Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Andreas Höfer
Cinematographer

At Film Noise: On Film with Ruth Toma, Frank Künster, and Andreas Höfer
Saturday, November 16 at 4:15 pm

At Gundermann
Sunday, November 17 at 6:15 pm (Reception), 7:00 pm (Screening)

Andreas Höfer © Conny KleinAndreas Höfer © Conny Klein

Biography

Andreas Höfer was born on March 10, 1964, in the film city of Potsdam-Babelsberg, where he studied camera at the Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen "Konrad Wolf.“ He graduated with a diploma. At the end of the 1980s, his first (short) films appeared on the big screen at the University, all made together with his fellow student Andreas Dresen, and, like Zug in die Ferne, made it into the programme and competition of the Oberhausen Short Film Festival or the Berlinale.

Over the next few years and decades, the student projects developed into an extremely fruitful collaboration with Dresen. Höfer was responsible for the camera in their joint German debut Stilles Land, in TV productions of the 1990s and in classics of modern German cinema such as Nachtgestalten (Night Shapes) (1999), Herr Wichmann von der CDU (Mr. Wichmann of the Christian Democrats) (2003), or Sommer vorm Balkon (Summer in Berlin) (2005).

Andreas Höfer's most recent collaboration with Andreas Dresen, the film portrait Gundermann about the singer-songwriter of the same name, was shot, like so many of their collaborations, at original locations. In this case, the film was made in the Lausitz coal-mining area. Höfer's work, demonstrating design seeking authenticity, was nominated for the German Film Prize 2019.

Today Höfer is associated with his alma mater, the Film University Babelsberg Konrad Wolf, as a recurring lecturer in photography, which he also pursues in exhibitions and publications.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Andreas Höfer
Kameramann

Für Gundermann
Sonntag, 17. November, 19 Uhr

Andreas Höfer © Conny KleinAndreas Höfer © Conny Klein

Biografie

Andreas Höfer wurde am 10. März 1964 in der Filmstadt Potsdam-Babelsberg geboren, wo er ein Kamerastudium an der Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen "Konrad Wolf" aufnahm, welches er mit Diplom abschloss. Ende der 1980er Jahre kamen noch an der Universität seine ersten (Kurz-)Filme auf die Leinwand, die alle gemeinsam mit seinem Kommilitonen Andreas Dresen entstanden und es wie Zug in die Ferne in Programm und Wettbewerb der Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen oder der Berlinale schafften.

Aus den studentischen Projekten entwickelte sich in den nächsten Jahren und Jahrzehnten eine äußerst fruchtbare Zusammenarbeit mit Dresen. Höfer zeichnete für die Kamera verantwortlich bei ihrem gemeinsamen bundesdeutschen Debüt Stilles Land, bei TV-Produktionen der 1990er und bei Klassikern des neueren deutschen Kinos wie Nachtgestalten (1999), Herr Wichmann von der CDU (2003) oder Sommer vorm Balkon (2005).

Andreas Höfers jüngste Zusammenarbeit mit Andreas Dresen, das Filmportrait Gundermann über den gleichnamigen Liedermacher wurde wie so viele ihrer Kollaborationen an Originalschauplätzen, in diesem Fall im Lausitzer Kohlerevier, gedreht, Höfers nach Authentizität suchende Bildgestaltung wurde für den Deutschen Filmpreis 2019 nominiert.

Seiner Alma Mater, der Filmuniversität Babelsberg Konrad Wolf, ist Höfer heute als wiederkehrender Dozent für Fotografie verbunden, welcher er auch in Ausstellungen und Veröffentlichungen nachgeht.

Top