Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Culture in the Quarter
Classical music online

Mural of Ludwig van Beethoven ahead of his 250th birth anniversary in his birth town Bonn.
Mural of Ludwig van Beethoven ahead of his 250th birth anniversary in his birth town Bonn. | Photo (detail): © picture alliance/Ulrich Baumgarten

The cities of Leipzig and Bonn both had large classical music festivals in the works for 2020. But silence has settled with the outbreak of the corona pandemic and all the musical highlights, big and small, will have to find a new home on the net.

By Andreas Platthaus

I have a close, personal relationship to Canada: My godmother immigrated there with her family, so I have frequently visited the province of Ontario and made quite a few friends there. The music aficionados among them had planned a June trip to Germany to visit the city of Leipzig. They chose Leipzig because it has a long, rich musical history unlike that of any other German city: Many of the truly great classical composers lived and worked there. On the international stage, only Vienna can boast even more music greats.

Glorious festivals for Bach and Beethoven

Leipzig’s most notable contribution to the history of music is the oeuvre of Johann Sebastian Bach. From 1723 to his death in 1750, the classical composer served as the cantor of the Thomanerchor (St. Thomas Boys Choir), the world’s oldest contiguous choir founded in 1212. His contract stipulated he write new pieces for church services, so Bach was prodigious during his time as cantor. This creative period gave the world innumerable masterpieces, and to this day the Thomanerchor in Leipzig sings the cantata penned by their former cantor every week. Once a year – in the month of June – a huge festival is held in Bach’s honour and the best interpreters of his music come from all over the world to play at the Bachfest. This is what my Canadian friends were looking forward to, and I had offered my services as a city tour guide.

  • Once a year a huge festival is held in Johann Sebastian Bach’s honour and the best interpreters of his music come from all over the world to Leipzig to play at the Bachfest. Photo (detail): © Bachfest Leipzig/Gert Mothes
    Once a year a huge festival is held in Johann Sebastian Bach’s honour and the best interpreters of his music come from all over the world to Leipzig to play at the Bachfest.
  • A central venue is the Thomaskirche in Leipzig, where Bach himself served during his lifetime. Photo (detail): © Bachfest Leipzig/Gert Mothes
    A central venue is the Thomaskirche in Leipzig, where Bach himself served during his lifetime.
  • During 27 years, he was the cantor of the Thomanerchor (St. Thomas Boys Choir). Photo (detail): © Bachfest Leipzig/Jens Schlüter
    During 27 years, he was the cantor of the Thomanerchor (St. Thomas Boys Choir).
  • Founded in 1212, the Thomanerchor is the world’s oldest contiguous choir. Photo (detail): © Thomanerchor Leipzig/Matthias Knoch
    Founded in 1212, the Thomanerchor is the world’s oldest contiguous choir.
  • At the Bach Festival, the choir is therefore always on the agenda. Photo (detail): © Thomanerchor Leipzig/Matthias Knoch
    At the Bach Festival, the choir is therefore always on the agenda.

This year also happens to be an important anniversary for another significant German composer in the spotlight. Every year, the Beethovenfest in the city of Bonn pays homage to the works of its native son, Ludwig van Beethoven, born there 250 years ago. In 2020, the festival was going to double the music with one part scheduled for March and one for September.

Classical music has been particularly hard hit

The first half of the Beethovenfest had to be cancelled due to the corona pandemic and it is still unclear whether the rest of the anniversary programme will take place in autumn. Bonn has not given up on its September plans, just as at the beginning of April, Leipzig still believed the Bachfest could be staged in June as planned. These festivals are important to both the image and the income of their respective cities, but that could not save the Bachfest this year. And the Beethovenfest seems likely to suffer the same fate, since its global audience will not be making any international travel plans for some time to come.

These two giant events are not the only in the classical world to be hit by corona-driven changes, of course. The large number of contributors to even small performances means the classical music scene is really suffering under the quarantine. This is palpable even in – or perhaps especially in – classical music capital Leipzig.

  • Every year, the Beethovenfest in the city of Bonn pays homage to the works of its native son, Ludwig van Beethoven, born there 250 years ago. Photo (detail): © picture-alliance/Reuters/Leon Kuegeler
    Every year, the Beethovenfest in the city of Bonn pays homage to the works of its native son, Ludwig van Beethoven, born there 250 years ago.
  • The Beethoven museum in Bonn has been refurbished and extended on the occasion of his 250th birth anniversary in 2020. Photo (detail): © picture alliance/dpa/Henning Kaiser
    The Beethoven museum in Bonn has been refurbished and extended on the occasion of his 250th birth anniversary in 2020.
  • But unlike in previous years, the Beethoven Orchestra Bonn did not open the classical music festival in the opera this year. The first half of the Beethovenfest had to be cancelled due to the corona pandemic. Photo (detail): © picture alliance/Geisler-Fotopress/Robert Schmiegelt
    But unlike in previous years, the Beethoven Orchestra Bonn did not open the classical music festival in the opera this year. The first half of the Beethovenfest had to be cancelled due to the corona pandemic.

 

Bach motets and the Gewandhaus Orchestra have fallen silent

The Thomanerchor has had to cancel all the motets from mid-March to an unknown future date. Leipzig’s Church of St. Thomas initially tried to limit the size of audiences to fulfil all official requirements, but even this became impossible after a general ban on assemblies was issued in Germany. To ensure that the master’s music would ring out on his 335th birthday on March 21 at least, his current successor, cantor Gotthold Schwarz, and Leipzig organists Ullrich Böhme and Michael Schönheit met in the Church of St. Thomas to play a pared-down motet – usually a choral composition for many voices – for the camera. Schwarz was the only vocalist. The recording was released on the internet to provide disappointed Bach fans with a little comfort.

This was the last motet to ring out in the Church of St. Thomas to date. The musical city of Leipzig has fallen quiet. The city’s Gewandhaus Orchestra is not playing either, though it had particularly ambitious plans to celebrate Beethoven’s 250th birthday this year. Few other orchestras can trace such a close connection to Beethoven and much of the 2020 programme focused on the classical master. During the 1825/1826 concert season, when the composer was still alive, the orchestra was the very first to brave a complete cycle of his nine symphonies. Back in 1808, it premiered his Triple Concerto and then Piano Concerto Number 5 in 1811. Most of the concerts planned for this spring, which were to feature Beethoven’s music in combination with that of Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy, head conductor of the Gewandhaus Orchestra from 1835 to his death in 1847, have had to be cancelled. It remains to be seen whether the symphony programme for autumn and winter, which will pick up where the orchestra’s pioneering work from 1825/1826 left off, can go ahead as scheduled either.

What can an orchestra do in this kind of situation? Exactly what the Church of St. Thomas did: upload some music to the net for its audience to enjoy. But since getting a large orchestra together to play would endanger their health, even without an audience, they have chosen to feature works from their rich database of recorded concerts from recent years. Instead of the regular concerts scheduled for every Thursday and Friday, classical music fans can tune in to listen to earlier recordings on these same days, available for 24 hours on the orchestra’s website. Fans can look forward to lots of Beethoven, of course, but also the music of Robert Schumann, who lived in Leipzig, and Gustav Mahler, conductor at the opera for a few years who composed his first symphony in Leipzig.

  • The city’s Gewandhaus is closed during the Corona pandemic and its orchestra is not playing either. Photo (detail): © Gewandhaus zu Leipzig/Jens Gerber
    The city’s Gewandhaus is closed during the Corona pandemic and its orchestra is not playing either.
  • Gewandhaus Orchestra had particularly ambitious plans to celebrate Beethoven’s 250th birthday this year, as few other orchestras can trace such a close connection to Beethoven. Photo (detail): © Gewandhaus zu Leipzig/Jens Gerber
    Gewandhaus Orchestra had particularly ambitious plans to celebrate Beethoven’s 250th birthday this year, as few other orchestras can trace such a close connection to Beethoven.
  • When the composer was still alive, the orchestra was the very first to brave a complete cycle of his nine symphonies, it premiered his Triple Concerto and then Piano Concerto Number 5. Photo (detail): © Gewandhaus zu Leipzig/Andris Nelsons
    When the composer was still alive, the orchestra was the very first to brave a complete cycle of his nine symphonies, it premiered his Triple Concerto and then Piano Concerto Number 5.
  • While the concert hall remains closed, the Gewandhaus Orchestra uploads concert videos to the net for its audience to enjoy. Photo (detail): © Gewandhaus zu Leipzig/Jens Gerber
    While the concert hall remains closed, the Gewandhaus Orchestra uploads concert videos to the net for its audience to enjoy.

Upcoming highlights: Mahler, Wagner and more Beethoven

Things are unlikely to return to normal in classical music capital Leipzig until 2021, when the weekly motets and Bachfest have returned. And, after a ten-year break, a truly wonderful classical music experience is in the works: the Mahler Festival where nine of the best orchestras from around the world will play all of Mahler’s symphonies in two weeks. One year later, in 2022, an even grander festival will celebrate the work of another Leipzig composer, when the all the operas written by Leipzig native Richard Wagner are performed in chronological order over the course of three weeks.

Classical music capital Leipzig will simply have to hope that these upcoming highlights are not dimmed by the corona pandemic. And Bonn will have to be satisfied by the fact that the next important Beethoven anniversary is right around the corner: the 200th day of the composer’s death in seven years. Only my Bach-loving Canadian friends are likely to remain inconsolable.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Kultur im Quartal
Klassik im Netz

2020 wäre Ludwig van Beethoven 250 Jahre alt geworden: Streetart in seiner Geburtsstadt Bonn.
2020 wäre Ludwig van Beethoven 250 Jahre alt geworden: Streetart in seiner Geburtsstadt Bonn. | Foto (Detail): © picture alliance/Ulrich Baumgarten

Leipzig und Bonn hatten für 2020 große klassische Musikfestivals geplant. Doch mit dem Ausbruch der Corona-Pandemie ist es still geworden: Die großen und kleinen musikalischen Höhepunkte müssen ins Netz verlagert werden.

Von Andreas Platthaus

Mit Kanada verbindet mich ein enges persönliches Verhältnis: Meine Patin wanderte mit ihrer Familie dorthin aus, und ich habe deshalb mehrfach den Bundesstaat Ontario besucht und Freunde dort gefunden. Einige besonders Musikbegeisterte unter ihnen planten, im kommenden Juni nach Deutschland zu reisen, in die Stadt Leipzig. Warum dorthin? Weil Leipzig so eng wie keine andere deutsche Stadt mit der Musikgeschichte verknüpft ist, wirkten hier doch im Laufe der Geschichte gleich mehrere der großen Klassik-Komponisten. Selbst international kann ihr wohl nur Wien den Rang ablaufen.

Glanzvolle Feste für Bach und Beethoven

Der wichtigste Leipziger Beitrag zur Musikgeschichte ist das Schaffen Johann Sebastian Bachs, der von 1723 bis zu seinem Tod 1750, also 27 Jahre lang, als Kantor der Thomaner amtierte, des ältesten bestehenden Chors der Welt, gegründet im Jahr 1212. Weil er verpflichtet war, regelmäßig neue Musik für die Gottesdienste zu schreiben, komponierte Bach in dieser Funktion im Akkord. Die Welt verdankt dieser Schaffenszeit zahllose Meisterwerke, und noch heute singen die Thomaner jede Woche in Leipzig die Kantanten ihres früheren Kantors. Und einmal im Jahr – eben im Juni – findet zu Ehren Bachs ein großes Festival statt, bei dem die weltweit wichtigsten Interpreten seiner Musik auftreten: das Bachfest. Das wollten meine kanadischen Bekannten besuchen, und ich war mit ihnen verabredet, um sie durch die Stadt zu führen.
  • Jedes Jahr findet in Leipzig ein großes Festival zu Ehren Johann Sebastian Bachs statt, bei dem die weltweit wichtigsten Interpreten seiner Musik auftreten: das Bachfest. Foto (Detail): © Bachfest Leipzig/Gert Mothes
    Jedes Jahr findet in Leipzig ein großes Festival zu Ehren Johann Sebastian Bachs statt, bei dem die weltweit wichtigsten Interpreten seiner Musik auftreten: das Bachfest.
  • Ein zentraler Veranstaltungsort ist dabei die Thomaskirche in Leipzig, an der Bach zu Lebzeiten selber wirkte. Foto (Detail): © Bachfest Leipzig/Gert Mothes
    Ein zentraler Veranstaltungsort ist dabei die Thomaskirche in Leipzig, an der Bach zu Lebzeiten selber wirkte.
  • Als Kantor der Thomaskirche leitete Bach 27 Jahre lang den Thomanerchor (rechts im Bild). Foto (Detail): © Bachfest Leipzig/Jens Schlüter
    Als Kantor der Thomaskirche leitete Bach 27 Jahre lang den Thomanerchor (rechts im Bild).
  • Anfang des 13. Jahrhunderts gegründet, ist der Thomanerchor der älteste bestehende Chor der Welt. Foto (Detail): © Thomanerchor Leipzig/Matthias Knoch
    Anfang des 13. Jahrhunderts gegründet, ist der Thomanerchor der älteste bestehende Chor der Welt.
  • Im Programm des Bachfests ist der Chor eine feste Größe. Foto (Detail): © Thomanerchor Leipzig/Matthias Knoch
    Im Programm des Bachfests ist der Chor eine feste Größe.
​Jubiläumsbedingt zieht dieses Jahr zudem auch ein anderer deutscher Komponist die Aufmerksamkeit auf sich: An den vor 250 Jahren geborenen Ludwig van Beethoven erinnert ein jährlich ausgerichtetes Festival, das seinem Werk gewidmet ist, das Beethovenfest in seiner Geburtsstadt Bonn. Das hätte 2020 gleich zweimal, im März und im September, besonders glanzvoll begangen werden sollen.

Klassik ist besonders betroffen

Doch die erste Hälfte des Beethovenfests musste wegen der Corona-Pandemie abgesagt werden. Ob der Rest des Jubiläumsprogramms im Herbst durchgeführt werden kann, ist unsicher. Noch hält Bonn an der Septemberplanung fest, genauso wie Leipzig bis Anfang April noch an das Bachfest für den Juni glaubte. Doch obwohl diese Festivals wichtige Image- und Einnahmefaktoren für die beiden Städte sind, wurde das Bachfest dann doch abgesagt – und es steht zu befürchten, dass auch das Beethovenfest dieses Schicksal ereilen wird, denn das internationale Publikum wird wohl noch für lange Zeit keine Fernreisen unternehmen können.

Natürlich sind diese beiden Großevents nicht die einzigen Veranstaltungen aus der Klassikwelt, die von den Corona-bedingten Änderungen betroffen sind. Wegen der hohen Zahl an Mitwirkenden selbst bei kleinen Aufführungen ist die klassische Musikszene stark eingeschränkt. Das merkt man auch – oder besonders – in der Klassikstadt Leipzig.
  • Auf die Feierlichkeiten zu Ludwig van Beethovens 250. Geburtstag hat sich seine Geburtsstadt Bonn lange vorbereitet. Das jährliche Beethovenfest sollte 2020 besonders glanzvoll begangen werden. Foto (Detail): © picture-alliance/Reuters/Leon Kuegeler
    Auf die Feierlichkeiten zu Ludwig van Beethovens 250. Geburtstag hat sich seine Geburtsstadt Bonn lange vorbereitet. Das jährliche Beethovenfest sollte 2020 besonders glanzvoll begangen werden.
  • Das Geburtshaus des Komponisten wurde anlässlich des Jubiläums umgebaut und erweitert. Foto (Detail): © picture alliance/dpa/Henning Kaiser
    Das Geburtshaus des Komponisten wurde anlässlich des Jubiläums umgebaut und erweitert.
  • Doch anders als in den Vorjahren konnte das Beethoven-Orchester Bonn das Klassikfestival dieses Jahr nicht in der Oper eröffnen: Aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie wurde die erste Hälfte des Beethovenfests abgesagt. Der zweite Teil ist für Herbst 2020 geplant. Foto (Detail): © picture alliance/Geisler-Fotopress/Robert Schmiegelt
    Doch anders als in den Vorjahren konnte das Beethoven-Orchester Bonn das Klassikfestival dieses Jahr nicht in der Oper eröffnen: Aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie wurde die erste Hälfte des Beethovenfests abgesagt. Der zweite Teil ist für Herbst 2020 geplant.

Bach-Motetten und Gewandhausorchester sind verstummt

So musste der Thomanerchor von Mitte März an bis zu einem derzeit noch unbestimmten Zeitpunkt alle Motetten absagen. Zunächst hatte man in der Leipziger Thomaskirche noch versucht, durch eine Beschränkung der Zuhörerzahl die behördlichen Vorgaben zu erfüllen, doch das war nach dem Erlass eines generellen Versammlungsverbots in Deutschland nicht mehr möglich. Um zumindest an Bachs 335. Geburtstag am 21. März nicht auf dessen Musik verzichten zu müssen, trafen sich sein heutiger Nachfolger, der Thomaskantor Gotthold Schwarz, und die beiden Leipziger Organisten Ullrich Böhme und Michael Schönheit in der Thomaskirche und spielten vor der Kamera eine reduzierte Motette – eigentlich ein mehrstimmiger Chorgesang – ein, bei der Schwarz als einzelner Sänger auftrat. Die Aufzeichnung wurde dann ins Internet gestellt, als kleiner Trost für all die Bachfreunde.

Das war bislang die letzte Motette in der Thomaskirche – in der Musikstadt Leipzig ist es still geworden. Auch das städtische Gewandhausorchester spielt nicht mehr. Dabei hatte es besonders ehrgeizige Pläne im Beethoven-Jahr, mit vielen Programmpunkten rund um den klassischen Meister, ist es doch so eng wie kein anderes Orchester mit Beethoven verbunden. Das Gewandhausorchester hatte sich in der Konzertsaison 1825/1826, noch zu Lebzeiten des Komponisten, an den ersten Komplettzyklus seiner neun Sinfonien gewagt. Bereits 1808 hatte es die Uraufführung des Tripelkonzerts und 1811 die des fünften Klavierkonzerts gespielt. Doch die für dieses Frühjahr geplanten Konzerte, in denen Beethovens Musik mit der von Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy – der von 1835 bis zu seinem Tod 1847 Chefdirigent des Gewandhausorchesters war – kombiniert werden sollte, sind nun größtenteils ausgefallen. Ob das reiche Sinfonienprogramm im Herbst und Winter, das an die Pioniertat des Orchesters von 1825/1826 anknüpfen soll, gespielt werden kann, muss man abwarten.

Was tut ein Orchester in solch einer Lage? Das gleiche wie die Thomaskirche: Es bietet seinem Publikum Musik im Netz an. Da aber auch gemeinsame Auftritte ohne Publikum aus gesundheitlichen Gründen nicht mehr erlaubt sind, bedient sich das Gewandhausorchester seines reichen Bestands an aufgezeichneten Konzerten aus den letzten Jahren. Jeden Donnerstag und Freitag, an denen eigentlich die regulären Konzerttermine stattgefunden hätten, werden auf der Website für jeweils 24 Stunden frühere Aufnahmen freigeschaltet: natürlich viel Beethoven, aber auch Musik von Robert Schumann, der in Leipzig lebte, oder von Gustav Mahler, der hier ein paar Jahre lang Kapellmeister der Oper war und seine erste Sinfonie komponierte.

  • Auch Leipzigs städtisches Gewandhaus ist während der Corona-Pandemie geschlossen, und das heimische Gewandhausorchester spielt nicht mehr. Foto (Detail): © Gewandhaus zu Leipzig/Jens Gerber
    Auch Leipzigs städtisches Gewandhaus ist während der Corona-Pandemie geschlossen, und das heimische Gewandhausorchester spielt nicht mehr.
  • Für das Beethovenjahr hatten die Musiker ein umfangreiches Programm einstudiert, ist es doch eng mit der Geschichte des Komponisten verbunden. Foto (Detail): © Gewandhaus zu Leipzig/Jens Gerber
    Für das Beethovenjahr hatten die Musiker ein umfangreiches Programm einstudiert, ist es doch eng mit der Geschichte des Komponisten verbunden.
  • Zu Lebzeiten von Ludwig van Beethoven hatte das Orchester den ersten Komplettzyklus seiner neun Sinfonien sowie die Uraufführungen des Tripelkonzerts und des fünften Klavierkonzerts gespielt. Foto (Detail): © Gewandhaus zu Leipzig/Andris Nelsons
    Zu Lebzeiten von Ludwig van Beethoven hatte das Orchester den ersten Komplettzyklus seiner neun Sinfonien sowie die Uraufführungen des Tripelkonzerts und des fünften Klavierkonzerts gespielt.
  • Weil die Ränge leer nun bleiben müssen, bietet das Gewandhausorchester seinem Publikum wöchentlich Konzerte im Netz an. Foto (Detail): © Gewandhaus zu Leipzig/Jens Gerber
    Weil die Ränge leer nun bleiben müssen, bietet das Gewandhausorchester seinem Publikum wöchentlich Konzerte im Netz an.

Höhepunkte in den kommenden Jahren: Mahler, Wagner und nochmal Beethoven

Normalität wird in der Musikstadt Leipzig wohl erst 2021 wieder einziehen, wenn die wöchentlichen Motetten und das Bachfest zurückgekehrt sind. Und wenn nach zehnjähriger Pause ein ganz besonderes Klassik-Ereignis stattfinden soll: das Mahlerfestival, bei dem neun der besten Orchester aus aller Welt in zwei Wochen alle Sinfonien Mahlers spielen. Ein Jahr später, 2022, soll darauf sogar ein noch pompöseres Festival für einen Leipziger Komponisten folgen. Binnen drei Wochen werden dann sämtliche Opern des in Leipzig geborenen Richard Wagner in chronologischer Folge aufgeführt.

Die Musikstadt Leipzig kann mit Blick auf diese bevorstehenden Höhepunkte nur hoffen, dass diese dann nicht mehr von der Corona-Pandemie beeinträchtigt sein werden. Und Bonn kann sich damit trösten, dass das nächste große Beethoven-Jubiläum zum zweihundertsten Todestag des Komponisten schon in sieben Jahren ansteht. Nur meine bachbegeisterten kanadischen Freunde werden wohl untröstlich sein.

Top