Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

German Series in the USA
Crime Pays!

Bjarne Maedel as the Crime Scene Cleaner on the set of the German NDR TV comedy series "Der Tatortreiniger"
On the set of German NDR TV comedy series Der Tatortreiniger Featuring Bjarne Maedel | @alamy.com

Every day on German television someone is murdered, maimed and buried. And without fail, clever, hard-boiled or extremely odd detectives will close the case in 90 minutes or less... Crime is one of the most popular and entertaining genres in this country – and rightfully so: it is extremely diverse, smart and entertaining. Here are a few of the genre highlights that you can stream in the US.

Bukow and König

2 Seasons / 10 Episodes

Bukow is a veteran cop who doesn’t mind working at the edge of the law to get results. König has a sterling reputation as an analyst and profiler and is esteemed by all who know her for her assessments and concentrated professionalism. Despite, or perhaps because of their differences, they make a successful crime-fighting team – when they’re not fighting each other.

Directed by Eoin Moore, Edward Berger; starring Charly Hübner, Anneke Kim Sarnau; in German with English subtitles


Bukow und König / Polizeiruf 110: Charly Hübner als Alexander Bukow und Anneke Kim Sarnau als Katrin König Polizeiruf 110: Bukow und König

Stream BUKOW UND KÖNIG (POLIZEIRUF 110)

In the USA:

Amazon Prime / Mhz Choice 
 

In Germany:

 ARD|Das Erste Mediathek 

Crime Scene Cleaner (Der Tatortreiniger)

4 Seasons / 31 Episodes

In this immensely popular German comedy, Bjarne Mädel stars as Schotty, a man whose “work begins where others pass in horror.” He’s a savant contract cleaner sent to sanitize crime scenes after the police have finished their investigations. Surreal, dark and laugh-out-loud funny, the German cult comedy about the misadventures of a Tatortreiniger, or crime scene cleaner, survives translation into English.

Unlike most German TV, the dialogue (and it’s mostly dialogue, every episode is like a 30-minute play) is rapid-fire and consistently brilliant as Everyman Heiko “Schotty” Schotte engages with a bizarre mix of Nazis, vegans, murderers and reality TV stars as he goes about his job.

The supremely entertaining series came to an end in 2019 with Episode 31.

Directed by Arne Feldhusen; starring Bjarne Mädel, Charly Hübner, Olli Schulz, Florian Lukas, Milan Peschel, Christine Schorn, Bernd Moss, Jule Böwe; in German with English subtitles.

Trailer Season 1
Trailer Season 2
 
Trailer Crime Scene Cleaner – courtesy of Mhz Choice

Crime Stories

6 Episodes

In the mini-series based on the popular book by Ferdinand von Schirach, veteran lawyer Friedrich Leonhardt takes on clients with single-minded intent: to defend them within the boundaries of the law. Taken from modern headlines, the cases provide a frightening window on humanity. In most cases, the crimes were committed by relatively normal people who snapped.

Directed by Hannu Salonen, Jobst Oetzmann; starring Josef Bierbichler, Edgar Selge, Denis Moschitto; in German with English subtitles
 

Stream Crime Stories (VERBRECHEN)

In the USA:

Amazon Prime /Mhz Choice  
Mhz Choice 

SHADES OF GUILT

2 Seasons / 10 Episodes

In the final analysis, it all comes down to guilt; different shades of guilt that one assumes in a single moment of thoughtlessness or in months of premeditated planning. Defense attorney Friedrich Kronberg knows he must tip the legal scales of justice in favor of his clients’ for crimes that are never black-and-white and never what they may seem.

Directed by Hannu Salonen and Maris Pfeiffer; starring Moritz Bleibtreu, Lars Eidinger, Tom Wlaschiha; in German with English subtitles
 
Walter Presents / Channel 4
    
 

STREAM SHADES OF GUILT (Schuld)

In the USA:
Amazon Prime / PBS Masterpiece
 

Flemming

2 Seasons / 14 Episodes

Police psychologist Vince Flemming understands the perps because he’s a whiz at reading their nonverbals, but his own psyche remains a mystery. He can’t get over his ex-wife Ann, which isn’t made easier by their daily collaboration on murder cases. Flemming is a slick, fast-paced, humorous crime drama with serious rom-com undertones, a cross between Castle and The Mentalist. So it’s lots o’ fun (aside from the fact that people are getting killed) and eminently watchable.

Starring Samuel Finzi, Claudia Michelsen, Oliver Bröcker, Anna Thalbach; in German with English subtitles
 

Stream FLEMMING

In the USA:

Amazon Prime / Mhz Choice 
Mhz Choice 

Marie’s Mind for Murder

1 Season / 10 Episodes

After the death of her policeman father, Inspector Marie Brand (Mariele Millowitsch) said goodbye to homicide – or so she thought. But after being called in to consult on a difficult case, she finds herself back on the job, working with the very handsome Inspector Jürgen Simmel, a ladies’ man with a soft spot for Marie. With her brilliant, analytical mind for murder and Simmel’s more hands-on approach, these two form a perfect team!

Starring Mariele Millowitsch, Hinnerk Schoenemann, Thomas Heinze
 
MHz Choice
  

Stream MARIE’S MIND FOR MURDER (MARIE BRAND)

In the USA:

Amazon Prime  / Mhz Choice  
Mhz Choice 

Donna Leon’s Brunetti Mysteries

1 Season / 20 Episodes

Murder, Venice, relationships... It’s a delicious concoction in the hands of crime novelist Donna Leon. Venice provides the backdrop for the lush film versions of the bestselling novels, which features the indelible Commissario Guido Brunetti, canal boat rides instead of car chases, fine cuisine and crime investigations in one of Europe’s most beautiful locations.

Starring Joachim Krol, Uwe Kockisch, Barbara Auer; in German with English subtitles
 

Stream DONNA LEON’S BRUNETTI MYSTERIES (DONNA LEON)

In the USA:

Amazon Prime / Mhz Choice 
Mhz Choice 
 

In Germany:

ARD | Das Erste Mediathek

Point Blank

2 Episodes

The Berlin-based undercover agent Klaus Roth finds himself dangerously conflicted when he must befriend Luka, a small-time crook to infiltrate a Serbian crime organization involved with sports betting.

Directed by Philipp Kadelbach; starring Tom Schilling, Edin Hasanovic, Jens Albinus and Britta Hammelstein; in German with English subtitles
 

Stream Point Blank (AUF KURZE DISTANZ)

In the USA: 
PBS Masterpiece on Amazon Prime 

In Germany:
Amazon Prime Video  
 

Homicide Unit Instanbul

3 Seasons  / 20 Episodes

Inspector Mehmet Özakin is a by-the-book cop in Istanbul fighting a battle on two fronts: against the criminals in the city and against the bureaucratic laziness of his fellow countrymen. He always manages to solve his cases with Mediterranean charm and his trusty oddball sidekick Mustafa. Together, the unlikely duo chases down killers and crooks amid the stunning scenery.

Directed by Michael Kreindl and others; starring: Erol Sander, Branko Tomovic, Oscar Ortega Sánchez, Idil Üner; in German with English subtitles
   
MHz Choice

Stream Homicide Unit Istanbul (MORDKOMMISSION ISTANBUL)

In the USA:

Amazon MHz
MHz Choice 
 

In Germany: 

ARD | Das Erste Mediathek  

Anatomy of Evil  (Spuren des Bösen)

1 Season / 5 Episodes

Heino Ferch (Downfall) stars police psychologist Richard Brock in this dark mystery series set in Vienna. Brock is a loner, still blaming himself for the suicide of his wife and trying to reconnect with his daughter, recently graduated from the police academy. The only constants in his life are his faithful housekeeper Mrs. Anni and his friend Klaus Tauber, the owner of the coffee house where he inevitably eats all his meals.

Produced by ORF;  directed by Andreas Prochaska; starring Heino Ferch, Sabrina Reiter, Gerda Drabek; in German with English subtitles
 

Stream Anatomy of Evil (SPUREN DES BÖSEN)

In the USA:

MHz Choice on Amazon Prime
MHz Choice
  

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Deutsche Serien in den USA
Verbrechen lohnt sich!

Am Set der TV-Serie „Der Tatortreiniger“: Bjarne Mädel
Am Set der TV-Serie „Der Tatortreiniger“: Bjarne Mädel | ©alamy.com

Jeden Tag wird im deutschen Fernsehen gemordet, gemeuchelt und vergraben. Stilsicher wird der Fall dann in 90 Minuten oder weniger von findigen, hart gesottenen oder extrem schrägen Kommissaren gelöst ...
Der Krimi gehört in Deutschland zu den beliebtesten TV-Genres – und das mit Recht: Der deutsche Krimi ist ausgesprochen vielfältig, intelligent und unterhaltend.
Hier eine Reihe der Höhepunkte deutscher Krimis, die Sie auch in den USA sehen können.

Bukow und König (Polizeiruf 110)

10 Folgen
Bukow ist ein altgedienter Polizist, der auch mal gerne am Rande der Legalität ermittelt. König ist eine renommierte Analytikerin und Profilerin, die in Kollegenkreisen wegen ihrer realistischen Einschätzungen und hochprofessionellen Arbeitsweise ein hohes Ansehen genießt. Trotz oder vielleicht gerade wegen ihrer Verschiedenheit kämpfen beide erfolgreich gegen das Verbrechen – wenn sie sich nicht gerade gegenseitig bekämpfen.
Mit: Charly Hübner, Anneke Kim Sarnau, Regie: Eoin Moore, Edward Berger und viele andere; Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln

Bukow und König / Polizeiruf 110: Charly Hübner als Alexander Bukow und Anneke Kim Sarnau als Katrin König Polizeiruf 110: Bukow und König

Stream „BUKOW UND KÖNIG“ (POLIZEIRUF 110)

In den USA:
Amazon Prime / Mhz Choice 
In Deutschland:
 ARD Mediathek 

Der Tatortreiniger

4 Staffeln / 31 Folgen
In dieser deutschen Erfolgs-Comedyserie spielt Bjarne Mädel „Schotty“, einen Mann, dessen Arbeit dort anfängt, wo sich andere vor Entsetzen übergeben“. Er ist ein sogenannter Tatortreiniger, der den Ort des Verbrechens desinfizieren muss, nachdem die Polizei dort ihre Ermittlungen abgeschlossen hat. Surreal, rabenschwarz und zum Schreien komisch funktioniert diese deutsche Kult-Comedy über den Tatortreiniger mit Hang zum Tritt ins Fettnäpfchen auch in der englischen Übersetzung.
Anders als in den meisten anderen deutschen TV-Produktionen werden hier Dialoge wie Schnellfeuergewehre abgeschossen, sodass jede einzelne Folge, in der Schotty bei seiner Arbeit auf Nazis, Veganer, Mörder, Reality-TV-Stars und andere illustre Gestalten trifft, beinahe schon einem 30-minütigen Theaterstück gleicht.
Mit Bjarne Mädel, Christine Schorn, Bernd Moss; Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln
Trailer Crime Scene Cleaner – courtesy of Mhz Choice
 

„Verbrechen“ nach Ferdinand von Schirach

6 Folgen
In dieser Mini-Serie nach der erfolgreichen Buchvorlage von Ferdinand von Schirach nimmt der erfahrene Strafverteidiger Friedrich Leonhardt nur aus einem einzigen Grund Klienten an: Er will sie im Rahmen des Gesetzes verteidigen. Verschiedene Fälle aus dem wahren Leben zeichnen ein befremdliches Bild dessen, wozu Menschen fähig sind. Meistens sind es ganz normale Leute wie du und ich, die zu Verbrechern geworden sind, weil sie in bestimmten Momenten einfach ausgerastet sind.
Mit Josef Bierbichler, Edgar Selge, Denis Moschitto; Regie: Hannu Salonen, Jobst Christian Oetzman; Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln

Stream „VERBRECHEN“ NACH FERDINAND VON SCHIRACH

In den USA:
Amazon Prime /Mhz Choice  
Mhz Choice 

„Schuld “nach Ferdinand von Schirach

2 Staffeln / 10 Folgen
Nach der Krimiserie Verbrechen setzt Schuld nach dem gleichnamigen Bestseller von Ferdinand von Schirach dessen Kurzgeschichten als Reihe besonderer Kriminalfilme um. 
Am Ende geht es hier immer um die Frage nach Schuld in ihren vielen Facetten, angefangen von der Schuld, die durch einen kurzen Moment der Nachlässigkeit ausgelöst wird, bis zu jener Schuld, die einem durch monatelange vorsätzliche Planung einer Tat zuteil wird. Strafverteidiger Friedrich Kronberg weiß, dass er das Recht immer zum Vorteil seiner Klienten auslegen muss, auch wenn deren Verbrechen niemals nur schwarz oder weiß sind und immer viel mehr dahinter steckt, als man anfangs annimmt.
Mit Moritz Bleibtreu, Jürgen Vogel, Lars Eidinger, Tom Wlaschiha; Regie: Hannu Salonen und Maris Pfeiffer, Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln
Walter Presents / Channel 4
    
 

STREAM „SCHULD“ NACH FERDINAND VON SCHIRACH

​In den USA:
Amazon Prime / PBS Masterpiece
 

Flemming

2 Staffeln / 14 Folgen
Der Polizeipsychologe Vince Flemming kann die nonverbale Sprache der Verbrecher lesen wie kein Zweiter, seine eigene Gefühlswelt bleibt dagegen ein Rätsel. Er kann die Trennung von seiner Ex-Frau Ann nicht überwinden, und die Tatsache, dass er täglich mit ihr bei Mordfällen zusammenarbeiten muss, macht es nicht besser. Flemming ist ein clever gemachter Krimi: schnell, humorvoll und mit vielen Anleihen der romantischen Komödie – quasi eine Mischung aus Castle und The Mentalist. Wenn man mal von den vielen Morden absieht, macht die Serie einfach einen Riesenspaß.
Mit Samuel Finzi, Claudia Michelsen, Oliver Bröcker, Anna Thalbach; Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln

Stream „FLEMMING“

In den USA:
Amazon Prime / Mhz Choice 
Mhz Choice 

Marie Brand

1 Staffel / 10 Folgen
Nach dem Tod ihres Vaters, der ebenfalls Polizeibeamter war, wollte Inspektorin Marie Brand (Mariele Millowitsch) dem Morddezernat eigentlich den Rücken zuwenden. Dann aber wird sie bei einem schwierigen Fall hinzugezogen und ehe sie sich versieht, hat sie ihre Arbeit wieder aufgenommen. An ihrer Seite: Der extrem attraktive und umschwärmte Inspektor Jürgen Simmel, der anscheinend ein Auge auf Marie geworfen hat. Maries brillante Art, Mordfälle zu analysieren und Simmels eher praktisch orientierte Arbeitsweise machen aus den beiden ein perfektes Team.
Mit Mariele Millowitsch, Hinnerk Schönemann, Thomas Heinze; Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln
MHz Choice
  

Stream „MARIE BRAND“

In den USA:
Amazon Prime  / Mhz Choice  
Mhz Choice 

Donna Leon

1 Staffel / 20 Folgen
Mord, Venedig, Beziehungsgeschichten: Aus diesen Zutaten braut die Schriftstellerin Donna Leon einen spannenden Krimi-Cocktail. Vor grandioser venezianischer Kulisse werden die Bestseller zum Film-Leben erweckt, wenn Kult-Kommissar Guido Brunetti in einer der schönsten Städte Europas über die Kanäle gondelt, statt Verfolgungsjagden auf vier Rädern auszufechten, gehobene Küche genießt und dabei seine Mordfälle löst.
Mit Joachim Król, Uwe Kockisch, Barbara Auer; Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln

Stream „DONNA LEON“

In den USA:
Amazon Prime / Mhz Choice 
Mhz Choice 
In Deutschland:
ARD Mediathek

Auf kurze Distanz

2 Folgen
Der Berliner Undercover-Agent Klaus Roth gerät in eine gefährliche Zwickmühle, als er sich mit dem Kleinkriminellen Luka anfreunden muss, um über diesen eine serbische Bande zu infiltrieren, die mit Sportwetten auf manipulierte Spiele Geld verdient.
Mit Tom Schilling, Edin Hasanovic, Jens Albinus und Britta Hammelstein; Regie: Philipp Kadelbach; Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln

Stream „AUF KURZE DISTANZ“ 

 

In den USA: 
PBS Masterpiece on Amazon Prime 

In Deutschland:
 ​ Amazon Prime Video  
 

Mordkommission Istanbul

3 Staffeln / 20 Folgen
Inspektor Mehmet Özakin ist ein gesetzestreuer Polizist aus Istanbul, der an zwei Fronten kämpft: gegen die Kriminellen der Stadt und gegen die lähmende Bürokratie seiner Landsleute. Seine Fälle löst er stets mit Hilfe seines mediterranen Charmes und seines verschrobenen Kollegen Mustafa. Gemeinsam jagt das ungleiche Duo vor atemberaubender Landschaft Killer und Kleinkriminelle.
Mit Erol Sander, Branko Tomovic, Oscar Ortega Sánchez, Idil Üner; Regie: Michael Kreindl und viele andere; Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln 
 
MHz Choice
 

Stream „MORDKOMMISSION ISTANBUL“

In den USA:
Amazon MHz
MHz Choice  
In Deutschland: 
ARD Mediathek  

Spuren des Bösen

5 Folgen
Heino Ferch (Der Untergang) spielt in dieser düsteren, in Wien angesiedelten Mystery-Serie den Polizeipsychologen Richard Brock: einen einsamen Wolf, der sich immer noch Vorwürfe wegen des Selbstmords seiner Frau macht und versucht, wieder Kontakt zu seiner Tochter aufzubauen, die gerade die Polizeischule abgeschlossen hat. Die einzigen Konstanten in seinem Leben sind seine treue Haushälterin Frau Anni und sein Freund Klaus Tauber, Besitzer eines Kaffeehauses, in dem Brock natürlich auch sämtliche Mahlzeiten einnimmt.
Produktion: ORF; Regie: Andreas Prochaska, mit Heino Ferch, Sabrina Reiter, Gerda Drabek; Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln
 

Stream „SPUREN DES BÖSEN“ 

In den USA:

MHz Choice on Amazon Prime
MHz Choice

 

Top