Music and Politics Interview Diedrich Diederichsen

Diedrich Diedrichsen in Conversation with Stuart Comer
Diedrich Diedrichsen in Conversation with Stuart Comer | Photo: Jacobia Dahm

In November 2014, cultural critic Diedrich Diederichsen and curator Stuart Comer (The Museum of Modern Art) spoke about the relationship between pop music and visual arts, aesthetic experience in the cultural industry, and the special role of performance as part of a series of talks and screenings on the connection between art and politics organized by the Goethe-Institut in New York. Now Diedrich Diederichsen speaks with us about pop music's political potential and its powerlessness, which are fundamental issues in his work.

Goethe-Institut: As a cultural institution, we deal very intensely with the connection between art and politics. A number of questions arise in this context such as: Is pop music art? Or is pop music political? Or could it be that the two possibilities are not mutually exclusive?

Diedrich Diederichsen: Pop music falls right in the middle, at least if you look at it from the perspective of performance theory. To a certain extent, pop musicians are identified with roles that are similar to theatrical roles. On the other hand, they are also associated with their personal identities. There is no need for us to be concerned about whether they are authentic in these roles. There is also no way for us to determine that. The decisive factor is that this is the rule of the game. In this sense, statements made by pop musicians are neither speech acts that demand a direct consequence in reality (“To the Bastille!”), nor are they entirely framed by fictional conventions and thus politically defused in the same way that an actor’s cry of “Fire!” does not cause anyone to leave the theater.

Nowadays almost everyone is downloading their music from the Internet. How exactly has the collapse of the material sound media culture changed pop music's function as a “public good”? Aren't digital forms of media putting pop music in the public arena on a greater scale than ever before, just in a different way?

Pop music is distributed on a broader scale, but it is mainly a private matter related to consumption. The disappearance of the material music object also means that a reference point for public trade has disappeared and has been replaced by an invisible stream. While this also evokes images and paratexts, it does not rely on recipients to make and show the connection between private and public listening, unlike the old form of pop music that revolved around recorded media [tapes, records, CDs].

Does more distribution also mean that pop music has greater political potential?

No. This potential was always about starting controversies, orchestrating differences, or even addressing existing differences in an ostentatious way. The potential lies in agonal and confrontational strategies, which also have to do volume and the sound properties of the feedback. This potential tends to diminish whenever these streams of data flow directly into headphones. The situation is reminiscent of what Paul Valéry described in his 1928 essay entitled “The Conquest of Ubiquity,” namely a future utopia or dystopia in which music would come directly out of the power socket. While this would have the advantage that lonely people could be comforted at any time, the disadvantage is that the world would seem unreal and enchanted as people lost touch with reality.

Is pop even music at all or just performance? And what should we think of this trend? If it is just performance, then what can be done to change this? Are there counter-movements within contemporary pop music and what are they like?

I don't necessarily see it as a bad thing or a flaw that pop music isn't music, but instead the interconnection of visual, auditory, social, performative, textile, and other practices and technologies by the recipients. If fact, this is the classic advantage of pop music. Whereas various art forms and representational traditions are linked by combining the dark room, protection, and celluloid strips through technical-material mechanisms in cinema, in pop music the mobile recipient does this by connecting various objects such as pictures in magazines, posters, clothing styles, and sound recordings that are played on the radio, in public, or at home. The performative aspect is just one component, but it is very important. Of course there are always pop artists who would prefer to be seen as true musicians rather than pop stars: at the same time, no one is standing in their way. After all, there is still music – both inside and outside of the pop music complex.

Sleaford Mods: Why exactly is a bad attitude more important than ever?

We are cast as affective workers on many fronts: We aren't just supposed to do our work well, we are also supposed to identify with it. We should essentially internalize our own bosses and affectively control ourselves. We are supposed to be affective consumers, constantly excited and enthusiastic. Because it is just as emotionally charged acts of refusal, protest, ironically carrying on, or engaging in an emphatic search for the truth are less effective forms of opposition. Instead, the better way to deal with this is by being bored and “pissed off” – by having an offensive bad attitude.

Political movements and important trends in pop music used to come from California. Today California and its many companies mainly represent a new form of information capitalism. If California used to be so far ahead of the game, why is it now giving us things like “Uber”?

That is a dialectic specific to California: certain freedom models are developed early on and tested as part of a counterculture. At the same time, these models are also valued and marketed in a way that confuses the freedom of ideas with the freedom of the market and companies: meaning the powers that shouldn't be free and like to have their innovations subsidized by taxpayers – even in California.

What is the best way to draw attention to music, counterculture, and major economic developments?

You have to make their cultural symptoms legible without violating their artistic nature or exploiting them solely for illustrative purposes for hypotheses and narrations. In historical exhibitions of such developments such as the correlations between hippie culture, Californian ideology, and Internet business, which you alluded to and which Anselm Franke and I curated in Berlin, it is important to find a systematic place from which to tell a solid story. This allows you to comment on and question the story later on, particularly by incorporating works of art, songs, and films.
 

Diedrich Diederichsen writes essays on music, cinema, theater, art, and politics. He is a professor for theory, practice, and communication of contemporary art at the Academy of Fine Arts, Vienna. He regularly contributes to periodicals and newspapers such as Texte zur Kunst, Die Zeit, die tageszeitung, Der Tagesspiegel, Süddeutsche Zeitung, Theater heute, Artscribe, Artforum, e-flux journal, and Frieze. His most recent book publications include Über Pop-Musik (2014), The Whole Earth – Kalifornien und das Verschwinden des Außen (2013, co-edited with Anselm Franke), The Sopranos (2012), Psicodelia y ready-made (2010), On Surplus Value in Art (2008), and Kritik des Auges (2008), among others.

Musik und Politik Interview Diedrich Diederichsen

Diedrich Diedrichsen im Gespräch mit Stuart Comer
Diedrich Diedrichsen im Gespräch mit Stuart Comer | Foto: Jacobia Dahm

Im Rahmen einer Reihe von Gesprächen und Screenings zum Verhältnis von Kunst und Politik, sprachen der Kulturkritiker Diedrich Diederichsen und Kurator Stuart Comer (The Museum of Modern Art) im November 2014 auf Einladung des Goethe-Instituts in New York über die Beziehung zwischen Popmusik und bildender Kunst, ästhetische Erfahrungen in der Kulturindustrie und die besondere Rolle von Performance. Über das politische Potenzial von Popmusik und ihre Ohnmacht, Grundfragen im Diedrich Diedrichsens Werk, spricht er nun mit uns.

Goethe-Institut: Wir beschäftigen uns als Kulturinstitut sehr intensiv mit dem Zusammenhang von Kunst und Politik. In diesem Zusammenhang die Frage: Ist Popmusik Kunst? Oder ist Popmusik politisch? Oder schließt sich beides nicht aus?

Diedrich Diedrichsen: Pop-Musik steht, zumindest performancetheoretisch gesehen, genau dazwischen. Pop-Musiker sind bis zu einem gewissen Grad mit Rollen identifiziert, die wie Theaterrollen gebaut sind, zum anderen sind sie mit ihrer privaten Person identifiziert. Uns braucht nicht zu interessieren, ob sie darin authentisch sind, wir könnten es auch nicht feststellen: entscheidend ist, dass das die Spielregel ist. Insofern sind Aussagen von Pop-Musikern weder Sprechakte, die unmittelbare Konsequenz in der Wirklichkeit verlangen („Auf zur Bastille!“), noch sind sie ganz von der Konvention des Fiktionalen eingerahmt und damit politisch entschärft wie die Schauspieler, der, wenn er „Feuer!“ ruft, niemanden dazu bringt, das Parkett zu verlassen.

Inzwischen laden sich alle ihre Musik aus dem Internet. Was genau hat der Kollaps der materialen Tonträgerkultur an der Funktion von Popmusik als „öffentliches Gut“ verändert? Wird Popmusik nicht durch die digitalen Medien massiver denn je in die Öffentlichkeit getragen, nur anders?

Sie wird weiter verbreitet, aber doch hauptsächlich als eine private Angelegenheit und eine des Konsums. Mit dem Verschwinden des materiellen Musikobjekts verschwindet auch ein Bezugspunkt öffentlichen Handelns, das ersetzt wird durch einen unsichtbaren Strom. Auch dieser bringt zwar Bilder und Paratexte hervor, aber anders als die alte, Tonträger-bezogene Pop-Musik ist er nicht auf Rezipienten angewiesen, die die Verbindung zwischen privaten und öffentlichen Hören herstellen und ausstellen.

Vergrößert sich durch die größere Verbreitung nicht ihr politisches Potenzial?

Nein, dieses Potenzial hat ja immer darin gelegen, Streit zu machen, Differenzen zu inszenieren oder auch bestehende Differenzen ostentativ zu umgehen. Es liegt in agonalen und konfrontativen Strategien, die nicht zuletzt mit Lautstärke zu tun haben, mit den klanglichen Eigenschaften der Resonanz: da, wo Datenströme direkt ihren Weg in die Kopfhörer finden, nimmt dieses Potenzial eher ab. Die Lage erinnert eher an die von Paul Valéry 1928 in seinem Aufsatz „Die Eroberung der Allgegenwärtigkeit“ skizzierte Utopie bzw. Dystopie, in der Musik in der Zukunft direkt aus der Steckdose komme: dies hätte den Vorteil, dass die einsamen Menschen jederzeit getröstet werden könnten, den Nachteil, dass die Welt unwirklich und verzaubert würde, der Zugriff auf die Realität verloren gehe.

Ist Pop überhaupt Musik? Oder doch eigentlich nur Performance? Und was ist von dieser Tendenz zu halten? Wenn ja, warum, und was kann man dagegen unternehmen? Gibt es Gegenbewegungen innerhalb der zeitgenössischen Popmusik und wie sehen diese aus?

Dass Pop-Musik nicht Musik ist, sondern die Verschaltung visueller, auditiver, sozialer, performativer, textiler und anderer Praktiken und Technologien durch die Rezipienten, sehe ich nicht als einen Mangel, sondern als den klassischen Vorteil der Pop-Musik. Was im Kino ein technisch-materielles Dispositiv leistet – die Verknüpfung verschiedener Künste und Darstellungstraditionen durch die Kombination von Dark Room, Projektion und Zelluloidstreifen – leistet in der Pop-Musik der mobile, verschiedene Objekte wie Zeitschriftenbilder, Plakate, Kleidungsstile, Klangaufzeichnungen, die im Radio, im öffentlichen Raum oder zuhause ertönen, verknüpfende Rezipient. Das Performative ist dabei nur eine, aber eine wichtige Komponente. Klar, gibt es immer Pop-Musiker, die lieber Musiker wären als Pop-Musiker: aber die hindert ja auch niemand. Musik gibt es ja schließlich auch noch, innerhalb und außerhalb des Pop-Musik-Komplexes.

Sleaford Mods: warum ist gerade jetzt schlechte Laune wichtiger denn je?

Wir werden an vielen Fronten als affektive Arbeiter gecastet: wir sollen unsere Arbeit nicht nur gut machen, wir sollen uns mit ihr identifizieren, wir sollen sozusagen unseren eigenen Chef verinnerlichen, uns selbst affektiv kontrollieren. Wir sollen affektive Konsumenten sein, ständig begeistert, ständig enthusiastisch. Dagegen hilft weniger die ebenso aufgeladene Verweigerung, der Protest, die emphatische Suche nach der Wahrheit, noch das ironische Weitermachen, sondern am besten das gelangweilte „Angeödetsein“, die offensive schlechte Laune.

Aus Kalifornien kamen einst politische Bewegungen und wichtige Strömungen der populären Musik. Heute stehen Kalifornien und seine Firmen vor allem für eine neue Form des Informationskapitalismus. Wenn Kalifornien mal so weit vorne war, warum beschert es uns jetzt Dinge wie „Uber“?

Das ist die spezifische kalifornische Dialektik: bestimmte Freiheitsmodelle werden frühzeitig entwickelt und gegenkulturell erprobt, aber eben auch verwertet und in einer Weise vermarktet, die die Freiheitlichkeit der Ideen mit der Freiheit von Markt und Unternehmen verwechselt: den Kräften also, die nicht frei sein sollten und die sich, auch in Kalifornien ihre Innovationen ja auch gerne von Steuerzahlern subventionieren lassen.

Wie stellt man Musik, Gegenkultur und große ökonomische Entwicklungen am besten aus?

Man muss ihre kulturellen Symptome lesbar machen, ohne dass man deren künstlerischen Charakter Gewalt antut und rein illustrativ für Thesen und Narrationen vereinnahmt. In historischen Ausstellungen von solchen Entwicklungen wie dem Zusammenhang von Hippie-Kultur, kalifornischer Ideologie und Internet-Business, auf die Du anspielst und die Anselm Franke und ich in Berlin kuratiert haben, ist es wichtig, dass man an systematischer Stelle stabil eine Geschichte erzählt, so dass man sie anderswo, vor allem durch die Einbeziehung von Kunstwerken, Songs und Filmen ebenso kommentieren wie infrage stellen kann.
 

Diedrich Diederichsen verfasst Essays über Musik, Kino, Theater, Kunst und Politik. Er ist Professor für Theorie, Praxis und Vermittlung von Gegenwartskunst an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste, Wien. Er schreibt regelmäßig für Zeitschriften und Zeitungen wie Texte zur Kunst, Die Zeit, die tageszeitung, Der Tagesspiegel, Süddeutsche Zeitung, Theater heute, Artscribe, Artforum, e-flux journal und Frieze. Zu seinen jüngsten Buchveröffentlichungen gehören unter anderem Über Pop-Musik (2014), The Whole Earth – Kalifornien und das Verschwinden des Außen (2013, Mitherausgeber Anselm Franke), The Sopranos (2012), Psicodelia y ready-made (2010), On Surplus Value in Art (2008) und Kritik des Auges (2008).