Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Ecology of Worries (1-3)

  • Golden fantasy animal on black background Caitlin Foley, Misha Rabinovich
  • Golden fantasy animal on black background Caitlin Foley, Misha Rabinovich
  • Silver fantasy animal on black background Caitlin Foley, Misha Rabinovich

Artists

Caitlin Foley and Misha Rabinovich
Country: USA
Website Caitlin & Misha

Bio
Caitlin Foley and Misha Rabinovich private Artist duo Caitlin & Misha find inspiration in naturally occurring systems such as rhizomatic networks of mycelium, the microbiome ecology, and emergent pink noise for the shared experiences they construct in their collaborative art practice. Among other things, they create installations, games, data visualizations, and happenings. They aim to create artworks that provide unique opportunities for shared experiences, thought experiments, and group-based rejuvenation, such as sweating, meditating, humming, jumping, and worrying together.

Caitlin Foley and Misha Rabinovich began working collaboratively in 2010 as part of a group of artists called the DS Institute at Syracuse University where they received MFAs. They have held residencies at places such as Flux Factory, ARoS Aarhus Kunstmuseum in Denmark, and Andrea Zittell’s Wagon Station Encampment which have helped shape their creative network and interest in social practice. They are full time faculty in the Department of Art & Design at the University of Massachusetts Lowell where Caitlin is a visiting faculty lecturer in foundations and Misha is an assistant professor of interactive media. They are recipients of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Immersive Scholar Award, NEFA Creative City Grant, and exhibited at such venues as the Science Gallery (London), EFA Project Space (NYC), the New Museum’s Ideas City Festival (NYC), Boston Cyberarts (Boston), Montserrat College of Art (Beverley, MA), Machine Project (LA), Torrance Art Museum in (LA). They are currently working on a commission for the Science Gallery London to create a series of participatory workshops and an animated film for the King’s College Fecal Microbiota Transplantation (FMT) Promise Study.

Coming from a background of materials and transmedia art, Caitlin Foley and Misha Rabinovich elegantly explore the tension between the ubiquitous existence of machines and human emotions.

The piece “Ecology of Worries” is a speculative investigation of non-human or alternative intelligence that deploys a certain degree of uncanniness. The non-anthropomorphic, non-humanoid appearance of these “worrying” creatures are treated with authentic visual imagination, while the actual archival survey information and modal tuning (of the GPT-2 system) behind them add a touch of the real to the scene. The work triggers empathetic projection via the “odd” simulation of intelligent beings.

The connection to “bias” does not seem straightforward. However, the work does offer reflections on what happens when we include a layer of emotion (and its non-computability) into our relationship with machine-generated images – which could blaze a trail for many tech-research entities in the future.

“Ecology of Worries” asks the question of whether we should teach a machine to worry for us. It is enabled by an archive of actual recorded worries we’ve been collecting from people since 2016. The video consists of hand-drawn critters. Some critters are driven by synthetic worries generated with the TextGenRnn neural network trained on the transcribed worries archive. Others are driven to worry by a novel machine learning system called Generative Pretrained Transformer 2 (GPT-2), which was dubbed by commentators as the AI that was too dangerous to release (but it was released anyway). The creatures’ performance of worrying spans a gradient of intelligibility, reflecting the evolution of machine learning systems. The resulting manifestations of the algorithms – with glitches intact – are presented in the form of an augmented reality (AR) bestiary.

By creating synthetic worries at various levels of sophistication and having them emerge as variously evolved creatures we are engaging the empathy of the viewers. The critters in “Ecology of Worries” appear alive not because of any sort of omniscience a tech evangelist might expect from a digital assistant, but due to their very real flaws. The creatures become uncanny through the juxtaposition of familiar and abstract concerns.

Training is the aspect of machine learning that engages the most important political dimension of this technology. Silicon Valley fraternity bros scrounge up photos of their classmates or grab celebrity photos from wherever they can find them to train their AI! Even well-intentioned people often do the easy thing without anticipating problems downstream. Biased data imbues the machines with the biases of their creators. The large-scale deployment of AI by US social media companies across much of the world has made the voices of Alexa, Siri, and Google Maps ever more recognizable. “Ecology of Worries” defamiliarizes the peppy digital assistant voice by training these creatures to worry about our communal woes (as reinterpreted by a machine). So when a machine takes up our worry, does that at least mean it has really heard us? If we bare our souls to machines, don’t we risk them doing the same to us? The Eliza effect, discovered in the late 60s, led people to perceive a chatbot as intelligent and worth confessing to. “Ecology of Worries” flips the dynamic and has the machines confessing to us – thereby putting us in an awkward, pensive, and sometimes hilarious state of mind.
Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Ecology of Worries (1-3)

  • Goldenes Fantasietier auf schwarzem Hintergrund Caitlin Foley, Misha Rabinovich
  • Goldfarbenes Fantasietier auf schwarzem Hintergrund Caitlin Foley, Misha Rabinovich
  • Silbernes Fantasietier auf schwarzem Hintergrund Caitlin Foley, Misha Rabinovich

Künstler*innen

Caitlin Foley und Misha Rabinovich
Land: USA
Website Caitlin & Misha

Caitlin Foley and Misha Rabinovich private Das Künstlerduo Caitlin & Misha lässt sich von natürlich vorkommenden Systemen wie rhizomatischen Myzel-Netzwerken, der Ökologie des Mikrobioms und emergentem rosa Rauschen für die gemeinsamen Erfahrungen inspirieren, die sie in ihrer kollaborativen Kunstpraxis erschaffen. Sie kreieren unter anderem Installationen, Spiele, Datenvisualisierungen und Happenings. Ihr Ziel ist es, Kunstwerke zu schaffen, die einzigartige Möglichkeiten für gemeinsame Erfahrungen, Gedankenexperimente und gruppenbasierte Verjüngungskuren bieten, wie z. B. gemeinsames Schwitzen, Meditieren, Summen, Springen und sich Sorgen machen.

Caitlin Foley und Misha Rabinovich begannen ihre Zusammenarbeit 2010 als Teil einer Gruppe von Künstler*innen, die sich DS Institute at Syracuse University nannte, wo sie ihren MFA erhielten. Sie hatten Residenzen, die ihr kreatives Netzwerk und ihr Interesse an sozialer Praxis geprägt haben u. a. an der Flux Factory, dem ARoS Aarhus Kunstmuseum in Dänemark und Andrea Zittells Wagon Station Encampment. Sie sind Dozent*innen im Fachbereich Kunst & Design an der University of Massachusetts Lowell. Sie wurden mit dem Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Immersive Scholar Award und dem NEFA Creative City Grant ausgezeichnet und stellten unter anderem in der Science Gallery (London), dem EFA Project Space (NYC), dem New Museum's Ideas City Festival (NYC), Boston Cyberarts (Boston), Montserrat College of Art (Beverley, MA), Machine Project (LA), Torrance Art Museum in (LA) aus. Derzeit arbeiten sie an einem Auftrag für die Science Gallery London, um eine Reihe von partizipativen Workshops und einen Animationsfilm für die King's College Fecal Microbiota Transplantation (FMT) Promise Study zu erstellen.

Caitlin Foley und Misha Rabinovich erforschen auf elegante Weise die Spannung zwischen der allgegenwärtigen Existenz von Maschinen und menschlichen Emotionen.

Die Arbeit „Ecology of Worries“ ist eine spekulative Untersuchung nicht-menschlicher oder alternativer Intelligenz, die einen gewissen Grad an Unheimlichkeit einsetzt. Die nicht-anthropomorphe, nicht-humanoide Erscheinung dieser "beunruhigenden" Kreaturen wird mit authentischer visueller Vorstellungskraft verhandelt, während die tatsächlichen archivierten Vermessungsinformationen und die modale Abstimmung (des GPT-2-Systems) dahinter der Szene einen Hauch des Realen verleiht. Die Arbeit löst eine empathische Projektion über die „seltsame“ Simulation intelligenter Wesen aus.

Die Verbindung zu „Bias“ scheint dabei nicht eindeutig zu sein. Die Arbeit bietet jedoch Überlegungen dazu, was passiert, wenn wir eine Ebene von Emotionen (und deren Nicht-Berechenbarkeit) in unsere Beziehung zu maschinengenerierten Bildern einbeziehen – was für viele Forschungen in diesem Bereich in der Zukunft wegweisend sein könnte.
„Ecology of Worries“ stellt die Frage, ob wir einer Maschine beibringen sollten, sich für uns zu sorgen. Es wird durch ein Archiv von tatsächlich aufgezeichneten Sorgen ermöglicht, die wir seit 2016 von Menschen gesammelt haben. Das Video besteht aus handgezeichneten Lebewesen. Einige Lebewesen werden durch synthetische Sorgen angetrieben, die mit dem neuronalen Netzwerk TextGenRnn generiert wurden, das mit dem Archiv der transkribierten Sorgen trainiert wurde. Andere basieren auf einem neuartigen maschinellen Lernsystem namens Generative Pretrained Transformer 2 (GPT-2), das als die KI tituliert wurde, die zu gefährlich sei, um sie freizugeben (Sie wurde trotz der Zweifel freigegeben). Die Leistung der Kreaturen, sich Sorgen zu machen, spiegelt die Evolution von maschinellen Lernsystemen wider. Die resultierenden Manifestationen der Algorithmen – mit intakten Glitches – werden in Form eines Augmented Reality (AR) Bestiariums präsentiert.

Indem wir synthetische Befürchtungen auf verschiedenen Ebenen der Raffinesse erschaffen und sie als unterschiedlich entwickelte Kreaturen erscheinen lassen, sprechen wir die Empathie der Betrachter an. Die Kreaturen in „Ecology of Worries“ erscheinen jedoch nicht aufgrund einer Art Allwissenheit lebendig, die ein Tech-Evangelist von einem digitalen Assistenten erwarten würde, sondern aufgrund ihrer sehr realen Schwächen. Die Kreaturen werden durch die Gegenüberstellung von vertrauten und abstrakten Sorgen unheimlich.

Das Training ist der Aspekt des maschinellen Lernens, der die wichtigste politische Dimension dieser Technologie aufgreift. Student*innen aus dem Silicon Valley schnorren Fotos ihrer Klassenkameraden zusammen oder häufen Fotos von Prominenten an, wo immer sie sie finden können, um ihre KI zu trainieren! Selbst wohlmeinende Menschen tun oft das Einfache, ohne die darauf resultierenden Probleme zu antizipieren. Daten, die „Bias“ aufweisen, geben den Maschinen die Voreingenommenheit ihrer Schöpfer*innen mit auf den Weg. Der großflächige Einsatz von KI durch US-Social-Media-Firmen in weiten Teilen der Welt hat die Stimmen von Alexa, Siri und Google Maps immer erkennbarer gemacht. „Ecology of Worries“ verfremdet die schwungvolle digitale Assistentenstimme, indem es diese Kreaturen darauf trainiert, sich um unsere (von einer Maschine umgedeuteten) Sorgen zu kümmern. Wenn also eine Maschine unsere Sorgen aufgreift, bedeutet das entsprechend, dass sie uns wirklich gehört hat? Wenn wir Maschinen unsere Seelen offenbaren, riskieren wir dann nicht, dass sie dasselbe mit uns tun? Der sogenannte Eliza-Effekt, der in den späten 60er-Jahren entdeckt wurde, führte dazu, dass Menschen einen Chatbot als intelligent und seriösen Gesprächspartner wahrnahmen. „Ecology of Worries“ dreht die Dynamik um, lässt die Maschinen uns etwas beichten – und versetzt uns damit in einen unangenehmen, nachdenklichen und manchmal mitunter vergnügten Gemütszustand.
Top