Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

The bauhaus.photo Traveling Exhibition
Learning New Ways of Seeing

Gymnastics teacher Karla Grosch, who played a key role in the performances of the drama class, jokes with students on the terrace in front of the Bauhaus canteen
© Bauhaus-Archiv | Museum für Gestaltung

To celebrate the Bauhaus centenary year, 100 photographs from Berlin’s Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung will be shown across the USA in a traveling exhibition. It offers a sensory introduction to life at the Bauhaus, as well as to the architecture and products of the famous art school. Astrid Bähr and Sibylle Hoiman, both of whom worked on the exhibition, give an initial insight. A schedule of the upcoming events can be found at: https://events.wunderbartogether.org/?s=bauhaus-archiv

Ms. Bähr, Ms. Hoiman, could you perhaps explain to us why photography was so important to the Bauhaus?

Photography was a medium well-suited to presenting and communicating the Bauhaus itself, and to conveying the atmosphere at the Bauhaus and its fundamental ideas. It was used for documentation purposes, and to show the works produced there to a wider audience – for example in exhibitions, books, newspapers, and lectures. Photography was also used artistically, however, especially thanks to the influence of László Moholy-Nagy, for whom photography was a key creative medium in theory and practice. From 1929, it was also one of the subjects taught at the Bauhaus in a department run by Walter Peterhans.  

What can we see in the exhibition?

The exhibition shows how photography was used at the Bauhaus. Bauhaus architecture and products play an important role, as do portraits of the people behind them. In “Life at the Bauhaus”, perhaps the most ‘private’ section, insights are given into the everyday lives of the people who worked and studied at the Bauhaus. Of course, some of the photographs are staged, such as T. Lux Feininger’s “Jump over the Bauhaus”.

And which is the most famous photograph in the exhibition?

Probably one by Lucia Moholy. She was commissioned by Bauhaus founder Walter Gropius to photograph the Bauhaus school building. The photos give a good impression of the principles underlying Gropius’ architecture and of the harmony between material, form and content. Her pictures were published and widely disseminated even before the Bauhaus building was opened; as such, they became so to speak the Bauhaus calling card. 

What role was played by László and Lucia Moholy-Nagy in developing photography at the Bauhaus?

A decisive one! After arriving at the Bauhaus with her husband László, Lucia studied photography at the Atelier Eckner in Weimar. While she documented architecture and products for the Bauhaus, László Moholy-Nagy pursued artistic work and came up with some radically new solutions. He created a new theoretical basis for photography as a form of artistic expression. He provided some key impetus, long before the class in photography was established at the Bauhaus. Some of the student photographs in the “Life at the Bauhaus” section of the exhibition are wonderful examples of this.

What was so special about the ‘New Vision’ approach that was taught at the Bauhaus?

‘New Vision’ involved trying out new ways of seeing – for example by using unusual framings, by fragmenting objects, by using multiple exposures and dissolves, or even creating images without a camera simply by exposing photographic paper to light and producing a photogram. Thus the ‘New Vision’ approach allowed perceptual patterns to be explored and habitual ways of seeing put to the test.

  • Lucia Moholy-Nagy’s world-famous photograph of the Bauhaus building © Bauhaus-Archiv | Museum für Gestaltung
  • T. Lux Feininger jumps over the Bauhaus © Bauhaus-Archiv | Museum für Gestaltung
  • László and Lucia Moholy-Nagy had a fundamental influence on photography at the Bauhaus and on the image of the Bauhaus in the world © Bauhaus-Archiv | Museum für Gestaltung

Some of the pictures depict everyday student life at the Bauhaus. People not only studied here – they danced, did sport and drama, and loved. However, the period between the two wars in Germany was also a time of poverty and hunger. Can you paint a realistic picture of everyday life for us?

Most of the preserved photographs date back to the period in Dessau – when the worst years of famine during the Weimar Republic were already over. From 1925, some of the wealthier students owned small-format cameras that they also lent to their fellow (not so wealthy) students. It is striking that the positive aspects of the Bauhaus as a community predominate because photography was also a medium used to celebrate togetherness and to share and exchange ideas and views. That said, the picture of the Bauhaus painted by the photographs can only ever be subjective.

In 1933, the Nazis forced the Bauhaus school to its knees. Many of those at the Bauhaus had to flee. Some very prominent members, such as Walter Gropius and its last director Mies van der Rohe, found a new home for themselves in the USA. Who from the school of photography was able to establish a new career here?

Josef Albers and his wife Anni already emigrated to the USA in 1933. Albers continued at Black Mountain College to implement the teaching methods he had developed at the Bauhaus. He was followed in 1937 by Walter Gropius and László Moholy-Nagy. While Gropius taught architecture at Harvard, Moholy-Nagy founded the New Bauhaus in Chicago, later the School of Design, which produced a whole series of photographers and photography teachers. Among those Bauhaus members who emigrated to the USA, the photographers Walter Peterhans and Andreas Feininger deserve a particular mention.

Which Bauhaus ideas and insights are still relevant today?

The issues dealt with at the Bauhaus are more closely related to today’s debates about architecture, living and work than is often imagined. After all, today we also find ourselves in a society that is increasingly split into two camps and characterized by considerable social differences. The resulting problems demand long-term solutions for which the examples of affordable housing programs and urban development schemes in the Weimar Republic can serve as useful inspiration. It is fascinating to see the openness, transparency and tolerance with which similar discussions took place at the Bauhaus, and how high their communicative level was. We could learn a lot today from this approach to discussion and communication.

The Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung boasts the world’s largest collection related to the history of the Bauhaus (1919-1933). In a building designed by Bauhaus founder Walter Gropius, the Berlin Bauhaus institution presents key works from its collection as a museum for design, while as an international research center it explores the history and impact of the Bauhaus. The Bauhaus-Archiv is currently being renovated in accordance with historic monument requirements, with a new museum building being added. Smaller exhibitions and events will be on show at the temporary bauhaus-archiv.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Die Wanderausstellung bauhaus.photo
Neu sehen lernen

Die Gymnastiklehrerin Karla Grosch, maßgeblich beteiligt an den Aufführungen der Bühnenklasse, scherzt mit Studenten auf der Terrasse der Bauhaus-Kantine
© Bauhaus-Archiv | Museum für Gestaltung

100 Fotografien aus dem Berliner Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung touren im Jubiläumsjahr quer durch die USA. Es ist ein sinnlicher Einstieg in das Thema Leben am Bauhaus – aber auch in die Bereiche der Architektur und der Produkte der berühmten Kunstschule. Astrid Bähr und Sibylle Hoiman, die beide an der Ausstellung mitarbeiteten, geben einen Einblick. Eine Übersicht über die Termine finden Sie unter: https://events.wunderbartogether.org/?s=bauhaus-archiv

Liebe Frau Bähr, liebe Frau Hoiman, warum war die Fotografie so wichtig für das Bauhaus?

Die Fotografie war ein gut geeignetes Medium, um sich selbst darzustellen, zu kommunizieren und die Atmosphäre am Bauhaus sowie grundsätzliche Ideen zu vermitteln. Man nutzte sie zur Dokumentation, aber auch, um die geschaffenen Werke unter die Leute zu bringen – beispielsweise in Ausstellungen, Büchern, Zeitschriften und Vorträgen. Die Fotografie wurde aber auch künstlerisch verwendet, insbesondere durch den Einfluss von László Moholy-Nagy, für den die Fotografie zentrales Medium des Schaffens in Theorie und Praxis darstellt. Und ab 1929 war sie unter der Leitung von Walter Peterhans auch Teil der Ausbildung.

Was sehen wir in der Ausstellung bauhaus.photo?

Die Ausstellung zeigt, wie Fotografie am Bauhaus eingesetzt wurde. Die Architektur, die Produkte und die dahinterstehenden Köpfe in Form von Portraits spielen eine große Rolle. Mit dem Kapitel „Leben am Bauhaus“ wird der vielleicht ‚privateste‘ Bereich gezeigt, der Einblicke in den Alltag der Bauhäusler gibt. Einige Aufnahmen sind davon natürlich inszeniert, wie etwa der „Sprung über das Bauhaus“ von T. Lux Feininger.

Und welches ist das berühmteste Bild in der Ausstellung?

Vermutlich eines von Lucia Moholy: Im Auftrag des Bauhaus-Gründers Walter Gropius hat sie das Bauhaus-Schulgebäude fotografiert – die Fotos zeigen eindrucksvoll, nach welchen Grundsätzen Gropius‘ Architektur funktioniert und wie Material, Form und Inhalt übereinstimmen. Bereits vor Eröffnung des Bauhaus-Gebäudes wurden ihre Fotos publiziert und weit verbreitet, sie wurden gewissermaßen zur Visitenkarte des Bauhauses.

Welche Rolle spielte das Paar László und Lucia Moholy-Nagy für die Entwicklung der Fotografie am Bauhaus?

Eine entscheidende! Lucia absolvierte, nachdem sie mit ihrem Ehemann László ans Bauhaus gekommen war, eine Fotografie-Ausbildung im Atelier Eckner in Weimar. Während sie Architektur und Produkte für das Bauhaus dokumentierte, arbeitete László Moholy-Nagy künstlerisch und gelangte zu radikal neuen Lösungen. Er schuf ein neues theoretisches Fundament für die Fotografie als künstlerisches Ausdrucksmittel. Von ihm gingen wichtige Impulse aus, lange bevor die Fotoklasse am Bauhaus eingerichtet wurde. Dies zeigt sich wunderbar in einigen der studentischen Fotografien in der Ausstellungssektion „Leben am Bauhaus“.

Was war so besonders an der Schule des ‚Neuen Sehens‘, die am Bauhaus gelehrt wurde?

Hier wurden neue Sehweisen ausprobiert, etwa in ungewöhnlichen Perspektiven, durch die Fragmentierung der Objekte, durch Mehrfachbelichtungen und Überblendungen oder im Fotogramm, dem Fotografieren ohne Kamera, allein durch die Belichtung des Fotopapiers. Damit konnten im sogenannten ‚Neuen Sehen‘ Wahrnehmungsmuster thematisiert und Sehgewohnheiten auf den Prüfstand gestellt werden.

  • Lucia Moholy-Nagys weltberühmtes Bild des Bauhaus-Gebäudes © Bauhaus-Archiv | Museum für Gestaltung
  • T. Lux Feininger springt über das Bauhaus © Bauhaus-Archiv | Museum für Gestaltung
  • Das Paar László und Lucia Moholy-Nagy prägte die Fotografie am Bauhaus und das Bild des Bauhauses in der Welt fundamental © Bauhaus-Archiv | Museum für Gestaltung

Einige der Bilder zeigen den Alltag der Studentinnen und Studenten am Bauhaus – hier wurde nicht nur studiert, sondern getanzt, gesportelt, Theater gespielt, geliebt. Die Zwischenkriegszeit in Deutschland war aber auch eine Zeit der Armut und des Hungers. Können Sie uns ein realistisches Bild vom Alltag geben?

Der Großteil der überlieferten Fotografien stammt aus der Zeit in Dessau – die schlimmen Hungerjahre der Weimarer Zeit waren da schon vorbei. Ab 1925 besaßen einige der wohlhabenderen Studierenden Kleinformatkameras, die sie auch ihren Mitstudierenden liehen. Auffallend ist, dass die positiven Aspekte des Bauhauses als Gemeinschaft überwiegen, da Fotografie auch ein Medium war, um die Gemeinschaft zu feiern und sich auszutauschen. Das Bild des Bauhauses, das uns über die Fotografien überliefert wird, kann aber immer nur ein subjektives sein.

Die Nazis zwangen die Bauhaus-Schule 1933 in die Knie. Viele Bauhäusler mussten fliehen. Einige sehr bekannte Persönlichkeiten wie Walter Gropius oder Mies van der Rohe, letzter Bauhaus-Direktor, fanden eine neue Heimat in den USA. Wer aus der Fotoschule konnte hier eine neue Karriere aufbauen?

Josef Albers und seine Frau Anni emigrierten bereits 1933 in die USA. Seine am Bauhaus entwickelten Unterrichtsmethoden setzte Albers am Black Mountain College in Asheville, North Carolina, fort. 1937 folgten Walter Gropius und László Moholy-Nagy. Während Gropius in Harvard Architektur unterrichtete, gründete Moholy-Nagy das New Bauhaus in Chicago, später die School of Design, aus der eine ganze Schule von Fotografen und Fotografie-Lehrern hervorging. Unter den in die USA ausgewanderten Bauhäuslern sind auch die Fotografen Walter Peterhans und Andreas Feininger hervorzuheben.

Welche Ideen und Erkenntnisse des Bauhauses haben auch in der heutigen Zeit ihre Gültigkeit?

Die am Bauhaus verhandelten Themen sind mit den heutigen Debatten in Bezug auf Architektur, Wohnen und Arbeiten verwandter als man sich das oft vorstellt. Schließlich befinden wir uns auch heute in einer Gesellschaft, die sich zunehmend in zwei Lager spaltet und von großen sozialen Unterschieden geprägt ist. Die daraus entstehenden Probleme verlangen nach langfristigen Lösungen, für die etwa die Beispiele des sozialen Wohnungsbaus und der Städteplanung der Weimarer Republik Anregungen liefern können. Es ist faszinierend zu sehen, mit welcher Offenheit, Transparenz, Toleranz und auf welch hohem kommunikativem Niveau ähnlich gelagerte Diskurse am Bauhaus geführt wurden. Von dieser Art des Umgangs und der Kommunikation könnte man heute lernen.

Das Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung besitzt die weltweit größte Sammlung zur Geschichte des Bauhauses (1919-1933). In einem vom Bauhaus-Gründer Walter Gropius entworfenen Gebäude präsentiert die Berliner Bauhaus Institution als Museum für Gestaltung Schlüsselwerke seiner Sammlung und erforscht als internationale Forschungsstätte Geschichte und Wirkung des Bauhauses. Derzeit wird das Bauhaus-Archiv denkmalgerecht saniert und um einen Museumsneubau erweitert. Im temporary bauhaus-archiv werden Interessierten kleinere Ausstellungen und Veranstaltungen geboten.

Top