Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Deconstructing Whiteness


Collage of a woman's nine different facial expressions Avital Meshi

Artist

Avital Meshi
Country: Israel

Website Avital Meshi

Bio
Avital Meshi is a new media artist who focuses on performance and AI technology. In her work, she examines the influence of AI on our behavior and on our social environment. She invites viewers to intermingle with the technology and find out how they are seen through its lens. Inspired by ideas from new and relational aesthetics, her goal is to allow viewers to reveal their own power to act upon technology. Meshi holds an MFA in Digital Arts and New Media from UC Santa Cruz and a BFA from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. She will begin her PhD studies in performance studies at UC Davis this coming fall. Meshi also holds a BSc and an MSc in behavioral biology from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel.
The work “Deconstructing Whiteness” by Avital Meshi naively inquires what makes the machine identify whiteness. To do this, the artist uses the principle of reverse engineering – examining a technical object or process from the outside through the results that various inputs provide. The artist performs racial stereotypes in front of a face classification algorithm in an attempt to decode the biases originally encoded in the training set. In the context of the augmented reality app, it becomes clear that visualizations like the green squares are themselves already a form of augmented reality and augmented perception of the world.
“Deconstructing Whiteness” documents an interactive AI performance. The piece examines the visibility of race in general, and ‘Whiteness’ in particular – through the lens of AI technology. The artist uses an off-the-shelf facial recognition model to examine her own racialized visibility. Drawing on performative behavior to change her facial expressions and hairstyle, she manages to modify the confidence level by which the machine recognizes her as ‘White.’ “Deconstructing Whiteness” reveals the underlying racial constructs that inform the technological visualization of race. The poster contains nine panels. Each of these can be activated individually to have the performance come to life. This allows viewers to become involved in this thorough self-examination and the relentless quest for any encoded bias.
Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Deconstructing Whiteness

Collage aus neun unterschiedlichen Gesichtsausdrücken einer Frau Avital Meshi

Künstlerin

Avital Meshi
Land: Israel

Website Avital Meshi

Avital Meshi ist eine Medienkünstlerin, die sich auf Performance und KI-Technologien konzentriert. In ihrer Arbeit untersucht sie den Einfluss von KI auf unser Verhalten und auf unser soziales Umfeld. Sie lädt die Betrachter*innen ein, sich mit der Technologie zu vermischen und herauszufinden, wie sie durch deren Linse gesehen werden. Inspiriert von Ideen neuer und relationaler Ästhetik ist es ihr Ziel, den Betrachter*innen die Möglichkeit zu geben, die eigenen Möglichkeiten, auf die Technologie einzuwirken, zu offenbaren. Meshi hat einen MFA in Digital Arts and New Media von der UC Santa Cruz und einen BFA von der School of the Art Institute of Chicago. Im kommenden Herbst wird sie ihr Promotionsstudium in Performance Studies an der UC Davis beginnen. Meshi hat außerdem einen BSc und einen MSc in Verhaltensbiologie von der Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel.
Die Arbeit „Deconstructing Whiteness“ von Avital Meshi fragt naiv danach, was die Maschine dazu bringt, „Whiteness“ zu identifizieren. Dazu nutzt die Künstlerin das Prinzip des Reverse Engineering – die Betrachtung eines technischen Objekts oder Prozesses von außen durch die Ergebnisse, die verschiedene Eingaben liefern. Die Künstlerin führt einem Algorithmus zur Klassifizierung von Gesichtern diskriminierende Stereotypen vor und versucht so, die ursprünglich im Trainingsset kodierten Formen von „Bias“ zu entschlüsseln. Im Kontext der Augmented-Reality-App wird deutlich, dass Visualisierungen wie die grünen Quadrate selbst schon eine Form von Augmented Reality und erweiterter Wahrnehmung der Welt sind.
„Deconstructing Whiteness“ dokumentiert eine interaktive KI-Performance. Das Stück untersucht die Sichtbarkeit von Race im Allgemeinen und „Whiteness“ im Besonderen – durch die Linse der KI-Technologie. Die Künstlerin nutzt ein einfaches Gesichtserkennungsprogramm, um ihre eigene rassifizierte Erscheinung zu prüfen. Indem sie ihren Gesichtsausdruck und ihre Frisur stetig verändert, gelingt es ihr, den Grad an Sicherheit zu modifizieren, mit dem die Maschine sie als „weiß“ zu erkennen vermag. „Deconstructing Whiteness“enthüllt die zugrundeliegenden Formen von „Bias“, auf der die technologische Visualisierung von Race basieren. Das Poster enthält neun Bilder. Jedes davon kann einzeln aktiviert werden, um die Performance zum Leben zu erwecken. So können die Betrachter*innen in diese gründliche Selbstuntersuchung und die unerbittliche Suche nach allen kodierten Formen von „Bias“ einbezogen werden.
Top