TTIP What’s the value of a song?

German and American musicians on TTIP
German and American musicians on TTIP | Johannes Kreidler, Foto: Leowee Polyester | Lou Mallozzi, Foto: Sandra Binion | Ryan Muncy, Foto: Chelsea Ross | Angelika Niescier, Foto: Arne Reimer | Michael Thieke, Foto: Eric Schaefer

The ratification of the Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership (TTIP) and the anticipated consequences for the cultural sector cause headlines and controversies in Europe, especially among artists. In the United States, however, TTIP is hardly talked about. We asked German and US musicians and composers about their thoughts.

The German musicians and composers are concerned that the quantitative focus on market share, sales figures and financial value might outweigh quality and diversity if culture is treated as a commercial good within TTIP. This could lead to more power and business for big companies and production firms and threaten the current opportunities, market access and conditions. The United States are a big music market and the country of origin of a comprehensive musical repertoire that is in high demand internationally.

In a joint resolution, the national umbrella music organizations of Germany, Austria and Switzerland point out the potential consequences of the transatlantic trade and investment and Trade in Services Agreement (TiSA) for the music industry, and culture in general. In late September, Professor Christian Höppner, Secretary-General of the German Musikrat stressed in an open letter to Chancellor Angela Merkel that the “deregulation of the markets has to end, when goods and services for the public welfare are concerned”. The German Musikrat criticizes the lack of transparency in the negotiations. The Musikrat also condemns the European Commission’s and European Parliament’s lacking acknowledgment of the “cultural exception”, i.e., cultural goods and services are non-negotiable. In Europe, promoting and financing culture is primarily understood as a public responsibility which is supported through public funding. Public funding, under the terms of TTIP, would be considered a distortion of competition.

American and German musicians and composers Johannes Kreidler, Angelika Niescier, Michael Thieke, Lou Mallozzi and Ryan Muncy share their thoughts on TTIP with us.

Will TTIP put an end to creativity? Are you worried about a potential trend towards mainstream – only music that sells will be produced, and niche genres die out?

Johannes Kreidler: Yes, I am afraid this might happen.

Angelika Niescier: TTIP certainly does not mean the end of creativity. However, the situation of non-mainstream art is difficult enough and will get worse. A very important part of culture risks being marginalized, which could affect the vitality of niche genres.

Michael Thieke: Of course TTIP won’t put an end to creativity. The question is, though: under which conditions will artists produce? In the US, there is a higher tendency to evaluate culture from the perspective of commercial viability. Regardless, the cultural scene produced a large and interesting diversity, beyond the mainstream, often under tenuous conditions, for over a century. Europe’s approximation of US conditions could result in creative productions under significantly worse financial conditions. We certainly don’t need more artists that have to get by on odd jobs, in Europe or the US.

Could the TTIP controversy trigger the development of a different financing model in Europe?

Johannes Kreidler: I don’t see the need for it – especially under these circumstances.

Angelika Niescier: Without being able to offer a concise answer – there needs to be an alternative to support non-mainstream art and artists in Europe.

Michael Thieke: Creating alternative financing models beyond public support due to Europe-wide cuts in the cultural sector inspired by the supposedly more effective US system is already a reality. But I don’t think that true alternative private financing models compensating those cuts have emerged. I don’t expect any new, positive ideas to result from the TTIP controversy, rather the opposite. It is absurd to speak of a distortion of competition generated by public funding in Europe vis-a-vis the primarily privately financed US model. Let’s look at the programs of festivals and concert series in the field of new/experimental music and jazz: European and US artists alike benefit from public subsidies: they are invited by mostly publicly funded presenters. American colleagues very rarely receive public or private support from their own country. In the US, the presentation of European culture is often possible thanks to the funding of European national cultural institutes, such as the Goethe-Institut. So, who is distorting what? Ironically, the US should, on behalf of its artists, be very interested in maintaining Europe’s current publicly subsidized system. Cuts in public funding as a consequence of TTIP will affect European and US artists alike, albeit, to a different degree.

Could the European model of financing culture and music through public resources work in the United States?

Lou Mallozzi: Probably not. It is already eroding in Europe, so why should it become viable in the US? A large section of the US populace does not regard culture as highly as the European populace, so increased public support for culture is highly unlikely. Although it is absurd to consider cultural production exclusively as a market commodity that is precisely how most Americans think if they think about culture at all.

Ryan Muncy: That’s difficult to say. Adopting a publicly funded approach for the arts in the United States would require a significant shift in societal thinking – not just concerning art, but attitudes toward taxation and a general discussion of the government’s responsibility to support or provide critical services. As an artist, however, I would predict that colleagues and peer organizations would not be opposed to receiving leadership funding from public resources. Small arts organizations in the US place an emphasis on individual donations and private foundation support, which is perhaps a by-product of the lack of substantial government support. This is more of an observation than a criticism. Relying on one entity for crucial operational funding is risky for any organization.

Do you see a US cultural invasion of the German music scene as a real threat?

Johannes Kreidler: I don’t see the danger of a cultural invasion, but I do see Europe’s financing culture being threatened.

Angelika Niescier: In terms of content, I most certainly don’t predict a real threat. In a globalized world there is easy access to almost all genres and styles. That can be very inspiring. What I consider an actual threat is the possibility of claims and compensation demands that would circumvent our democratic system.

Michael Thieke: What should be crucial in the realm of culture is quality, not origin. “Invasion” is too martial a term for me. The cuts have already led – at least in my musical genre, which certainly doesn’t count as mainstream – to less rather than more US culture in Europe. Europe should not block US culture, but ensure that the domestic standards in cultural funding are not watered down and informed by neoliberal mainstream.

Lou Mallozzi: TTIP would make a difference in US musicians’ work and would only exacerbate a philistine situation. It is ridiculous that visiting musicians are seen in Europe as economic threats and that there are no visiting artist visas available.

Ryan Muncy: As a specialist in experimental music, I belong to a niche market (contemporary/experimental) of a niche market (classical music). While we have made great advancements in the last decade of expanding and engaging our audiences, it is still premature to imagine that we have the momentum to “invade” any international market. The TTIP and TiSA agreements will almost certainly benefit large US businesses and production companies. But perhaps this is no surprise, as the safeguard of large business is a defining characteristic of American policy.

What is your stance regarding the call for the “cultural exception” in the TTIP negotiations?

Johannes Kreidler: If TTIP has to happen, I am supportive of excluding cultural goods from it.

Angelika Niescier: While a “cultural exception“ will not solve the fundamental problem, it would take pressure off the arts and artists.

Michael Thieke: While there is indeed a need for conversation, for example regarding equal working conditions and permits, I don’t think that TTIP is the appropriate framework to discuss culture. The culture issue is too complex to be treated in a free trade agreement and should not be considered in economic terms only.

Lou Mallozzi: It is impossible to say what all US artists support. US artists vary widely on their opinions on copyright, markets, etc. However, it's probably safe to say that anything that moves away from a “cultural exception” and tries to turn cultural output into market commodities would be ill-received.

Ryan Muncy: The arts in Europe will almost certainly be negatively impacted without it. I think US artists would be supportive of the “cultural exception.” In many ways, this is what we want here at home.
 

Johannes Kreidler
is a composer of electronic music, concept and media artist and currently teaches music at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg.

Lou Mallozzi
is an audio artist in Chicago. He is the Executive Director of Experimental Sound Studio and teaches in the Sound Department of the School of the Art Institute of Chicago.

Ryan Muncy
is a New York City-based saxophonist who performs, commissions, and presents new music. He is a member of the International Contemporary Ensemble (ICE) and the former executive director of the Chicago-based new music collective Ensemble Dal Niente.

Angelika Niescier
is a German jazz musician (soprano and alto saxophone) and composer, who is interested in interdisciplinary cooperation with writers and visual artists.

Michael Thieke
is a Berlin-based clarinetist and composer. He recently extended his work in the context of rigorous improvisation into the realm of installations in which the instrument is expanded into space through multichannel playback.

Simone Kaiser
is an expert on the EU and EU cultural policy. She holds an MA in conference interpreting from the University of Graz, Austria, and an MA in European Union Studies from the University of Illinois. Her recent research focuses on the European Heritage Label.

TTIP Was ist uns ein Lied wert?

Deutsche und amerikanische MusikerInnen äußern sich zu TTIP
Deutsche und amerikanische MusikerInnen äußern sich zu TTIP | Johannes Kreidler, Foto: Leowee Polyester | Lou Mallozzi, Foto: Sandra Binion | Ryan Muncy, Foto: Chelsea Ross | Angelika Niescier, Foto: Arne Reimer | Michael Thieke, Foto: Eric Schaefer

Das transatlantische Handelsabkommen TTIP und die antizipierten Konsequenzen für Kultur schlagen in Europa, besonders unter KünstlerInnen, hohe Wellen. In den USA spricht man kaum darüber. Wir fragten deutsche und amerikanische MusikerInnen um ihre Meinung.

In der deutschen Musikszene befürchtet man, dass der quantitative Blick auf Quoten, Verkaufszahlen und finanziellen Gegenwert auf Kosten der Qualität und Vielfalt gehen könnte, sollte Kultur als kommerzielles Gut Teil von TTIP sein. Dies würde mehr Einfluss für Konzerne und große Produktionsfirmen bedeuten und die ohnehin prekäre Situation der Kunstschaffenden auf Chancengleichheit gefährden. Die USA ist ein globaler Musikmarkt und das Ursprungsland eines umfangreichen Musikrepertoires, das international konsumiert wird.

Professor Christian Höppner, Generalsekretär des Deutschen Musikrates, forderte Ende September 2014 in einem offenen Brief an Angela Merkel, dass die „Deregulierung der Märkte dort enden [muss], wo gemeinwohlorientierte Aufgaben berührt werden“.

In einer gemeinsamen Resolution warnen die nationalen Musikräte aus Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz vor den möglichen Folgen der transatlantischen Abkommen TTIP (Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership) und TiSA (Trade in Services Agreement) für die Musikindustrie und Kultur im Allgemeinen. Die Kritik des Deutschen Musikrats richtet sich gegen die mangelnde Transparenz der Verhandlungen und das fehlende Bekenntnis der EU-Kommission und des Europäischen Rats zur „kulturellen Ausnahme“, der Unverhandelbarkeit kultureller Güter und Dienstleistungen. In der EU wird Kultur und Kunstförderung als öffentliche Aufgabe und Verantwortung verstanden, was unter TTIP eine Wettbewerbsverzerrung darstellen würde. Die deutschen und amerikanischen MusikerInnen und KomponistInnen Johannes Kreidler, Angelika Niescier, Michael Thieke, Lou Mallozzi und Ryan Muncy nahmen dazu Stellung.

Bedeutet TTIP ein Ende der Kreativität? Befürchten Sie eine Entwicklung hin zum Mainstream – es wird produziert, was sich verkaufen lässt, und Nischengenres verkümmern?

Johannes Kreidler: Ja, das befürchte ich.

Angelika Niescier: Ein Ende der Kreativität bedeutet TTIP sicher nicht. Aber die sowieso schwierige Lage bei der Ausübung von Off-Kunst wird eben noch schwieriger und es besteht die Gefahr, dass genau dieser sehr wichtige Teil der Kultur auch in der öffentlichen Wahrnehmung extrem marginalisiert wird – was natürlich die dementsprechende Rückkopplung auf die Lebendigkeit der Nischengenres haben könnte.

Michael Thieke: Natürlich wird TTIP kein Ende der Kreativität bedeuten. Die Frage ist allerdings: unter welchen Bedingungen diese produziert wird. In den USA war die Ausgangslage immer schon anfälliger für das Betrachten von Kultur in Hinblick auf kommerzielle Verwertbarkeit. Trotzdem hat die Kulturszene dort seit Beginn des letzten Jahrhunderts schon immer höchst Interessantes in großer Vielfalt, auch abseits des Mainstreams, produziert. Allerdings häufig unter äußerst prekären Bedingungen. Die Annäherung Europas an amerikanische Verhältnisse hätte zur Folge, dass Kreatives in Europa nur noch unter wesentlich schlechteren finanziellen Bedingungen produziert werden kann. Wir brauchen sicher nicht noch mehr Künstler, die sich mit Nebenjobs über Wasser halten müssen, in Europa wie in den USA.

Könnte sich in Europa, angestoßen durch die TTIP-Kontroverse, ein anderes Finanzierungmodell entwickeln?

Johannes Kreidler: Ich sehe dafür, jedenfalls aus dieser Perspektive, keine Notwendigkeit.

Angelika Niescier: Ohne dass ich eine konkrete Antwort parat habe: ja natürlich, in Europa muss sich eine Alternative entwickeln, die die Kunst und die Künstler der Off-Sparten unterstützt.

Michael Thieke: Die Schaffung anderer Finanzierungmodelle jenseits der staatlichen Förderung ist aufgrund der europaweiten Streichungen im Kultursektor in den letzten Jahren, die ja mitunter auch mit Hinweis auf das angeblich bessere und effektivere System in den USA lanciert wurden, schon längst im Gange. Allerdings finde ich nicht, dass sich auch nur annähernd in gleichem Maße alternative, sprich private, Finanzierungsmodelle entwickelt haben. Daher denke ich, dass durch die TTIP-Kontroverse nichts an neuen, positiven Ideen zu erwarten ist, eher das Gegenteil. Von Wettbewerbsverzerrung aufgrund von staatlicher Förderung in Europa im Gegensatz zum hauptsächlich privat (-wirtschaftlich) finanzierten Modell in den USA zu sprechen, erscheint mir absurd. Man betrachte die Programme von Festivals und Konzertreihen im Bereich Neuer/Experimenteller Musik und Jazz: In Europa profitieren sowohl europäische als auch amerikanische Künstler von staatlichen europäischen Kulturförderungen, da sie auf Kosten der meist staatlich subventionierten Veranstalter eingeladen werden. Sehr selten gibt es für die amerikanischen Kollegen staatliche oder private Hilfe aus dem eigenen Land. In den USA hingegen ist die Präsentation europäischer Kultur häufig nur unter Mithilfe der jeweiligen nationalen europäischen Kulturinstitute wie des Goethe-Instituts möglich. Wer verzerrt hier was? Ironischerweise sollten in diesem Zusammenhang gerade die USA, zumindest in Bezug auf die dort lebenden Künstler, an der Aufrechterhaltung des bisherigen Systems der staatlichen Kulturförderung in Europa interessiert sein, denn würden die staatlichen Förderungen in Europa aufgrund einer TTIP-Vereinbarung noch mehr gekürzt, wird dies europäische und amerikanische Künstler gleichermaßen negativ treffen, wenn auch vielleicht in unterschiedlich starkem Ausmaß.

Könnte das Europäische Kulturförderungsmodell in den USA funktionieren?

Lou Mallozzi: Wahrscheinlich nicht. Es verschlechtert sich bereits in Europa schrittweise, warum sollte es dann in den USA gut funktionieren? Außerdem hat die US-Bevölkerung im Allgemeinen nicht dieselbe Wertschätzung für Kultur wie die Europäer, darum ist mehr staatliche Kulturförderung unwahrscheinlich. Obwohl es absurd ist, kulturelle Produktion als Marktware und nichts anderes zu betrachten, denken viele (vermutlich die meisten) Amerikaner genauso über Kultur, falls sie überhaupt über Kultur nachdenken.

Ryan Muncy: Schwer zu sagen. Einem staatlichen Kulturförderungsmodell in den USA müssten ein großer Wandel im gesellschaftlichen Denken, nicht nur in Bezug auf Kunst, sondern auch in der Einstellung zu Steuern und Menschenrechten, sowie Diskussionen über die Verantwortung der Regierung, bestimmte Dienstleistungen zu finanzieren, vorangehen. Als Künstler kann ich mir allerdings nicht vorstellen, dass meine Kollegen und Organisationen im Kunstbereich gegen staatliche Subventionen sind. Kleine US-Kunstorganisationen sind angewiesen auf Spenden von Privatpersonen und Privatstiftungen, vermutlich ein Nebenprodukt systematisch fehlender Staatssubventionen. Das ist weniger Kritik als Beobachtung. Von einer einzigen Förderungsquelle abhängig zu sein ist riskant für jede Organisation.

Empfinden Sie eine kulturelle US-Invasion der deutschen Musikszene als reale Bedrohung?

Johannes Kreidler: Eine Invasion der US-Kultur selber nicht, aber der Finanzierungskultur.

Angelika Niescier: Inhaltlich befürchte ich mit Sicherheit keine Bedrohung - in unserer globalisierten Welt ist der sofortige Zugang zu fast allen Musikinhalten, Genres und Richtungen jederzeit möglich, was sehr inspirierend sein kann. Was ich als reale Bedrohung empfinde, ist, dass Tür und Tor geöffnet werden, an Stellen Ansprüche zu stellen und diese in Form von Klagen und Kompensationen einzufordern, die unser demokratisches System im Prinzip umgehen würden.

Michael Thieke: Die Qualität sollte bei Kultur ausschlaggebend sein, die Herkunft ist in diesem Zusammenhang kein Kriterium für mich. Und Invasion ist mir als Vokabular sowieso zu martialisch. Die Kürzungen im Kulturbereich in Europa haben zumindest in meinem Musikbereich – der sicherlich nicht dem Mainstream zuzuordnen ist – bereits jetzt eher zu weniger als zu mehr Kultur aus den USA in Europa geführt. Europa sollte sich nicht gegen Kultur aus den USA abschotten, sondern dafür sorgen, dass die eigenen Standards der Kulturförderung nicht verwässert werden, und zurückkehren zu Standards jenseits des neoliberalen Mainstreams.

Lou Mallozzi: TTIP wird auch die Arbeit von US-Musikern beeinflussen und eine ohnehin schon schwierige Situation verschärfen. Es ist bereits lächerlich, dass visiting artists in Europa als eine ökonomische Bedrohung gesehen werden und keine Gast-Visa ausgestellt bekommen.

Ryan Muncy: Da ich auf experimentelle Musik spezialisiert bin, gehöre ich zu einem Nischengenre (zeitgenössische Experimentalmusik) eines Nischenmarkts (klassische Musik). In den letzten zehn Jahren konnten wir zwar unser Publikum erweitern, aber es wäre immer noch zu früh, um von einer „Invasion“ irgendeines internationalen Markts sprechen zu können. Was Popmusik betrifft, halte ich es für möglich. TTIP und TiSA werden wohl mit Sicherheit US-Konzernen und Produktionsfirmen zu Gute kommen. Das ist wohl kaum eine Überraschung, da der Schutz großer Konzerne ein entscheidender Faktor der US-Politik ist.

Wie stehen Sie zur Forderung nach dem Ausschluss des audiovisuellen Sektors aus den TTIP-Verhandlungen?

Johannes Kreidler: Wenn schon TTIP sein muss, dann bin ich in der Tat sehr dafür, kulturelle Güter davon auszunehmen.

Angelika Niescier: Ein Ausschluss löst zwar nicht das Grundproblem, aber mindert in dem Zusammenhang zumindest den Druck auf die Kunst und Kulturschaffenden.

Michael Thieke: Auch wenn es in manchen Punkten Gesprächsbedarf gibt, zB beim Thema gleicher Arbeitsbedingungen und -erlaubnisse, halte ich überhaupt nichts davon, Kultur im Rahmen von TTIP zu verhandeln. Das Thema Kultur ist zu komplex für ein Freihandelsabkommen, und sollte sicher nicht nur unter wirtschaftlichen Aspekten betrachtet werden.

Lou Mallozzi: Es ist schwierig, für alle US-Künstler zu sprechen – die Meinungen amerikanischer Künstler zu Urheberrecht, Märkten, etc gehen sehr auseinander. Man kann jedoch sagen, dass alles, was das derzeitige System von einer „kulturellen Ausnahme“ wegbewegt und versucht, kulturelles Schaffen in Wirtschaftsware zu verwandeln, nicht gut aufgenommen wird.

Ryan Muncy: Angesichts der mit großer Sicherheit negativen Folgen für die Künste in Europa denke ich, dass US-Künstler die „kulturelle Ausnahme“ unterstützen würden. Das ist vielfach auch das, was wir zu Hause wollen.
 

Johannes Kreidler
geboren 1980 in Esslingen, ist Komponist Elektronischer Musik, Konzept- und Medienkünstler und lehrt derzeit an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg.

Lou Mallozzi
ist Studiokünstler in Chicago. Er ist Executive Director des Experimental Sound Studio und lehrt an der School of the Art Institute of Chicago im Sound Department.

Ryan Muncy
ist ein New Yorker Saxophonist, der neue Musik in Auftrag gibt und präsentiert. Er ist Mitglied des International Contemporary Ensemble (ICE) und war Executive Director Musikerkollektivs Ensemble Dal Niente.

Angelika Niescier
ist eine deutsche Jazz-Musikerin (Sopran- und Altsaxophon) und Komponistin, die sich ausgiebig mit interdisziplinärer Zusammenarbeit (mit Literaten und bildenden Künstlern) beschäftigt.

Michael Thieke
ist ein Berliner Klarinettist und Komponist. Vor kurzem erweiterte er seine Arbeit im Bereich der strikten Improvisation hin zum Bereich der Installationen, in welchem das Instrument durch mehrkanaliges Playback in den gesamten Raum ausgedehnt wird.

Simone Kaiser
ist Expertin im Bereich EU und europäischer Kulturpolitik. Sie absolvierte einen MA in Konferenzdolmetschen an der Universität Graz und einen MA in European Union Studies an der University of Illinois. Ihr aktueller Forschungschwerpunkt ist das Europäische Kulturerbesiegel.