Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Detroit
Belle Isle

Detroit Skyline
© Frithjof Vogelsang

What do an abandoned house, Friedrich Schiller, a car’s electronic ignition system, and the national border between the USA and Canada have in common? The answer is Belle Isle Park in Detroit. The park is to be found on an island in Detroit River, directly on the border with Canada. At the island’s westernmost point, the view extends from Detroit’s skyline and across Ambassador Bridge to the Canadian side of the river.

Designed in 1880 for local residents as an urban oasis for recreation and leisure, the island park features established fauna and flora combined with architecturally varied buildings, fountains, lagoons, and green spaces. Belle Isle Park is home to an old aquarium, a conservatory, a zoo, a yacht club, and a museum. What is more, German immigrants living in Detroit erected a statue of Friedrich Schiller in the park in 1900 to pay tribute to his influential work. At this time, first- or second-generation German immigrants made up over 45% of Detroit’s population.
 

The numerous green spaces, buildings and statues are accessible by car thanks to the extensive network of roads that criss-cross the 2.5-mile-long island.

 The numerous green spaces, buildings and statues are accessible by car thanks to the extensive network of roads that criss-cross the 2.5-mile-long island. When a woman’s Cadillac broke down on one of the park’s roads one night in 1908, Byron Carter, a pioneer of Detroit’s automobile industry, happened to be passing and offered to lend his assistance. As the legend goes, he took hold of the crank handle and turned the flywheel, upon which the car jumped forward and broke his jaw. He later died of his injuries, prompting Henry M. Leland, the inventor of the Cadillac, to come up with the idea for an electronic ignition system for cars. This once again revolutionized Detroit’s automobile industry, which at the time of the accident had already been booming. Workers toiled continuously on the city’s production lines until Detroit reached its economic peak in the 1950s. What then ensued is the much-discussed decline and economic demise of Detroit.

The Motor City filed for bankruptcy in 2013, a course of events that did not leave Belle Isle Park unscathed, either. Unavoidable budget cuts forced parts of the oasis into a ruinous state and hopeless dilapidation. Following the bankruptcy, the State of Michigan signed a 30-year leasehold contract that released the city from any substantial costs for the park. Though the park is now run by the state, this does not reduce its importance for the citizens of Detroit.

Belle Isle Park is thus a good example of the energy to be found in Detroit when it comes to community projects that seek new ways to use the available space, or to reshape it through a variety of different approaches.

The Belle Isle Conservancy is a non-profit organization that has set itself the goal of protecting, restoring and preserving the park. With the help of many volunteers, the idea is to preserve “Detroit’s jewel” as a place of recreation – from today and for ever more. Thus organized, thousands of helpers are deploying their resources and talents in the park so as to stabilize it as a public space for Detroit. A mood of new beginnings can be sensed in many parts of the city, which after the long years of depression is giving rise to some promising visions for the city. Belle Isle Park is thus a good example of the energy to be found in Detroit when it comes to community projects that seek new ways to use the available space, or to reshape it through a variety of different approaches.
 

 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Detroit
Belle Isle

Detroit Skyline
© Frithjof Vogelsang

​Was haben ein verlassenes Haus, Friedrich Schiller, die elektronische Startzündung für Autos und die Ländergrenze zwischen den USA und Kanada gemeinsam? Die Antwort lautet: den Belle Isle Park in Detroit. Der Park befindet sich auf einer Insel im Detroit River, direkt an der Grenze zu Kanada. Auf der westlichen Spitze der Insel stehend, führt der Blick von Detroits Skyline über die Ambassador Bridge zur kanadischen Uferseite.

Der Inselpark wurde 1880 für die  Bewohner als eine urbane Oase zur Erholung und Freizeitgestaltung entworfen und kombiniert eine ausgeprägte Pflanzen- und Tierwelt mit architektonisch vielfältigen Gebäuden, Brunnen, Lagunen und Grünflächen. So finden sich im Belle Isle Park ein altes Aquarium, ein Konservatorium, ein Zoo, ein Yacht Club sowie ein Museum. Zudem errichteten im Jahr 1900 in Detroit lebende deutsche Immigranten eine Statue von Friedrich Schiller im Park, um seiner einflussreichen Arbeit zu huldigen. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt waren über 45 Prozent der gesamten Bevölkerung Detroits deutsche Einwanderer aus erster oder zweiter Generation.
 

Die zahlreichen Grünflächen, Gebäude und Statuen lassen sich mit dem Auto erschließen, da sich ein breit angelegtes Straßensystem über die 2,5 Meilen lange Insel ausstreckt.

  Die zahlreichen Grünflächen, Gebäude und Statuen lassen sich mit dem Auto erschließen, da sich ein breit angelegtes Straßensystem über die 2,5 Meilen lange Insel ausstreckt. Als eines Nachts im Jahr 1908 dem Cadillac einer Frau auf jenen Straßen des Parks der Motor versagte, kam zufällig Byron Carter, ein Pionier der Automobilindustrie Detroits vorbei und bot seine Hilfsbereitschaft an. Wie die Legende besagt, griff er zur Handkurbel und drehte das Schwungrad an, das Auto machte einen Satz und brach ihm den Kiefer. Nachdem er seinen Verletzungen erlag, reifte in Henry M. Leland, dem Erfinder des Cadillacs, die Idee zur elektronischen Startzündung für Autos. Diese revolutionierte ein weiteres Mal Detroits Automobilindustrie, welche sich zur Zeit des Unfalls in vollem Aufschwung befand. An den Fließbändern Detroits schufteten die Arbeiter ununterbrochen, bis zum wirtschaftlichen Höhepunkt der Stadt in den 1950er Jahren. Was folgte, ist der häufig thematisierte Verfall und ökonomische Niedergang Detroits.


Die Motor City meldete im Jahr 2013 städtischen Bankrott an, und auch der Belle Isle Park blieb von diesem Verlauf nicht unbeeinträchtigt. Unausweichliche Budgetkürzungen drängten Teile der Oase in Baufälligkeiten und heillosen Verfall. Nach dem Bankrott unterschrieb der Staat Michigan einen 30-jährigen Pachtvertrag, der die Stadt von erheblichen Kosten für den Park befreit. Doch auch wenn der Park jetzt vom Bundesstaat verwaltet wird, verringert dies nicht dessen Bedeutung für die Bewohner Detroits.

Der Belle Isle Park ist also ein gutes Beispiel für die Kraft, die in Detroit steckt, in Gemeinschaftsprojekten den zur Verfügung stehenden Raum neu oder wieder zu nutzen und mit vielfältigen Herangehensweisen umzuformen.

Die Belle Isle Conservancy ist eine Non-Profit-Organisation, die sich Schutz, Restauration und Erhalt des Parks als Ziel gesetzt hat. Unter Mithilfe vieler Freiwilliger soll „Detroits Juwel“ als Erholungsort ab heute und für immer erhalten bleiben. Tausende Helfer setzen somit organisiert ihre Ressourcen und Talente im Park ein, um ihn als öffentlichen Platz für Detroit zu stabilisieren. In großen Teilen der Stadt ist eine Aufbruchsstimmung zu spüren, die nach den langen Jahren der Depression vielversprechende Visionen für die Stadt entstehen lässt. Der Belle Isle Park ist also ein gutes Beispiel für die Kraft, die in Detroit steckt, in Gemeinschaftsprojekten den zur Verfügung stehenden Raum neu oder wieder zu nutzen und mit vielfältigen Herangehensweisen umzuformen.
 
 

Top