Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Culture in the Quarter
“Making van Gogh” and “Inside Rembrandt”

Two exhibitions on classical masters are running simultaneously in Frankfurt and Cologne: “Inside Rembrandt” and “Making Van Gogh” provide exciting insights into the history of art and how great artists emerge.
Two exhibitions on classical masters are running simultaneously in Frankfurt and Cologne: “Inside Rembrandt” and “Making Van Gogh” provide exciting insights into the history of art and how great artists emerge. | Photo (detail): © Wallraf-Richartz-Museum / Costa Belibasakis

Two exhibitions on classical masters are running simultaneously in Frankfurt and Cologne: “Inside Rembrandt” and “Making Van Gogh” provide exciting insights into the history of art and how great artists emerge. In addition to some of the two painters’ best-known works, the exhibitions also feature many unknown pieces from each artist’s circle.

By Andreas Platthaus

It is a remarkable coincidence that two of the most spectacular art exhibitions in German museums opened in late autumn with English titles. Making Van Gogh at the Städel Museum in Frankfurt am Main and Inside Rembrandt at the Wallraf-Richartz-Museum in Cologne have brought the work of classical grandmasters to German museums. The titles may have been chosen to attract the international audience that flocks to both cities, attractive tourist destinations in which English has long been the lingua franca.
 
The Cologne museum was established in 1824, and the Frankfurt museum can trace its history all the way back to 1816, making them two of Germany’s oldest state museums rich in tradition. Both are well regarded and have a lot to offer international exhibits from their holdings. In the recent past, the two museums have skilfully leveraged their art-based bargaining power and honed their befitting international reputations with exceptionally well-assembled special exhibitions. The Van Gogh and Rembrandt shows are the next chapters in their success stories.

  • “Inside Rembrandt” at the Wallraf-Richartz Museum in Cologne features around 110 works, including thirteen paintings by the master himself. Photo: © Wallraf-Richartz-Museum / Costa Belibasakis
    “Inside Rembrandt” at the Wallraf-Richartz Museum in Cologne features around 110 works, including thirteen paintings by the master himself.
  • Some of Rembrandt’s etchings will also be on display including “Saskia Sitting by a Window”, on loan from the Museum of Fine Arts Budapest. Photo: © Rembrandt (Harmensz. van Rijn), Saskia Sitting by a Window, pen and ink drawing, Museum of Fine Arts Budapest
    Some of Rembrandt’s etchings will also be on display including “Saskia Sitting by a Window”, on loan from the Museum of Fine Arts Budapest.
  • The exhibition includes a focus on Jan Lievens, highlighting the skill of Rembrandt’s friend and rival. Photo: Jan Lievens, Man in Oriental Costume, circa 1629, oil on canvas © bpk / StiftungPreussischeSchlösser und Gärten Berlin-Brandenburg / Roland Handrick
    The exhibition includes a focus on Jan Lievens, highlighting the skill of Rembrandt’s friend and rival.
  • Rembrandt’s “Scholar in his Study” is on loan from the National Gallery in Prague, only the second time it has been on display in another country. Photo: © Wallraf-Richartz-Museum / Costa Belibasakis
    Rembrandt’s “Scholar in his Study” is on loan from the National Gallery in Prague, only the second time it has been on display in another country.
  • The Wallraf-Richartz Museum also owns an important Rembrandt painting, “Self-Portrait as Zeuxis”. Photo: © Rembrandt (Harmensz. van Rijn), Self-Portrait as Zeuxis, circa 1662, oil on canvas, Wallraf-Richartz-Museum & Fondation Corboud, Foto RBA Köln
    The Wallraf-Richartz Museum also owns an important Rembrandt painting, “Self-Portrait as Zeuxis”.

But despite the museums’ excellent reputations and the adept negotiating skills, exhibitions featuring a single, celebrated artist are prohibitively expensive, making them almost impossible to pull off. So the museums opted for a somewhat different approach, and one that is charming in its own right.

Beyond Rembrandt and Van Gogh

Rembrandt and Van Gogh number among the most famous artists in the world, which makes it harder to borrow their work from other collections. Their paintings are in high demand around the globe, and key visitor attractions at their respective home galleries. Additionally, insurance coverage is enormously pricy, running to the billions for the Frankfurt Van Gogh show with almost fifty works by the master himself. Interestingly, over half of the paintings on display are not even by Van Gogh. Of the 110 pieces on exhibit in Cologne, only thirteen were painted by Rembrandt and a few of his etchings are available to the viewing public as well. The majority of the pieces included in both shows were not actually done by the artist who lent the exhibit his name, and whose lasting fame is drawing crowds.  
 
Making Van Gogh and Inside Rembrandt are cleverly chosen names that evoke a special sense of intimacy that conceals this discrepancy between advertising and reality. The suggestive exclusivity of the materials on display gives visitors the impression they will be taking a deep dive “inside” Rembrandt and watching as Van Gogh is “made”. Only direct interaction with the exhibit allows visitors to decode the titles as euphemisms for a trip into the art history studio, rather than a peek at the masters’ activities and inner lives. Inside Rembrandt uses a large number of paintings from other artists of the Golden Age to illuminate the business model used by the painter and those who mimicked his style. Making Van Gogh includes many works by German painters of the time to document how enthusiastically the artist was received in Germany at the start of the twentieth century. This approach plays to the Städel’s strengths, which include a rich collection of early 20th century German painters and only one, relatively insignificant Van Gogh.

  • “Making Van Gogh” brings works by the world-famous grandmaster to the Städel Museum in Frankfurt am Main. Photo: © Städel Museum - Norbert Miguletz
    “Making Van Gogh” brings works by the world-famous grandmaster to the Städel Museum in Frankfurt am Main.
  • Almost half of the works on display are paintings by Van Gogh. Photo: Vincent van Gogh, Fishing Boats on the Beach at Les Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, 1888, oil on canvas © Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam (Vincent van Gogh Foundation)
    Almost half of the works on display are paintings by Van Gogh.
  • Van Gogh’s “Arlésienne”, on loan from the Musée de Quay d’Orsay in Paris, brings a true international sensation to the Städel. Photo: © Wikipedia, gemeinfrei
    Van Gogh’s “Arlésienne”, on loan from the Musée de Quay d’Orsay in Paris, brings a true international sensation to the Städel.
  • The Frankfurt Museum once owned one of Van Gogh’s key works: the Portrait of Doctor Gachet. In 1937, however, National Socialist art policy declared it “degenerate” and forced the Städel to relinquish it. Only a red etching of the painting is on display. Photo: Vincent van Gogh, Portrait of Dr. Gachet, 1890, etching in red © Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main
    The Frankfurt Museum once owned one of Van Gogh’s key works: the Portrait of Doctor Gachet. In 1937, however, National Socialist art policy declared it “degenerate” and forced the Städel to relinquish it. Only a red etching of the painting is on display.
  • The exhibition documents how enthusiastically Van Gogh was received in Germany at the beginning of the twentieth century and shows a large number of works by German painters of the time. This includes Peter August Böckstiegel’s “Self-Portrait”. Photo: Peter August Böckstiegel, Self-Portrait, 1913, oil on canvas © Peter-August-Böckstiegel-Stiftung, Werther (Westf.)
    The exhibition documents how enthusiastically Van Gogh was received in Germany at the beginning of the twentieth century and shows a large number of works by German painters of the time. This includes Peter August Böckstiegel’s “Self-Portrait”.

To prevent any misunderstandings though, it must be said that both exhibitions are exceptionally well-arranged from a didactic standpoint, and include some truly spectacular objects, especially among those not attributable to their namesakes. Inside Rembrandt houses a small Jan Lievens exhibition that impressively highlights the skills of Rembrandt’s early friend and later rival. The clever arrangement of the few Rembrandt paintings in Cologne reveals a close connection to paintings from other brushes, , opening up a point of access to the core of what constitutes the Rembrandt myth. Cologne and Frankfurt both followed the same method, choosing to focus on the emergence of a universally popular brand name and all the phenomena that surround it, like marketing, imitation and even forgery.

Famous paintings draw crowds

And though not all the paintings were done by the eponymous artists, both museums have succeeded in bringing some spectacular masterpieces to their cities. The Frankfurt Museum once owned one of Van Gogh’s key works: the Portrait of Doctor Gachet. In 1937, however, National Socialist art policy declared it “degenerate” and forced the museum to relinquish it. Now the Städel is drawing in visitors with another international sensation: Van Gogh’s only slightly less heralded Arlésienne on loan from Musée de Quay d'Orsay in Paris. This coup probably drew many other paintings to Frankfurt in hopes that their status would be enhanced through the close proximity to the famous Arlésienne.

A painting from the Prague National Gallery plays a similar role in the Cologne exhibition: Rembrandt’s Scholar in His Study. This is the only the second time it has been on display in another country. The mere fact that the painting was lent to the Wallraf-Richartz Museum is an extraordinary event. It will also benefit from its juxtaposition with another highly significant Rembrandt painting the museum owns, namely Self-Portrait as Zeuxis. It will make the trip to Prague next year, where the same exhibition will open its doors to the public there.
 
Cologne curators seem to have scoured Easter European museums quite thoroughly and secured a number of loans from them. These are lesser-known masterpieces because their home galleries are less frequented than their larger brethren in Western Europe or North America. But this only enhances the allure of interacting with these paintings. The Frankfurt exhibition holds many fewer surprises, since the works on loan are mainly from the Netherlands and France.

From outsider to grandmaster

That these two exhibitions are running at almost the same time is remarkable in itself: taken together, they beautifully illustrate a general principle of art history: the rise of the aesthetic outsider to a dominant position as a grandmaster who shapes an entire school. This process has rarely been traced as subtly as at the Städel and Wallraf-Richartz museums right now. In combination, these exhibitions offer much more than just the sum of their parts.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Kultur im Quartal
„Inside Rembrandt“ und „Making Van Gogh“

Die Ausstellungen „Inside Rembrandt“ und „Making Van Gogh“ in Köln und Frankfurt bieten spannende Einblicke in die Kunstgeschichte und in die Entwicklung großer Künstler.
Die Ausstellungen „Inside Rembrandt“ und „Making Van Gogh“ in Köln und Frankfurt bieten spannende Einblicke in die Kunstgeschichte und in die Entwicklung großer Künstler. | Foto (Detail): © Wallraf-Richartz-Museum / Costa Belibasakis

Zwei Ausstellungen klassischer Meister laufen zeitgleich in Köln und Frankfurt: „Inside Rembrandt“ und „Making Van Gogh“ bieten spannende Einblicke in die Kunstgeschichte und in die Entwicklung großer Künstler, zeigen sie doch nicht nur weltberühmte Exponate, sondern auch viele unbekannte Werke aus dem Umfeld der beiden Maler.

Von Andreas Platthaus

Es ist ein bemerkenswertes Zusammentreffen, dass zwei der spektakulärsten Kunstausstellungen, die deutsche Museen in diesem Spätherbst zeigen, englische Titel tragen: Making Van Gogh im Städel-Museum in Frankfurt am Main und Inside Rembrandt im Wallraf-Richartz-Museum in Köln bringen Werke der klassischen Großmeister in deutsche Museen. Die Benennung mag für das internationale Publikum gewählt sein, das in beiden Städten verkehrt. Die Städte sind touristische Anziehungspunkte, in denen Englisch längst die Lingua franca ist.
 
Die beiden Häuser, in denen die Ausstellungen zu sehen sind, gehören zu den traditionsreichsten bürgerlichen Kunstsammlungen in Deutschland: Das Kölner Museum besteht als städtische Institution seit 1824, das Frankfurter sogar schon seit 1816. Mit ihren Beständen haben sie dem internationalen Leihverkehr durchaus etwas zu bieten. Diese künstlerische Verhandlungsmacht haben beide Museen in der jüngeren Vergangenheit geschickt ausgespielt und sich mit reich bestückten Sonderausstellungen besondere Reputation erworben. Mit den Schauen zu Van Gogh und Rembrandt sollen diese Erfolgsgeschichten fortgeschrieben werden.

  • Zu den rund 110 Werken, die in der Ausstellung „Inside Rembrandt“ im Wallraf-Richartz-Museum in Köln ausgestellt werden, zählen dreizehn eigenhändige Gemälde des Meisters. Foto: © Wallraf-Richartz-Museum / Costa Belibasakis
    Zu den rund 110 Werken, die in der Ausstellung „Inside Rembrandt“ im Wallraf-Richartz-Museum in Köln ausgestellt werden, zählen dreizehn eigenhändige Gemälde des Meisters.
  • Außerdem werden einige graphische Arbeiten Rembrandts gezeigt, darunter „Saskia am Fenster“, eine Leihgabe des Museum of Fine Arts Budapest. Foto: © Rembrandt (Harmensz. van Rijn), Saskia am Fenster,Federzeichnung, Museum of Fine Arts Budapest
    Außerdem werden einige graphische Arbeiten Rembrandts gezeigt, darunter „Saskia am Fenster“, eine Leihgabe des Museum of Fine Arts Budapest.
  • Die Ausstellung hat auch einen kleinen Jan-Lievens-Schwerpunkt und zeigt das Können des frühen Wegbegleiters Rembrandts. Foto: Jan Lievens, Halbfigur eines Mannes in orientalischem Kostüm, um 1629, Öl auf Leinwand © bpk / StiftungPreussischeSchlösser und Gärten Berlin-Brandenburg / Roland Handrick
    Die Ausstellung hat auch einen kleinen Jan-Lievens-Schwerpunkt und zeigt das Können des frühen Wegbegleiters Rembrandts.
  • Rembrandts „Gelehrter im Studierzimmer“ stammt aus der Nationalgalerie Prag und wurde bisher nur ein einziges Mal für eine Ausstellung verliehen. Foto: © Wallraf-Richartz-Museum / Costa Belibasakis
    Rembrandts „Gelehrter im Studierzimmer“ stammt aus der Nationalgalerie Prag und wurde bisher nur ein einziges Mal für eine Ausstellung verliehen.
  • Das Wallraf-Richartz-Museum besitzt mit „Selbstbildnis als Zeuxis“ auch selbst ein bedeutendes Rembrandt-Gemälde. Foto: © Rembrandt (Harmensz. van Rijn), Selbstbildnis als Zeuxis, um 1662, Öl auf Leinwand, Wallraf-Richartz-Museum & Fondation Corboud, Foto RBA Köln
    Das Wallraf-Richartz-Museum besitzt mit „Selbstbildnis als Zeuxis“ auch selbst ein bedeutendes Rembrandt-Gemälde.

Doch trotz ihrer Reputation und obwohl beide Häuser geschickt verhandelt haben: Rein monographische Ausstellungen zu solchen Berühmtheiten sind heute schon aus finanziellen Gründen kaum mehr zu bestücken. Die Museen haben sich deshalb für einen etwas anderen Ansatz entschieden – der durchaus auch seinen Charme hat.

Über Rembrandt und Van Gogh hinaus

Rembrandt und Van Gogh zählen zu den weltweit bekanntesten Künstlern, was auch die Schwierigkeit erhöht, ihre Werke von anderen Häusern auszuleihen. Die Werke sind überall begehrt und stellen in ihren jeweiligen Heimatmuseen die wichtigsten Anziehungspunkte für das Publikum dar. Zudem sind die Versicherungssummen enorm. Bei der Frankfurter Van-Gogh-Schau mit den dort vertretenen knapp fünfzig Arbeiten des Malers gehen sie in Milliardenhöhe. In Frankfurt sind denn auch mehr als die Hälfte der gezeigten Bilder gar nicht von Van Gogh. In Köln sind unter 110 ausgestellten Werke sogar nur dreizehn eigenhändige Gemälde von Rembrandt sowie einige graphische Arbeiten des Meisters. In beiden Ausstellungen stammt die Mehrzahl der ausgestellten Arbeiten somit nicht von dem Künstler, nach dem die Schau benannt ist, und mit dessen Ruhm sie das Publikum locken will.
 
Making Van Gogh und Inside Rembrandt sind geschickt gewählte Namen, die diese Diskrepanz von Werbung und Wirklichkeit kaschieren, indem sie besondere Intimität heraufbeschwören. Wer sich ins „Innere“ Rembrandts zu begeben glaubt oder erwartet, dabei zusehen zu können, wie Van Gogh „gemacht“ wird, dem wird Exklusivität des ausgestellten Materials suggeriert. Erst der Besuch selbst entschlüsselt die Betitelungen als Euphemismen für Einblicke in die kunstgeschichtliche Werkstatt statt ins Wirken der Meister selbst: Inside Rembrandt erklärt über eine Vielzahl von Bildern anderer Künstler des Goldenen Zeitalters das Geschäftsmodell des Malers und seiner Nachahmer. Making Van Gogh dokumentiert die begeisterte Rezeption Van Goghs in Deutschland zu Beginn des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts und kann auf diese Weise eine Vielzahl von Werken deutscher Maler jener Zeit zeigen. Was für das Städel durchaus vorteilhaft ist, verfügt es doch über einen eigenen reichen Bestand dieser Werke, während es nur einen einzigen – relativ belanglosen – Van Gogh besitzt.

  • Die Ausstellung „Making Van Gogh“ bringt Werke des weltberühmten Großmeisters ins Städel-Museum in Frankfurt am Main. Foto: © Städel Museum - Norbert Miguletz
    Die Ausstellung „Making Van Gogh“ bringt Werke des weltberühmten Großmeisters ins Städel-Museum in Frankfurt am Main.
  • Knapp die Hälfte der ausgestellten Werke sind Gemälde von Van Gogh. Foto: Vincent van Gogh, Segelboote am Strand von Les Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, 1888, Öl auf Leinwand © Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam (Vincent van Gogh Foundation)
    Knapp die Hälfte der ausgestellten Werke sind Gemälde von Van Gogh.
  • Mit Van Goghs „Arlésienne“ aus dem Pariser Musée de Quay d’Orsay ist eine wahre Weltsensation im Städel zu sehen. Foto: © Wikipedia, gemeinfrei
    Mit Van Goghs „Arlésienne“ aus dem Pariser Musée de Quay d’Orsay ist eine wahre Weltsensation im Städel zu sehen.
  • Das Frankfurter Museum besaß früher einmal eines von Van Goghs Hauptwerken: das Porträt des Doktor Gachet. Die nationalsozialistische Kunstpolitik erklärte es 1937 jedoch für „entartet“ und zwang das Städel zur Herausgabe. In der Ausstellung ist daher nur die Radierung in Rot zu sehen. Foto: Vincent van Gogh, Bildnis des Dr. Gachet, 1890, Radierung in Rot © Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main
    Das Frankfurter Museum besaß früher einmal eines von Van Goghs Hauptwerken: das Porträt des Doktor Gachet. Die nationalsozialistische Kunstpolitik erklärte es 1937 jedoch für „entartet“ und zwang das Städel zur Herausgabe. In der Ausstellung ist daher nur die Radierung in Rot zu sehen.
  • Die Ausstellung dokumentiert die begeisterte Rezeption Van Goghs in Deutschland zu Beginn des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts und zeigt eine Vielzahl von Werken deutscher Maler jener Zeit. So auch das „Selbstbildnis“ Peter August Böckstiegel. Foto: Peter August Böckstiegel, Selbstbildnis, 1913, Öl auf Leinwand © Peter-August-Böckstiegel-Stiftung, Werther (Westf.)
    Die Ausstellung dokumentiert die begeisterte Rezeption Van Goghs in Deutschland zu Beginn des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts und zeigt eine Vielzahl von Werken deutscher Maler jener Zeit. So auch das „Selbstbildnis“ Peter August Böckstiegel.

Um aber einem möglichen Missverständnis vorzubeugen, sei gesagt: Beide Ausstellungen sind didaktisch hervorragend zusammengestellt und enthalten gerade abseits des Werks ihrer Namensgeber besonders spektakuläre Objekte. So steckt in Inside Rembrandt auch eine kleine Jan-Lievens-Ausstellung, die das Können des frühen Wegbegleiters und späteren Konkurrenten Rembrandts eindrucksvoll belegt. Durch kluge Zuordnung der wenigen Rembrandt-Gemälde in Köln wird ein enger Zusammenhang mit den Bildern von anderer Hand sichtbar, der tatsächlich ins Innere dessen führt, was den Mythos von Rembrandt ausmacht. Programmatisch leistet die Kölner Schau nämlich genau das Gleiche wie die Frankfurter Ausstellung: Beide stellen die Entstehung eines allseits populären Markennamens in den Mittelpunkt, mit allen Begleiterscheinungen wie etwa Vermarktung, Nachahmung oder gar Fälschung.

Ruhmreiche Gemälde als Publikumsmagnet

Und auch wenn nicht alle Ausstellungsstücke den namensgebenden Künstlern zuzuschreiben sind – beide Museen haben es geschafft, einzelne spektakuläre Werke in ihre Städte zu bringen. Das Frankfurter Museum besaß früher einmal eines von Van Goghs Hauptwerken: das Porträt des Doktor Gachet. Die nationalsozialistische Kunstpolitik erklärte es 1937 jedoch für „entartet“ und zwang das Städel zur Herausgabe. Mit der kaum weniger berühmten Arlésienne von Van Gogh aus dem Pariser Musée de Quay d’Orsay ist in der aktuellen Ausstellung nun eine andere Weltsensation im Städel zu sehen. Ihr Ruhm wiederum dürfte auch so manches andere Bild nach Frankfurt gebracht haben, dessen Bedeutung durch die prominente Nachbarschaft zu Arlésienne gesteigert werden soll.

In Köln spielt ein Gemälde aus der Prager Nationalgalerie eine vergleichbare Rolle: Rembrandts Gelehrter im Studierzimmer, das bislang nur ein einziges Mal für eine Ausstellung hergegeben wurde. Schon allein, dass dieses Bildes entliehen werden konnte, macht die Schau im Wallraf-Richartz-Museum zu einem Ereignis. Sie profitiert überdies davon, dass das Museum selbst ein höchst bedeutendes Rembrandt-Gemälde besitzt, nämlich das späte Selbstbildnis als Zeuxis. Dieses geht im kommenden Jahr im Gegenzug nach Prag, wo dieselbe Ausstellung dann noch einmal gezeigt wird.

Überhaupt sind die Kölner Kuratoren intensiv in osteuropäischen Museen auf die Suche gegangen und haben von dort viele Leihgaben eingeworben. Dabei handelt es sich zwar um weniger bekannte Meisterwerke, weil ihre Aufbewahrungsorte nicht so vielbesucht sind wie die großen Galerien in Westeuropa oder Nordamerika, aber umso interessanter ist die Begegnung mit diesen Bildern. Bei der Frankfurter Ausstellung sind die Überraschungen deutlich seltener, weil sie vor allem mit Leihgaben aus den Niederlanden und Frankreich bestückt wurde.

Vom Außenseiter zum Großmeister

Das Nebeneinander der nahezu gleichzeitig laufenden Ausstellungen ist ein bemerkenswertes Ereignis für sich, weil erst in der Zusammenschau ein generelles Prinzip der Kunstgeschichte anschaulich wird: die Durchsetzung eines ästhetischen Außenseiters zum schulbildenden Großmeister. Dieser Prozess ist nur selten derart subtil nachgezeichnet worden wie derzeit im Städel Museum und im Wallraf-Richartz-Museum. In der Summe bieten diese beiden Ausstellungen deshalb noch viel mehr als einzeln betrachtet.

Top