Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Head-on
Wild, raw, and full of drama

Still image from "Head-on", directed by Fatih Akin, 2003
After years Sibel (Sibel Kekilli) and Cahit (Birol Ünel) meet in Istanbul | Photo (detail): Kerstin Stelter © WÜSTE Film

You may love or hate this movie, but there is hardly room for anything in between. Fatih Akin’s romantic drama is a brutally honest portrayal of the cultural rift that divides two German Turks.

By Julia Deshkin

Sibel (Sibel Kekilli) and Cahit (Birol Ünel) meet in a psychiatric clinic following failed suicide attempts. He, an embittered alcoholic for whom life no longer has any meaning, gets into his car one night and drives at full speed into a wall. She has slashed her wrists in despair because her Turkish family does not allow her to live the life that she wants. Sibel talks Cahit into marrying her for show so that her family will stop hassling her and finally let her off the leash. But when the pair begin to fall in love despite their best intentions, the plot takes a new turn with dramatic consequences.

Head-on sparked a great deal of discussion in Germany in 2004 – on a number of different levels. The coarse language and unadulterated violence and sex scenes that leave nothing to the imagination are one thing. The other far more delicate issue is the fact that the director Fatih Akin gives a brutally honest portrayal of the cultural rift that divides German Turks in this award-winning movie. And this is something that had not been done before in the German film world, or not in this form, at least. But what sort of cultural rift, exactly? Even the dialogs between the actors themselves are a mixture of German and Turkish. The protagonists switch as a matter of course between two languages, cultures, indeed worlds, which blend into one despite being so very different. Much like the lives of the two lead actors, who could hardly be more different in spite of their shared origins.

Two worlds, one story

Sibel and Cahit, the children of Turkish guest workers, grew up in a fairly open, cosmopolitan society in Germany. Whereas Cahit has nothing more to do with his Turkish roots, Sibel was brought up in the traditional Turkish manner. While she respects her family, her thirst for freedom and self-determination is so great that she is ready to do almost anything. Although her father would have liked a better match for his daughter, Cahit is at least a Turk, so he agrees to the marriage. The life for which Sibel has yearned for so long can finally begin: she has her navel pierced, goes out dancing all night, and sleeps with any man she chooses. Cahit, who lives from one day to the next and has never bothered about anything or anyone, finds Sibel’s lust for life contagious – albeit subconsciously – and falls in love with her.

Consequences of the Film

When their sham marriage comes to light as a result of a tragic accident, Sibel is forced to flee. Her brother, who once broke her nose simply because she held hands with a boy, chases her down the street, incensed with rage. Through her now public affairs, she has soiled the family’s honor, which is taken very seriously in traditional Turkish families – Sibel realizes that her father has disowned her and that there is no way back for her now.

The actress who plays Sibel is herself the daughter of Turkish immigrants. With a population of around 1.48 million people, Turks are the largest group of migrants in Germany. In later interviews, she admitted that she had been reviled for her role in Head-on, mainly by her fellow countrymen, and had even been threatened.

Fatih Akin once explained that he had attempted to portray three perspectives when writing Head-on: the German, the German-Turkish, and the Turkish. Perhaps the secret to this movie’s success is precisely this wide range of viewpoints that touches all viewers emotionally in some way or another. At the Berlinale 2004, one of the leading film festivals alongside Cannes and Venice, Head-on was awarded the Golden Bear. At the time, it was the first German movie to win this award in 18 years.
 

author

Julia Deshkin © Julia Deshkin Julia Deshkin has worked as an Editor for various daily newspapers in Germany. Her interest in non-mainstream movies was sparked by her journalistic work for the environmental initiative “Films for the Earth”.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Gegen die Wand
Wild, rau und voller Drama

Filmstill aus „Gegen die Wand", Regie: Fatih Akin, 2003
Nach Jahren treffen sich Sibel (Sibel Kekilli) und Cahit (Birol Ünel) in Istanbul | Foto (Ausschnitt): Kerstin Stelter © WÜSTE Film

Man kann diesen Film lieben oder hassen, für etwas dazwischen ist kaum Platz. Das Liebesdrama von Fatih Akin zeigt schonungslos ehrlich den kulturellen Zwiespalt zweier Deutschtürken.

Von Julia Deshkin

Sibel (Sibel Kekilli) und Cahit (Birol Ünel) begegnen sich nach ihren gescheiterten Selbstmordversuchen in der Psychiatrie. Er, ein verbitterter Alkoholiker, der keinen Sinn mehr im Leben sieht, fährt eines Nachts mit dem Auto ungebremst gegen eine Wand. Sie hat sich aus Verzweiflung die Pulsadern aufgeschnitten, weil ihre türkische Familie sie nicht das Leben leben lässt, das sie will. Sibel überredet Cahit dazu, mit ihr eine Scheinehe einzugehen, damit ihre Familie Ruhe gibt und sie sich endlich austoben kann. Als sich zwischen den beiden doch so etwas wie Liebe anbahnt, nimmt die Geschichte eine folgenschwere Wendung.

Gegen die Wand sorgte 2004 in Deutschland für Gesprächsstoff, und das gleich auf mehreren Ebenen. Die derben Sprüche, die unverblümte Gewalt und Sex-szenen, bei denen nichts ausgelassen wird, sind das eine. Das andere, wesentlich heiklere Thema, ist die Tatsache, dass Regisseur Fatih Akin in diesem preisgekrönten Streifen schonungslos ehrlich die kulturelle Zerrissenheit von Deutschtürken darstellt. Etwas, das es bis dato in der deutschen Filmwelt in der Form nicht gegeben hat. Doch was genau ist damit gemeint – kulturelle Zerrissenheit? Schon die Dialoge der Schauspieler sind eine Mischung aus Deutsch und Türkisch. Die Protagonisten bewegen sich wie selbstverständlich zwischen zwei Sprachen, Kulturen, ja eigentlich Welten, die mit einander verschmelzen, obwohl sie doch so unterschiedlich sind. Ähnlich wie die Leben der beiden Hauptdarsteller, die trotz ihrer gleichen Herkunft kaum unterschiedlicher sein könnten.

Zwei Welten, eine Geschichte

Sibel und Cahit sind als Kinder von türkischen Gastarbeitern in einer recht weltoffenen Gesellschaft in Deutschland aufgewachsen. Während Cahit mit seinen türkischen Wurzeln nichts mehr am Hut hat, wurde Sibel traditionell türkisch erzogen. Sie respektiert ihre Familie, doch ihr Durst nach Freiheit und Selbstbestimmtheit ist so groß, dass sie zu allem bereit ist. Ihr Vater hätte sich zwar eine bessere Partie für seine Tochter gewünscht, doch immerhin ist Cahit Türke, also willigt er in die Ehe ein. Für Sibel beginnt endlich das  Leben, nach dem sie sich so lange gesehnt hat: Sie lässt sich den Bauchnabel piercen, tanzt die Nächte durch und schläft mit Männern, die ihr gefallen. Cahit, der von einem Tag in den anderen gelebt und sich um nichts und niemanden gekümmert hat, lässt sich von Sibels Lebenslust, wenn auch nur unterbewusst, anstecken und verliebt sich in sie.

Konsequenzen nach dem Film

Als ihre Scheinehe durch einen tragischen Unfall auffliegt, muss Sibel fliehen. Ihr Bruder, der ihr einst die Nase gebrochen hat, nur weil sie mit einem Jungen Händchen gehalten hat, jagt ihr wutentbrannt die Straße hinterher. Sie hat mit ihren öffentlich gewordenen Affären die Familienehre, die in traditionellen türkischen Familien einen hohen Stellenwert hat, beschmutzt – Sibel ist klar, dass ihr Vater sie verstoßen hat und sie nicht mehr zurück kann.

Sibel Kekilli, die Schauspielerin, die Sibel verkörpert, ist selbst die Tochter von türkischen Einwanderern, die mit rund 1,48 Millionen Menschen in Deutschland die größte Migrantengruppe bilden. In späteren Interviews verriet sie, dass sie wegen ihrer Rolle in Gegen die Wand vor allem von ihren Landsleuten übel beschimpft und sogar bedroht worden ist.

Fatih Akin erklärte einst, dass er beim Schreiben von Gegen die Wand drei Blickwinkel bedienen wollte: den deutschen, den deutsch-türkischen und den türkischen. Vielleicht ist gerade dieser breite Blickwinkel, der alle Zuschauer in irgendeiner Weise emotional berührt, das Erfolgsgeheimnis des Films. Bei der Berlinale 2004, einem der wichtigsten Filmfestivals neben Cannes und Venedig, wurde Gegen die Wand mit dem Goldenen Bären ausgezeichnet. Es war damals der erste deutsche Film nach 18 Jahren, der die Auszeichnung gewonnen hat.
 

autorin

Julia Deshkin © Julia Deshkin Julia Deshkin hat als Redakteurin für verschiedene Tageszeitungen in Deutschland gearbeitet. Ihr journalistisches Engagement für die Umweltinitiative „Filme für die Erde“ hat ihr Interesse an Filmen abseits des Mainstreams geweckt.

Zurück

Top