in London.
 



 

Back

Diskussion (Re-)Constructing Identities: Tales of Belonging

Zwei aus Eurobanknoten gefaltete Schiffchen, eins mit Europaflagge, eins mit UK-Flagge, vor schwarzem Hintergrund © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Mi, 01.04.2020

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

VERSCHOBEN

Aufgrund der aktuellen Lage bleibt das Goethe-Institut London für die Öffentlichkeit bis zum 19. April 2020 geschlossen. Diese Veranstaltung wird bis aufs Weitere verschoben. Wir arbeiten an alternativen Regelungen und werden Sie über unsere Webseite, unserem  Newsletter und den  Social Media-Kanälen über Details auf dem Laufenden halten.

Im Rahmen der Goethe-Journalismus-Residenz (Re)-Collecting Europe werden sich die zwei Journalistinnen Loveday Wright und Julia Smirnova vom 6. März bis zum 3. April 2020 auf Recherechereise durch das Vereinigte Königreich begeben und sich gesellschaftlichen und kulturellen Fragen in Zeiten von Brexit und europaweit zunehmendem Nationalismus widmen. 

Während der öffentlichen Residenz-Abschlussveranstaltung (Re-)constructing Identities: Tales of Belonging, moderiert von Tessa Szyszkowitz, werden die beiden Residierenden ihre Eindrücke und Ergebnisse präsentieren und reflektieren. Dabei werden sie vordergründig die Geschichten hinter den ethnischen und regionalen Identitäten in Schottland, Wales und Cornwall untersuchen und Fragen wie "Woher kommt das erneute Interesse an Cornishness, Schottisch und Walisisch und welche politischen Auswirkungen hat es?" nachgehen.
Loveday Wright © Loveday Wright Loveday Wright arbeitet als Multimedia-Journalistin in Berlin, hauptsächlich bei der Deutschen Welle. Nach ihrem Studium in Anglistik und Germanistik in Oxford und Bamberg, absolvierte sie eine journalistische Ausbildung im Rahmen des internationalen Volontariats der Deutschen Welle. Sie berichtet im Radio, Fernsehen und Online hauptsächlich zu gesellschaftlichen Themen.In ihrem geplanten Residenzprojekt “Post Brexit, new confidence for Cornish identity?“ wird sie sich mit der Frage nach Identität in der englischen Grafschaft Cornwall befassen.



Julia Smirnova © Emine Ziyatdinova Julia Smirnova arbeitet als freie Journalistin in London und schreibt für deutsche Medien wie DER SPIEGEL, WELT oder ZEIT ONLINE. Ihr Projekt, das sie während der Residenz ausarbeiten wird, trägt den Titel „Constructing identities – the cases of Wales and Scotland“. Sie absolvierte ihre Journalistenausbildung an der Axel-Springer-Akademie in Berlin und arbeitete anschließend zwischen 2012 und 2017 als Korrespondentin der WELT in Moskau. Sie studierte Germanistik an der Lomonossow-Universität Moskau und der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und schloss einen Masterstudiengang in Conflict, Security and Development am King’s College London ab. 2015 verbrachte sie zwei Monate im Rahmen der Arthur F. Burns Fellowship bei der Washington Post in den USA.


Tessa Szyskowitz © Alex Schlachter Die 1967 in Stuttgart geborene Autorin und Journalistin Tessa Szyszkowitz lebt seit 2010 in London. Sie ist Autorin von „Echte Engländer. Großbritannien und der Brexit" (Picus Verlag 2018) und britischer Korrespondent des österreichischen Nachrichtenmagazins profil. Sie arbeitet sie für andere deutschsprachige Magazine wie Cicero und Falter. Ihre Doktorarbeit über kollektives Gedächtnis und Nationalismus wurde unter dem Titel „Trauma und Terror“ veröffentlicht (Böhlau-Verlag 2007). Seit 2017 kuratiert Szyszkowitz die Vortragsreihe "Philoxenia" im Bruno Kreisky Forum für internationalen Dialog in Wien. Sie ist außerdem Senior Associate Fellow am Royal United Services Institute (RUSI) in London.

 



 

Zurück