Photo: Deutsches Literaturarchiv Marbach Photo: Deutsches Literaturarchiv Marbach

The annual Helen and Kurt Wolff Translator's Prize is awarded each spring to honor an outstanding literary translation from German into English published in the USA the previous year. The translator of the winning translation will receive US $10,000. The prize was established in 1996 and was administered by the Goethe-Institut Chicago until 2014. Funded by the German government, the Prize has been administered by the Goethe-Institut New York since 2015.

Prize Recipient 2020

Philip Boehm was chosen to receive the Helen and Kurt Wolff Translator's Prize by a jury of five for his translation of Christine Wunnicke’s novel The Fox and Dr. Shimamura, published by New Directions Publishing in 2019.

Jury Statement

The jury for the Helen and Kurt Wolff Translator’s Prize is delighted to award the prize for 2020 to Philip Boehm for his translation of Christine Wunnicke’s The Fox and Dr. Shimamura. Wunnicke is a contemporary writer known for her historical characters drawn from eccentric corners of real life. Her sly novel is both subtle and startling: a retired Japanese psychiatrist, helped (or perhaps tricked) by the four women in his household, is remembering (or perhaps misremembering) his younger days when he struggled to master cases of both Japanese spirit-possession and Parisian hysteria under Charcot. Through all the surprising turns of the story, Wunnicke conveys Dr. Shimamura’s strange outer and inner life without exoticizing or overidentifying, in an ironic yet compassionate authorial voice. Boehm’s sensitive and versatile translation, making admirable choices of both tone and vocabulary throughout, captures all the sparkle and slanting energy of this fresh, original, and very modern novel.

The jury is especially pleased to honor Boehm as a translator this year since his superb retranslation of Arthur Koestler’s gripping masterpiece Darkness At Noon was a strong contender for the prize as well. Boehm has given English-language readers the many kinds of beauty, terror, and quiet flashes of wit and insight in these extraordinary works of literature.
 

About philip boehm

Philip Boehm © Traci Lavois Thiebaud Philip Boehm is a translator, playwright, and theater director whose career zigzags across languages and borders, artistic disciplines and cultural divides. He has translated more than thirty novels and plays mostly by German and Polish writers, including Herta Müller, Ingeborg Bachmann, and Hanna Krall. For this work he has received numerous awards including fellowships from the NEA and the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation. As a theater director and playwright he has staged dozens of professional productions at theaters in Poland, Slovakia, and the United States. Philip Boehm is also the founding artistic director of Upstream Theater in St. Louis.
 

The Jury

Shelley Frisch, Princeton, NJ, Chair
Bettina Abarbanell, Potsdam, Germany
John Hargraves, New York, NY
Susan Harris, Chicago, IL
Damion Searls, New York, NY

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Philip Boehm
Preisträger 2020

Mit dem Helen & Kurt Wolff Übersetzerpreis wird jedes Jahr im Juni eine herausragende Literaturübersetzung vom Deutschen ins Englische ausgezeichnet, die im vorangegangenen Jahr in den USA veröffentlicht wurde. Der Preisträger erhält eine mit $10.000 dotierte Auszeichnung. Der Preis wurde erstmalig 1996 vom Goethe-Institut Chicago ausgelobt und dort bis 2014 verliehen. Der von der deutschen Regierung finanzierte Preis wird seit 2015 vom Goethe-Institut New York verliehen.

Preisträger 2020

Philip Boehm wurde von einer fünfköpfigen Jury für seine Übersetzung von Christine Wunnickes Roman Der Fuchs und Dr. Shimamura für den Helen & Kurt Wolff Übersetzerpreis auserwählt. The Fox and Dr. Shimamura wurde von New Directions Publishing im Jahr 2019 herausgegeben.

Jurybegründung

Die Jury des Helen & Kurt Wolff Übersetzerpreises freut sich, den Preis des Jahres 2020 an Philip Boehm für seine Übersetzung von Christine Wunnickes Der Fuchs und Dr. Shimamura vergeben zu können. Wunnicke ist als zeitgenössische Schriftstellerin bekannt für ihre historischen Figuren, die sich an den exzentrischen Aspekten des Lebens inspirieren. Ihr raffinierter Roman ist sowohl subtil als auch verblüffend: Ein pensionierter japanischer Psychiater erinnert sich (vielleicht auf verzerrte Art und Weise) Dank der Hilfe (oder vielleicht aufgrund der Hinterlist) der vier Frauen in seinem Haushalt an seine Jugend, als er versuchte sowohl Fälle japanischer Besessenheit als auch der Pariser Hysterie unter Charcot zu meistern. Wunnicke vermittelt Dr. Shimamuras seltsames äußeres und inneres Leben im Laufe der überraschenden Wendungen der Geschichte - ohne Exotisierung oder Überidentifikation - mit einer ironischen, aber doch teilnahmsvollen Autorenstimme. Boehms einfühlsame und facettenreiche Übersetzung steckt voller bewundernswerter Entscheidungen in der Ton- und Wortwahl und ist in der Lage, den Glanz und die schräge Energie dieses frischen, originellen und sehr modernen Romans einzufangen.

Die Jury ist besonders erfreut darüber, Boehm dieses Jahr den Preis verleihen zu können, da seine ausgezeichnete Übersetzung von Arthur Koestlers packendem Meisterwerk Sonnenfinsternis ebenfalls ein Titelanwärter war. Englischsprachige Leser*innen verdanken es Boehm, Einblicke in die Schönheit, das Grauen und die subtile Scharfsinnigkeit dieser außergewöhnlichen literarischen Werke erhalten zu können.
 

über philip boehm

Philip Boehm © Traci Lavois Thiebaud Philip Boehm ist ein Übersetzer, Dramatiker und Theaterregisseur, dessen Karriere sich im Zickzack über Sprachen, Grenzen, künstlerische Disziplinen und Kulturunterschiede bewegt. Er übersetzte über dreißig Romane und Theaterstücke, in erster Linie aus deutscher und polnischer Feder, mitunter auch von Herta Müller, Ingeborg Bachmann, und Hanna Krall. Für seine Arbeit erhielt er zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, darunter auch Fellowships des National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) und der Guggenheim Stiftung. Als Theaterdirektor und Dramatiker brachte er dutzende professionelle Inszenierungen auf die Bühnen von Theatern in Polen, der Slowakei und den USA. Philip Boehm ist auch gründender künstlerischer Leiter des Upstream Theaters in St. Louis.
 

Die Jury

Shelley Frisch, Princeton, NJ, Vorsitzende der Jury
Bettina Abarbanell, Potsdam, Germany
John Hargraves, New York, NY
Susan Harris, Chicago, IL
Damion Searls, New York, NY
Top