Literature in Translation Martin Walser in a Video Interview

In the spring of 2015 Martin Walser’s novel “A Gushing Fountain” (“Ein springender Brunnen”) was published in the United States in translation by David Dollenmayer. In a video interview, the author talks about the collaboration with the translators of his works, the perception of his novels abroad and his dealing with the past and old age.



Martin Walser’s novel Ein springender Brunnen (A Gushing Fountain) was published in 1998 in Germany. In the book Walser describes the childhood and youth of the boy Johann, who is five years old as the story opens. The plot begins in 1932, in the Swabian village of Wasserburg am Bodensee, Walser’s birthplace. The novel describes authentically the circumstance of people living under Nazism and the beginning of the Second World War in the village on Lake Constance.

Critics have taxed Walser for not mentioning the Nazis’ persecution and murder of Jews in his novel. The book stirred up a public debate on the question of playing down Nazi crimes and Walser’s chosen narrative perspective of the unknowing, unincriminated child and adolescent.

Martin Walser im Video-Interview „Ich beurteile einen Übersetzer nach seinen Fragen“

Im Frühjahr 2015 erschien Martin Walsers Roman „Ein springender Brunnen“ in der Übersetzung von David Dollenmayer in den USA. Der Schriftsteller spricht im Video-Interview über die Zusammenarbeit mit den Übersetzern seiner Werke, über die Wahrnehmung seiner Romane im Ausland und über seinen Umgang mit der Vergangenheit und dem Alter.


Transkript: Interview Martin Walser (pdf)

Martin Walsers Roman Ein springender Brunnen wurde 1998 in Deutschland veröffentlicht. Walser schildert darin die Kindheit und Jugend des anfangs fünfjährigen Jungen Johann. Die Handlung setzt 1932 im schwäbischen Dorf Wasserburg am Bodensee, dem Geburtsort Walsers, ein. Der Roman beschreibt authentisch die Lebensumstände zur Zeit des Nationalsozialismus und des beginnenden Zweiten Weltkriegs in dem Bodensee-Dorf.

Kritiker warfen Walser vor, dass er die Verfolgung und Ermordung von Juden durch die Nationalsozialisten in seinem Roman nicht erwähnt. Es entstand eine öffentliche Debatte um die Frage der Verharmlosung nationalsozialistischer Verbrechen und Walsers Erzählperspektive des unwissenden, unbelasteten Kindes und Jugendlichen.