Prix Europa “We want good material to be developed”

Susanne Hoffmann
Susanne Hoffmann | Photo (detail): © Prix Europa - prixeuropa.eu

What moves media-makers in Europe? Nowhere else is this to be seen in a such a compact way and on such a high level as at the Prix Europa. Check out this interview with Festival Director, Susanne Hoffmann, on the festival’s 30th anniversary.

Ms. Hoffmann, hardly anyone outside the media sector knows anything about the Prix Europa. It is, however, the biggest festival of its kind. So what is it all about?

The Prix Europa is a competition to select and honour the best European TV, radio and online productions of the year. And there are hundreds of European media-makers involved in deciding who deserves the awards. 231 productions have been nominated 2016, all of them of top-calibre quality.

How do you define quality?

For me, a program has quality if it broadens my horizon, makes me reflect on its content. For our professional judges the focus is, of course, on craftsmanship. On the ballot paper, however, there is also the criterion “Overall Impression”. And once again we are faced with the question – how did the program grab me?

So the Prix Europa is a kind of competitive exhibition of European media?

Alongside the honouring of the best, we are particularly interested in developing contact with the media-makers. The Prix Europa is a work festival, a work camp, if you like. Apart from the awards ceremony there are no big lavish events. The most important thing is the run-up week before the festival, with everybody intensely watching and listening to what our colleagues have produced.

Why is that so important?

The authors often work alone and under difficult conditions and are given little feedback. They are lonely people who have stories they simply have to get off their chest. Every now and then they have to have the feeling – I'm not alone.

To know the viewing and listening habits of other countries

One of the Prix Europa’s special features is the open jury session. How are they organised?

The authors sit among the judges during the performance and afterwards everybody joins in the discussion. What is particularly valuable is the fact that the exchange takes place on a European level. Many productions today are co-productions, which are sold abroad. It is important to know the viewing and listening habits of other countries.

For movies and TV series subtitles can be displayed, but how does that work when listening to a radio entry?

Every manuscript is translated into English. So you listen to a Finnish radio play in the original and have the English script in your hands. There is always a special atmosphere whenever these entries are being assessed – as if you were in a church. A hundred people are sitting there in one room, all of them as quiet as a mouse, and highly concentrated – heaven forbid if a chair were to creak.

The continent is changing

2016 you have received entries from 35 countries. Does that mean that your definition of Europe goes beyond the 28 member states of the EU?

Absolutely! When it all first started in Amsterdam back in 1987, only EU countries took part. The idea back then was for the Prix Europa to always be held in the European capital of culture of that particular year. In 1988 it was Berlin and that is where we clearly decided and stated that we see Europe as a continent. No way were we prepared to exclude the East! At the time GDR TV took part, and Bulgaria, too. The idea of the festival touring round Europe, at some point, became too expensive and that is why we have been firmly based in Berlin since 1996.

As the theme for this year’s 30th anniversary of the festival you have chosen “Changing Europe”. Why?

We mean it in an ambiguous way. Europe is changing. And we are changing Europe. Programme makers are players, not just neutral observers. This has become clear to many over the past few years. The following question speaks for itself – should we speak of  a “refugee crisis”? Or should we find another way of expressing this?

Every year in your festival program, you see what is moving Europe. What are the issues at the moment?

Crises! All over the place! Economic crises, terror, the division of society, migration of peoples – the continent is changing. This is not only evident in documentaries, but also in fiction entries. Many feature films and series these days are political. There is no cosy, ideal world.

Made in Germany

Germany is Europe’s largest media producer. Does that automatically mean that it also has a lot of good ideas for programs?

A lot of good things are “Made in Germany”. 36 productions from Germany have been entered at the festival. For example, the feature film Das Weiße Kaninchen (The White Rabbit), which deals with cyber-grooming. And the series Ku'damm 56. But the German broadcasters are like big container ships – it takes time for things to start moving. Now that so much has changed in the media landscape, the moment has come for small countries to make the big time. They are flexible and forced to cooperate when it comes to larger projects. Belgium, Holland and the Scandinavian countries do this very well.

And who is setting the tone in the online sector?

We tend to think that the Internet is so strongly dominated by English, but I find France very strong. In our online category the most exciting and also the most expensive things come from there.

There are 13 program categories at the Prix Europa. “Digital Audio” has been added this year. What sort of things can we listen to in this category?

We want to show that exciting things are also being produced outside the broadcasting stations. In the audio field, in particular, individual authors can produce good things cheaply and without having to go through anything complicated. On an international level, the trend is for great features and radio plays to be produced outside the stations and to be financed differently. We like that. We want good material to be developed and to be listened to by as many people as possible – no matter what or where.

Susanne Hoffmann is the Festival Director of the Prix Europa and Secretary-General of Input, an international conference for public television stations. She has been a member of the team since the Prix Europa first kicked off in 1987.

Prix Europa 2016 „Wir wollen, dass gute Stoffe entwickelt werden“

Susanne Hoffmann
Susanne Hoffmann | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Prix Europa - prixeuropa.eu

Was bewegt Medienmacher in Europa? Nirgendwo kann man das so kompakt und auf hohem Niveau erleben wie beim Prix Europa. Ein Gespräch zum Jubiläum des 30. Festival-Jahrgangs mit der Festivaldirektorin Susanne Hoffmann.

Frau Hoffmann, den Prix Europa kennt außerhalb der Medienbranche kaum jemand. Dabei ist es das größte Festival seiner Art. Worum geht es?

Der Prix Europa ist ein Wettbewerb zur Wahl der Besten Europäischen TV-, Radio- und Online-Produktionen des Jahres. Und wer diese Auszeichnung verdient, entscheiden Hunderte von europäischen Medienmachern. Im Jahr 2016 sind dafür 231 Produktionen mit einem hohen Qualitätsanspruch nominiert.

Wie definieren Sie Qualität?

Für mich hat ein Programm Qualität, wenn es meinen Horizont erweitert, mich zum Nachdenken bringt. Für unsere Fachjuroren steht natürlich besonders die handwerkliche Qualität im Vordergrund. Aber auf den Stimmzetteln gibt es auch das Kriterium „Overall impression“, also Gesamteindruck. Und da sind wir wieder bei der Frage: Hat mich das Programm erreicht? 

Also ist der Prix Europa eine Art Leistungsschau der europäischen Medien?

Uns geht es neben der Auszeichnung der Besten besonders auch um die Begegnung der Medienmacher. Der Prix Europa ist ein Arbeitsfestival, ein Workcamp. Bei uns gibt es außer der Preisverleihung keine großen Galas. Das Wichtigste ist die Woche davor, das intensive Sehen und Hören dessen was die Kollegen gemacht haben.

Warum ist das so wichtig?

Die Autoren arbeiten oft sehr isoliert unter schwierigen Bedingungen und bekommen wenig Feedback. Das sind einsame Menschen, die Geschichten haben, die sie unbedingt erzählen wollen. Die müssen zwischendurch mal das Gefühl haben: Ich bin nicht allein.

Die Seh- und Hörgewohnheiten anderer Länder kennen

Eine Besonderheit des Prix Europa sind die offenen Jurysitzungen. Wie laufen die ab?

Die Autoren sitzen mit in der Vorführung und danach wird gemeinsam diskutiert. Das Wertvolle daran ist der Austausch auf europäischer Ebene. Viele Produktionen sind ja heute Koproduktionen, die ins Ausland verkauft werden. Da ist es wichtig, die Seh- und Hörgewohnheiten anderer Länder zu kennen.

Bei Filmen und Serien kann man Untertitel einblenden. Wie funktioniert das gemeinsame Hören bei den Radiostücken?

Jedes Manuskript wird ins Englische übersetzt. Sie hören also ein finnisches Originalhörspiel und haben dazu das englische Skript in der Hand. Bei diesen Vorführungen herrscht eine besondere Atmosphäre – wie in der Kirche. Da sitzen hundert Leute muxmäuschenstill und hochkonzentriert in einem Raum und kein Stuhl darf knarren.

Europa verändert sich

Sie haben 2016 Einreichungen aus 35 Ländern bekommen. Das heißt, Sie definieren Europa über die 28 Mitglieder der EU hinaus?

Unbedingt! Am Anfang, 1987 in Amsterdam, waren nur die EU-Staaten dabei. Der Prix Europa sollte ursprünglich immer in der jeweiligen europäischen Kulturhauptstadt stattfinden. 1988 war das Berlin und da haben wir ganz klar gesagt: Europa sehen wir als Kontinent. Wir schließen den Osten nicht aus! Das Fernsehen der DDR war damals dabei, Bulgarien auch. Die Reise des Festivals durch Europa wurde irgendwann zu aufwendig, deswegen sind wir seit 1996 fest in Berlin verortet.

Als Motto haben Sie 2016 „Changing Europe“ gewählt. Warum?

Das ist doppeldeutig gemeint. Europa verändert sich. Und wir verändern Europa. Programmmacher sind Akteure, nicht nur neutrale Beobachter. Das ist vielen im letzten Jahr klar geworden. Allein die Frage: Sprechen wir von „Flüchtlingskrise“? Oder finden wir andere Worte?

Sie sehen in Ihrem Programm jedes Jahr, was Europa bewegt. Welche Themen sind das im Moment?

Krise! Überall! Wirtschaftskrisen, Terror, die Spaltung der Gesellschaft, Völkerwanderung – der Kontinent verändert sich. Das zeigt sich nicht nur in Dokumentationen, sondern auch im Fiktionalen. Viele Spielfilme und Serien sind heute politisch. Es gibt keine heile Welt.

Made in Germany

Deutschland hat die größte Medienproduktion in Europa. Heißt das automatisch, dass von hier auch besonders viele gute Programmideen kommen?

Es gibt sehr viel Gutes „made in Germany“: Wir zeigen im Wettbewerb 36 Produktionen aus Deutschland. Zum Beispiel den Spielfilm Das weiße Kaninchen, wo es um Cyber-Grooming geht. Und die Serie Ku'damm 56. Aber die deutschen Sender sind große Containerschiffe – es dauert, bis sich da was bewegt. Jetzt, wo sich so vieles in der Medienlandschaft ändert, ist der Moment der kleinen Länder gekommen. Die sind beweglich und gezwungen, für größere Projekte miteinander zu kooperieren. Belgien, Holland und die skandinavischen Länder können das sehr gut.

Und wer gibt im Online-Bereich den Ton an?

Man denkt ja immer, Internet sei so englisch dominiert, aber ich finde Frankreich sehr stark. In unserer Onlinekategorie kommen die spannendsten und auch die teuersten Sachen von dort.

Es gibt insgesamt 13 Programmkategorien beim Prix Europa. Neu dazugekommen ist in diesem Jahr „Digital Audio“. Was gibt es da zu hören?

Wir wollen zeigen, dass auch außerhalb der Rundfunkhäuser Spannendes produziert wird. Gerade im Audiobereich kann man als einzelner Autor sehr unkompliziert und günstig gute Sachen machen. Es ist ein internationaler Trend, dass tolle Features und Hörspiele auch außerhalb der Sender entstehen und sich auch anders finanzieren. Das finden wir gut. Wir wollen, dass gute Stoffe entwickelt werden und dass möglichst viele Menschen sie hören – egal wo.

Susanne Hoffmann ist Festivaldirektorin des Prix Europa und Generalsekretärin von Input, eine internationale Konferenz für öffentlich-rechtliches Fernsehen. Sie ist seit den Anfängen des Prix Europa 1987 mit im Team.