Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Gradation Descent

Artist

Nirav Beni
Country: South Africa

Bio
Nirav Beni © private Nirav Beni is a South African-born engineer and new media artist. He has a BSc degree in mechatronics engineering from the University of Cape Town, and is currently completing an MA in information experience design at the Royal College of Art in London. He positions himself at the intersection of art and technology, where he can incorporate AI, machine learning and other new media into his practice. He aims to create audio-visual, immersive and interactive installations that focus on shared and evocative experiences that touch on themes such as the human-machine dynamic.
The work “Gradation Descent” by Nirav Beni demonstrates a good sense of visual tempo. By adding a rhythmic sensation to the machine-“reading” procedure, it creates an interesting projection of the gaze of a machine – although it doesn’t entirely imitate how a machine would work in real life. Step by step, Alexandre Cabanel’s “Fallen Angel” is algorithmically reworked; and in the checkerboard-like texture the gaze leaves behind, we see the discrete mechanisms of the algorithms that can never analyze and synthesize an image as a whole but can only do so in separate parts.
This work is a short audio-visual video that depicts a conceptual imitation or visual reinterpretation of machine-learning, image-processing algorithms acting on Alexandre Cabanel’s painting “Fallen Angel”.

The moving images creating the video come from the Generative Adversarial Network (GAN). As GAN is trained on “real” images, it produces its own “fake,” almost identical, but slightly inaccurate versions. The algorithm slides across the original image and processes each block of the original image, leaving in its place an AI-generated frame. In this way, it creates a “fake” collage as the output image, which emphasizes similarities and discrepancies between original and replacement. The sliding motion is triggered by audio signals from a melancholic piano playing a piece expressly produced to accompany the teary-eyed visuals of the fallen angel.
Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Gradation Descent

Künstler

Nirav Beni
Land: Südafrika

Nirav Beni © privat Nirav Beni ist ein in Südafrika geborener Ingenieur und Medienkünstler. Er verfügt über einen B.Sc. in Mechatronik-Ingenieurwesen von der University of Cape Town und absolviert derzeit einen MA in Information Experience Design am Royal College of Art in London. Er positioniert sich an der Schnittstelle von Kunst und Technologie, an der es ihm möglich ist, KI, maschinelles Lernen und weitere neue Medien in seine Praxis einzubeziehen. Sein Ziel ist es, audiovisuelle, immersive und interaktive Installationen zu schaffen, die darauf ausgerichtet sind, gemeinsame und wirkungsvolle Erfahrungen zu kreieren und sich mit Themenkomplexen wie der Mensch-Maschine-Beziehung auseinandersetzen.
Die Arbeit „Gradation Descent“ von Nirav Beni beweist ein gutes Gespür für visuelles Tempo. Indem er dem maschinellen „Lese“-Vorgang ein rhythmisches Gefühl hinzufügt, erschafft er eine interessante Projektion des Blicks einer Maschine – obgleich sie nicht vollständig imitiert, wie eine Maschine normalerweise arbeiten würde. Schritt für Schritt wird Alexandre Cabanels „Fallen Angel“ algorithmisch nachbearbeitet; und in der schachbrettartigen Textur, die der Blick hinterlässt, offenbaren sich die diskreten Mechanismen der Algorithmen, die ein Bild niemals als Ganzes analysieren und synthetisieren, sondern dies nur in einzelnen Teilen vollziehen können.
Diese Arbeit ist ein kurzes audiovisuelles Video, das eine konzeptionelle Nachahmung oder visuelle Neuinterpretation von Algorithmen des maschinellen Lernens und der Bildverarbeitung zeigt, die auf Alexandre Cabanels Gemälde „Fallen Angel“ einwirken.

Die bewegten Bilder stammen aus dem Generative Adversarial Network (GAN). Da das GAN mit existierenden Bildern trainiert wird, produziert es seine eigenen „gefälschten“, beinahe identischen, dabei aber leicht abweichenden Versionen. Der Algorithmus gleitet über das Original, verarbeitet jeden Block des ursprünglichen Bildes und formt ein KI-generiertes Bild. Auf diese Weise entsteht eine „gefälschte“ Collage als Ausgabebild, die die Ähnlichkeiten wie Diskrepanzen zwischen Original und Ersatz hervorhebt. Die gleitende Bewegung wird durch Audiosignale eines melancholischen Klaviers ausgelöst, das ein Stück spielt, das eigens zur Begleitung der tränenreichen Visuals des gefallenen Engels produziert wurde.
Top