Berlin - Black Swan DAO

DAO Berlin Black Swan Goethe-Institut / Studio Hyte

Thu, 28.01.2021

Online

The first event connects with Berlin to introduce BLACK SWAN DAO, an experimental initiative which responds to the increasing precarisation of cultural labour by providing practitioners with tools to collaboratively organise and share resources. The project is managed by Trust, an interdisciplinary research and development lab in Berlin for artists, designers, technologists, and ecologists working with advanced technologies and experimental theories.

Black Swan is an experimental digital initiative designed to eat the art world by channeling resources from established institutions to cultural practitioners. The project responds to the increasing precarisation of cultural labour by experimenting with organisational forms that enable practitioners to collectively manage resources. At Trust, Black Swan will provide the means to research, develop and present projects within spheres of collective interest while empowering community members to steer the flows of resources and shape the research agenda. The project builds tools and networks for trans-local cooperation, catalysing as a peer to peer support structure for cultural workers in Berlin and beyond.

Trust is an interdisciplinary research and development lab in Berlin for artists, designers, technologists, and ecologists working with advanced technologies and experimental theories. Trust nurtures new forms for creative practice, assembling and accelerating collective interests, objectives, standards, and sympathies.

The People Behind the Project:

Laura Lotti is a researcher investigating the transformations of monetary technologies in relation to economic and cultural formations. Her current work focuses on the mimesis and memetics of desire in markets and their effects on the reconfiguration of ecosystems of value.

Calum Bowden creates stories, worlds, and platforms. He co-founded Trust, an incubator for utopian conspiracy in Berlin. 
Trust’s motto is utopian conspiracy: Utopian because the focus is on narratives and technologies that envision societies beyond industrial capitalism, alienation, debt, precarity, and climate catastrophe.
Conspiracy because at the core Trust works with others to strategise against the status quo, building solidarity between disciplinary boundaries, humans and nonhumans, organisms and algorithms.

The DAOWO Sessions are part of the award-winning blockchain programme for reinventing the arts, the DAOWO initiative, a partnership between the Goethe-Institut London, Furtherfield/DECAL and Serpentine Galleries.

Book Tickets Through Eventbrite

 

Back

Berlin - Black Swan DAO

DAO Berlin Black Swan Goethe-Institut / Studio Hyte

Do, 28.01.2021

9:00 Uhr - 10:00 Uhr

Online

Die erste Veranstaltung verbindet sich mit Berlin, um BLACK SWAN DAO vorzustellen, eine experimentelle Initiative, die auf die zunehmende Prekarisierung kultureller Arbeit reagiert, indem sie Praktiker*innen mit Werkzeugen ausstattet, um kollaborativ Ressourcen zu organisieren und zu teilen. Das Projekt wird von Trust geleitet, einem interdisziplinären Forschungs- und Entwicklungslabor in Berlin für Künstler*innen, Designer*innen, Technolog*innen und Ökolog*innen, die mit fortschrittlichen Technologien und experimentellen Theorien arbeiten.

Black Swan ist eine experimentelle digitale Inititaive mit dem Ziel, Ressourcen von etablierten Institutionen an Kulturpraktizierende umzuleiten. Das Projekt reagiert auf die wachsende Prekarisierung von Kulturarbeit und experimentiert mit Organisationsformen, die den Praktizierenden eine kollektive Verwaltung von Ressourcen ermöglichen. Bei Trust stellt Black Swan die Mittel zur Verfügung, um Projekte innerhalb von Sphären des kollektiven Interesses zu recherchieren, zu entwickeln und zu präsentieren, und es dabei Community-Mitgliedern zu ermöglichen, die Verteilung von Ressourcen zu steuern und die Forschungsagenda zu prägen. Das Projekt entwickelt Instrumente und Netzwerke für die translokale Kooperation und katalysiert eine Peer-to-Peer-Unterstützungskultur für Kulturschaffende in Berlin und darüber hinaus.

Die Menschen hinter dem Projekt:

Laura Lotti forscht zu den Transformationen von Finanztechnologien in wirtschaftlichen und kulturellen Formationen. Aktuell befasst sie sich mit der Mimesis und Memetik von Sehnsucht auf den Märkten und ihren Auswirkungen auf eine Neuordnung der Werteökosysteme.

Calum Bowden schafft Geschichten, Welten und Plattformen. Er ist Mitbegründer von Trust, einem Inkubator für utopische Verschwörung in Berlin.
Das Motto von Trust ist utopische Verschwörung: Utopisch, weil der Fokus auf Erzählungen und Technologien liegt, die sich Gesellschaften jenseits von industriellem Kapitalismus, Entfremdung, Schulden, Prekarität und Klimakatastrophe vorstellen.
Verschwörung, weil Trust im Kern mit anderen zusammenarbeitet, um eine Strategie gegen den Status quo zu entwickeln und Solidarität zwischen disziplinären Grenzen, Menschen und Nicht-Menschen, Organismen und Algorithmen aufzubauen.

Die DAOWO Sessions sind Teil des preisgekrönten Blockchain-Programms zur Neuerfindung der Künste, The DAOWO Global Initiative, einer Partnerschaft zwischen dem Goethe-Institut London, Furtherfield/DECAL und den Serpentine Galleries.

Tickets über Eventbrite buchen
 

Zurück