Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)


Free Lunch Society

Free Lunch Society
© Golden Girls Filmproduktion

Austria / Germany 2017, 95 min., documentary, English and German (with English subtitles)
 
Writer/Director: Christian Tod, Cinematography: Lars Barthel, Joerg Burger, Editor: Cordula Werner, Elke Groen, Music: Peter Rösner, Producers: Arash T. Riahi, Karin C. Berger, Robert Cibis, Lilian Frank

What would you do if your income was taken care of? Just a few years ago, an unconditional basic income was considered a pipe dream. Today, this utopia is more imaginable than ever before – intense discussions are taking place in all political and scientific camps. Free Lunch Society provides background information about this idea and searches for explanations, possibilities and experiences regarding its implementation.
 
An unconditional basic income means money for everyone – as a human right without service in return. But is this concept a visionary reform project, neoliberal axe to the roots of the social state or socially romantic left-wing utopia? Depending on the type and scope, a basic income demonstrates very different ideological visions. Which side of the coin one sees depends on one's own idea of humankind: inactivity as sweet poison that seduces people into laziness, or freedom from material pressures as a chance for oneself and for the community. Do we actually need the whip of existential fear to avoid a lazy, depraved life in front of the TV set? Or does gainful employment give our lives meaning and social footing simply because we haven't known anything else for centuries? 

Trailer

Free Lunch Society Trailer
© Golden Girls Filmproduktion
That basic income is a powerful idea is indisputable. From Alaska's oil fields to the Canadian prairie, from Washington's think tanks to the Namibian steppes, Free Lunch Society takes us on a grand journey exploring one of the most crucial questions of our times.
 
Source: Icarus Films

FESTIVALS 

Docaviv 2017
Bergen International Film Festival 2017
CPH:DOX 2017
Docville, Belgium 2017

Back

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)


Free Lunch Society

Free Lunch Society
© Golden Girls Filmproduktion

Österrreich / Deutschland 2017, 95 Min., Dokumentarfilm, Englisch und Deutsch (mit englischen Untertiteln)
 
Drehbuch und Regie: Christian Tod, Kamera: Lars Barthel, Joerg Burger, Schnitt: Cordula Werner, Elke Groen, Musik: Peter Rösner, Produzenten: Arash T. Riahi, Karin C. Berger, Robert Cibis, Lilian Frank

Globalisierung, Automatisierung, Donald Trump. Die Mittelschicht zerbricht. Das bedingungslose Grundeinkommen bedeutet Geld für alle – als Menschenrecht ohne Gegenleistung! Visionäres Reformprojekt, neoliberale Axt an den Wurzeln des Sozialstaates oder sozialromantische linke Utopie? Je nach Art und Umfang zeigt das Grundeinkommen sehr verschiedene ideologische Gesichter.
 
Entscheidend ist das eigene Menschenbild, welche Seite der Medaille man sieht: Inaktivität als süßes Gift, das die Menschen zur Faulheit verführt, oder Freiheit von materiellen Zwängen als Chance, für sich selbst und für die Gemeinschaft. Brauchen wir tatsächlich die Peitsche der Existenzangst, um nicht träge vor dem Fernseher zu verkommen? Oder gibt nicht deshalb die Erwerbsarbeit unserem Leben Sinn und sozialen Halt, weil wir es seit Jahrhunderten nicht anders kennen? Und weil wir nie gemeinsam die Freiheit hatten, uns anders zu verwirklichen?

Trailer

Free Lunch Society Trailer
© Golden Girls Filmproduktion
Unbestritten ist das Grundeinkommen eine kraftvolle Idee: Land, Wasser und Luft sind Geschenke der Natur. Sie unterscheiden sich von Privatbesitz, den einzelne Menschen erwirtschaften. Wenn wir aber Reichtum aus der Natur, aus den Gemeinressourcen schöpfen, gehört dieser Reichtum in gleichem Maße uns allen. Von Alaskas Ölfeldern über die kanadische Prärie, zu Washingtons Denkfabriken und zur namibischen Steppe nimmt uns der Film mit auf eine große Reise, und zeigt uns, was das führerlose Auto mit den Ideen eines deutschen Milliardärs und einer Schweizer Volksinitiative zu tun hat. Free Lunch Society, als weltweit erster Kinofilm über das Grundeinkommen, widmet sich einer der entscheidendsten Fragen unserer Zeit.
 
Quelle: Verleih Filmladen.at

FESTIVALS 

Docaviv 2017
Bergen International Film Festival 2017
CPH:DOX 2017
Docville, Belgium 2017

Zurück

Top