DEFA Film Library Interview with Hiltrud Schulz

Hiltrud Schulz
Hiltrud Schulz | Photo: Hiltrud Schulz

We share a passion with Hiltrud Schulz for all things East German film. She spoke with us about her work at the singular DEFA Film Library in Massachusetts.

The DEFA Film Library at the University of Massachusetts Amherst is the only archive and study center outside Europe devoted to the study of filmmaking by East German filmmakers or related to East Germany from 1946 to the present. Since 2002, Hiltrud Schulz has been with the DEFA Film Library, where her major projects have included the DVD production of the restored German film classic Kuhle Wampe, oder: Wem gehört die Welt? (Kuhle Wampe or Who Owns the World?, Slatan Dudow, 1932), the Filmmaker’s Tour program (for directors Frank Beyer, Jürgen Böttcher, Andreas Dresen, Jörg Foth, Iris Gusner, Rainer Simon, and scriptwriter Wolfgang Kohlhaase); the Rebels with a Cause film series and tour, which premiered at the Museum of Modern Art in New York 2005, and the Made in East|West Germany film program (a joint effort with the film archive at the Goethe-Institut Boston) that premiered in Boston in 2009.

The Goethe-Institut Chicago and the DEFA Film Library at UMass Amherst have agreed to an annual program that introduces the new DEFA releases on DVD in the Midwest. Schulz curated the film series AWARDED! Films from Behind the Wall at Chicago’s Gene Siskel Film Center in February 2013. Our own Irmi Maunu-Kocian sat down to pick her brain.

Hiltrud, you have worked with the East German films made at the DEFA studios for many years, wearing a lot of hats.

In thinking about when I started working with DEFA films, I realize that I forgot about my 25th anniversary last year! I've been working with East German films since 1987. I was first employed at PROGRESS Film-Verleih, the only East German film distribution company. In my last years there, I was responsible for world sales and curated and organized film series in Europe, Latin America, the Middle East, and elsewhere. In 1998, I helped found ICESTORM International, a new company set up to market East German films on video in North America. That's when I moved to the United States.

When you look at the DEFA productions throughout the years, is there one film that evokes an especially strong response in you, be it favorable or not?

This is a very difficult question. The DEFA Studios produced several thousand films from 1946 until the closing of the studios in 1990, including almost 800 feature and children’s films. Each single film is a document of its time and reflects the political climate in the country as well as artistic ideas that were in the air at that time.

Currently, we are working on six new DVD releases and I'm excited about every one of them. For example, the two post-war films Wozzeck (dir. Georg Klaren) and Ehe im Schatten [Marriage in the Shadows, dir. Kurt Maetzig]—both produced in 1947—are so closely connected to Ufa [Universum Film AG] filmmaking. Artists who worked in film production during the Nazi period suddenly found themselves working on productions ib a very different social, political, and ideological system. How did these artists deal with these extreme changes, on a personal level? Take cinematographer Friedl Behn-Grund: he did the cinematography for both the 1941 Nazi propaganda film Ich klage an (I Accuse, dir. Wolfgang Liebeneiner) and, only six years later, photographed the antifascist melodrama Ehe im Schatten.

It is very interesting to see how DEFA built on filmmaking during the Weimar era as well as the Nazi period—at least in the first years after the war and before a new generation of film artists arrived at their studios. After World War II, DEFA was the first to reopen its film ateliers for production and instantly became a melting pot for all kinds of artists: German “re-émigrées” who had spent the last years in the U.S., Mexico, Palestine, France, the Soviet Union or other countries; Ufa artists who had worked during the Nazi period; artists returning from “inner emigration.” DEFA attempted a fresh start but there was an interesting twist in the result: while the first East German films did try to come to terms with German history during WWII, the resultant antifascist films were often very close in their aesthetic to that of Nazi propaganda films.

In the same vein, I am fascinated by the little anecdotes or stories I come across from behind the scenes. Like actor Joachim Gottschalk: he was quite famous before the rise of the Nazis and shared the stage in Berlin with actress Ilse Steppat. After his tragic death in 1941, Steppat, in turn, played his wife in Kurt Maetzig’s Ehe im Schatten, a film adaptation of Gottschalk's story and one which many of his fans did not learn about until after the war and through this film. Incidentally, the film had its U.S. premiere at the Met Theater in New York on September 16, 1948.

So, to answer your question: each single film from the DEFA archive is important to me. Even a hardcore East German propaganda film can unveil very interesting historical aspects. Now, if you had asked if all the DEFA films deserve another chance at reaching the silver screen, the answer would have been different. But they are all objects for research and discussion.

You curated the film series Awarded! Films from Behind the Wall.

Yes. I have long been fascinated by the fact that East German films slipped through the Iron Curtain and found an international audience long before the Wall came down. And I strongly advocate for the idea that East German film can make an important contribution to international film history.

In terms of the series, I recall that you and I met on a cold and rainy day at your Goethe-Institut office in the spring of 2012 and when I talked about the East German film collection at the DEFA Film Library and possible projects, I could feel your sincere interest and your excitement. Why not show a program with GDR films that won major international awards before 1989 or films that were submitted to the Oscars? When I shared these ideas with you, I knew that you would and could help support and present a program like this. In the end, we decided to create a special Chicago film program, a selection of films that had never been shown in this combination before.

Many partners, including the excellent team at the Gene Siskel Film Center, the DEFA-Stiftung, and the Goethe-Institut Chicago, made these 35mm-screenings possible. Among the eight feature films selected was Roland Gräf’s biographical film Fallada – Letztes Kapitel (Fallada - The Last Chapter, 1988). This film had not been shown in cinemas for many, many years because of a situation surrounding the rights to the music. So we were especially thankful to the DEFA-Stiftung for helping us resolve these rights issues so that the film could return to a screen in Chicago, where leading actor Jörg Gudzuhn won a Silver Hugo for Best Actor at the Chicago International Film Festival in 1989.

The international aspect of the DEFA films is particularly important to you, is it not?

Whenever possible, I really try to emphasize that these films had an international audience during the Cold War, albeit limited. The list of internationally awarded DEFA films—again, not East European festivals; I am talking about Cannes, Venice, Edinburgh, Chicago, West Berlin—is very impressive. I would like for people to understand that East German films did not linger behind the Wall and were not only shown in the GDR. International exchanges took place throughout the film trade—co-productions, for example, and with international organizations such as FIAF (the International Federation of Film Archives)—which made events such as the 1975 retrospective of East German cinema at the Museum of Modern Art in New York possible. The GDR’s State Film Archive (Staatliche Filmarchiv) had been a member of FIAF since the late 1950s. Such memberships opened up interesting networks and possibilities for film events. I just read that Maetzig, a DEFA director after all, was the vice president of the International Association of Film Clubs (FICC).

But one of my favorite stories has to do with the screening of Turlis Abenteuer (Turli’s Adventures, dir. Walter Beck, 1967) in the U.S. in the late 1960s. Ron Merk, an American independent producer, director, and distributor since 1967, acquired the rights for this film and screened it successfully at his famous “kiddie matinée.” I am sure that many Americans will still remember the series. Or maybe they remember the live-action Pinocchio film series that Ron Merk produced. The puppet Pinocchio that leads through the program was actually a recreation of the Pinocchio puppet featured in Turli—created in consultation with artists who also designed the famous Czech Spejbl and Hurvinek puppets. Who knew, in the late 1960s, that this famous “American” Pinocchio was born in East Germany and had Czech parents?

By the very nature of their work and the time in which they were working, DEFA directors live or lived interesting lives. Is there one whose biography particularly surprised you?

I feel privileged to have had the opportunity to work with these films that were made by so many outstanding film artists. It still makes me happy that I met director Frank Beyer twice—in 2002, when he was our artist-in-residence and when he came to our MoMA event in 2005. I still remember our conversation about his studies at FAMU, the famous film school in Prague, his work at DEFA, and his experiences when his film Spur der Steine (Trace of Stones, 1966) was banned, having serious professional consequences for him. His interest in other people’s lives and in the work of the DEFA Film Library always impressed me.

I have to say, there is one director I wished I had met: the Dutch-born documentary filmmaker Joris Ivens. Ivens worked at the DEFA Documentary Film Studio in the 1950s and continued his involvement with East German film until the late 1960s. His life was truly adventurous. Not only did he film one of his most important films, The Spanish Earth (1937), during the Spanish Civil War, he also filmed, lived, and worked all over the world, and knew so many important artists, including the Russian directors Sergei Eisenstein and Vsevolod Pudovkin, Ernest Hemingway, journalist Martha Gellhorn, the Brazilian-born director Alberto Calvacanti, actors Simone Signoret and Gérard Philipe, and many others, from all walks of life. He should be acknowledged for bringing some international flair and important contacts to the DEFA Documentary Film Studio.

The DEFA Film Library is the main promoter of GDR films in the US. Do other countries have similar institutions or is the organization at UMass Amherst unique?

Our DEFA Film Library is the only archive and research center outside of Germany devoted to East German filmmaking. The Library was officially founded by Professor Barton Byg in 1993, although Barton had already been engaged with DEFA films long before. Not only did he conduct research on East German film, he also organized DEFA film events, licensed DEFA films for North American distribution, and of course started the DEFA Film Library’s collection.

Barton always mentions that one tour in particular inspired the creation of the DEFA Film library: in the fall of 1989, he organized the first U.S. tour for documentary filmmaker Helke Misselwitz and her film Winter Adé (1987). The film had had its East German premiere a year earlier. Barton was able to bring a print to the U.S. and sent Helke on a marathon tour to various universities and colleges across the country. Helke, who was accompanied by Thomas Plenert, her cinematographer, and her editor, Gudrun Plenert, also presented the film in New England... the evening the Wall came down in Berlin.

I remember when Barton came to the PROGRESS Film-Verleih in Berlin—where I was working at the time—at the beginning of the 1990s. He was interested in clearing the rights for 35mm and 16mm DEFA prints, which he had acquired from the shuttered East German embassy in New York, and discussing the possibility of distributing East German films in North America. It took until 1993 for the contracts to be signed and for partners in Germany to commit to the legal creation of the DEFA Film Library.

Since then, the DEFA Film Library has worked to develop interest in the history of East German filmmaking. We also try to set trends and open new fields for research about GDR film history in the context of and in relation to international film history. For example, our upcoming East German Summer Film Institute biennial, entitled DEFA & Amerika: Culture Wars, Culture Contact (July 7-14, 2013), will explore different dimensions of the relationship between GDR filmmaking and the United States. Executive Director Dr. Skyler Arndt-Briggs and PhD candidate Victoria Rizo Lenshyn, who are planning this institute, have discovered films that were never shown outside East Germany and are working on interesting workshops on GDR propaganda, espionage, and mass entertainment that will hopefully be the beginning of new research ideas.

... and we see more collaboration for us in our future as well.

We sure do. After our successful DEFA program in Chicago, we are planning a program about Super-8 experimental films made in the GDR. And we have already scheduled the Midwest premiere of all six new DEFA Film Library releases this fall!

DEFA Film Library Interview mit Hiltrud Schulz

Hiltrud Schulz
Hiltrud Schulz | Foto: Hiltrud Schulz

Wir teilen eine Faszination mit Hiltrud Schulz für die ostdeutsche Filmindustrie. Sie sprach mit uns über Ihre Arbeit an der einzigartigen DEFA Film Library in Massachusetts.

Die DEFA Film Library an der University of Massachusetts Amherst ist das einzige Archiv und Studienzentrum außerhalb von Europa, das sich der ostdeutschen Filmindustrie von 1946 bis heute widmet. Seit 2002 ist Hiltrud Schulz Teil der DEFA Film Library. Ihre wichtigsten Projekte sind unter anderem eine DVD Produktion des restaurierten deutschen Filmklassikers Kuhle Wampe, oder: Wem gehört die Welt? (Reg. Slatan Dudow, 1932), das Filmmaker’s Tour Programm (für die Regisseure Frank Beyer, Jürgen Böttcher, Andreas Dresen, Jörg Foth, Iris Gusner, Rainer Simon und dem Drehbuchautor Wolfgang Kohlhaase); die Rebels with a Cause Filmreihe und Tournee, welche 2005 im Museum of Modern Art in New York Premiere feierte, sowie das Made in East | West Germany Film Programm (eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem Filmarchiv des Goethe-Institutes Boston), die 2009 in Boston Premiere feierte.

Das Goethe-Institut Chicago und die DEFA Film Library einigten sich unlängst auf ein jährliches Programm, das die neuesten DEFA Veröffentlichungen auf DVD im Mittleren Westen vorstellt. Schulz kuratierte die Filmreihe AWARDED! Films from Behind the Wall am Gene Siskel Film Center in Chicago im Februar 2013. Unsere Irmi Maunu-Kocian fragte sie bei dieser Gelegenheit aus.

Frau Schulz, Sie haben viele Jahre mit den ostdeutschen Filmen der DEFA Studios gearbeitet und haben viele Funktionen ausgeübt.

Während ich gerade darüber nachdenke, wann ich meine Arbeit mit DEFA Filmen begonnen habe, fällt mir auf, dass ich mein 25. Jubiläum letztes Jahr vergessen habe! Ich arbeite nämlich bereits seit 1987 mit ostdeutschen Filmen. Anfangs arbeitete ich für den PROGRESS Film-Verleih, der einzige ostdeutsche Filmvertrieb. Während der letzten Jahre meiner Arbeit war ich verantwortlich für den weltweiten Verkauf und kuratierte und organisierte Filmreihen in Europa, Lateinamerika, dem Nahen Osten und so weiter. In 1998 war ich an der Gründung des ICESTROM International beteiligt, ein neues Unternehmen, welches ostdeutsche Filme auf Video in Nordamerika vermarktet. Zu dem Zeitpunkt bin ich dann auch in die USA ausgewandert.

Wenn Sie an die DEFA Produktionen der letzten Jahre zurückdenken, gibt es da einen Film, der besondere Emotionen bei Ihnen auslöst - gute oder schlechte?

Das ist schwierig zu beantworten. Die DEFA Studios produzierten in den Jahren von 1946 bis hin zu ihrer Schließung 1990 mehrere tausende Filme, darunter fast 800 Spiel- und Kinderfilme. Jeder einzelne Film ist eine Dokumentation seiner Zeit und reflektiert das damalige politische Klima, aber auch artistische Ideen, die damals in der Luft lagen.

Zur Zeit arbeiten wir an sechs DVD-Neuerscheinungen und ich freue mich auf jede einzelne. Beispielsweise stehen die zwei Nachkriegsfilme Wozzeck (Reg. Georg Klaren) und Ehe im Schatten (Reg. Kurt Maetzig)—beide wurden im Jahre 1947 produziert—in direkter Verbindung mit der Universum Film AG (Ufa). Künstler, die während der Nazi-Zeit Filme produzierten, fanden sich auf einmal bei Produktionen wieder, die sich in einem ganz anderen sozialen, politischen und idealogischen System befanden. Wie gingen die Künstler persönlich mit diesen extremen Veränderungen um? Der Kameramann Friedl Behn-Grund etwa: er hat sowohl 1941 den nationalsozialistischen Propagandafilm Ich klage an (Reg. Wolfgang Liebeneiner), als auch den nur sechs Jahre später produzierten, antifaschistischen Film Ehe im Schatten gedreht. 

Es ist sehr interessant zu sehen, wie die DEFA auf Filmproduktionen aufbaute, sowohl während der Weimarer Zeit, als auch während der NS-Zeit—zumindest in den ersten Jahren nach dem Krieg und bevor die neue Generation der Filmemacher in ihren Studios eintraf. Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg war DEFA das erste Studio, das ihre Ateliers für Produktion wieder eröffnete und somit wurde es zum Meltingpot unterschiedlichster Künstler: deutsche „Re-Emigranten“, welche die Jahre zuvor in den USA, Mexiko, Palästina, Frankreich, der Sovietunion oder anderen Ländern verbrachten; Ufa-Künstler, die während der Nazi-Zeit gearbeitet hatten; Künstler, die von der „inneren Emigration“ zurückkehrten. Die DEFA wagte einen Neuanfang, aber das Ergebnis war überraschend: die ersten ostdeutschen Filme versuchten zwar ihre nationalsozialistische Vergangenheit zu bewältigen, die daraus resultierenden antifaschistischen Filme ähnelten in ihrer ästhetischen Gestaltung jedoch oft den Nazi-Propagandafilmen.

In der gleichen Weise faszinieren mich kleine Anektoden oder Geschichten, die sich hinter den Kulissen abspielten. Man nehme zum beispiel den Schauspieler Joachim Gottschalk: vor dem Nationalsozialismus war er sehr berühmt und teilte die Bühne mit Schauspielkollegin Ilse Steppat in Berlin. Nach seinem tragischen Tod im Jahre 1941 spielte Steppat seine Ehefrau in Kurt Maetzigs Ehe im Schatten, eine Verfilmung von Gottschalks Geschichte, die erst nach dem Krieg durch diesen Film richtig bekannt wurde. Übrigens war die US-Premiere im Met Theater in New York am 16. September 1948.

Um nun die Frage zu beantworten: jeder einzelne Film des DEFA Archives ist mir sehr wichtig. Sogar ein hardcore-ostdeutscher Propagandafilm kann interessante geschichtliche Aspekte offenbaren. Wenn die Frage gelautet hätte, ob alle DEFA Filme es verdient hätten, noch einmal in Kinos gezeigt zu werden, wäre meine Antwort anders gewesen. Aber jeder dieser Filme ist ein Gegenstand der Forschung und Diskussion.

Sie haben die Filmreihe Awarded! Films from Behind the Wall kuratiert.

Ja. Es fasziniert mich, dass ostdeutsche Filme es schafften, dem Eisernen Vorhang zu entkommen und schon lange vor dem Mauerfall internationale Anerkennung zu erlangen. Und ich plädiere nachdrücklich, dass ostdeutsche Filme einen wichtigen Beitrag in der internationalen Filmgeschichte leisten können. 

Bezüglich der Filmreihe: ich erinnere mich, dass Sie und ich uns an einem kalten und verregneten Tag in Ihrem Büro im Goethe-Institut Chicago im Frühjahr 2012 trafen. Ich sprach dabei von der Filmsammlung der DEFA Film Library und mögliche Projekte und nahm Ihr ehrliches Interesse und Ihre Begeisterung wahr. Wieso sollten wir nicht ein Programm mit DDR Filmen zeigen, welche vor 1989 große internationale Preise gewannen oder Filme, die für den Oskar eingereicht wurden? Als ich Ihnen von meinen Ideen erzählte, wußte ich, dass Sie versuchen würden, so ein Programm zu unterstützen. Letztenendes entschieden wir uns ja dafür, ein Chicago-Film-Programm zu erstellen, mit einer Auswahl an Filmen, die in dieser Kombination noch nie gezeigt wurden. Viele Beteiligten, darunter das großartige Team des Gene Siskel Film Centers, der DEFA-Stiftung und des Goethe-Instituts Chicago, machten das 35mm-Screening erst möglich. Unter den acht selektierten Filmen war unter anderem Roland Gräfs biografischer Film Fallada – Letztes Kapitel (1988). Da es Probleme mit den Musikrechten gab, wurde dieser Film seit Jahren nicht mehr im Kino gezeigt. Deshalb sind wir besonders der DEFA-Stiftung dankbar, dass sie diese rechtlichen Probleme lösen konnte, damit der Film zurück an die Leinwand in Chicago gebracht werden konnte, wo der Schauspieler Jörg Gudzuhn einen Silver Hugo für besten Schauspieler beim Chicago International Film Festival im Jahre 1989 gewann.

Der internationale Aspekt der DEFA Filme ist für Sie von besonderer Bedeutung, oder?

Ich nutze jede Gelegenheit zu betonen, dass diese Filme während dem Kalten Krieg ein internationales Publikum angesprochen haben, wenn auch ein eingeschränktes. Die Liste der international preisgekrönten DEFA Filme—ich spreche hier nicht über osteuropäische Filmfestspiele, sondern über Cannes, Venedig, Edinburg, Chicago, West-Berlin—ist sehr beeindruckend. Ich möchte, dass die Leute verstehen, dass ostdeutsche Filme nicht hinter der Mauer lungerten und nur in der DDR gezeigt wurden. Ein internationaler Austausch erfolgte durchwegs während den Filmmessen—beispielsweise durch Koproduktionen und mit internationalen Organisationen wie das FIAF (International Federation of Film Archives)—welche solche Events, wie zum Beispiel die Retrospektive des ostdeutschen Kinos beim Museum of Modern Art in New York im Jahre 1975, erst möglich machten. Das staatliche Filmarchiv der DDR war bereits seit den späten 1950er Teil der FIAF. Solche Mitgliedschaften öffneten viele interessante Türen für Networking und Möglichkeiten für Filmevents. Ich habe letztens erst gelesen, dass Maetzig, der immerhin ein DEFA Direktor war, auch Vize Präsident des FICC (International Association of Film Clubs) war.

Einer meiner Lieblingsgeschichten hat jedoch mit der Filmvorführung von Turlis Abenteuer (Reg. Walter Beck, 1967) in den späten 60er Jahren in den USA zu tun. Ron Merk, ein amerikanischer Produzent, Direktor und Vertreiber seit 1967, erwarb die Rechte für diesen Film und zeigte ihn mit Erfolg bei seinem berühmten „Kiddie Matinée“. Ich bin mir sicher, dass viele Amerikaner sich noch an die Filmreihe erinnern werden. Oder vielleicht erinnern sie sich an die Pinocchio Realfilmreihe, die von Merk produzierte. Die Marionette Pinocchio, welche das Publikum durch das gesamte Programm führte, war eigentlich eine Neuschöpfung der Pinocchio Puppe in Turli—diese wurde im engen Dialog mit Künstlern geschaffen, die auch die berühmten tschechischen Puppen Spejbls und Hurvinek entworfen hatten. Wer wusste es bereits in den späten 60ern, dass dieser berühmte „amerikanische“ Pinocchio in Ostdeutschland auf die Welt kam und tschechische Eltern hatte?

Durch das Wesen ihrer Arbeit und der Zeit, in der sie beschäftigt waren, lebten bzw. leben DEFA Direktoren interessante Leben. Gibt es eine bestimmte Biografie, welche Sie besonders überraschte?

Ich bin sehr froh, dass ich die Möglichkeit hatte, mit Filmen zu arbeiten, die es geschafft haben, so viele herausragende Filmkünstler zu kreieren. Es macht mich immer noch sehr glücklich, dass ich den Direktor Frank Beyer zweimal treffen durfte —einmal 2002 als er unser Artist-In-Residence war und einmal 2005 bei unserem MoMA Event. Ich erinnere mich noch sehr genau an unser Gespräch über seine Studien an der FAMU, der berühmten Filmschule in Prag, über seine Arbeit an der DEFA und seine Erfahrungen, als sein Film Spur der Steine (1966) verboten wurde und was das für gravierende berufliche Folgen für ihn hatte. Sein großes Interesse am Leben anderer Leute und die Arbeit für die DEFA Film Library hat mich immer schon sehr beeindruckt.

Ich muss dazusagen: es gibt einen Direktor, den ich gerne kennengelernt hätte und zwar den in den Niederlanden geborene Dokumentarfilmemacher Joris Ivens. Ivens hat in den 1950er Jahren für das DEFA Documentary Film Studio gearbeitet und setzte seine Arbeit mit ostdeutschen Filmen bis in die späten 60er fort. Sein Leben war wahrlich abenteuerlich. Er hat nicht nur einen seiner bekanntesten Filme, Die spanische Welt (1937), während des Spanischen Bürgerkriegs gedreht, sondern filmte, lebte und arbeitete in aller Welt und kannte eine Menge wichtiger Künstler persönlich, wie zum Beispiel die russischen Regisseure Sergei Eisenstein und Vsevolod Pudovkin, Ernest Hemingway, die Journalistin Martha Gellhorn, den in Brasilien geborene Regisseur Alberto Calvacanti, die Schauspieler Simone Signoret und Gérard Philipe und viele mehr. Er sollte dafür anerkannt werden, dass er so viel internationalen Flair und wichtige Kontakte in die DEFA Documentary Film Studios brachte.

Die DEFA Film Library ist einer der Hauptorganisatoren für DDR Filme in den USA. Haben andere Länder ähnliche Institutionen oder ist die Organisation an der UMass Amherst einzigartig?

Unsere DEFA Film Library ist das einzige Archiv und Forschungszentrum außerhalb Deutschlands, das sich der ostdeutschen Filmproduktion widmet. Das Institut wurde offiziell von Professor Barton Byg im Jahre 1993 gegründet, wobei Barton lange davor schon mit DEFA Filmen zu tun hatte. Er führte nicht nur Forschungsarbeiten durch, sondern organisierte DEFA Filmereignisse, ermächtige DEFA Filme für nordamerikanische Filmverleihe und gründete natürlich die DEFA Film Library Sammlung.

Barton erwähnt immer wieder, dass vor allem eine Tournee ddie Gründung der DEFA Film Library inspiriert hat: im Herbst 1989 organisierte er nämlich die erste US-Tournee für die dokumentarische Filmemacherin Helke Misselwitz mit ihrem Film Winter Adé (1987). Ein Jahr zuvor feierte der Film in Ostdeutschland Premiere. Barton konnte eine Kopie in die USA schaffen und schickte Helke auf eine Marathonfahrt durch diverse Universitäten und Colleges im ganzen Land. Helke, welche von ihrem Kameramann Thomas Plenert und ihrer Editorin Gudrun Plenert begleitet wurde, präsentierte ihren Film auch in Neuengland und zwar am Abend des Mauerfalls.

Ich erinnere mich als Barton Anfang der 1990er Jahre zum PROGRESS Film-Verleih in Berlin kam—ich arbeitete zu dem Zeitpunkt dort. Er wollte die Rechte für die 35mm und 16mm DEFA Kopien, welche er in der verlassenen ostdeutschen Botschaft in New York ergattert hatte und suchte nach einer Möglichkeit, ostdeutsche Filme nach Nordamerika zu bringen. Es dauerte bis 1993 bis alle Verträge unterschrieben waren und die Geschäftspartner in Deutschland die Gründung der DEFA Library erlaubten.

Seitdem arbeitet die DEFA Film Library daran, ein stärkeres Interesse an der Geschichte der ostdeutschen Filmindustrie zu wecken. Wir versuchen auch, einen Trend zu setzen und neue Bereiche der Forschung über die Filmgeschichte der DDR im Zusammenhang mit der internationalen Filmgeschichte zu fördern. Zum Beispiel, unsere bevorstehende East German Summer Film Institute biennial mit dem Titel DEFA & Amerika: Culture Wars, Culture Contact (7.-14. Juli 2013) bearbeitet unterschiedliche Dimensionen der Beziehung zwischen der Filmindustrie der DDR und den USA. Geschäftsleiter Dr. Skyler Ardnt-Briggs und Doktorantin Victoria Rizo Lenshyn, welche diese Einrichtung planen, entdeckten Filme, die noch nie zuvor außerhalb Ostdeutschlands gezeigt wurden und arbeiten an interessanten Workshops der DDR Propaganda, Spionage und Massenunterhaltung, welche hoffentlich den Anfang einer neuen Forschungsidee darstellen werden.

… und zwischen uns wird es in Zukunft auch weitere Zusammenarbeiten geben!

Genau! Nach unserem erfolgreichen DEFA Program in Chicago planen wir ja nun ein Programm über experimentelle Super 8 Filme, welche in der DDR produziert wurden. Weiteres haben wir bereits die Mittelwest-Premiere aller sechs neuen DEFA Film Library Releases diesen Herbst zeitlich festgelegt.