Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Flexitarianism
Climate protection on the menu

Not only the cows would be happy, but also the climate – if the Germans cut their meat consumption in half, the greenhouse gas emissions caused by food production could be reduced by a good quarter.
Not only the cows would be happy, but also the climate – if the Germans cut their meat consumption in half, the greenhouse gas emissions caused by food production could be reduced by a good quarter. | Photo (detail): © Adobe

According to a survey commissioned by the German Federal Ministry of Food, more than half of all Germans, around 55 per cent, describe themselves as “flexitarians”. What is behind this term, what do these people eat and can food be political?

By Petra Schönhöfer

The average German, it is often said, loves his or her bratwurst. Accordingly, he or she consumes an average of around 800 grams of meat per week. This is not only unhealthy – the medically recommended amount is between 300 and 600 grams – but also harmful to the climate. The reason for this is that together with milk and dairy products, according to current estimates, this meat consumption causes around 70 percent of diet-related greenhouse gas emissions. The proportion of vegetarians, i.e. people who do not eat meat, is only around five percent in Germany, and only one percent of Germans eat vegan, i.e. completely plant-based.
 
Quite a lot, however, can be achieved by reducing meat consumption. And this is where the flexitarians come into play – they might well be omnivores, but meat plays a subordinate role in their diet. About 470 grams of it ends up in their pots and pans on average each week. This corresponds to about two meatballs and two fried sausages. Many flexitarians also state that they consciously only choose high-quality or organic meat.

Good for the climate

People who consciously eat little meat are more likely to keep the world in ecological balance than meat fans. This is the result of a study that WWF Germany carried out in spring 2021 together with the consultancy corsus – corporate sustainability GmbH. If the meat consumption of all Germans were to halve, the ecological balance would look much better. The food-related greenhouse gas emissions of currently around 210 million tons of CO2 equivalents per year could be reduced by 27 percent (56 million tons). In addition, the low-meat diet would also reduce Germany’s current food-related land requirement by almost three million hectares. That corresponds roughly to the size of the German federal state of Brandenburg. Meat consumption in Germany has in fact already fallen – in 2016, according to the environmental organisation WWF, Germans were actually still consuming over a kilo of meat per person per week – but more still needs to be done.
 
That is why the WWF is advocating a general rethink. When catering for events or for people travelling, there should automatically be a vegetarian menu available, says Tanja Dräger de Teran, consultant for nutrition and agriculture at WWF Germany. “Anyone who wants meat, ticks that box separately.” Obligatory minimum criteria for catering in public institutions such as schools might also be an option. Because the students want it that way – in future, meat and fish will only make up four per cent of the menu at Berlin universities. (Symbol image) Because the students want it that way – in future, meat and fish will only make up four per cent of the menu at Berlin universities. (Symbol image) | Photo (detail): © Adobe

POLITICISED EATERS

An approach that is already being adopted in reality – from the winter term 2021-2022, meat and fish is only to make up four per cent of the menu at Berlin universities. The rest of the food on offer will be vegetarian or vegan, in response to the requests of the students. Young people differ greatly in their eating habits from the older generation when it comes to meat consumption – this was the result of the study “Jugendreport zur Zukunft nachhaltiger Ernährung” (Youth Report on the Future of Sustainable Nutrition), which scientists from the Georg-August University in Göttingen published together with the Zühlsdorf Partner Agency. In the 15 to 29 age group, 40 per cent call their meat consumption into question. 12.3 per cent of them are vegetarians or vegans and 23.8 per cent say they are flexitarians. Most of them are “politicised eaters” – for two thirds of all young people surveyed, stopping climate change is a matter of human survival – also through eating habits. In addition, there is a critical attitude towards the meat industry and today’s factory farming industry as further motives for abstaining from meat. “Politicised Eating” is the catchphrase among 15 to 29 year olds – many young people reduce their meat consumption for climate protection reasons or in protest against factory farming. “Politicised Eating” is the catchphrase among 15 to 29 year olds – many young people reduce their meat consumption for climate protection reasons or in protest against factory farming. | Photo (Detail): © Adobe Of the 60 to 75 year olds, only five per cent describe themselves as vegetarians, vegans play no role at all statistically in this age group. On the other hand, flexitarianism is becoming more popular with advanced age – the proportion of 60 to 75 year olds has risen to 55 per cent. After all, a diet with whole grain products, pulses, fruit and vegetables, which often does without meat, is also healthy. This is, however, not only the case with regard to age groups, differences can also be observed between the sexes, as the veggie study of the PHW poultry processing group from 2021 shows – 63 per cent of women eat meatless at least sometimes, while 43 per cent of men do this.

Adventurous omnivores

What, however, is put on the table when there is no meat? The most popular foods among flexitarians are potatoes, nuts and kernels, rice and peas. If flexitarians do have a craving for meat, they go for poultry products. This is followed by fish and beef, if possible from controlled organic agriculture. Incidentally, for a majority of Germans, meat produced from the reproduction of animal cells is an alternative to killing animals, but only around a quarter would try it. Disgust is the strongest barrier here. It is, and how could it be otherwise, the flexitarians who show the greatest willingness to try new things. The flexitarian diet – lots of vegetables, nuts, pasta – and a little meat. Der flexitarische Speiseplan: Viel Gemüse, Nüsse, Nudeln – und ein wenig Fleisch. | Photo (detail): © Adobe

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Flexitarismus
Klimaschutz auf dem Speiseplan

Da freuen sich nicht nur die Kühe, sondern auch das Klima: Würden die Deutschen ihren Fleischkonsum halbieren, könnten sich die ernährungsbedingten Treibhausgasemissionen um gut ein Viertel reduzieren.
Da freuen sich nicht nur die Kühe, sondern auch das Klima: Würden die Deutschen ihren Fleischkonsum halbieren, könnten sich die ernährungsbedingten Treibhausgasemissionen um gut ein Viertel reduzieren. | Foto (Detail): © Adobe

Mehr als die Hälfte der Deutschen, rund 55 Prozent, bezeichnen sich einer Umfrage im Auftrag des Bundesernährungsministeriums zufolge als „Flexitarier*innen“. Was steckt hinter diesem Begriff, was essen diese Menschen und kann Essen politisch sein?

Von Petra Schönhöfer

Der Durchschnittsdeutsche, so heißt es oftmals, liebe seine Bratwurst. Entsprechend kommt er im Schnitt auf etwa 800 Gramm Fleisch pro Woche. Das ist nicht nur ungesund – die medizinisch empfohlene Menge liegt zwischen 300 und 600 Gramm – sondern auch klimaschädlich. Denn zusammen mit Milch und Milchprodukten verursacht er damit laut aktuellen Schätzungen rund 70 Prozent der ernährungsbedingten Treibhausgasemissionen.  Der Anteil der Vegetarier*innen, also jener Menschen, die sich fleischlos ernähren, liegt in Deutschland bei nur etwa fünf Prozent, und nur ein Prozent der Deutschen ernähren sich vegan, also komplett pflanzlich.

Doch bereits mit einer Reduzierung des Fleischkonsums lässt sich viel bewirken. Und hier kommen die Flexitarier*innen ins Spiel: Zwar sind sie Omnivoren, aber in ihrer Ernährung spielt Fleisch eine untergeordnete Rolle. Etwa 470 Gramm davon landen bei ihnen durchschnittlich pro Woche in Pfanne oder Kochtopf. Das entspricht etwa zwei Buletten und zwei Bratwürsten. Viele Flexitarier*innen geben zudem an, sich bewusst nur für qualitativ hochwertiges oder Bio-Fleisch zu entscheiden.

Gut fürs Klima

Menschen, die bewusst wenig Fleisch essen, halten die Welt eher im ökologischen Gleichgewicht als Fleisch-Fans. Das ist das Ergebnis einer Studie, die der WWF Deutschland im Frühjahr 2021 gemeinsam mit der corsus – corporate sustainability GmbH durchgeführt hat. Halbiere sich der Fleischkonsum aller Deutschen, sehe die Öko-Bilanz wesentlich besser aus: Die ernährungsbedingten Treibhausgasemissionen von derzeit rund 210 Millionen Tonnen CO2-Äquivalenten pro Jahr könnten um 27 Prozent (56 Millionen Tonnen) reduziert werden. Zusätzlich senke die fleischarme Kost auch Deutschlands derzeitigen ernährungsbedingten Flächenbedarf um fast drei Millionen Hektar. Das entspricht in etwa der Größe Brandenburgs. Zwar ist der Fleischkonsum in Deutschland bereits gesunken – 2016 konsumierten die Deutschen laut der Umweltorganisation WWF noch über ein Kilo Fleisch pro Kopf und Woche –, aber mehr wäre nötig.

Der WWF plädiert deshalb für ein generelles Umdenken. Beim Catering für Veranstaltungen oder auf Reisen solle es automatisch ein vegetarisches Menü geben, sagt Tanja Dräger de Teran, Referentin für Ernährung und Landwirtschaft beim WWF Deutschland. „Wer Fleisch möchte, kreuzt das extra an.“ Wünschenswert seien auch verbindliche Mindestkriterien für die Verpflegung in öffentlichen Einrichtungen wie Schulen.

Weil die Studierenden es sich so wünschen: An den Berliner Hochschulen werden Fleisch und Fisch in Zukunft nur noch vier Prozent des Speiseplans ausmachen. (Symbolbild) Weil die Studierenden es sich so wünschen: An den Berliner Hochschulen werden Fleisch und Fisch in Zukunft nur noch vier Prozent des Speiseplans ausmachen. (Symbolbild) | Foto (Detail): © Adobe

POLITISCHE ESSER

Ein Ansatz, der in der Realität Widerhall findet: So machen an den Berliner Hochschulen ab dem Wintersemester 2021-2022 Fleisch und Fisch nur noch vier Prozent des Speiseplans aus. Das restliche Angebot ist vegetarisch oder vegan, auf vielfachen Wunsch der Studierenden. Junge Menschen unterscheiden sich in ihrem Ernährungsverhalten von der älteren Generation besonders stark beim Fleischkonsum – dies hat die Studie „Jugendreport zur Zukunft nachhaltiger Ernährung“ ergeben, die Wissenschaftler*innen der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen gemeinsam mit der Agentur Zühlsdorf Partner veröffentlicht haben. In der Altersgruppe der 15- bis 29-Jährigen hinterfragen 40 Prozent ihren Fleischkonsum. 12,3 Prozent von ihnen sind Vegetarier*innen oder Veganer*innen und 23,8 Prozent geben an, Flexitarier*innen zu sein. Die meisten von ihnen sind „politicised eater“: Für zwei Drittel aller befragten Jugendlichen ist es eine menschliche Überlebensfrage, den Klimawandel zu stoppen – auch über das Essverhalten. Hinzu kommen eine kritische Einstellung gegenüber der Fleischwirtschaft und der heutigen Tierhaltung als weitere Motive für den Fleischverzicht. Politicised Eating“ ist das Schlagwort unter den 15- bis 29-Jährigen: Viele junge Menschen reduzieren ihren Fleischkonsum aus Klimaschutzgründen oder aus Protest gegen die Massentierhaltung. Politicised Eating“ ist das Schlagwort unter den 15- bis 29-Jährigen: Viele junge Menschen reduzieren ihren Fleischkonsum aus Klimaschutzgründen oder aus Protest gegen die Massentierhaltung. | Photo (Detail): © Adobe Von den 60- bis 75-Jährigen bezeichnen sich nur fünf Prozent als Vegetarier*innen, Veganer*innen spielen hier statistisch gar keine Rolle. Dafür wird mit fortgeschrittenem Alter der Flexitarismus beliebter: Der Anteil bei den 60- bis 75-Jährigen ist auf 55 Prozent angestiegen. Denn eine Ernährung mit Vollkornprodukten, Hülsenfrüchten, Obst und Gemüse, bei der häufig auf Fleisch verzichtet wird, ist natürlich auch gesund. Doch nicht nur in Bezug auf Altersgruppen, auch zwischen den Geschlechtern lassen sich Unterschiede beobachten, wie die Veggie-Studie der PHW-Gruppe von 2021 zeigt: Frauen ernähren sich zu 63 Prozent zumindest manchmal fleischlos, während 43 Prozent der Männer dies tun. 

Probierfreudige Allesesser

Aber was kommt auf den Tisch, wenn es kein Fleisch gibt? Am beliebtesten sind bei Flexitarier*innen Kartoffeln, Nüsse und Kerne, Reis und Erbsen. Greifen Flexitarier*innen dann doch zum Fleisch, bevorzugen sie Geflügelprodukte. Dahinter folgen Fisch und Rindfleisch, möglichst aus kontrollierter ökologischer Landwirtschaft. Aus der Vermehrung von tierischen Zellen hergestelltes Fleisch ist übrigens für eine Mehrheit der Deutschen eine Alternative zum Töten von Tieren, probieren würde es aber nur rund ein Viertel. Ekel ist hier die stärkste Barriere. Die größte Probierbereitschaft beweisen hier, wie sollte es auch anders sein: die Flexitarier*innen. Der flexitarische Speiseplan: Viel Gemüse, Nüsse, Nudeln – und ein wenig Fleisch. Der flexitarische Speiseplan: Viel Gemüse, Nüsse, Nudeln – und ein wenig Fleisch. | Foto (Detail): © Adobe

Top