Video Game Design Politics in the Gaming World of Paolo Pedercini

Games and Politics Exhibition at Goethe-Institut Washington
© Goethe-Institut, Marlou Taenzer

Paolo Pedercini’s passion for video game design has brought the current political climate and social injustices to the screens of the Games and Politics exhibit at the Goethe-Institut.

The opening of the Games and Politics exhibit took place at the Goethe-Institut in Washington on March 15th. The exhibit was developed by the Center for Art and Media Karlsruhe (Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe) in cooperation with the Goethe-Institut. The exhibit consists of 16 different games, focusing on either the current political climate or social injustices. With games such as Democracy III which allows the player to make political decisions for a city and Perfect Woman focusing on gender inequality, players are able to experiment with their own political potential.

Game designer Paolo Pedercini, whose games Phonestory and Unmanned are featured in the exhibit, attended the opening night of the interactive exhibit at the Goethe-Institut in Washington DC.

Paolo Pedercini Photo: private Born in 1981 in Northern Italy, Pedercini wasn’t an avid gamer growing up. Instead he appreciated comic books and participated in bands. He didn’t consider a career in game design until the early 2000s, when he observed the emergence of alternative forms of media. He also began to realize the important role that media plays in culture, with events such as the election of Silvio Berlusconi in Italy. Although the audience for video games was expanding drastically, not much work was being done in the field of video game design and by 2003, Pedercini recognized the need for game designers and decided to begin pursuing the profession.

His inspiration for the Games and Politics exhibit was multi-faceted. Recent political events in the United States as well as the Foxconn suicides caused him to think more about political movements and social injustice. He was contacted by an activist group who asked him to create a game about social injustice. Pedercini accepted and decided to expand the project to include additional games focusing on other prominent issues currently facing society.

By designing video games focusing on issues of social justice and political movements, Pedercini hopes to raise awareness through a new form of media, video games.

Currently, Pedercini resides in Pittsburgh and teaches Experimental Game Design and Media Production courses at Carnegie Mellon University’s School of Art.

Game Design Politik in der Gaming-Welt des Paolo Pedercini

Games and Politics Ausstellung, Goethe-Institut Washington
© Goethe-Institut, Marlou Taenzer

Mit seiner Leidenschaft für Game Design bannt Paolo Pedercini das heutige politische Klima und soziale Ungleichheit auf die Videogame-Bildschirme der Ausstellung Games and Politics des Goethe-Instituts.

Am 15. März 2017 wurde die Ausstellung Games and Politics am Goethe-Institut Washington eröffnet. Die vom Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe (ZKM) in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut entwickelte Ausstellung setzt sich aus 16 unterschiedlichen Spielen zusammen, die sich mit dem aktuellen politischen Klima und sozialer Ungerechtigkeit befassen. Im Rahmen von Games wie „Democracy III“, bei dem der Spieler politische Entscheidungen für eine Stadt trifft, und „Perfect Woman“, bei dem es um die mangelnde Gleichstellung der Geschlechter geht, können Spieler mit ihrem eigenen politischen Potenzial experimentieren.

Game-Designer Paolo Pedercini, der mit „Phonestory“ und „Unmanned“ bei der Ausstellung vertreten ist, nahm an der feierlichen Eröffnung der interaktiven Ausstellung im Goethe-Institut Washington, DC teil.

Paolo Pedercini Foto: privat In jungen Jahren war der 1981 in Norditalien geborene Künstler kein großer Fan von Computerspielen. Stattdessen bevorzugte er Comics und machte Musik mit örtlichen Bands. Der Beruf des Game-Designers erweckte erst sein Interesse, als er Anfang der 2000er das Aufkommen alternativer Medienformen beobachtete. Gleichzeitig rückte ihm angesichts von Ereignissen wie der Wahl Silvio Berlusconis das Thema der kulturellen Macht ins Bewusstsein. Obwohl das Publikum für Videogames rasant wuchs, wurde im Bereich Game Design nur wenig Arbeit geleistet. 2003 erkannte Pedercini den Bedarf wendete sich dem Design von Videogames zu.

Für die Ausstellung Games and Politics ließ er sich von sehr unterschiedlichen Dingen inspirieren. Ein aktuelles politisches Ereignis in den USA sowie die Selbstmordserie beim iPhone-Hersteller Foxconn bewegten ihn, stärker über politische Bewegungen und soziale Ungerechtigkeit nachzudenken. Als eine Aktivistengruppe ihn bat, ein Spiel über soziale Ungerechtigkeit zu entwickeln, nahm Pedercini die Herausforderung an und beschloss, das Projekt auf weitere Spiele zu wichtigen Fragen auszudehnen, mit denen die Gesellschaft aktuell konfrontiert ist.

Durch die Gestaltung von Videogames, die sich mit Fragen der sozialen Gerechtigkeit und mit politischen Bewegungen befassen, möchte Pedercini diese neue Medienform nutzen, um Bewusstsein zu schaffen.

Aktuell lebt Pedercini in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania und unterrichtet experimentelles Game Design und Medienproduktion an der Kunsthochschule der Carnegie Mellon University.