Martin Luther King Memorial Library
German Roots in Washington

  • Martin Luther King Library, August 2010. Photo Credit: Goethe-Institut Washington/William Gilcher
    Martin Luther King Library, August 2010.
  • Original model of the Martin Luther King Library, on display in the Washingtoniana Collection. Photo Credit: Goethe-Institut Washington/William Gilcher
    Original model of the Martin Luther King Library, on display in the Washingtoniana Collection.
Martin Luther King Memorial Library, the main branch of the DC Public Library, was designed by Ludwig Mies van der Rohe and built 1969-1972. The library is the only building designed by the great German-American architect in the District of Columbia. 

In addition to its collection of books and audio-visual materials, the library is home to the Washingtoniana Collection, an excellent source of books, photographs, and other materials related to DC history. A major highlight is the Washington Star collection of photographs and files from the former newspaper, which stopped publishing in 1981. 

In 2004, the DC Preservation League put the library on its "Watch List," consisting of "sites that [the League] feels are not in imminent danger, but deserve regular scrutiny because of potential future threats to their integrity." In the case of the MLK Library, the League notes "a lack of preventive maintenance and system upgrades" over the last three decades, adding further that "the District government's plans for the library are uncertain."

Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, Architect

Born in Aachen, Germany in 1886, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe worked in the family stone-carving business before he started his career as an architect, mostly at the studio and under the influence of Peter Behrens. Mies, as he was known to his friends, quickly identified himself with Russian Constructivism and the Dutch De Stijl group. He took his own first steps in a modern direction with his presentation of the faceted all-glass Friedrichstraße skyscraper model for a 1921 competition in Berlin.

A prime example of Mies van der Rohe’s exceptional qualities as an artistic director was the 1927 Weissenhof Project, a model housing colony in Stuttgart comprised of 21 buildings, designed by sixteen European architects.

In 1929, Mies van der Rohe constructed one of his European masterpieces: the temporary German Pavilion for the Barcelona exposition. In the same year, he became the director of the slowly faltering Bauhaus school, at that time located in Dessau. In 1932, the government-financed institution moved to Berlin, where it had to close under ensuing Nazi political pressure.

In 1937, seeing no future for himself in his homeland, Mies moved to Chicago. He wasn’t new to the world of construction in the United States. In 1932, the first architectural exhibition at the MoMA had included several of his projects. Mies van der Rohe became head of the architecture school at Chicago's Armour Institute of Technology and designed a new campus.

His severance from Germany was completed when he decided to become an US citizen in 1944. In his so-called “American Period,” Mies built a number of buildings in locations such as Chicago (including the Crown Hall at the College of Architecture, theFarnsworth House and the Chicago Federal Center), in New York (theSeagram Building), and in Washington (Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Library). All these buildings followed his concept of "skin and bones" architecture with minimal framework and free-flowing open space.

Despite all his years spent in the United States, Mies’ career as an architect culminated in his homeland. The Neue Nationalgalerie in Berlin, the New National Gallery, was Mies van der Rohe’s last work. He returned to Berlin several times during the construction, but he was unable to attend the 1968 opening. Ludwig Mies van der Rohe died in Chicago in 1969.

Martin Luther King Memorial Library

Martin Luther King Memorial Bibliothek
Deutsche Spuren in Washington

  • Martin Luther King Library, August 2010. Photo Credit: Goethe-Institut Washington/William Gilcher
    Martin Luther King Library, August 2010.
  • Original Modell der Martin Luther King Library, ausgestellt in der Washingtoniana Collection. Photo Credit: Goethe-Institut Washington/William Gilcher
    Original Modell der Martin Luther King Library, ausgestellt in der Washingtoniana Collection.
Die Martin Luther King Memorial Library, gebaut zwischen 1969 und 1972, ist die Hauptzweigstelle der DC Public Library und wurde von Ludwig Mies van der Rohe entworfen. Die Bibliothek ist das einzige Gebäude im District of Columbia, das von dem berühmten deutsch-amerikanischen Architekten entworfen wurde. 

Zusätzlich zu der großen Auswahl an Büchern und audiovisuellen Medien stellt die Washingtoniana Collection eine hervorragende Auswahl an Büchern, Fotografien und anderen Materialen zur Geschichte Washington DCs. Ein Highlight ist die Washington StarSammlung von Fotografien und archivierten Ausgaben der ehemaligen Zeitung, die im Jahr 1981 eingestellt wurde.

Die DC Preservation League setzte die Bibliothek 2004 auf die "Watch List", die solche Orte beinhaltet, die zwar nicht in eminenter Gefahr sind, aber dennoch wegen potentieller Bedrohung ihrer historischen Unversehrtheit erhöhter Aufmerksamkeit bedürfen. Im Fall der MLK Library registrierte die Preservation League im Verlauf der letzten 30 Jahre einen Mangel an präventiven Maßnahmen und Verbesserungen und kritisiert, dass die kommunalen Pläne in Bezug auf die MLK Library noch unklar sind.

 

Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, Architekt

Geboren 1886 in Aachen, arbeitete Ludwig Mies van der Rohe im Steinhau-Geschäft der Familie, bevor er seine Karriere als Architekt begann. Mies, so nannten ihn seine Freunde, identifizierte sich schnell mit dem russischen Konstruktivismus und der holländischen De Stijl-Gruppe. Er unternahm seine ersten Schritte in die moderne Richtung, als er bei einem Wettbewerb 1921 das Modell für das in Facetten vollverglaste Friedrichstraße Hochhaus vorstellte. 

Das Weissenhof Project von 1929, eine Modellhauskolonie in Stuttgart, welche 21 Gebäude umfasst und von sechzehn europäischen Architekten entworfen wurde, ist ein hervorragendes Beispiel für van der Rohes außergewöhnliche Qualitäten als künstlerischer Direktor. 1929 konstruierte Mies van der Rohe eines seiner europäischen Meisterwerke: Das temporäre German Pavilion für die Expo in Barcelona. In demselben Jahr wurde er Direktor der langsam stagnierenden Bauhaus-Schule, die zu der Zeit in Dessau ihren Sitz hatte. 1932 zog die von der Regierung finanzierte Institution nach Berlin, wo sie schließlich unter dem Druck der Nationalsozialisten schließen musste.

Im Jahr 1937 sah van der Rohe in seiner Heimat keine Zukunft mehr für sich und zog nach Chicago. In der amerikanischen Architekturbranche war er kein Neuankömmling. Die erste Architekturausstellung am MoMA 1932 zeigte auch mehrere seiner Projekte. Mies van der Rohe wurde Direktor der Fakultät für Architektur am Chicago's Armour Institute of Technology und entwarf einen neuen Campus.

Mit seiner Entscheidung 1944, amerikanischer Staatsbürger zu werden, war der Bruch mit Deutschland endgültig besiegelt. In seiner sogenannten „amerikanischen Phase“ baute van der Rohe zahlreiche Gebäude in Chicago (zum Beispiel die Crown Hall am College of Architecture, das Farnsworth House und das Chicago Federal Center), in New York (das Seagram Building) und in Washington (Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Library). All diese Gebäude folgten dem Konzept der “Haut und Knochen”-Architektur mit minimalen Rahmenstrukturen und viel freiem, offenem Raum.

Trotz all der Jahre, die er in den USA verbracht hat, kulminierte van der Rohes Karriere in seiner Heimat. Die Neue Nationalgalerie in Berlin war Mies van der Rohes letzte Arbeit. Er kehrte mehrere Male während der Bauphase nach Berlin zurück, konnte aber die Eröffnung im Jahr 1968 nicht mehr besuchen. Ludwig Mies van der Rohe starb 1969 in Chicago.

Martin Luther King Memorial Library