Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Boston
Boston Common

Boston Common
© Natalie Wichmann

Boston Common has heard lots of stories and influenced many lives in the course of its more than 380-year history. The oldest park in North America, it attracts hundreds of thousands of visitors each year – from Boston, from the US and from around the world. It has given a stage to such famous people as General Washington and Martin Luther King Jr. American history has been written here.

1634    

“Six shillings? For a piece of land that won’t even belong to us at the end, but to all the people of the city? What do we get out of it? All we’ll have is the expense! For six shillings we could at last buy new boots for the children. And food for the winter. Six shillings is a lot of money for something that doesn’t give us anything in return. The only person who really benefits here is Blaxton. And simply because he was here first? That doesn’t seem particularly fair to me.”

“Anne,” says Isaiha, vigorously stroking his long reddish-brown beard, “that simply isn’t true. We can take our cows to graze there, together with all the others. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if we could save ourselves the long journey to the meadows outside the city? If we could spend more time with the children? More time together?” For the past hour, he has been talking to Anne about buying William Blaxton’s land at the edge of Beacon Hill. Yes, it is true that six shillings was a lot of money and that they would soon need to stock up on provisions for the winter, and buy new boots too, but he liked the idea of creating a park right in the center of the city. For the cows – but not only for them. Who knows what all the free space might be used for in future. He liked the idea of being part of a big whole. Of setting up a small piece of land, 50 acres to be precise, that they would manage themselves and that nobody could ever again dispute was theirs.

Anne was not particularly enthusiastic as yet, however. That would change, as there was no alternative in any case. At the city assembly today they had already passed the decision that the land would be bought jointly and named the Boston Common – a common because it would be for all of the city’s residents.
Boston Common © Natalie Wichmann

1768 

Horse racing was the only thing that he had really liked about the New World so far. Of course, the countryside was unique and he admired the lives led by the first settlers, but he did not like his role in this country one little bit. Together with 4,000 men, he htraveledled across the Atlantic Ocean in the hope of discovering this new world and helping to make it a bit better, a bit more livable. He wanted to help bring peace and order, not to incite fear and terror. They called them the Redcoats, and they did not allow them into the community, into their homes, into their lives. So they were forced to camp out on the only available land in the city, on Boston Common. They erected their tents right in the heart of the city but remained outsiders nonetheless – detested as the representatives of the country’s tyrannical rulers who had not shown their faces in ages.

But when he was sitting on the horse assigned to their company and felt the wind in his face – the proximity to the sea ensured plenty of strong wind – he felt free. Almost as if he were part of something new and whole. He had finally won a little money at one of these races and one evening treated himself to a pint in one of the pubs that were gradually opening up. That is where he met Elizabeth. She was serving behind the bar and was the only person to give him a friendly smile. He knew that it was not a good idea, but he could not fight the superhuman attraction that she had for him.

“Richard Bartholomew Ames, 14th Regiment.”

Initially they had met only in secret; her family owned a small apartment on Beacon Hill. He would steal out of the camp at night and they would meet on Charles Street. But then they wanted more, however. More light, more time, more life. So they decided to leave the city. To get away from Boston, perhaps head for Salem or further inland. They planned to meet on the bridge to Charlestown at midnight. He left the camp without his red uniform, without his bayonet, without anything. But they caught him almost the moment he set off.

He was cold. Although the days were still pleasantly warm, the fall could already be felt in the early hours of the morning. The light was soft and already reached the tops of the trees. The ground was churned up from marching exercises and tent poles. He had always liked Boston Common. The green space itself, but also what it stood for: solidarity of the local people. He would have liked to become part of this community. He just hoped she was not watching from the window.   

“Charged with deserting his unit and condemned to death by firing squad.”

 

The entire regime had been forced to attend. An example was to be made. He turned his eyes toward the sky, there was an ear-splitting bang and then silence. Richard Bartholomew Ames was dead before his body hit the ground.

 

1896    

“Coming! Coming!” After months of digging they were now finally moving on to putting together the steel structure. There was now a huge hole where the Tremont Street side of Boston Common had once been. Many local people were angry that their beautiful park was to be destroyed in this way. But in the end a joint decision had been taken in favor of progress. And anyway, the park would be recreated afterwards – on top of North America’s very first subway. How that sounded: North America’s first subway. Harry was proud not only to be a resident of this city that had accomplished such an incredible feat of engineering, but also of the fact that he had played a part in it with his own hands. Hands that had been black with dirt the entire time for the past nearly two years. But nothing could dampen his good mood on this sunny day in September. They were so close now – perhaps one more year of hard work and the people of Boston would finally be able to take their first trip on the subway. Absent-mindedly, Harry wiped the sweat out of his eyes and pushed his hat further down into his neck. It was going to be a hot one – not a hint of autumn as yet.

They were back again yesterday. The fine ladies with their wide-brimmed hats. Harry had particularly liked the one with the black feather. They are definitely not happy about the construction of the subway. Together with Mayor Quincy they walked up and down the construction site, pointing at the excavated ground and the churned-up earth around the hole. From the scraps of conservation that Harry could glean, he concluded that they were representatives of the newly-founded Boston Common Society. They were committed to the preservation and improvement of Boston Common. Actually a good cause – they simply need to wait a little while longer. And then the subway will also result in fewer people coming through the park with their carts. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if there were only pedestrians then walking along the park’s newly-laid paths? Perhaps he himself could even take a stroll here one Sunday after church? Yes, this would make all the hard work worthwhile.

“Watch out, Harry!” One of the steel girders swings past his shoulder, missing him by just a hair’s breadth. Construction sites are definitely not a good place for daydreaming.
Boston Common © Natalie Wichmann

1969    

“Meeting at 1.00 pm at Cambridge Common, Mass Ave entrance” announces the yellow flyer. For days nobody has been talking about anything but the march from Cambridge Common to Boston Common in protest against the Vietnam War. Karen was in her first semester at Harvard and had spent the past weeks and months listening to lectures on Camus, Voltaire and all the great philosophers. How could she not then take part in a protest that stood for peace and freedom? Her father would understand one day. Yesterday they had argued yet again. She had made the mistake of telling him that she would be joining the demonstration. He simply had not understood why. In his eyes, she was being disloyal to her country. They were simply too different.

Susan picked her up from her dorm shortly before one, and together with over 15,000 others they made their way to Cambridge Common. The sheer numbers of people crowded there gave her goosebumps – so many had come to protest against American soldiers remaining in Vietnam.

The march was led by a group of Vietnam veterans, arms interlinked. After over ten years the war had already caused thousands of fatalities and casualties. To the tune of “Exodus” played by the Harvard University Band, students, professors, Cambridge residents and many more marched down Massachusetts Avenue, known for short as Mass Ave, toward Boston Common. As they crossed Harvard Bridge Karen first began to feel uneasy. Helicopters circled right above their heads, while armed police stood along the roadside. Defiantly she raised both of her arms, her hands forming the peace symbol. Many others did the same, and there was no outbreak of violence. As yet.

At the intersection of Mass Ave and Commonwealth (Ave) they met Julia from Northeastern University, Bobby and Charles from MIT, and a few others they knew from Boston University. The crowds that were now thronging down Commonwealth kept growing and growing. Many of the houses along the route had put protest posters in their windows, and they heard shouts of encouragement from some windows. It seemed that not only the marchers wanted to join in the protest.

But absolutely nothing could have prepared Karen for what met her eyes when she reached her beloved Boston Common that cold October afternoon. There were people simply everywhere. It seemed to take forever before they finally managed to force their way through the huge black iron gates. The first speeches had been scheduled for 3.30 pm, and they had only just made it in time. The crowds around them were buzzing with animated chatter, some people had climbed up onto streetlamps and monuments to get a better view, someone was playing the guitar and a small propeller airplane was drawing a gigantic peace sign in the brilliant blue sky. Karen had the unique sensation of being a part of something important, something big.

When Senator George McGovern finally stepped onto the makeshift podium, Karen asked Bobby if she could get on his shoulders so as to see better. And there she sat, her long dark hair pushed out of her face, when McGovern pronounced to the loudly cheering crowds: “Perhaps out of the blood-soaked jungles of Southeast Asia will come the humility and the national wisdom that will lead us into the light of a new day”. Yes, Karen was in the right place at the right time. And there could have been no more appropriate place than Boston Common to come together and to send a message to the rest of America that there were still people who believed in peace and freedom and who were prepared to stand up together and fight for these values.
Boston Common © Natalie Wichmann

2017    

Frog Pond is at the heart of Boston Common. Of the three ponds that had originally been created in the park, it is the last that remains. And actually it is not a real pond any more, but a basin, an artificially designed reservoir. And nonetheless it is one of the most beautiful places – almost magical in the winter when the lights in the trees are on and the surface of the water has turned into a glittering sheet of ice. His grandfather must have already told him the story of how he met his grandmother here on a cold December day a hundred times. Hunter isn’t sure why he suddenly remembers that – he is a little nervous. His very first date with Emily. He still cannot believe that she said yes. She is the most popular girl in seventh grade.

Hunter enters the park from Tremont Street. He came on the subway from Brookline. The first snow has settled on the trees and lawns, and his breath turns into steam as he trudges towards the pond. He has to be home by eight at the latest – an exception because it is his first date and tomorrow is Saturday. They arranged to meet at 5 pm in front of the café, and he will have to hurry a little if he wants to be on time.

“Put on your gloves, and don’t forget, I’ll be picking you up here at 7 pm on the dot.” “Yes, Mom!” Emily rolls her eyes. She opens the door and leaps from her mother’s black SUV. Because she is now a teenager she is allowed to sit up front today. Her little sister Kayla is sitting in the backseat and making kissing sounds. Annoyed and excited at the same time, she pulls her white bobble hat over her red curls and hurries down the steps towards Frog Pond. Her ice skates, the color of ballet shoes and tied together by their laces, bounce over her right shoulder.

Okay, he shouldn’t have told her he could skate. Or that he had been his hockey team captain in Vancouver. It simply slipped out because he was so keen to impress her. It is always tough to be the new kid; ever since he was little his family had moved from one place to the next, and he hated always being the new kid. Only recently had they returned to Boston, where he was born and his grandparents live. Hunter was certain that she would have said no if he had not impressed her with something special. So now here he was, with his father’s ice skates – not exactly the newest – and waiting for the ice princess of King Charles Middle School.

Emily spots him immediately: a red sweater, dark-blue padded jacket and his cap at a bit of an angle on his head. Right from the start, it was this slightly lost expression on his face that had captured her heart. And it had taken her and Alexis weeks to work out a battle plan to get him to finally ask her out on a date. “Hi”, Hunter greets her with a shy smile. “Hi”, Emily beams back. After just 20 seconds on the ice it is obvious that he has never skated before in his life. “Okay, actually I can’t skate.” Hunter shrugs his shoulders, not sure quite what will happen next. “You don’t say”, laughs Emily. ”No problem, I’ll teach you.” In less than an hour he has more or less got the hang of it, and they glide together across the shiny surface. When the Zamboni finally comes to resurface the ice, he hesitantly reaches for her hand. “Do you want a hot dog?”, he asks, blushing slightly. “Sure.” Together they skate over to Frog Pond Cafe with its mint-colored metal roof reflecting the many lights hung up around the park.

Today the park is enjoyed above all for its leisure activities: ice skating on Frog Pond, lunch on one of its many benches, baseball, jogging, yoga, or simply a snowball fight with the whole family.


Boston Common has heard lots of stories and influenced many lives in the course of its more than 380-year history. The oldest park in North America, it attracts hundreds of thousands of visitors each year – from Boston, from the US and from around the world. It has given a stage to such famous people as General Washington and Martin Luther King Jr. American history has been written here. People from Boston came here from its earliest beginnings – to protest, to celebrate, and simply to be together. Today the park is enjoyed above all for its leisure activities: ice skating on Frog Pond, lunch on one of its many benches, baseball, jogging, yoga, or simply a snowball fight with the whole family. Boston Common is there for everyone.
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Boston
Boston Common

Boston Common
© Natalie Wichmann

In seinen über 380 Jahren hat der Boston Common viele Geschichten gehört und Leben beeinflusst. Er ist der älteste Park Nordamerikas und zieht jährlich Hunderttausende Besucher an – aus Boston, den USA und der ganzen Welt. Er bot Berühmtheiten von General Washington bis Martin Luther King Jr. eine Bühne. Hier wurde amerikanische Geschichte geschrieben. 

1634    

„Sechs Schilling? Einfach so, für ein Grundstück, das dann am Ende nicht uns gehört, sondern allen Bürgern der Stadt? Was haben wir davon? Außer die Ausgaben? Für sechs Schilling könnten wir endlich neue Stiefel für die Kinder kaufen. Und Lebensmittel für den Winter. Sechs Schilling, dass ist viel Geld dafür, das wir nichts herausbekommen. Der Einzige, der hier wirklich was herausbekommt, ist Blaxton. Nur weil er als Erster vor Ort war? Das erscheint mir nicht besonders fair.“

„Anne“, Isaiha streicht sich energisch den rotbraunen, langen Bart glatt, „so stimmt das doch nicht. Wir dürfen gemeinsam mit allen anderen unsere Kühe dort zum Grasen bringen. Wäre es nicht wunderbar, wir könnten uns den langen Weg zu den Wiesen außerhalb der Stadt sparen? Wir könnten mehr Zeit mit den Kindern verbringen? Mehr Zeit gemeinsam?“ Seit einer Stunde schon diskutiert er nun mit Anne über den Ankauf des William-Blaxton-Geländes am Rande des Beacon Hill. Ja, es stimmt, sechs Schilling waren viel Geld, und sie würden bald Lebensmittel für den Winter aufstocken müssen, und neue Stiefel wären auch an der Reihe, aber ihm gefiel die Idee, einen Park anzulegen, mitten in der Stadt. Für die Kühe, aber eben nicht nur. Wer weiß, wofür die freie Fläche in Zukunft alles genutzt werden könnte. Ihm gefiel die Idee, Teil eines Ganzen zu sein. Eine kleine Fläche, genauer 50 Acres, zu schaffen, die sie eigenständig verwalten und die ihnen niemand mehr streitig machen konnte.

Anne war jedoch noch nicht so richtig begeistert. Das würde sich noch ändern, es gab ohnehin keine Alternative. Heute in der Stadtversammlung hatten sie die Entscheidung bereits verabschiedet, man würde gemeinsam die Grünfläche kaufen und sie den „Boston Common“ nennen, common wie in gemeinsam oder gemeinschaftlich, eben für alle Einwohner der Stadt.
Boston Common © Natalie Wichmann

1768 

Die Pferderennen waren das Einzige, das ihm in der neuen Welt bisher wirklich gefallen hatte. Natürlich war die Landschaft einzigartig, und er bewunderte die Lebensweise der ersten Siedler, aber seine Rolle in diesem Land gefiel ihm ganz und gar nicht. Gemeinsam mit 4.000 Mann war er über den Atlantischen Ozean gefahren in der Hoffnung, diese neue Welt zu entdecken und dabei zu helfen, sie ein bisschen besser, lebenswerter zu machen. Er wollte helfen, Ruhe und Ordnung zu bringen, und nicht Angst und Schrecken säen. Sie nannten sie die Rotröcke. Sie ließen sie nicht in ihre Gemeinschaft, in ihre Häuser, in ihre Leben. Deshalb sahen sie sich gezwungen, auf der einzigen freien Fläche in der Stadt, dem Boston Common, zu campieren. Sie schlugen ihre Zelte auf mitten im Herzen der Stadt und trotzdem blieben sie Außenseiter, verhasst als Boten der Zwangsherrschaft eines Landes, dessen Herrscher sich lange nicht hatten blicken lassen.

Wenn er aber auf dem Rappen, der ihrer Kompanie zugeteilt war, saß und den Wind – die Nähe zum Meer sorgte für viel starken Wind – im Gesicht spürte, dann fühlte er sich frei. Fast als Teil eines neuen Ganzen. Bei einem dieser Rennen hatte er schließlich ein wenig Geld gewonnen und sich eines Abends ein Pint in einem der Pubs, die nach und nach aufmachten, gegönnt. Dort war er Elizabeth begegnet. Sie bediente hinter der Bar und war die Einzige, die ihn freundlich anlächelte. Er wusste, dass es keine gute Idee war und doch hatte er dem übermenschlichen Sog, den sie auf ihn ausübte, nichts entgegenzusetzen gehabt.

„Richard Bartholomew Ames, 14. Regiment.“

Zuerst hatten sie sich nur heimlich getroffen, ihre Familie besaß eine kleine Wohnung auf dem Beacon Hill. Er stahl sich nachts aus dem Camp, und sie trafen sich an der Charles Street. Dann wollten sie jedoch mehr. Mehr Licht, mehr Zeit, mehr Leben. Also beschlossen sie gemeinsam, die Stadt zu verlassen. Fort aus Boston, Richtung Salem vielleicht oder weiter ins Landesinnere. Sie wollten sich an der Brücke zu Charlestown treffen, um Mitternacht. Er verließ das Camp ohne seine rote Uniform, ohne sein Bajonett, ohne alles. Doch bereits auf den ersten Metern fassten sie ihn.

Ihm war kalt. Auch wenn die Tage noch angenehm warm waren, so hatte der Herbst bereits Einzug in die frühen Morgenstunden gehalten. Das Licht war weich und erreichte bereits die Wipfel der Bäume. Der Boden war aufgewühlt von Marschierübungen und Zeltstangen. Er hatte den Boston Common immer gemocht. Die Grünfläche, aber auch das, wofür er stand: den Zusammenhalt der Bürger. Er wäre gerne ein Teil dieser Gemeinschaft geworden. Er hoffte nur, dass sie nicht aus dem Fenster sah.   

„Angeklagt der Desertation seiner Einheit und zum Tod durch Erschießen verurteilt.“
 

Das gesamte Regiment hatte antreten müssen. Ein Exempel sollte statuiert werden. Er richtete den Blick gegen Himmel, ein ohrenbetäubender Knall und dann Stille. Richard Bartholomew Ames war tot, bevor sein Körper den Boden berührte.

 

1896    

„Zugleich! Zugleich!“ Nach monatelangem Graben waren sie nun endlich dazu übergegangen, das Stahlgerüst zusammenzusetzen. Ein riesiges Loch klaffte da, wo einst die Tremont-Street-Seite des Boston Common gewesen war. Viele Bürger waren aufgebracht, dass ihr schöner Park so verunstaltet werden sollte. Doch dann hatte man sich gemeinsam für den Fortschritt entschieden. Und der Park würde ja wieder neu angelegt, nur dann eben über der ersten U-Bahn Nordamerikas. Wie sich das anhörte: die erste U-Bahn von Nordamerika. Harry war stolz darauf, nicht nur Bewohner der Stadt zu sein, die dieses Wunderwerk der Technik vollbrachte, sondern auch darauf, dass er mit seinen eigenen Händen einen Teil dazu beigetragen hatte. Hände, die seit fast zwei Jahren durchgängig schwarz vor Dreck gewesen waren. Und trotzdem ließ sich seine gute Laune an diesem sonnigen Tag im September nicht trüben. Sie waren so nah dran, vielleicht noch ein Jahr harte Arbeit, und die Bewohner von Boston könnten endlich ihre erste Fahrt mit der unterirdischen Bahn unternehmen. Harry wischte sich geistesabwesend den Schweiß aus den Augen und schob dabei seinen Hut tiefer in den Nacken. Es würde heiß werden, von Herbst noch keine Spur.

Gestern waren sie wieder da. Die feinen Damen mit den breitkrempigen Hüten. Vor allem der mit der schwarzen Feder hatte Harry gefallen. Sie sind definitiv nicht begeistert vom Bau der U-Bahn. Gemeinsam mit Bürgermeister Quincy sind sie die Baustelle abgelaufen und haben auf den aufgerissenen Boden und die aufgewühlte Erde rund um das Loch gezeigt. Aus den Fetzen der Unterhaltung, die er aufgeschnappt hatte, schloss Harry, dass es sich hier um Vertreterinnen der neu gegründeten Boston Common Society handelte. Sie haben sich dem Erhalt und der Verschönerung des Boston Common verschrieben. Eigentlich eine gute Sache, sie müssen einfach nur noch eine Weile warten. Und dann wird die U-Bahn ja auch dazu führen, dass weniger Leute mit ihren Karren durch den Park fahren. Wäre das nicht wunderbar, nur noch Fußgänger auf den neu angelegten Wegen des Parks? Vielleicht könnte er dann sogar selbst einmal hier an einem Sonntag nach der Kirche flanieren? Ja, dafür lohnte sich die schwere Arbeit.

„Harry, Achtung!“ Einer der Stahlträger schwingt um Haaresbreite an seiner Schulter vorbei. Baustellen sind definitiv kein guter Ort für Tagträumereien.
Boston Common © Natalie Wichmann

1969    

„Treffen um 13.00 Uhr am Cambridge Common, Mass Ave Eingang“, verkündet der gelbe Flyer. Seit Tagen redete niemand mehr über irgendetwas anderes als den Marsch vom Cambridge Common zum Boston Common im Protest gegen den Vietnamkrieg. Karen war in ihrem ersten Semester in Harvard und hatte die letzten Wochen und Monate über Camus, Voltaire und all die großen Philosophen gehört. Wie konnte sie da nicht an einem Protest teilnehmen, der für Frieden und Freiheit stand? Ihr Vater würde das irgendwann verstehen. Sie hatten sich erneut gestritten, gestern. Sie hatte den Fehler begangen, ihm zu erzählen, dass sie an der Demonstration teilnehmen würde. Er hatte einfach nicht verstanden, warum. Für ihn war sie eine Landesverräterin. Sie waren einfach zu verschieden.

Susan holte sie um kurz vor eins aus ihrem Wohnheim ab und gemeinsam erreichten sie mit über 15.000 anderen den Cambridge Common. Die schiere Menschenmasse verursachte ihr Gänsehaut. So viele waren gekommen, um gegen den Verbleib der amerikanischen Soldaten in Vietnam zu protestieren.

Angeführt wurde der Lauf von einer Gruppe Vietnam-Veteranen, die Arme miteinander verschränkt, nach über zehn Jahren hatte der Krieg bereits Tausende Tode und Verletzte verursacht. Zur Melodie von „Exodus“, gespielt von der Harvard University Band, marschierten Studenten, Professoren, Einwohner von Cambridge und viele mehr die Massaschussets Avenue, auch Mass Ave genannt, Richtung Boston Common. Beim Überqueren der Harvard Bridge fühlte Karen sich das erste Mal nicht ganz wohl. Dicht über ihren Köpfen kreisten Polizeihubschrauber, und auch an den Straßenrändern standen bewaffnete Patrouillen. Trotzig warf sie beide Arme in die Höhe, die Hände zum Peace-Zeichen geformt. Viele andere taten es ihr gleich, Gewaltausbrüche gab es keine. Bisher.

An der Kreuzung von Mass Ave und Commenwealth Ave trafen sie auf Julia von der Northeastern University, Bobby und Charles vom MIT und auch einige andere Bekannte von der Boston University. Die Menschenmenge, die sich nun die Commonwealth hinunterschob, schwoll immer mehr und mehr an. Viele der Häuser entlang der Straße hatten Protestplakate in ihren Fenstern aufgestellt, und aus einigen Fenstern hörten sie Anfeuerungsrufe. Nicht nur die Marschierenden, wie es schien, wollten am Protest teilnehmen.

Nichts, absolut gar nichts jedoch hatte Karen auf den Anblick ihres geliebten Boston Common an diesem kalten Oktobernachmittag vorbereiten können. Menschen über Menschen über Menschen. Es dauerte eine kleine Ewigkeit, bis sie sich endlich durch die massiven, schwarzen Eisentore gedrängt hatten. Die ersten Reden waren für halb vier angekündigt, sie hatten es gerade noch so geschafft. Um sie herum summte ein gewaltiges Meer an Stimmen, Menschen waren auf Laternen und Monumente geklettert, um besser sehen zu können, jemand spielte Gitarre, und eine kleine Propellermaschine flog ein gigantisches Peacezeichen in den strahlend blauen Himmel. Karen hatte das einmalige Gefühl, Teil von etwas Wichtigem, etwas Großem zu sein.

Als Senator George McGovern schließlich das provisorische Podium betrat, bat Karen Bobby, sie auf die Schultern zu nehmen, damit sie besser sehen konnte. Und dort saß sie, die dunklen langen Haare aus dem Gesicht geschoben, als McGovern unter lautem Jubel der Masse verkündete: „Vielleicht kommt aus den blutüberströmten Dschungeln Südostasiens endlich die Demut und die Weisheit, die uns ins Licht eines neuen Tages führen wird.“ (“Perhaps out of the blood-soaked jungles of Southeast Asia will come the humility and the national wisdom that will lead us into the light of a new day.”) Ja, Karen war zur richtigen Zeit am richtigen Ort. Und kein anderer Ort als der Boston Common wäre geeigneter gewesen, um zusammenzukommen und die Nachricht an das restliche Amerika zu schicken, dass es noch Menschen gab, die an Frieden und Freiheit glaubten und bereit waren, für diese Werte gemeinsam einzustehen.
Boston Common © Natalie Wichmann

2017    

Der Frog Pond liegt im Herzen des Boston Common. Von den drei ursprünglich im Park angelegten Teichen ist er der letzte, der übrig geblieben ist. Und eigentlich ist er auch kein richtiger Tümpel mehr, sondern ein Bassin, ein künstlich angelegtes Reservoir. Trotzdem ist es einer der schönsten Orte, fast magisch im Winter, wenn die Lichter in den Bäumen an sind und die Wasserfläche sich in glitzerndes Eis verwandelt hat. Bestimmt hundert Mal hatte ihm sein Großvater schon die Geschichte erzählt, wie er seine Großmutter hier an einem kalten Dezembertag kennengelernt hatte. Wieso ihm das jetzt einfällt, weiß Hunter nicht, er ist ein bisschen nervös. Sein allererstes Date mit Emily. Er kann immer noch nicht glauben, dass sie Ja gesagt hat. Niemals hätte er das gedacht. Sie ist das beliebteste Mädchen in der siebten Klasse.

Hunter betritt den Park von der Tremont Street her. Er ist mit der U-Bahn aus Brookline gekommen. Der erste Schnee sammelt sich auf den Grünflächen, und sein Atem verwandelt sich in Nebel, als er Richtung Pond stapft. Um acht muss er spätestens wieder zu Hause sein, eine Ausnahme, weil es sein erstes Date ist und morgen Samstag. Sie wollen sich vor dem Cafe treffen, um 17 Uhr, er muss sich ein bisschen beeilen, wenn er es noch pünktlich schaffen will.

„Zieh die Handschuhe an und vergiss nicht, um Punkt 19 Uhr hole ich dich hier wieder ab.“ „Ja, Mama!“ Emily rollt mit den Augen. Sie öffnet die Tür und springt aus dem schwarzen SUV ihrer Mutter. Weil sie jetzt ein Teenager ist, durfte sie heute vorne sitzen. Auf dem Rücksitz hockt ihre kleine Schwester Kayla und macht Kussgeräusche. Entnervt und aufgeregt zugleich stülpt sie sich die weiße Pudelmütze über die roten Locken und eilt die Treppe hinunter Richtung Frog Pond. Die ballettschuhfarbenen Schlittschuhe, an den Schnürsenkeln zusammengebunden, baumeln über ihrer rechten Schulter.

Okay, er hätte nicht sagen sollen, dass er skaten kann. Oder, dass er in Vancouver Captain seines Hockey-Teams war. Er wollte sie unbedingt beeindrucken, da ist es ihm einfach so herrausgerutscht. Der Neue zu sein, ist immer schwer. Seitdem er klein ist, sind sie von einem Ort zum nächsten gezogen, und er hasste es, immer wieder der Neue zu sein. Erst vor kurzem waren sie nach Boston, wo er geboren ist und seine Großeltern leben, zurückgekehrt. Hunter war sich sicher, wenn er sie nicht mit etwas Besonderem beeindruckt hätte, dann hätte sie sicherlich Nein gesagt. Nun, hier war er also, mit den Schlittschuhen seines Vaters, nicht gerade die neuesten, und wartete auf die Eisprinzessin der King Charles Middle School.
 

Heute ist der Park vor allem beliebt für seine Freizeitaktivitäten. Eislaufen auf dem Frog Pond, Lunch auf einer der vielen Bänke, Baseball, Joggen, Yoga oder einfach eine Schneeballschlacht mit der ganzen Familie. Der Boston Common ist für alle da.


Emily sieht ihn sofort: roter Pulli, dunkelblaue Daunenweste und die Mütze etwas schief auf dem Kopf. Dieser leicht verlorene Gesichtsausdruck hatte sie von Anfang an für ihn schwärmen lassen. Und es hatte sie und Alexis Wochen gekostet, einen Schlachtplan zu entwerfen, damit er sie endlich um ein Date bat. „Hi“, schüchternes Lächeln (Hunter). „Hi“, strahlendes Lächeln (Emily). Schon nach den ersten 20 Sekunden auf dem Eis ist ihr klar, dass er noch nie in seinem Leben geskatet ist. „Okay, ich kann eigentlich nicht skaten.“ Hunter zuckt etwas ratlos, was als Nächstes passieren würde, mit den Schultern. „Was du nicht sagst.“ Emily lacht. „Kein Problem, komm, ich bring's dir bei.“ Nach nur einer knappen Stunde hat er den Dreh halbwegs raus, und sie gleiten gemeinsam über die glänzende Fläche. Als die Zamboni schließlich rausgefahren wird, nimmt er vorsichtig ihre Hand. „Willst du einen Hotdog?“, er läuft ein bisschen rot an. „Gerne.“ Gemeinsam fahren sie auf das Frog Pond Cafe zu, dessen mintfarbenes Metalldach im Glanz der vielen Lichterketten des Parks erstrahlt.

In seinen über 380 Jahren hat der Boston Common viele Geschichten gehört und Leben beeinflusst. Er ist der älteste Park Nordamerikas und zieht jährlich Hunderttausende Besucher an – aus Boston, den USA und der ganzen Welt. Er bot Berühmtheiten von General Washington bis Martin Luther King Jr. eine Bühne. Hier wurde US-amerikanische Geschichte geschrieben. Die Menschen aus Boston kamen hier bereits seit seinen Anfängen zusammen, um zu protestieren, zu feiern, einfach, um zusammen zu sein. Heute ist der Park vor allem beliebt für seine Freizeitaktivitäten. Eislaufen auf dem Frog Pond, Lunch auf einer der vielen Bänke, Baseball, Joggen, Yoga oder einfach eine Schneeballschlacht mit der ganzen Familie. Der Boston Common ist für alle da.
 

Top