Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)


Jenny Marx, The Devil’s Wife

France 1993, 90 min., feature film, French (with English subtitles)

Writer/Director: Michel Wyn, Production: Telescope Audiovisuel, Starring: Marie-Christine Barrault, Carlo Brandt

He is world-famous and the image that best characterizes him is recognized worldwide; he wears a monocle, is elegantly dressed, loves children, and even lets them playfully tug on his beard. A jovial, yet impulsive man who loves cigars, good wine, and most of all, his wife. However, others viewed, and still view him as a devil, whose theories, and their implementation – for example in the Soviet Union – changed the world.
 
But who was the woman who lived in his shadow? Few know just how extraordinary the aristocratic Jenny von Westphalen was; beautiful, analytical, and of strong character. Karl and Jenny met in their youth in Trier and remained inseparable, finally marrying following their secret seven-year engagement. The Baroness would follow her husband through “thick and thin,” even so far as into exile In France, Belgium and England; enduring the stress of raising the couple’s ever-growing family with little or no money.
 
Similarly challenging was the radical nature of her husband's work – tirelessly writing articles and books with Friedrich Engels, and endless confrontation with political opponents. The importance of Jenny’s role as confidante, secretary and even co-author of certain texts is often greatly underestimated. Wyn’s film presents a new opportunity to re-discover the extraordinary romance and life's work of Jenny Marx.

Back

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)


Jenny Marx, la femme du diable (Jenny Marx, die Frau des Teufels)

Frankreich 1993, 90 Min., Spielfilm, Französisch (mit englischen Untertiteln)

Drehbuch und Regie: Michel Wyn, Produktion: Telescope Audiovisuel, Besetzung: Marie-Christine Barrault, Carlo Brandt

Er ist heute weltberühmt und das Bild, das von ihm gezeichnet wird, sieht in etwa so aus: Er trägt ein Monokel, ist elegant gekleidet, liebt Kinder und lässt sie an seinem Bart zupfen. Ein fröhlicher, aber auch impulsiver Mann, der Zigarren und gute Weine liebt – und vor allem seine Frau. Andere sahen oder sehen in ihm den Teufel, der mit seinen Theorien und später durch seine Adepten etwa in der Sowjetunion die Welt verändert hat.
 
Wer aber war die Frau, die so in seinem Schatten steht? Nicht viele wissen, welch außergewöhnliche Persönlichkeit die adlige Jenny von Westphalen war, schön, mit starkem Charakter und scharfem analytischen Verstand. Karl und Jenny waren sich schon in Jugendtagen in Trier begegnet – und haben sich nie wieder getrennt. Nach sieben Jahren heimlicher Verlobung heirateten sie schließlich. Die Baronin ging, wie man so sagt, „durch dick und dünn“ mit ihrem Mann, ins Exil nach Frankreich, Belgien, England. Sie ertrug die Mühen, oft mit wenig Geld die wachsende Familie durchzubringen.
 
Und auch die Radikalität, mit der ihr Mann gemeinsam mit Friedrich Engels seine Artikel und Bücher verfasste und mit dem politischen Gegner abrechnete. Dabei wird meist die Rolle unterschätzt, die Jenny als seine Gesprächspartnerin, Sekretärin und als Ko-Autorin von Texten spielte. Eine außergewöhnliche Liebes- und Lebensgeschichte, die anregt, Jenny Marx wiederzuentdecken.

Zurück

Top